BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/17/1994

Ayer & Goss, Inc.

Find a Location

(603) 428-333320 Hall Ave, HennikerNH 03242

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers retail sales of fuel oils and propane.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/17/1994

BBB has determined that Ayer & Goss, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ayer & Goss, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ayer & Goss, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Lack of refund from former supplier.
I contacted Ayer & Goss today about a refund on my propane tank supply which was cancelled last fall but just picked up 3 weeks ago. After immediately being transferred to the manger I was told... I don't have an account, and then I only had 20 gallons put in last time so the pick up fee exceeded that, and then that he'd be willing to give me a $125 refund because he didn't have any records about any of it. He seemed to know lots about it when called on after the fact. I bought my house last September and I have never signed or agreed to anything with Ayer & Goss. Worst customer service I have ever had.

Desired Settlement
I asked for a detailed breakdown of supply, delivery and was refused completely by the manager. The response was "I didn't talk to the driver so I don't know". I want my money back which was over $300 in the tank. If they have a "pick up fee" I never agreed to it but not sure what the law is after buying a home. I have ALL receipts for delivery in the tank when I moved in and what I purchased after. How can a reputable company not have records of usage or pick up after especially with heating oil?

Business Response
The propane tank was a 120 gallon tank and it had 60% in it when picked up which is 72 gallons. The value of the propane at the price he last paid (3.099)was $223.12. We gave a credit of $225.00 with our normal charge of $100 to pick up a tank. He received a check for $125.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ayer & Goss is not being truthful. My tank was 80% full which on a 120 tank is 96 gallons. Can be verified by my neighbor. Also I paid 3.199 per gallon not 3.099 and will be happy to bring receipts to the BBB office to prove it. I'm surprised the company finally can come up with records which they couldn't before. I'd like to see some official documents. That's all I've asked for. Fair compensation. I will not cash the $125 check sent to me until the difference is taken care of and will not withdraw the complaint. It's not even a matter of money anymore, it's just horrible customer service and lying out right.

Final Business Response
Attached is a copy of the account activity. The discount price for propane was $3.099 per gallon which was paid on the first two deliveries. On the Nov 11 del of 20.2 gallons he did not take the discount.
In the interest of resolving this complaint, we will mail a check for $75 additional refund for the additional 24 gallons he thought was in the tank.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for your help in resolving this.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Oils-Fuel, Heating Oil & Propane, Gas-Propane

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/31/1994Business started: 01/01/1963
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Transportation, U.S. Department of
Secretary of Transportati
Washington, DC 20590
(202) 366-2220

BBB records show a license number of 294181 for this company, issued by Transportation, U.S. Department of.

Type: US DOT License

Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 1963, NH

Contact Information
Principal: Skip McKean (President)Customer Contact: Carolyn McKean (Treasurer)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Oils-Fuel, Heating Oil & Propane, Gas-Propane

Products & Services

Ayer & Goss, Inc. offers retail sales of fuel oils and propane in Henniker, Hillsboro, Bradford, Contoocook and the Weare area. In addition, they also have self service gasoline and diesel pumps in Henniker and Bradford.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Skip McKean Petroleum Transport Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ayer & Goss, Inc.

20 Hall Ave

Henniker, NH 03242

To | From


2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ayer & Goss, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.


Industry Tips for Oils-Fuel


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.