BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1988

Bill Trombly Plumbing, Heating and Cooling

(603) 669-5713View Additional Phone Numbers76 Maple Street, ManchesterNH 03103



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Bill Trombly Plumbing Heating Cooling and Electric is a full service company providing 24 hour services for Residential and Commercial installation, remodeling or repair work.

Bill Trombly Plumbing Heating Cooling and Electric offers a variety of services while priding themselves on offering the type of service to its customers that they would expect to receive in their own home.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1988

BBB has determined that Bill Trombly Plumbing, Heating and Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bill Trombly Plumbing, Heating and Cooling's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bill Trombly Plumbing, Heating and Cooling

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
12/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I requested a service call on my direct-vent oil heaters. I specifically asked if the service technician was competent to service this specific brand of heater. I was assured he was knowledgeable. (this brand of heater is not common in this region). Service technician was NOT competent to address these units. When he arrived for visit #1 I asked him if he was familiar with this brand of machine. He indicated he knew the product. But he misdiagnosed problem. After 2 visits and $285 in costs, I had NO heat. Neither unit was repaired. Serviceman was attempting to replace a $300 part on second visit (which would have driven cost to $600) but he lacked a specific gasket to complete job. Told me to get the gasket needed I would need to buy another component which would add $175 to the job. (I actually got the small gasket for free from distributor). He then tried to talk me into scrapping these heaters and getting new machines with a different fuel source. He turned me over to sales department who lobbied furiously to convince me my heaters were hopeless. Feels like it was all a bit of "prospecting" to sell new installations. Today the original heater units were repaired by a really knowledgeable man from a different company and they work very well. Total cost of repair ? US $180. The $300 part that almost got replaced is working well. So I might have spent $700 with Trombly --or $7000 which is what the sales guy wanted to offer me. Instead I have heat for $180
Product_Or_Service: Toyotomi Oil Miser Direct vent heater

Desired Settlement
I paid $283 for useless service calls. I'd like to get $200 back as refund.I will pay $79 for first service visit. I called and he came. But what the technician should have done is tell me " I do not know anything about this brand of heater and I am not competent to diagnose and repair. Instead of the truth, the guy bluffed me

Business Response
December 13, 2013
BBB of NH
48 Pleasant St.
Concord NH 03301
Re: complaint case #XXXXXXXX, ******
I am in receipt of Mr. ******'s complaint regarding service work done at his home. I have spoken to Mr. ****** and after discussing his issue, I have credited $200.
If there are any further questions, please feel free to call me at XXX- XXXX.
Sincerely,
******* ** ******** *** *********

10/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
While on site, service technician casued major leak / flooding in attic which damaged ceilings, flooring and electric fixtures.
Service tech arrived on site 4/30/14 to address complaint of no heat upstairs.
I expalained to tech that upstairs heat stopped working after exteme cold weather in March. (downstairs zone worked fine which kept upstairs warm).
Tech inspected entire system, found that upstairs hydronic system was "air bound". Tech hooked up garden hose to add water to system from basement, broken hydrocoil in attic leaked 1approx. 100 gallons of water from attic thru attic insulation, thru 2nd floor bedroom, 1st floor living room, and onto basement floor.

Total water damage was estimated at $4,200 according to our homeowners insurance company adjuster, not including cost of failed hydrocoil. We filed a claim under our homeowners insurance which paid the claim less $500 deductable.

I later looked at hydrocoil and the cracked/ split area is easily seen. I have photos / insurance reports to substantial damage.

I had asked your office to refund the $298 I had paid for (2 trips value rate oil furnace cleaning) as this work was not done. In fact, Ive sent (6) emails to your office to try and get this resolved. They would not refund, and tried to justify the work as "partially completed" and even said that I owed additional funds.

So basically I paid $582.00 to do $4,200 worth of damage to my house.

I am asking for:

1. Reimbursement of my $500 out of pocket insurance deductable for water damage.

2. Refund of $298 for furnace cleaning that was not done and I dont want.



Desired Settlement
I am asking for:

1. Reimbursement of my $500 out of pocket insurance deductable for water damage.

2. Refund of $298 for furnace cleaning that was not done and I dont want.

3. Total from 1 & 2 above = $798.00

Business Response
See Document

09/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misrepresenting scope of work and fraudulent charges.
We first had our furnace installed, the tech was great. He told us our condensation pump was blown. Something we already knew, and was going to be replaced by the builder who renovated the house, it was a requirement to receive the Certificate of Occupency. When the sales rep came to my house he did the estimate. He was pushing for a heat pump, after I conducted my own research I found out a heat pump would be useless since most of the winter here is below 30 degrees and the heat pump **** not work below 30. He told me I needed ductwork installed (air return) and a bypass ****** to make the two zones work like two zones, which I agreed to and asked him if that was all we needed for the installation he said yes. I was made to fill out a credit application even though I was already a WellsFargo Home project cardholder. When we were writing the contract, I was never told I needed to put 10% down even though I paid for it in full, this issue was rectified. After three or four weeks we had our installation date. The employees were great. They were there all day and couldnt complete the installation that day because they did not order the appropreate wiring for the thermostat, where I had to take another day off from work to have them come back and finish the installation. I ultimately had to make the decision to be able to use my heat or use my ac. When that was taken care of I noticed we had issues with the airflow upstairs. A technician came back out to check, told us we needed all new ductwork upstairs that the registers are too low, need to be replaced, we need to have a duct installed in our hallway. Complete BS. I have an issue with cooling both zones (First and second floor) simultaneously, I didnt have that issue before we had the AC installed we told the technician who told us that and he said there is a difference between heat and AC and one **** blow harder than the other, again total BS because I put the heat on and its not blowing like it used to. I now have to micromanage my temperature settings to ensure the AC/Furnace unit is not running 24 hours a day. I finally received a phone call from the original sales rep who told me he would come out to figure out whats going on. When I received the results he informed me he made a mistake with my ductwork size and I need an additional $600 in ductwork to make the system work properly paid in cash. This should have been pointed out at the beginning and any trained expert should have known that. Now I have a system that doesnt work properly after they assured me it would. I would never have work completed by **** Trombly if I had forseen this. Then the other day I received a **** in the mail for the condensation pump. I did not authorize the pump to be replaced, nor did they even install it, in fact the sales rep was at my house while the condensation pump was being replaced. The seller of our house (***********, paid to have it replaced and I was there when his plumber replaced it, and I am sure **** would be more than willing to vouch to have it replaced. I even paid for the 2 year value service pack, and I **** not use it out of principle. They have horrible customer service, they set false expectations to a new homeowner, and gave me the runaround, I personally **** never use **** ******* again. If it were up to me, I would have removed the entire system due to the entire ordeal.

Desired Settlement
I want the ductwork corrected since that should have been covered in the scope of the original contract, but that will probably not happen. I also want the charge for a condensation pump removed since your company never installed it.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@billtrombly.com
BBB
Case # XXXXXXXX
**** *****
*** ****** **** Road
********* NH XXXXX

5-1-14 Initial contact by the customer to address the following line items. Each item was given a service schedule date and we completed each task as promised on the assigned dates.

1: an outdoor frost free sillcock / water faucet. Scheduled and completed 5-7-14
2: LP Gas furnace Tune up (phone quote $198) Scheduled and completed 6-2-14
3: Estimate AC Scheduled and completed 5-12-14

5-7-14 We informed the customer that we perform work on a flat rate basis for service, COD, and that we have a $79 trip charge to send a technician ready to perform the work. The customer agreed to have us send a Tech to his home, was given the option to install the faucet and agreed to the cost of $276.93. At completion of the job the customer did not have the funds to pay for the completed work.
However, the customer did want to add Central AC and was scheduled for an estimate. Since we had work scheduled for the estimate we were able to arrange a finance option with our vendor Wells Fargo which would cover this repair cost plus the new AC system.

5-12-14 Our salesman **** showed up as promised, quoted and sold the AC system. He made the arrangements to include the service work and the AC installation on the Wells Fargo line of credit. We scheduled the AC installation for 6-4-14

6-2-14 We performed the 1'st of 2 LP gas furnace tune ups as promised and scheduled from our original contact on 5-1-14. Again this cost was added to the Wells Fargo finance amount. During the tune up the technician noted that the condensate pump was non-functional / non - repairable. We offered to install a new pump for the customer for $134.70 which was declined by the customer.
Please Note: This was a new pump but it was definitely not working at the time of the furnace tune up. The pump failed because whoever installed the original pump did not take out the packaging material inside the pump that was to protect the "Float switch" from being damaged during shipping. Unfortunately the pump did need to be replaced.

6-4-14 our install team arrived to install the central AC system. During the installation process we found 2 items that were not in the scope of our job but needed to be addressed.
1) The thermostats did not have the correct low voltage wires which required us to schedule a return visit to pull new wires. We identified the wire issue and scheduled the additional wire installation. While we apologized to the customer for this minor inconvenience, we completed the work in a timely fashion on a follow up visit at no cost to the customer.
2) The Condensate pump that we identified as being non -functional prior to the installation at during our furnace tune up on 6-2-14 still needed to be addressed. **** ***** our sales manager stopped by the job reviewed the pump situation with the customer and explained how his newly installed pump died prematurely. With our technician on site, we showed the customer the "packing material" inside the dead pump and explained that because it was not removed the pump ended up stuck in the "on" position and burnt out the pump by running 24/7. We looked up the quote from our prior service call which gave the cost of $134.70 to replace the pump. The customer gave me the verbal OK to go ahead to replace the pump and I instructed my install team to complete the installation. The pump was required to evacuate the water from the crawl space / basement for health safety and code requirements.

In regards to air flow with in the home it needs to be noted that this home was recently renovated with in the past year and had a brand new furnace and duct system installed by another vendor. The duct system was installed in a fairly tight crawl space and should have been installed to meet today's industry standards. We made some minor changes to improve some deficiencies in the duct system that we could identify during our estimate which included adding return air and a by-pass ****** that were not but should have been included in the original duct installation completed by another contractor. Unfortunately there is a significant amount of "Flexible duct" that can add 'resistance' to a duct system that is beyond our control.

After the job was completed the customer noted that the air flow is less now than it was before the AC installation. That is normal considering the fact that there is now an AC coil in the duct system that adds resistance of airflow thru the home. We added the bypass ****** and extra return air to the system as an industry standard practice to augment the effects of adding an AC Coil (resistance) to the air system.
With consideration to the airflow concern we did re-examine the original duct design flaw and identified a way to modify the duct work to improve the air flow. We provided a quote for $600 to isolate the 2 zones from the main supply plenum which was not completed by the original duct installation team. The customer declined the offer to complete this modification.

As the former recipient of the BBB "Torch Awards " for business ethics, we are confident that we have done everything possible to provide the best installation possible in any given situation and address our customer's needs. We have completed our installation in a professional manor and are willing to work with Mr. ***** and address any additional concerns. It is unfortunate that Mr. ***** chose to send a complaint to the BBB rather than call our company to refute the charge or express his concerns about the job. We would be happy to work out any issues directly with the consumer, or thru the BBB.

Best Regards,
**** *****
Sales Manager
**** Trombly Plumbing, Heating & Cooling.
** ***** ******
Manchester NH XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While I accept the company acknowledged my complaint with the BBB, I believe Mr. *****'s response is pure PR damage control. I have absolutely no complaint against the installation of the water spigot or the furnace. Both technicians were pleasant and professional, and I am appreciative to have those services rolled into my purchase price of my AC. When **** came to do the estimate, I advised him of my need for the radio controlled thermostat (due to my job for product knowledge), and even looked at the wiring and thermostats and said it would be done no problem, which should have been on the scope of work. This is also when ****, should have noticed the incorrect ductwork required for optimum airflow. He opened up my furnace, and pulled back the insulation on most of the ducts leading from the furnace. Doing this, there was no way he did not notice the additional ductwork needed. He reassured me the price I was quoted was the price for EVERYTHING including ALL of the ductwork and ALL of the wiring. The technicians who came to install the AC were fabulous, and advised me no one ordered the correct wiring, which I had to take another day off of work to allow the electricians in my home. On my first installation date Mr. ***** did come to my home, and advised me of what was going on with the condensate pump, and I believe something with airflow. I was extremely distracted, answering phone calls and emails for work while I was taking my dog out to use the bathroom. If there was a miscommunication in to give the okay that would be on my part, but he should have had me sign something. Shortly after Mr. ***** left, the builder stopped by and we discussed the condensate pump. He informed me his plumber **** be stopping by to replace. I advised the install team who tied the discharge tubes in a knot. The company added the bypass ****** and extra return air to the system to augment the effects of adding an AC Coil (resistance) to the air system; this should have resolved my airflow issues since we were adding AC. Before the installation (even with the "considerable amount" of flex ductwork) my airflow was adequate. The day they gave us the $600 quote, the builder's plumber was replacing the damaged condensate pump, not **** Trombly. He installed an EverBuilt model #EB-Pump. When I returned home I was told by my spouse that the person who gave us the quote, told us upstairs is not cooling because we needed to replace brand new ductwork upstairs, reposition every register, and install new ductwork in the hallway and bathroom. He also stated the entire house needed to be re-insulated. There is eighteen inches of insulation in the attic, as well as the entire house has been re insulated, and we have energy efficient windows. The quote also stated cash only, that's absolutely ridiculous.
The reason I complained to the BBB is because of the constant miscommunication between the office and their workers. I never stated the installation was not completed in a professional manor; I am talking about what happened before, and what happened afterwards. I did call the company to refute the charges, and I was told the company said it was installed, essentially calling me a liar. Your office worker was rude. I hung up on her because I was busy working, and immediately called me back and completely changed her tone while leaving a voicemail. You are more than welcome to come and verify I do not have a condensate pump installed by your company, but it **** be on your dime, and on a Sunday, the only day I have off. Ever since the installation my ductwork has been sweating, dripping mind you. I am dealing with another contractor. Honestly, the way the company has handled this, I **** most likely forfeit the warranty and never deal with this company again. If I could, I would rip out the entire system and drop it off at the office and get my money back.

Final Business Response
Mr. ***** I apologize for not meeting your expectations for your ac installation. I assure you that **** *****'s response wasnt pure pr or damage control. His letter was trying to explain our understanding of what went on. As far as the condensate pump goes, its is our position that we did replace the pump with your permission. I have talked with both **** & the tech. they confirm it was replaced. I also have invoices from my vendor confirming we purchased it for your job. I believe after you talked w/ **** that you may have talked to the old owner and were told they would take care of it but that wasnt passed ** to us. As you said "i was extremely distracted answering phone calls &emails for work and taking my dog out to use the bathroom" I believe the old owner replaced the pump but they replaced the one we installed. i do agree with you that we should have had you sign a "change order" to replace the pump so because we didnt I **** credit inv XXXXX for $134.70. As **** stated in his letter the duct work in you house was recently installed by another company. Our comfort advisor **** made recommendations to modify the duct work that he could see needed to be done. Unfortunately after the ac system was installed there was a significant amount resistance due to the amount of "flexible duct" that was installed by another vendor. We provided a quote for $600 to solve this problem. Yes **** wrote "cash" which in his mind meant cash, check or credit card. I just meant it could not be added to the wells fargo financing amount. i apologize for the misunderstanding. As you stated in your letter you are having another company take care of the duct repairs. When you have these repairs completed and if they are completed correctly they should resolve your sweating problem. Again I apologize for not meeting your expectations. **** **********., President

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbing Contractors, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Contractors - Electrical Commercial, Electric Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/18/1990Business started: 01/01/1973
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Fire Safety
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
(603) 223-4289
http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/firesafety/

Plumbers Board, State of New Hampshire
2 Industrial Park Drive
Concord, NH 03302-1386
(603) 223-4289
http://www.state.nh.us/plumbing/

BBB records show a license number of GFE0700109 for this company, issued by Division of Fire Safety. Their web address is http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/firesafety/. The expiration date of this license is 05/31/2016. Gas Fitter License for William R. Trombly Jr..

Type: Gas Fitter

BBB records show a license number of 1 for this company, issued by Plumbers Board, State of New Hampshire. Their web address is http://www.state.nh.us/plumbing/. The expiration date of this license is 05/31/2017.

Type: Plumber - Master

BBB records show a license number of HT1300183 for this company, issued by Division of Fire Safety. Their web address is http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/firesafety/. The expiration date of this license is 05/31/2017.

Type: Oil Heating Technician

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1973, NH

Contact Information
Principal: William Trombly Jr (President)Customer Contact: Cheryl Bryant (Manager) Linda Gagne (Account Payable Manager)
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Plumbing Contractors, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Contractors - Electrical Commercial, Electric Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Bill Trombly Electric, Trombly Enterprises, Inc., Bill Trombly Plumbing, Heating, AC & Fuel Oil, Community Energy Corporation, Frank Trombly Plumbing & Heating, Allied Septic

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bill Trombly Plumbing, Heating and Cooling

76 Maple Street

Manchester, NH 03103

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bill Trombly Plumbing, Heating and Cooling is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (603) 644-2283
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.