BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/03/1989

Lamprey Energy, Inc.

(603) 964-6703View Additional Phone Numbers63 Atlantic Avenue, North HamptonNH 03862

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Locally owned company offering delivery and annual contracts for oil, propane & biofuel; installation, maintenance & repair of heating, AC & hot-water systems; 24-hr emergency service; service contracts; commercial diesel. Payment plans available.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/03/1989

BBB has determined that Lamprey Energy, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lamprey Energy, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lamprey Energy, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
12/30/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My complaint is: I signed a contract with Lamprey Energy to hook up my Buderus boiler to gas (just a conversion). I sent them 1/2 of the $675.00 and the other half was supposed to be paid on completion. Lamprey Energy did not complete the work. In fact, they asked me to ask another company to do it: **************** out of Rochester, NH. Phone is 603-********, ************ I called Lamprey and asked to put the bill aside because I have an excellent credit score -835 and they said they couldn't do that. They have threatened me with lawyer's fees. I signed a contract to pay $1350. I sent a check for $675.00, the rest was due on completion but they did not complete.

Desired Settlement
Please help me resolve this.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@lampreyenergy.com
***** *******, who was not a Lamprey Energy customer prior to this installation, called our office and requested a quote to convert her propane fired heating system to a natural gas system. This involved piping from the new outdoor natural gas meter location as well as changing the orifices at the burner to accommodate for natural gas. The installation was quoted. Ms. ******* signed the proposal accepting it and gave us the required 50% deposit on the installation. Ms. ******* after the quote was signed and deposits were received asked our Salesperson ******* ******* to give her a price on running natural gas line to her kitchen cooking stove. He gave her a verbal quote of $400.00 for both parts and labor which she accepted.
On the day of the installation we did the gas piping portion of the job in the morning. The code requires the gas piping to be inspected by the local code enforcement office. In Dover it is **** ***** and we had an appointment for 11am. The inspection and proof of a passed ********** is required for Until, the natural gas company , to hang the meter. It is also required there is one appliance ready to be fired off in order for them to connect the meter. When inspector Miles arrived he inspected our piping, including our pressure test and approved it. He also inspected the boiler installation which had been done earlier by another contractor. The contractor had not pulled a permit to install the boiler and there were several violations. As a result inspector Miles would not let us install the conversion kit which we had purchased. The conversion takes approximately 45 minutes. It's simply a matter of changing the orifices which are slightly larger for natural gas than they are for propane. We installed the gas piping for the kitchen stove and connected it while we waited for ****** who was scheduled to arrive between 12-4. Because we couldn't convert the heating system it was important the stove was connected. Unitil came and we connected the gas piping to the meter and fired off the stove. Ms. ******* called the contractor, ******* ******* ******** who installed the heating system to let them know about the lack of permit and the violations. We took the conversion kit back to our shop and Ms. ******* said she would call us when ******* ******* ******* had pulled the required permit and the corrections had been made and inspected by **** ***** at which point we could return to complete the conversion. We called Ms. ******* several times and finally received a return call. Ms. ******* let us know that ******* ******* ******* had fixed the issues with their installation and they had installed a conversion kit as a way of appeasing Ms. ******* for her troubles.
We sent Ms. ******* an invoice and gave her credit for an hour's labor and the retail price of the conversion kit which included the mark up on our cost of the part. We shipped the special order conversion back and we paid the restock fee.

The original quote for the piping and conversion $1,350.00
Verbal Quote for the kitchen stove piping and connection $ 400.00
Total $1,750.00 *
We invoiced Ms. ******* $1,218.50 **
Details and Documentation Attached:
A. Original Signed Quote
B. Invoice for work completed
C. Detailed invoice sent in hopes of appeasing Ms. *******. This is not something we ordinarily do on a quoted job.


10/01/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Oils-Fuel, Heating Oil & Propane, Air Conditioning Repair, Gas-Propane, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Boilers-Repair & Cleaning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/11/1990Business started: 01/01/1923
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Transportation, NH Department of
John O. Morton Bldg., PO
Concord, NH03301
(603) 271-3734
http://www.state.nh.us/dot/

BBB records show a license number of 33892 for this company, issued by Transportation, NH Department of. Their web address is http://www.state.nh.us/dot/. Department of Transportation License.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1961, NH

Contact Information
Principal: Guy Marshall (President)Customer Contact: Andrea Myers (Manager)
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

Oils-Fuel, Heating Oil & Propane, Air Conditioning Repair, Gas-Propane, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Boilers-Repair & Cleaning

Products & Services

Delivery of oil, propane, and biofuel as well as installation, repair and maintenance of heating, cooling & hot-water systems, including alternative solutions, air-quality control systems, and service contracts. Fully-licenced technicians, NH and ME.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PMTue: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PMWed: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PMThu: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PMFri: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PMSat: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PMSun: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PM
Service Area

Portsmouth, NH

Alternate Business Names
Lamprey Brothers, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lamprey Energy, Inc.

63 Atlantic Avenue

North Hampton, NH 03862

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 63 Atlantic Avenue 

    North Hampton, NH 03862(603) 964-6703
    (603) 964-6704

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lamprey Energy, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (603) 964-6704
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Oils-Fuel

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.