BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/09/2012

Massage Envy

Phone: (603) 622-2400Fax: (603) 518-5113377 South Willow Street, ManchesterNH 03103View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Massage Envy Spas offer easy access to massages, spa facials, Murad® products and more at hundreds of locations nationwide.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/09/2012

BBB has determined that Massage Envy meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Massage Envy's rating include:

  • 5 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Massage Envy's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service1
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Massage Envy

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
08/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Massage Envy's cancellation policy is outrageous.
I've been meaning to cancel my subscription at Massage Envy for some time now since I rarely use their service. I have accrued nearly 6 months of credits with them. Recently, my credit card on file with them expired and instead of updating the information, I found this to be a good time to cancel my service with them. I called to cancel and they said the only way to cancel my service is to make it active. What? Isn't that the point that I don't want to make it active. It turns out they wanted to charge me for 3 more months (two in arrears and one in advance) in order to cancel my subscription with them.
I've been a member at Massage Envy for a few years and if this is the way they treat long-term customers, it's amazing that they've stayed in business.
Their account cancellation policy is akin to fly-by-night companies where they make it nearly impossible to cancel service with them without costing more than what was delivered.

Desired Settlement
Due to the hassle I've been through, at this point I want my membership cancelled and issued a full refund for the accrued credits. They offered to apply 3 of my monthly credits to meet their cancellation policy requirements, leaving me with 2.5 credits to use, but I don't feel comfortable at this point using these credits with this company.
Massage Envy needs to cease and desist on trying to gather my current credit card information, cancel my membership and issue me a refund

Consumer alerted BBB of direct contact from the business
Disregard this complaint. While I'm still not happy with their policy, we have resolved the issue.

Business Response
This letter is in response to complaint activity report, case #XXXXXXXX dated 08/05/2014 and received 08/07/2014.
A Massage Envy member since November 2009, Mathew Bertch was called by one of our management team within an hour of his call (and hang up) with our wellness specialist (sales associate). He filed his complaint with your agency after his initial call and before his call with management. Our notes indicate we had previously called and left him a message about his expired credit card, thereby leaving a past due membership amount. When a client has an active membership, they are entitled to their unused (pre-paid) massages. With an expired credit card and past due balance, the client's membership is considered "expired" so their unused massages (pre-paids) are no longer available until the membership is reinstated. In our file notes, our wellness specialist suggested that he could use some of his "pre¬paids" in lieu of cash to bring his account current. This would reinstate his membership (including having an updated credit card on file), so he could utilize his remaining unused massages and then cancel his membership. He refused the offer, became irate, used inappropriate language, and hung up on our wellness specialist. Our wellness specialist immediately talked with one of our management team members and within one hour of the initial conversation our manager spoke with the client.
As a result of his conversation with our manager, Mathew had decided to keep his membership, updated his on-file credit card information, paid his past due membership balance and actually came in for a massage that day and has another massage pre-booked. Mathew is a valued member, and we are glad that we came to a successful resolution.
If you have any further questions regarding this complaint report, please feel free to contact me or any one of my management team members.

11/29/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Gift Card purchases are at the reduced service rate and associates do not check if a client has been there and should be charged the higher rate.
I have gone to this salon a few times and have had 2 very bad experience. I received 2 gift cards from my sisters to this salon. When the first gift card was purchased my sister was not asked if I had been there before nor did they look up to check. She was told that the price of a massage was roughly $35 and purchased the GC at that amount. When we redeemed that gift card the girls behind the desk were very confused. They told us that we were all set and could leave. Later I found out that my sister was getting numerous calls from them. Because I had been there before my massage was not $35 but $65 and they wanted her to pay the balance. Had this been brought to our attention at the time of our service I would have paid the difference but to call days later with their mistake was not my problem. The 2nd GC I received was for $50, again my other sister was not asked if I had been there before and she purchased a GC that would cover the cost of the massage, $35, plus tip. I made an appointment 24 hours before the appointment. The day of the appointment I was on their website trying to figure out the difference I would have to pay, knowing I had been there before, I noticed that the price for anyone that was not a first time visitor and/or a member was not listed. This prompted me to call the salon only to find out that the cost of an hour massage was $78 plus the tip would be almost $100. I could get an hour and a half massage at an actual salon with the spa experience for that price. When I asked to cancel my appointment I was told there would be a 50% cancellation fee for canceling that day. My response, how do you expect to get that from me if I never go there again. After searching their website for far too long I was able to find an email to contact the company's customer service and was told that someone from the actual location would be contacting me regarding my experience. I stated that I would like the money for the gift card reimbursed and was told that was not possible but I could "re-gift" the gift card. Who in their right might would gift this to someone after this experience. The gift I will be giving is telling everyone to never step foot into this building. It's not worth the headache and the "conveyor belt" feeling!

Desired Settlement
I would like the $50 that I currently have in a gift card refunded in cash.

Business Response
Our introductory massages are $39.00 not $35.00. Just to educate that our software will not let us sell a gift card in less it is assigned to a person. So if the person purchasing the gift card shared the recipients name then it would always be put in the system. It would then also at that time pop up if the client had been in before so that the appropriate amount of the gift card would be suggested to the purchaser. In the end it is a gift and the purchaser is the one who determines how much they want the card to be for.

11/11/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Message Envy is strong arming me into paying additional funds for services that I do not want. I already met my obligation to their 1 year contract.
I signed up as a customer for a 1 year contract and fulfilled my contract, so I thought.

On my last message appointment, I left telling them I would not be back because I could not afford their services any longer and they were pleasant and said ok. They did not mention to me that I needed to have this in writing it was a verbal understanding.

A month went by and I saw a charge on my debit card for Message Envy. I called and asked them what the charge was and they said that it was my monthly billing. I said my contract ended and I could not afford their services any longer. They stated that I owed them the monthly billing and that I needed to write a letter 30 days prior to the next billing in order to get out of a contract that I only signed up for 1 year which had already expired. I was and still am infuriated.

They offered to put my account on hold for 5 months and give me my money back. I needed my money so I could pay my rent. I said fine because I needed the money and did not feel it was right that they are trying to strong arm me into another months bill. I was having trouble finishing off the contract as it was. I received my money, my account was put on hold, but they told me I would still have to pay another months rent when the hold period was up. I told them I did not want their services any longer and that this was ridiculous that they were trying to keep me on.

I changed my debit account card because there was no reason for me to pay them another dime. I told them at my last appointment that I would not be coming back, that I could not afford their services. They were fine with that. A month went by, I get charged and they were forcing me to either make another appointment or put my account on hold to pay down the road. This is blackmail and I am not taking it. I fulfilled my year membership. I ignored them after the hold period because I am extremely mad still and even more so now that they have put a claim against my credit and sent my account to a collection agency.

Desired Settlement
I just want them to remove the charges from my account, call off their collection agency, and leave me alone. I do not want their services and they should respect that.

Business Response
First I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. My assistant manager was following policies regarding our membership. How our membership works is after a client fulfills a 12 months membership, it automatically renews on a month to month basis. If you would like to cancel the membership after the 12 months term, we require a 30 day written notice, which is clearly stated in the membership agreement that every member signs. Per the client's request, we froze the membership for 6 months. When a client request to freeze their membership, we clearly state on the freeze form that after the requested duration of the freeze it will reactivate and resume where it left off. When the term of the freeze neared, as a courtesy we called the client to inform about the reactivation date but did not hear back from the client therefore the membership continued per original agreement. Although, this is not Massage Envy error we would like to extend a resolution by cancelling the original agreement. We wish our client the best of luck in the future and hope that we will be kept in mind for any further massage needs.

Final Business Response
Your membership has been cancelled. You have been taken out of the collections process and you will not be receiving any further billings from us. I appreciate you stating that your massage experience was exceptional. Thank you.

09/25/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/17/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Massage Therapists, Day Spa

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/11/2010Business started: 06/26/2008
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Michelle Willette (Owner) Joanna Fekay (Clinic Administrator)
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

Massage Therapists, Day Spa

Products & Services

Therapeutic Massage
Murad Facials
Memberships Available

Alternate Business Names
Crystal Spa Holding, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Massage Envy

377 South Willow Street

Manchester, NH 03103

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 377 South Willow Street 

    Manchester, NH 03103

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Massage Envy is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Massage Therapists

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.