BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

On Call International

Phone: (603) 328-1300Fax: (603) 898-9172View Additional Phone Numbers1 Delaware Dr, SalemNH 03079-4034http://www.oncallinternational.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On Call International is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised On Call International's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on On Call International

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased travel/health insurance based on agent saying specific trip would be covered. Husband had an accident and claim was denied.
Accident occurred on Wolf Creek vacation described to agent selling me the policy. Travel Assure Policy #XXXXXXXXXXX. On Call Case #XXXXXX. Accident occurred on 09/14/2012. Accident occurred before we returned home. Pg. 9 of policy indicates travel insurance covers until return home. Duration of trip was under a week which was less than the 90 day limit of the policy. Requested claim for $65 for ER, $265 for hospital, and $350 is well under the policy limits. Responded to various requests from the company with claim denied on 3/20 stating that staying with my sister after we stayed at Wolf Creek made claim invalid. Had specifically asked sales person about this detail of our trip and she had said that we were covered until we returned home. This is also how the policy reads.

Desired Settlement
Payment as specified in the insurance policy of the $65 + $265 + $350 costs that we incurred because of my husband's accidents while traveling on a covered vacation.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@oncallinternational.com
May 17, 2013

Regarding: Complainant ******* ****
Complaint Case Number: XXXXXXXX
On Call International Case No: XXXXXX

Dear Mr. ********:

On Call International represents United States Fire Insurance Company as the Third Party Administrator of the ********* travel protection plan Mrs. **** elected.

We have reviewed Mrs. ****'s case and have determined that medical expenses being claimed did not fall within the parameters of the ********* travel protection plan description that she purchased.

The facts presented were that Mr. and Mrs. **** were traveling on a trip booked under their ********* membership to the ********* ***************** from September 6th, 2012 to September 7th, 2012. On September 7th, 2012 they concluded their trip to the ********* resort and began a trip to ************************** as guests of Mrs. ****'s sister. On September 14th, 2012, while returning home from their trip to Yellow Stone National Park, Mr. **** suffered an injury requiring medical attention. Subsequently, Mrs. **** filed a medical claim for $415 in expenses.

The ********* Reservations Department confirmed that at the time of Mr. ****'s injury they were not traveling on a trip booked under their ********* membership number and their ********* resort trip had concluded on Septermber7th, 2012. Mrs. **** confirmed this with our Operations Department on February 28th, 2013 when she advised that at the time Mr. ****'s injury was incurred they were traveling home from a trip to ************************** as guests of her sister and booked under her sister's reservation.

The Medical Protection benefit under Section II of the plan only applies when the member is traveling on a scheduled trip under their ********* membership as evidenced by the following which is taken from the membership terms and conditions:
Section II: applies any time you are on a trip that is booked by ********* or its affiliates:

Part B - Medical Protection Emergency Accident and Sickness Medical Expense - The insurer will pay benefits up to the maximum shown on the Schedule, if you, your family members and traveling companions traveling with you incur covered medical expenses as a result of emergent treatment of an accidental injury or sickness that first manifests itself during the covered trip.

"Trip" means land/sea arrangements and shall include flight connections to join or depart such land/sea arrangements provided such flights are scheduled to commence within one day of the land/sea arrangements.

"Land/Sea Arrangments" mean land and/or sea arrangements made by ********* or ********* Travel, including any activities under taken by you while you are on a covered trip.

Plan Cost and Terms of Coverage - Coverages and services provided take effect 12:01 am local time on the day each of your trips commences and terminates on the earlier of the following: (a) Your return to your origination point (b) 11:59 pm local time at your location on the day the trip is scheduled to be completed; (c) The date you cancel your trip.

Mr. and Mrs. ****'s trip through their ********* membership concluded on September 7th, 2012. At the time Mr. **** suffered his injury, on September 14th, 2012, they were not on a ********* trip therefore we are unable to afford coverage for their claim. It may be advantageous for Mrs. ****, as she was returning home from a trip as her sister's guest when the injury was occurred, to see if she can seek coverage as a Travel Companion under any travel protection plan's her sister may hold.

I hope this resolves the situation and addresses any concerns you may have. If I can be of further assistance please feel free to contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Sincerely,


***** ******
Claims Adjuster
On Call International

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
***** ******'s response to my complaint does not resolve my concern and complaint with this company and I ask that the complaint remain on file with the Better Business Bureau because of the following major and minor concerns that I have with this business.
Before I purchased Travel Insurance with this company, I asked one of the sales agents if the trip we planned to take would be covered by their insurance. I clearly and completely described my reservation at Wolf Creek followed by being a guest of my sister on her reservation at *********** before returning home. I was told that the trip would be covered until we returned home. I purchased the insurance a few days later. If I had been told the coverage would terminate after we left Wolf Creek and went to *********** and only cover part of our trip, I would have bought other insurance. *** and travel agencies have travel insurance that would have covered the whole trip. I bought the insurance in questions because I was told we would be covered for the whole trip and that saved me a trip to ***.
I had not received a copy of the policy before we left. I called and requested a copy of the policy. They responded and it was in the mail when I returned. I have now read the policy several times and agree with the original representation that we were covered. But I did not have the chance to read the policy, possibly see concerns, cancel the insurance before the trip, receive a refund, and purchase other coverage. If I had found the coverage questionable for this trip, I would have bought other insurance. It seemed strange that I wasn't promptly sent the policy I had purchased. I question the slowness of providing the insured with the written policy.
We took the trip exactly as described. My husband unfortunately fell and was injured on our final drive home. He died from complications from this accident. The medical claims were smoothly handled by Medicare and his Medicare supplement. When this process was completed, I filled out the form for the Travel Insurance to reimburse me for bills that were stated as covered in the policy. I had several requests for additional information from On Call who apparently represents the Travel Insurance Company. One of the early requests was for me to obtain copies of my husband's medical records related to the accident. The hospital was surprised they had not just requested these directly as insurance usually does. They said they could not release them to me without Art's (my husband's) authorization or a current medical power of attorney of which I had neither. They gave me the FAX number, email contact, and phone extension and told me to tell the insurance company to request them and they would provide them. I provided this information. And at one point, one of the hospital staff arranged to have the records sent to the company return receipt required. After I told the Travel Insurance company that I could not obtain the requested records and provided the contact information, I received a form for me to sign authorizing the release of the medical records. My signature was unneeded and useless per the hospital but I signed and returned the form. This and other requests made me feel that they were trying to wear a senior citizen and down and make me give up. Each activity brought me back to the sad time that I lost my husband but I complied as quickly as I could.
My major complaint is that the claim was denied on the exact trip I described before I purchased the insurance. This is either fraudulent sales practices or fraudulent processing of a valid claim. They requested information until they found something they could base a denial on counter to what I was sold and how I and my family attorney interpret the policy.
I informed On Call at least once of what I'd been told before I purchased insurance and that the entire trip was one that I'd been told would be covered. They have never addressed the inconsistency of sales versus practice.
Do to their diligence in finding a way to deny a small claim, I feel it's important to have my complaint remain filed with BBB. I, of course, am telling as many ******* ********* members of my negative experience with this company and as I've recovered from the loss of my husband, will be filing a complaint with *******, the ********* board, and the ********************************* My family attorney is an overworked junior associate in her firm and is too busy to file an action with out significant cost to me but if her schedule lightens in the future, she may be able to work me in pro bono and I may be able to take legal action demanding what I am owed plus possible pain and suffering costs. In the meantime, I mainly want to protect any other person I can against dealing with what I consider to be an unethical company.
Thank you for accepting my complaint and I ask that it remain on file unless in the unlikely event that the insurance company provides the insurance that I was sold.

Business' Final Response
After reviewing Mrs. ****'s situation, On Call International has decided to make a one-time exception to the terms and conditions of her plan as a goodwill gesture. Once we received a signed release, which is being sent to her, we will issue a payment for $680.00.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance - Travel

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/03/2002Business started: 01/01/1997
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Michael Kelly (President and CEO)
Number of Employees

99

Business Category

Insurance - Travel

Products & Services

Travel and Medical Assistance Company

Alternate Business Names
On Call Intl, Global Response Center

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for On Call International

1 Delaware Dr

Salem, NH 03079-4034

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1 Delaware Dr 

    Salem, NH 03079-4034(603) 328-1926
    (800) 575-5014
    (603) 328-1300
    (800) 407-7307

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*On Call International is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (603) 328-1926
  • (800) 575-5014
  • (800) 407-7307
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Insurance - Travel

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.