BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Concord, NH

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/16/2002

Dan Parks Fencing & Landscaping, Inc.

Phone: (603) 437-4978Fax: (603) 642-41937 Small Pox Road, KingstonNH 03848

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a variety of landscaping, fencing, & outdoor services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/16/2002

BBB has determined that Dan Parks Fencing & Landscaping, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dan Parks Fencing & Landscaping, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
12/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: They stopped about 18 inches short with the run of fence they were hired to put up. Leaving a gap my kids and dogs could get out thru.
Back in may I hired dan parks fence to fence in a portion f my yard which they came to do in June. The fences were not only installed poorly and uneven but more importantly they left about 18 inches or so open at the end which left a gap allowing my dogs to get out. The contract was to go all the way to the corner. I spoke to *** himself 2 or 3 times in July and he kept assuring me they would be back to fix the problem. But they never returned to do so and now will not even answer my calls or return a call even after I leave a msg.

Initial Business Response
I had been in touch with **** and we did put in another post to close the gap. I did not hear back from him until he decided to rent his property to someone else, who happened to have a small dog that could get thru the gap. I told **** I would take a look at it for him, but at this point, I felt that I was not liable, I was now doing something above and beyond. I have not had a chance to get over there to see it since. I did let **** know that I would be there when I had a chance or was in the area. Funny how you offer to help out and when you don't you get reported to the BBB. He seems to be a good guy, and I am willing to help, but this is over the top!


Thanks,

*** *****

Final Consumer Response
i had no choice but to contact the BBB since *** refused to take calls or return them after leaving a message. whats unacceptable is refusing to finish the contracted work they were hired to do which was run the fence all the way up the hill, not stop almost 2 feet short. when i first complained to *** he had no idea why his crew did that but said they would be out to fix, they did come back out and put a pole to split the difference. i then called *** and said that would nto work i needed it fixed properly since even my large dogs could escape so i had to put chicken wire up to keep them in and ot became more of an issue once i rented out the house and the tennants had smaller dogs. i am the one that was trying to be the nice guy and help them out by saying i knew it was their busy season and this did not need to be a rush, but could wait till they slowed down. In return i was simply blown off. not once did i complain to *** about the poor job his guys did regarding the rest of the fence that is uneven. Maybe *** needs to go out to his jobsites and inspect the guys work rather than just blow off his customers and assume its customer that is wrong and the crew did what was expected of them.

Final Business Response
It will be taken care of, I did not assume **** was wrong at all. We are down to a small crew right now and it is one of those things where we just need some down time after a short day so we can take care of the situation. It is on my punch list to be taken care of this fall.

Consumer Response
As of 11/15 the job has still not been completed.


Consumer Response
They are there now fixing fence

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/26/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscape Contractors, Fence Contractors, Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors, Landscape Designers, Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers, Patio & Deck Builders

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/11/1994Business started: 01/01/1987
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1997, NH

Contact Information
Principal: Dan Parks (Owner) Peggy Parks (Treasurer)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Landscape Contractors, Fence Contractors, Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors, Landscape Designers, Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers, Patio & Deck Builders

Products & Services

From land clearing/logging/grading to new lawns, fencing, patios, pools, sports courts, irrigation, gardens, waterfalls, lighting, decks/porches, greenhouse installation, retaining walls with stone/block. We can design it and build it for you.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Service Area

Most of Southern NH, Concord South

Alternate Business Names
Parks Fence & Landscape

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

5 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dan Parks Fencing & Landscaping, Inc.

7 Small Pox Road

Kingston, NH 03848

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dan Parks Fencing & Landscaping, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Landscape Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.