BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Herrington Catalog

Phone: (603) 437-1600Fax: (603) 434-74763 Symmes Drive, LondonderryNH 03053http://www.herringtoncatalog.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Herrington Catalog is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Herrington Catalog's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Herrington Catalog offers audio, video, motoring, golf,
boating, photography, sports, and skiing- by mail. The firm
is a mail order catalog company which offers products with
prompt service.

This firm was incorporated in the state of New Hampshire on
October 2, 1989.

This firm was established in the state of Ohio in 1982.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Herrington Catalog

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
2011-Purchased Frye Boots for approx. $250 from Herrington Catalog. Within the 90-day return policy period, contacted Herrington to advise boots were ill fitting due to round buckle gouging into ankle bone. Herrington representative advised me to wait until the next catalog came out to try and select another style Frye boot. She assured me that she would notate that my call was within the 90-day return policy and assured me I would fall under that policy. The new catalog did not showcase any different Frye boots to choose from. Upon asking her about the incoming Frye inventory she advised me that Herrington never knows the new incoming Frye inventory. After the next catalog came out I contacted Herrington for a return authorization number. Again, I was told I should wait one more time because the next catalog was most likely going to have Frye boots. A contradiction from what was I was previously told. I checked and no Frye boots. I was not given a RMA number when I requested one via phone because I was told the boots were passed the 90-day return policy. I explained that a Herrington representative asked me to wait to return them. I asked to speak to a superviser. The first supervisor, ********* took 3 weeks to call me back. She was hostile and unhelpful. I then asked to speak to her boss which was ****** She was the right hand assistant to Mr. *************** She told me she could not help me and Mr. ********** is refusing to speak to me. To this day, they still have my $250 Frye boots and have not credited me or offered me an exchange. I subsequently found out that ********** is no longer an authorized dealer for Frye boots and i believe that is why they deceived me with fraud by asking me to stall in sending the boots back.
Order_Number: FFNJ4K00.1145

Desired Settlement
My money refunded, please.

Business Response
Customer placed her order on 10/26/11. She returned the boots one year later November 2012. She never contacted Herrington prior to returning the boots. We returned the boots to ********** with a letter indicating that we could not accept the boots back after one year. We have an established 60 day return policy. On 12/11/12 we received the boots back again (customer refused the package that we shipped back to her). We have her boots in our warehouse and would be happy to ship them back to her. No credit will be issued for this return. Customer was never told she could return these boots. She never called Herrington prior to returning them. We have clear detailed notes on this account. We would never instruct a customer to hold on to any item that they want to return. Often times, we do not carry the same items from year to year. We have a 60 day return policy for a reason. Again, please let me know if the customer would like her boots back and I will be happy to send them to her. Thanks for your help.

Consumer Response
The rebuttal is that I'm entitled to a "full refund" under the law, of The Sale of Goods Act of 1979. I places the phone call for my request the same week I received the ill-fitting Frye Boots. Also, no merchant at any time whatsoever, is authorized to keep a customer's product that the customer paid for. Herrington has kept my boots and money for the past (2) years.

I've since spoken to a Frye representative about Herrington not being cooperative in issuing me a full refund for my ill-fitting Frye boots. A Frye representative has informed me that Herrington is no longer a supplier for their boots. As a matter of fact, Herrington was phasing out the Frye brand in the Fall of 2011, which was the exact time I tried to return my Frye boots. In the Fall of 2011, when I requested a RMA to return the ill-fitting Frye boots, Herrington already knew that they would not be carrying the Frye brand any longer. Herrington's decision to delay my refund was fraud. A customer should not be asked to absorb the burden of a vendor relation gone bad. Lots of corporations turn their refund delays into a business. And, Herrington did just that with me. Within my First Amendment rights I will definitely post on every internet site possible my Hall of Shame experience with this unethical company.

The Sale of Goods Act of 1979 says that any goods you buy must be fit for purpose, of satisfactory quality and match any description given. If goods aren't able to carry out their normal functions for any reason, they are not fit for purpose. My boots were not able to carry out their normal function because the buckle dug into my skinny ankle. I have a right to a full refund.

When it comes to refunds for Herrington they would rather take my boots back AND keep my money as they've done for (2) years now. How much more unethical could they be?


Business Response
Unfortunately we cannot issue a credit or any type of refund. We do have Ms. **********'s boots here and will be happy to ship them back to her. As stated previously, we did not tell Ms. ********** to hold on to her product for a year. We do have a relationship with Frye, however, we are not currently carrying a current product of theirs. We are a reputable company and are not in the business of deceiving or defrauding customers. Ms. ********** said she spoke with a supervisor named ********, unfortunately we do not have a supervisor named ********. We would never make a customer wait 3 weeks for a response. We also would never speak to a customer in a hostile manner. We have never stalled in sending her boots back, we shipped them back to her and she refused them, therefore, they were returned to **********. In a later conversation our Operations Manager explained that we could not issue her credit, but we would be happy to return her boots, and she indicated that she didn't want them. We have her boots and would be happy to ship them back to her. Please let me know if that is what she would like us to do.

Regards,

****** ******
Customer Service Supervisor
*******@herringtoncatalog.com
XXX-XXX-XXXX

03/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Saw their Advertisement in catalog. the safety warning said if product did not regrow hair and left redness to discontinue use and get refund. I called number from instruction booklet. Representative on the phone said to try it for 5 months to see about results. Called again in November and they said to see catalog company about refund. I wrote them and have never got a response yet.

Desired Settlement
To get whatever the legal law says I'm entitled to for refund.

Business Response
********** Catalog Customer Service left Mr. ******* a voicemail message, detailing how to send his package back to us on November 18, 2013. The message stated to repackage the unit and insure it for $500. He was to return the merchandise to: ********** 3 ****** Dr ************ NH XXXXX. To date, we have not heard back from the customer, nor received his return. He may still return the merchandise to us, as long as all items are included, including any adaptors, or attachments, and it is sent back in the manufacturer's original packaging.

02/28/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refusal to honor unconditional refund or exchange guarantee relating to Stuhrling watch.
Stuhrling Jura Ultrathin Watch in rose gold (Catalog # ES834) was purchased online (invoice date 12/5/2013)as Xmas present for husband. When opened On 12/25 noticed an extremely small (pin point size) imperfection in the crystal, which my husband said was no big deal. A couple of weeks thereafter my husband started wearing the watch. Thereafter, my husband noticed the watch would sporadically fail to show correct time. These events were sometimes separated by as much as a week or more. Finally on 1/30/14 we decided to send the watch back and delivered it to USPS with ********** return form and in its original packaging. It was delivered to ********** by USPS on 2/3/2014 (the 60th day after invoice date, the 59th day after payment and less than that from the delivery date). ********** guarantee states in full "If for any reason you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return it to us within 60 days of receipt for a prompt and friendly refund or exchange." This guarantee appears in the ********** catalog and on the Herringtoncatalog.com website. On 2/4/2014 my husband received a call from ********** in which it was stated that no exchange or refund would be given because of the "cracked crystal." My husband explained that the return was because the watch did not keep good time and had nothing to do with the minor blemish on the crystal. After reviewing the ********** guarantee, my husband called ********** back that day and quoted the guarantee to the representative and made clear he was not satisfied with the watch because it did not keep time. The representative insisted that because of the defect in the crystal the guarantee was inapplicable, even though she was unable to explain why this was the case as the guarantee required only that the customer not be satisfied. She told my husband she would have her boss call me back the next day. On 2/7/2014 a representative of ********** called my husband and continued to insist that because of the imperfection in the crystal the guarantee did not apply. This representative stated that the defect could not have possibly existed when the watch was delivered to us and must have been caused by my husband. My husband explained that the imperfection was in the crystal when received and, in any event was not why he returned the watch,and pointed out that the guarantee was very broad and unconditional. My husband asked to speak with this person's boss. Later that day Patti ********, the operations manager, called and told my husband that notwithstanding that the guarantee was unconditional and required only that the purchaser not be "completely satisfied" no refund or exchange would be given. They intended to send the watch to the manufacturer for evaluation and would let him know what, if anything, ********** would do. In a later call that same day Ms. ******** finally offered to have the watch repaired by the manufacturer (not including the crystal) at **********'s cost. My husband told her that, given his experience with how ********** honored its guarantee, he did not want to deal further with them and wanted a full refund in accordance with the guarantee. She refused, but offered to have another representative of ********** call, to which my husband agreed. This person called but had nothing new to offer and continued to focus on the imperfection in the crystal and refused to have the purchase price refunded. The purchase price was $139 and was paid on 12/6/2013 with a MasterCard. The invoice date was 12/5/2013 and, although the exact date is uncertain, the watch was delivered sometime after 12/5/2013. The 60 day period in the guaranty was met because the watch was delivered to ********** by the US Postal service on 2/3/2014 (as evidenced by a USPS notice of delivery), which was the 60th day after the invoice date and 59 days after the payment date. Thus, it was clearly returned within 60 days of the original delivery date.

Desired Settlement
I want ********** to honor its unconditional guarantee and provide a refund of the purchase price of $139 and the delivery charge of $15.95, for a total of $154.95.

Business Response
Approximately two months after the purchase date, ********** Catalog received back a Stuhrling watch that suffered damage (a chip) to the watch's crystal. Had this watch arrived back in the same condition it was sent, the customer would have been given an immediate credit. Since there was damage to the watch, it was sent to our supplier for evaluation. They determined that the chip was not a manufacturer's defect, but something caused by the consumer. We advised our supplier that the customer indicated the watch was not keeping time. They offered to repair the watch free of charge for our mutual customer. The customer was not pleased with this outcome, and wanted a brand new watch. Since the damage sustained on the watch was caused by the customer, and not a defect, our supplier was unwilling to replace it, but again offered to repair it free of charge. When this resolution was offered to the customer, they deemed it unacceptable. The customer indicated at that point that they would initiate a chargeback with their credit card company. In an effort to resolve this matter, ********** would be willing to credit the customer, if they have not yet initiated chargeback proceedings, as earlier indicated.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Herrington has offered a "credit." This is unclear. If it means a store credit, it is unacceptable; I do not want to deal with these people in the future. If it means a full refund it is acceptable. I am only asking that it honor its unconditional guarantee. (Although I continue to dispute its claim that I damaged the watch crystal, I note that its "Matchless Guarantee" would still cover a crystal that was damaged by a customer in that the customer might not be "completely satisfied" because the watch crystal could be damaged so easily in normal use within 60 days. The guarantee has no conditions or limitations - it is broad and unconditional. Herrington could have made its guarantee subject to whatever conditions and limitations it wanted to, but it chose not to impose limitations or conditions and it should now honor its legal obligations. It cannot after the purchase impose secret undisclosed limitations to its guarantee.) I note that Herrington explains its refusal to honor its guarantee by claiming its supplier would not replace it. It does not matter what kind of deal Herrington has with its suppliers. What matters is what its deal is with its customers.

I have requested my credit card company to investigate and initiate a chargeback. This is ongoing at the present time. If Herrington is offering to refund my purchase price I will have my credit card company cease its investigation and no chargeback will be made.

Final Business Response
As stated in my response of 2/18/14, in an effort to resolve this matter, ********** is willing to credit the customer (i.e.; a credit to their credit card). I am not sure why the customer is not accepting the resolution that they requested!

01/17/2013Problems with Product / Service
12/17/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mail Order & Catalog Shopping, Catalog Showrooms

Additional Information

top

Herrington Catalog offers audio, video, motoring, golf, boating, photography, sports, and skiing- by mail. The firm is a mail order catalog company which offers products with prompt service.

This firm was incorporated in the state of New Hampshire on October 2, 1989.

This firm was established in the state of Ohio in 1982.

BBB file opened: 08/30/1990Business started: 01/01/1982
Type of Entity

Partnership

Contact Information
Principal: Lee Herrington (President)Customer Contact: Kelley Dupuis (Customer Service Supervisor) Normand Beauchesne (Vice President Finance) Patricia Kelliher (Customer Service Manager)
Number of Employees

150

Business Category

Mail Order & Catalog Shopping, Catalog Showrooms

Products & Services


Alternate Business Names
Herrington - The Enthusiasts' Catalog, The Enthusiasts Catalog, Enthusiasts, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Herrington Catalog

3 Symmes Drive

Londonderry, NH 03053

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Herrington Catalog is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Mail Order & Catalog Shopping

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.