BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/20/1994

K.C. Paving, LLC.

Find a Location

(603) 365-621385 Knox Marsh Road, DoverNH 03820

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers paving, grading, gravel and sealcoating.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/20/1994

BBB has determined that K.C. Paving, LLC. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised K.C. Paving, LLC.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on K.C. Paving, LLC.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
11/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife and I had our driveway repaved/ widened by KC Paving. Our driveway has cracks, pebbling,gravel showing, sinking/large divots and a white line.
My wife and I had our driveway repaved/widened by KC Paving on approximately July 15th, after many weeks of dates being pushed back by KC Paving. He gave us a discount of $100 if we paid him in cash. We gave him the full amount of $3,100. My wife, specifically, mentioned to ***** ****** (owner) that we wanted part of the front (severely crumbled) curbs, removed and paved, located at the beginning of our driveway. Approximately, two feet on the left side and less than a foot on the right side. We wanted to remove more on the (R) side but the city wouldn't allow it. The City Engineer came by, as requested by us, and spray painted a mark (still visible, today) of what we could remove on the right curb. We could remove as much as we wanted on the (L) curb. Mr. ****** was in attendance. My wife explained what we were planning to do and everybody was in agreement. Our main objective was to fit four cars, side by side. It was also included on the written invoice as "Remove Necessary Curbs", which we still have. He stated, "No problem with the curbs, we have a
jackhammer". On the second day when the paving was almost finished, Mr. ****** removed our cemented mailbox (L) side, looked at the curbs and then informed my wife they wouldn't be removing the curbs because it was to much work for them, due to the curbs being in one piece. My wife told him that we still wanted it done, we didn't want to lose any widening space. He was well aware of this beforehand! He irately stated again that he wouldn't do it and he informed her maybe in the future he would pave OVER it. We wanted the job completed as promised, while they were still working that day. He wouldn't remove them, but he still charged us. He left us with a broken mailbox, which is the least of our worries!! KC Paving did what they wanted to do and had total disregard to the terms of our agreement. He became irritated and aggressive if questions or concerns arose. He was highly unprofessional. Mr. ****** explained that we could park on the driveway in four to five days. To be on the safe side we waited eight days. On July 17th, the day the job was completed, ***** and his crew left without even telling us. My wife and our two adult kids walked on the street and looked at our driveway. They noticed a long white line going down the right side of the driveway. We thought it would wash away, but it's embedded in the asphalt. Obviously, caused by KC Paving's equipment. The left side of the driveway seems ok, for now. The right side, in particular, is TERRIBLE. Not only do we have the white line, but we have pebbling and cracks occurring. In some areas, not enough and/or a thin layer of asphalt was used because we have white gravel protruding from the asphalt. We have uneven areas where sinking has occurred and large divots with tire tracks. Also, in the quoted price was to pave up to our garage door. They stopped short about five inches from the door and it's, again, all uneven with a large amount of the old asphalt showing. My wife called Mr. ****** on a Thursday and tried to politely explain some of the problems we were experiencing and if he could stop by, when it was convenient for him. Over the phone, he was very rude and short tempered. He denied that his equipment made the white line and wouldn't even listen to the other problems with our driveway that his company caused. He said he absolutely couldn't come over Friday, but he would stop by on Saturday at approx. 3:30pm and abruptly hung up. Around 6:00 on Friday, he showed up, unannounced. He left a message with our son, saying he would definitively stop by on Saturday around 3:30. At 6:30 pm on Saturday, after waiting three hours, Mr. ****** never showed up or gave us a phone call. For weeks, both my wife and I have called repeatedly, to no avail. He has not responded to us, what-so-ever. We have taken many pictures, if needed to clearly prove what I have stated here and of the horrible paving job we received.

Desired Settlement
We are in the process of getting estimates from other paving contractors to see how much it would cost to fix the problems that we have incurred with our driveway. We seem to think the WHOLE right side will need to be repaved. That's how bad it is. Our hopes are that ***** ****** will pay to have it fixed. If ***** offers to repave it, we don't feel that he is competent to do the repairs. We feel, if his company wasn't capable paving it correctly the first time, how are the capable of paving it the second time? Honestly, he is very unpleasant and unprofessional to deal with. I tried to settle this very amicably and reasonably, but that didn't work out. As I stated he made us wait for three hours without the decency of a phone call, to let us know he couldn't make it. We tried for almost two weeks to get in touch with him and not one return phone call. Another reason why we would like for him to pay us to get our driveway fixed. WE DO NOT TRUST HIM! There were many red flags for us, not to use this company. We don't have alot of money and he was the cheapest. You get what you pay for, I guess. I also noticed there have been complaints against him to the BBB, but he has an A plus rating? I'm writing to your company because we don't have the money to fix these problems, nor should we have to spend any more of our own money!! I contacted the BBB because were at a loss on how to contact KC Paving and we want our driveway fixed before winter!! Thank you in advance for your help. Best Regards, ******* ********

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Kcoper
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *********@yahoo.com
Been crazy busy haven't any time, stopped by once and kids were home and left nothing I could see was wrong going to fix what ever needs to what ever the problem is will be fixed

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Although hesitant, we will have him repair the driveway. Before we agree, we would like ***** to respond on this site as to the date and time he will be over to fix the problems and he adheres to this date and time. Preferrably within the next two weeks, which we think is more than fair. That way the BBB will have this documented in case he doesn't show up.

Final Consumer Response
We still haven't heard the date and time that KC Paving is stopping by to fix our driveway? Could you please contact him so we can get this fixed!

Final Business Response
Next week I can set up a time to go over what's wrong and fix it the next day say wendesday night?

Business Response
we went over to fix the problem she had and it was committed by the home owner turning there tires in one spot on hot days and there car leaked oil. We went over and fix there problems. I am going to offer them a free sealant of the driveway as long as they explain on the site that it wasn't our fault I just didn't like all the negative comments even though it was my fault

06/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
KC Paving replaced my driveway, and the workmanship was less than desirable. KC Paving has not returned my calls. In September of 2013, I contracted KC paving to replace my driveway and explained that I wanted it widened and to be able to support the weight of a full sized pickup truck. I was told that it would cost more due to the extra work required, and I agreed to the higher price. The work was completed and paid for on 10/02/2013. During the winter there was a frost heave that raised a portion of the driveway. In April of 2014, I contacted KC Paving and was told that they would fix the problem. On 5/11/2014, cleaned my driveway and discovered another problem. There are 4 tire divots from one of my cars. I sent a text message to KC Paving explaining the new issue. I followed up with a phone call a few days later. Since then I have made several attempts to contact the business and left messages requesting for them to return my calls. On 6/1/14 I called again and left a message stating that I wanted my driveway fixed and I was giving them 24 hrs to return my call or I was going to file a complaint with the BBB. I still have not received any calls from them.

Desired Settlement
I want KC Paving to repair my driveway ( the frost heaves and the tire divots ASAP. I have given them ample time and opportunity.

Business Response
***** ***** with BBB spoke with the business and was informed that this consumer received a new driveway approximately one week ago redone with new blacktop.

02/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
KC Paving did a poor job of patching my driveway and seems unwilling to come discuss it with me.
On July 3, 2013, a crew from KC Paving led by ***** ****** (the younger) replaced about 250 square feet of driveway blacktop that had been torn up to repair a pipe below it. I paid Mr. ****** the agreed on price of $800 as soon as he said the crew was finished. He asked that we not park our car on the new blacktop for a few days, and we kept off it for almost 2 weeks to be sure we didn't harm it.

The first time we had a heavy rain, however, I noticed that the rain was puddling on the blacktop in a couple of places, which to me indicated that the asphalt had not been properly leveled. (In fact it had been pounded but not rolled when it was installed.) Closer inspection showed that that was so, and that the new asphalt did not meet the old properly; one was higher than the other in places, and there seemed to be gaps between the two in spots.

I called Mr. ******, told him what I had seen, and asked him to come look at it. He said he would but did not. I called him again about two weeks later (this time while it was raining) and asked again that he take a look at the problem and see the puddling. Again he said he would come but didn't. I called a third time and left a message again asking him to come see the work, as well as asking why he would want to do unsatisfactory work and have a dissatisfied customer. I received no response. So I am left with a poor job and an unresponsive contractor.

Desired Settlement
Given Mr. ******'s reluctance to even look at the completed work, or to discuss it with me, I believe he is aware of the poor quality of the work, and so would rather he refund the money I paid him than have him try to repair (which seems impossible) or replace the blacktop his crew put down.

Business Response
I, ***** R. ****** Sr. went over to see Mr. ******* on Saturday the ninth. I had him put water on patch and the water ran very fast. There were 2 tiny puddle areas 1ft x 1ft and 6" x 6" each on the ends of patch, the water was not deep. Water did not cover the thickness of a quarter. One area 10" long needed a little attention on the edge. I told Mr. ******* I would fix the 3 areas. I also stated there is nothing wrong with the paving, he said ok fix them. I asked him to put our agreement in writing and he blew up and left.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is a great difference between what Mr. ****** Sr. said he would fix and what I believe needs to be fixed on the patch. I certainly do not (and did not) agree that only three little areas need fixing. However, I would be willing to have a knowledgeable and uninterested third party examine the patch and decide whether it can be repaired and what needs to be repaired, in some sort of written reportperhaps on a sketch of the patch. I would be willing to abide by that report and cancel my complaint if Mr. ****** is willing to do all the repairs required by the report. I do not know such an uninterested third party; perhaps the BBB could be of help in this.

Business Response
I told Mr. ******* I would fix the 3 areas. I also stated there is nothing wrong with the paving, he said ok fix them. I asked him to put our agreement in writing and he blew up and left.

Business Response
I told Mr. ******* I would fix the 3 areas. I also stated there is nothing wrong with the paving, he said ok fix them. I asked him to put our agreement in writing and he blew up and left.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Paving Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/10/1990Business started: 01/01/1979
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Kevin R. Cooper (Owner) Lydia Cooper (Secretary)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Paving Contractors

Industry Tips
Paving Companies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for K.C. Paving, LLC.

85 Knox Marsh Road

Dover, NH 03820

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 4836 NE 23rd Ave Apt 31 

    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-4765

  • 85 Knox Marsh Road 

    Dover, NH 03820(603) 365-6213

  • PO Box 2213 

    Dover, NH 03821-2213

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*K.C. Paving, LLC. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Paving Contractors

Paving Companies
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.