BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Hampshire Inn & Conference Center

Phone: (603) 474-5700Fax: (603) 474-2886View Additional Phone Numbers20 Spur Road, SeabrookNH 03874View Additional Email Addresseshttp://www.hampshireinn.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers guest accommodation and conference center services.

BBB Accreditation

Hampshire Inn & Conference Center is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hampshire Inn & Conference Center's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hampshire Inn & Conference Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Room was not as described, it was dirty, pull out couch unusable. extremely loud.
We wanted the presidential sweet because it had a pull out couch that we could use and the separate bedroom. The pull out couch when we pulled it out was unusable. There was dirty sheets on it that had napkins and crumbs on them. The mattress had the springs coming thru it. We had to go out to the store and buy an air mattress so that out oldest would have something to sleep on. The adjoin bedroom did not even have a door knob for us to use to open or close the door and the lock did not work. The room was disgusting and the fridge was dirty. We would like to get a refund on the room or at least be compensated for the things that we needed to but to stay there. We did complain to the staff about our problems but they didn't do anything about it and it felt as though we were bothering them. The kids were in their pool one of the days and the pool says it was for guess and that no food or beverages are to be in there. But while our kids were swimming this older couple came in and we started talking, they told us if you pay the check in person $5.00 that anyone can come and swim. They also were drinking alcohol in there.
When I called the hotel to talk to the about it, the only person that you can talk to is a receptionist and she is not willing to give you another number to call. If there is anything that you can do that would be great thank you.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of the money we spent to stay there. They staff was not helpful to resolve any of the issues and we had to purchase items.

Business Response
To Whom it May Concern,
I am writing in regards to case #XXXXXXXX ***** **********, I have responded to her email a week ago. In researching back I made a mistake in the email address so she did not receive it. I have looked back on her history. ***** has stayed here at our hotel at least 4 times in the past, It surprises me that the room was not what she expected. I did speak with my housekeepers about the room issues and reminded them of what needs to be done in the rooms. I also spoke to the front desk staff about any reports that were brought to the front desk by ***** and they said that the sofa bed was reported. I do offer swimming to the public, I do not allow any alcohol beverages or any drinks or food in the pool area it is clearly posted on the door. There are people that do not like to follow rules, if we see or its reported that there is anyone with drinks in the pool area we tell them to leave the pool area right away. I would like to offer ***** a refund of $ 175.11 for her unpleasant stay this is a full night's stay out of the 4 nights she stayed with us.
Thank you for your time.
***** *****
Hampshire Inn
20 Spur RD
Seabrook ,NH XXXXX
Phone-XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Industry Comparison| Chart

Inns, Conference Centers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/30/2004Business started: 01/01/1986
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1986, NH

Business Management
Principal: Tayna P. (General Manager)
Number of Employees

18

Business Category

Inns, Conference Centers

Alternate Business Names
The Kings Surf, Limited

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hampshire Inn & Conference Center

20 Spur Road

Seabrook, NH 03874

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hampshire Inn & Conference Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 932-8520
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Inns

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.