BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/06/1995

Jim Trombly Plumbing, Heating & Cooling, Inc.

Phone: (603) 668-5468Fax: (603) 623-8591View Additional Phone Numbers257 Bridge Street, ManchesterNH 03104

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides plumbing and heating sales, service and installation services for all brands in the southern NH area. They state they are authorized by most manufacturers as service representitives.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/06/1995

BBB has determined that Jim Trombly Plumbing, Heating & Cooling, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Jim Trombly Plumbing, Heating & Cooling, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Jim Trombly Plumbing, Heating & Cooling, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
05/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was having issues with a clogged toilet, 3 repair men came out to repair, they couldn't figure out the problem.
On 3/11/2013, I ****** ****** called Jim Trombley Plumbing and Heating.

I spoke with ************* that day to set up an appointment scheduled for, 3/12/2013 between the time of 10:00 a.m- 11:00 a.m., to check out why my toilet was clogging every-time I used the toilet.

On 3/12/2013, I called Jim Trombley Plumbing and Heating to see if they could come later than 10:00 a.m.
The person who answers incoming calls told me, that would work because they had a truck not working,"down".

So, we agreed I would receive a call a little before our scheduled time frame, 11:00 a.m-12:00 a.m. to make sure I was home.

I, ****** ******, received a call from Jim Trombley Plumbing and Heating at 10:08 a.m that morning asking me if I was home. I told them I was not home and was expecting to be home between the hours that we scheduled, 11:00 a.m- 12:00 a.m.

They said, "Sorry, Mrs. ****** for the time change, my guys finished up early at there first call and are in route to your house, they should be there at 10:30 a.m. is that going to work for you Mrs. ******?"

I ****** ******, said, I am on South Willow Street in Manchester, I should be able to be there. However, I planned on 11:00 a.m.

When I, ****** ****** arrived at my house, I explained to two of Jim Trombley's plumbers, the issues with my two down stairs toilets.
1. clogging every-time after use
2. the septic was just pumped September, 2012 and there was no water backing up anywhere.

****, one of the plumbers said, if there is no water backing up then yes, you called the right people. It definately sounds like a plumbing issue.
After him and another guy trying for 1hr to get through the toilet pipe with a snake, they told me they were going to have to take the toilet out. I called my husband Michael ****** to see if that was going to be ok.

After they took out one of the toilets, they went down to my basement, looked around chatting back and forth, baffled as to what could be the problem.

Another hour passed.
Finally, one of the plumbers called there boss, *************, from my house, with one of there cell phones.
I heard the two plumbers being coached from there cell phone on what to do next.
They were told to tell me, my toilet was old, dated 1979 and that this must be the problem. Asked me if I wanted a new toilet. Said this would fix the problem.

I said to them and the person on the other end of the phone, being *************, if you bring me a new toilet and it doesn't fix the problem, then you will bring my toilet back and take yours out and find out what the problem is.
The answer to me was yes.

We all waited 1 hour for the new toilet to arrive.
Hoping this would fix my plumbing problems.

After they installed the new toilet, the two plumbers said this should fix the plumbing issue.
And told me they flushed it a bunch of times.

With all being stated I ended up paying, Jim Trombley Plumbing and Heating, $639.75 for, the following:

-$275.00 Kohler white elongated toilet
-$25.50 White toilet seat
-$4.25 Wax ring
-$330.00 Labor
-$5.00 Fuel

Next day, 3/13/2012, I used the toilet and it got clogged. Same issue.

I called Jim Trombley back on 3/19/2013 and told *************, the new toilet was not the fix all end all of my plumbing problem.
He said he has no problem sending out another plumber at no cost.

The plumber came out on 3/20/2013 and ***************. was with him this time.

Jim put in a new flap on the other downstairs toilet, and a new flap on the kids toilet upstairs. Why he did that i don't know, the problem was the septic needed to be flushed, ************ came and flushed it 2 hrs later and now everything works great, I called back ************ and said I want my old toilet back and they hung up on me.




Desired Settlement
I am looking for a full refund. Not only did they not fix the problem but they sold me a toilet I did not need, and to hang up on a customer is just plain rude. I think because I was a women they thought they could take advantage of me not knowing anything about plumbing, I do know that they fixed nothing and sold me something I never needed and still will not return my old toilet.

Thank you for your consideration.

Kindly,

****** ******
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Business' Initial Response
In response to Ms. ******'s problem & complaint I submit the following:
I am ****** ******, President of Jim ****** Plumbing. Ms ****** originally called for a request for service on 3/12/13. She spoke to *************. The problem stated was 2 toilets on the first floor were clogged and that she had flushed "baby wipes" and thought that might be what was clogging them.She also indicated that she had the septic pumped 9/2012. Our technicians left their prior job and arrived at Ms ******'s at approximately 11:15 am.

There is a process to determine what is causing any problem, as a doctor has to test several things in the body, for what is causing the illness, we have to test several things in the plumbing system to determine what is causing the problem also (if it is not apparent). Agreeably we did spend time troubleshooting her problem.
One of the toilets was flushing normally when we arrived. The other toilet was clogging and not flushing properly. We cleaned out the problem toilet, and brought it outside to further test it. We snaked it, looked into the trap with an inspection mirror and tried flushing it into an open bucket. We checked the drain pipe to the septic tank, the drain pipe in the basement and ran water from the other fixtures and could not get the main drain to back up. With her approval, we replaced her toilet with a new toilet, flushed it several times with her present, and she agreed that it was flushing properly. We had 2 technicians at her home because they were together from the previous job. We only billed for 1 technician and credited the hour he waited for the toilet to be delivered as shown on work order #XXXXX.

3/19/13 Ms. ****** called to say her toilet had clogged again. It seemed to be an intermittent problem. I told her we would get somebody to her home as soon as possible. She was concerned about the billing. I assured her that I would review all the bills and issue a refund check or credit, as applicable. I would call after the problem was resolved and had a chance to review.

3/20/13 We sent ******, (one of the original techs) and Jim ****** Jr. to diagnose the problem on this return visit. After testing again we advised her that it has to be a septic issue. We asked that she let us know (specifically) what they found and we did not charge for this visit.

3/21/13 Ms. ****** called to speak to me personally. She started the conversation by telling me how upset she was and vented for a minute or 2. When I tried to explain that I hadn't had had a chance to review, she cut me off and got progressively irate. I tried to interrupt but was not able. I will not tolerate unreasonable antagonism. So yes, I hung up. Several minutes later she called and spoke to an associate and said she was reporting us to the BBB. Still not giving us a chance to review the work done.
In review I submit the following:
A) We did provide a service
B) It was an intermittent problem
C) She agreed to the new toilet
before installation
D) No return call for 7 days

3/12/13 Work Order # XXXXX PAID $******
3/20/13 Work Order #XXXXX No Charge *****

Consumer's Final Response
This is a response to what Jim Trombley Plumbing and heating said they would reimburse me.

I accept the $****** refund they are willing to give me.

Business' Final Response
5/13/2013 - In response to Ms. ******'s complaint, we submit our final decision. We will send her a refund check for the following:
New toilet and parts to install
1.5 hours of labor to install
TOTAL REFUND CHECK IN THE AMOUNT OF $******

05/18/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbing Contractors, Water Filtration & Purification Equipment, Pumps-Service & Repair, Bathroom Remodeling, Water Heaters-Repairing, Heating Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/18/1990Business started: 05/05/1967
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Plumbers Board, State of New Hampshire
2 Industrial Park Drive
Concord, NH03302-1386
(603) 223-4289
http://www.state.nh.us/plumbing/

BBB records show a license number of 2408 for this company, issued by Plumbers Board, State of New Hampshire. Their web address is http://www.state.nh.us/plumbing/. Plumber Business Entity License for Carl Panzieri.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1967, NH

Contact Information
Principal: Carl Panzieri (President)Customer Contact: Frank Trombly (COO)
Number of Employees

28

Business Category

Plumbing Contractors, Water Filtration & Purification Equipment, Pumps-Service & Repair, Bathroom Remodeling, Water Heaters-Repairing, Heating Contractors

Hours of Operation

7 AM to 4:30 PM 24 Hour Emergency Service.

Refund and Exchange Policy

This company honors all Manufacturer warranties and guaranty all our workmanship.

Service Area

Southern New Hampshire

Alternate Business Names
Granite State Water Systems, Radiant Heating Systems of NH, Jim Trombly Plumbing & Heating, Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Jim Trombly Plumbing, Heating & Cooling, Inc.

257 Bridge Street

Manchester, NH 03104

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 257 Bridge Street 

    Manchester, NH 03104

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Jim Trombly Plumbing, Heating & Cooling, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 439-8797
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.