BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/11/2004

Swiss Knife Shop

Phone: (603) 732-0069Fax: (603) 732-0209View Additional Phone Numbers10 Northern Blvd., Ste. 8, AmherstNH 03031View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

SwissKnifeShop.com is an Internet retailer of functional and practical name-brand products such as Victorinox Swiss Army, Wenger Swiss Army Leatherman, BUILT NY, Zwilling Henckels, and Wusthof.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/11/2004

BBB has determined that Swiss Knife Shop meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Swiss Knife Shop's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Swiss Knife Shop

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
12/30/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failed to ship my item in the time frame set at time of order. Required more money to ship after 9 days of holding order.
This will be the last order that I place with your company. When I ordered my daughters gift the confirmaton said that the order would be shipped in 2-3 business days. I ordered on the 9th. It states on your "Get it under the tree" that I should pay more for shipping if ordering on or after the 11th. So I opted for the free shipping since it didn't say that I needed to. At that time it would have cost me an additional $8 to get it in time. On December 18th I called since I didn't get any updates. I was told that it hadn't shipped yet since I didn't upgrade the shipping. Molly said that if I paid the $19 now for 2 day ups then I would get it in time. I feel like my order was held hostage until I paid more. You had my order for 9 days and didn't do anything with it. I paid the $19 even though I don't think I should have. I want the gift. But this is the last time I will do business with this company and I will put this out on all social media. This is a horrible business practice. The knife came in 2 days before Christmas and was exactly what I ordered but it cost me $19 more than I should have paid. I sent this message via email on December 18th. I got an automated message but never got any personal message addressing my complaint. So it appears that this company doesn't care about customer feedback.

Desired Settlement
Refund $19 that I was later charged in order to get my item in time for the holiday.

Final Consumer Response
Swiss Knife Shop has now issued a refund for $19 shipping.
Thank you.

03/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product ordered was backordered. Countless emails and almost no replies. Finally they replied stating they charged for the order and it's shipped.
I ordered a knife from this site which nowhere stating it was out of stock or backordered. I tried checking the status on the website and it didn't even recognize my order number. I emailed them and they stated it was backordered and would ship "soon". I emailed back requesting a shipping upgrade for the inconvenience. There was no response. I started sending countless emails. Two weeks ago(FEB 11) they finally replied with "we expect the knife to arrive the end of next week." I emailed again about shipping upgrades and again no repsonse. Then finally, 3 days ago, they email "we've charged your card and shipped your order with the upgraded shipping you requested.". When i placed the order I got charged and charged again with this final email. I was charged when I placed the order and they never informed me that my charge was released, then charged instantly causing me to overdraft. To be fair this is only for #33.50, but I don't understand why they canceled my charge to immediately charge again without any heads up beforehand to ensure funds are available. In 3 days it will have been exactly a month since I placed this order and I still haven't even received my product.

Desired Settlement
I'd LOVE a full refund for this fiasco($33.50), but the main thing I'd like is a $10 refund to cover my bank charges as well as a BBB mark on their record. I've never even done a BBB complaint, but these behaviors have been increasingly happening, or at least increasingly happening to ME, and I don't feel like letting these kind of practices to continue unchecked. Also to be fair this isn't the worst treatment I've gotten lately, but companies are getting worse and I'm sick & tired of receiving the flak from the lack of customer care!

Business Response
We apologize that it took some time for us to get your order delivered. There were a few external factors that were out of our control.
Unfortunately, due to inclement weather, our office was closed for several days, which delayed our communication with you. Furthermore, the severe weather delayed Swiss Army's shipment to us, because they are also located in the Northeast.
When you placed your order on our website, our system automatically gets an approval to charge your credit card. This puts a pending authorization hold on the funds in your account. We don't actually charge your credit card until the order is shipped, which it did on February 24, 2015. On the day your order shipped you were charged for the original order amount of $33.50.
Through several ernails from us, we did notify you that the item you ordered was not in stock and would shipped promptly upon arrival. You were not able to view the status of your order on our site since it was not entered under your account. However, you are able to check the status using the help menu at the bottom of our site. You were also notified through email the day that your credit card was charged and your order was shipped.
You requested upgraded shipping at no cost which we did to expedite delivery of your item..
Again, we apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. As a gesture of goodwill we have issued you a credit for $10.00 on your order.


Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Shopping

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/24/2004Business started: 07/01/2002
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Keith Thompson (CEO) Kathleen Thompson (Owner)
Number of Employees

11

Business Category

Internet Shopping

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: ClosedSun: Closed
Service Area

National

Alternate Business Names
Walnut Hill Marketing, LLC
Industry Tips
OnLine Purchases -- How To Return

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Swiss Knife Shop

10 Northern Blvd.

Amherst, NH 03031

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10 Northern Blvd.
    Ste. 8 

    Amherst, NH 03031(603) 732-0069
    (866) 438-7947

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Swiss Knife Shop is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 438-7947
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Internet Shopping

OnLine Purchases -- How To Return
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.