BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/18/2012

SD Cookman Building & Remodeling

Phone: (603) 497-4294Fax: (603) 497-4294

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had to hire another company to diagnose and correct a loss of heat issue. SD ******* was responsible for this loss of heat due to faulty wiring.
On August 26, 2015 we met with ***** ******* of ******* Building and Remodeling. We discussed several house projects that we were considering using his company for.
We decided to hire his company, and on September 23, 2015 we signed with ******* Building and Remodeling for several projects.
One of these projects involved finishing the basement which included a new heating zone. A second project involved the installation of a wireless thermostat on the first floor. Another project involved new recessed lighting in the kitchen and basement.
**************************** is the company that Mr. ******* employed for the heating and plumbing aspect of this job.
On December 2, 2015 we were informed that all the projects were finished, and Mr. ******* was given his final check.
On January 5, 2016 I awoke at 0500 and discovered that the heating was not working properly. The family room and second floor were extremely cold. I went to work and called my wife to discuss the heating situation, whereas, she agreed that it seemed very cold in the house. I suggested that she call a heating company to determine the problem. My wife contacted ************************* a local company, and explained the problem.
***********, president/owner, of ************************ arrived in the late morning, and he determined that a transformer was not working properly. Mr. **** had installed his last thermostat at another location and had to return to his office to retrieve another one. Mr. **** returned with the new transformer approximately 30 minutes later. The new transformer was installed and immediately began to smoke, and it shorted out. Now Mr. **** had to determine why the new transformer shorted out. Upon closer inspection, Mr. **** determined that the wiring for the new wireless thermostat was not wired/installed correctly.
Mr. **** determined that **************************** had not done the wiring correctly, and this lead to the transformer shorting out which resulted in no heat going to two zones.
Mr.***** had to contact the wireless thermostat company for assistance. A schematic drawing of how the wiring should be completed was requested. This was received and was e-mailed to Mr. *****
Mr. **** returned at approximately 1600 hours in order to fix the wiring problem. It took Mr. **** until approximately 1800 hours to correct the wiring.
It should be noted that as of this date, the heating is working fine, and there are no issues.
The cost to have the heating situation rectified was $489.00. We were charged $219.00 for the initial visit and the cost of two transformers and installation. We were charged $270.00 for the second visit which took care of the wiring problem. We paid ************************ a total of $489.00.
On or about January 8, 2015 Mr. ******* was contacted by my wife, and she informed him about the heating problem that had occurred on January 5th. Mr. ******* criticized my wife for not contacting him immediately to deal with the problem. Because at the time of the heat loss, we did not realize that his heating company was responsible, so we didn't contact him.
Mr. ******* was asked to reimburse us for the money spent to correct his company's mistake. Two invoices from Bow Plumbing and heating were e-mailed to him.
On January 20, 2015 we received an e-mail from Mr. *******. Mr. ******* stated that he would send us a check in the amount of $219.00 to cover the labor and materials for the two transformers. Mr. ******* refused to reimburse us for the cost of re-wiring the wireless thermostat. We are requesting reimbursement of $270.00 from SD ******* & Remodeling which is what it cost us to correct his company's error in wiring the wireless thermostat.
We are also dissatisfied with the lighting portion of this project. For some unknown reason, the lights will brighten and dim on their own. Mr. ******* was made aware of this situation during the project, however, he never had the problem corrected.

Desired Settlement
We are requesting reimbursement in the amount of $270.00 This represents the amount that we had to pay to another company to have a loss of heat issue corrected. It was determined that the heat loss was caused by the improper wiring of a wireless thermostat. This wiring was done by a company employed by SD ******* Building & Remodeling. SD ******* Building & Remodeling had been hired by us for several remodeling projects.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@sdcookman.com



***** & ******* ****** Project: Basement/Kitchen
** Date: March 7, 2016
Dunbarton, NH XXXXX
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

Response to the BBB complaint Case # XXXXXXXX.

Although I believe some of the information from Mr. & Mrs. ****** to be correct, not all is accurate.

"On December 2, 2015 we were informed that all the projects were finished, and Mr. ******* was given his final check.
On January 5, 2016 I awoke at 0500 and discovered that the heating was not working properly. The family room and second floor were extremely cold. I went to work and called my wife to discuss the heating situation, whereas, she agreed that it seemed very cold in the house. I suggested that she call a heating company to determine the problem. My wife contacted ************************, a local company, and explained the problem."

The zones we worked on were the basement (new zone) and the first floor common areas, just to install a new wireless thermostat, as ***** and ******* stated.

Thursday, October 29, 2015 *** ******** ******** & ******** finished the heating work, all zones were checked and were working at the time.
Saturday, October 31, 2015 I received an Email from Mrs. ****** about the boiler not shutting off. She told me it could wait until Monday.
Monday, November 2, 2015 I had *** back out to purge the system. We installed a new zone (basement) the week before and had to drain the system. Occasionally when draining and refilling a system, not all of the air gets purged from the system. We installed new shut-off valves for the upstairs zones to be sure to have a positive shut-off. All heat zones were working at end of the day.

No other mention of any heat related issue or not working until January 7, 2016, almost 2 calendar months.

"It should be noted that as of this date, the heating is working fine, and there are no issues."

I believe January 7th or 8th 2016, I received a call from Mrs. ****** telling me they had heat issues, and that they called ********************** to come out, diagnose and fix the issues. She stated she wanted me to pay for the service call and the repairs. Needless to say, I was a little surprised that they would not call me if there were any issues to the work that we just completed.

At that time, I asked why she did not call me, as we will cover any mistakes, faulty work or parts under warranty and it would not have cost her anything. She told me she did not trust my plumber.

I told her to forward me the invoices from *** ******** & ******** and I would take a look at them.

January 12, 2016 I received an Email from Mrs. ****** with the invoiced from *** ******** & ******* attached.
January 20, 2016 I mailed a check for $219.00 for *** ******** & ******* Invoice #XXXXXX. The cost of transformers and labor.

Without checking and inspecting the wiring and the transformers ourselves, it is difficult to take ownership of the problem. We would have been more than happy to come out and check and repair any issues that were or were not caused by our installation. I thought I was being more than fair covering the cost of parts and installation.

February 25, 2016 I received the complaint from BBB.
February 29, 2016 I mailed a second check for $270.00 for ********************** Invoice #XXXXXX. The remaining cost of the service call.

Although I do not believe we are responsible for any of the cost of repairs, we paid this to help resolve the issue.

As for the lighting issue;

"We are also dissatisfied with the lighting portion of this project. For some unknown reason, the lights will brighten and dim on their own. Mr. ******* was made aware of this situation during the project, however, he never had the problem corrected."

Mrs. ****** has made us (E/D Electric & SD *******) aware that the kitchen LED lights would "flicker" on occasion. As soon as we were made aware of this issue, we made a note and took action. We tried to replicate it with and without the electrician. We (Mrs. ******, **** and myself) would try different combinations of turning on and off lights, different power levels (dimmers) to no avail. We were never able to recreate the dimming or brightening of the lights (this is not to say it did not happen). The next time the electrician came out, November 4, 2015, we replaced the dimmers, and two of the recessed LED lights. We have used the same dimmers and lights on multiple jobs and for a few years now without any issues. We also used the same lights and same dimmers in their basement without any flickering (to my knowledge). There was no other mention of electrical issues after this time.

My best guess on the lights is, being LED it is instant on and instant off (like you see in new automotive lights). If there is a bit of a power surge, even the smallest break in the correct power it could cause them to be off instantaneously. This is just a guess, I am by no means an expert, but I have been thinking of why this might happen.

I believe SD ******* Building & Remodeling has responded to Mr. & Mrs. ******'s concerns. We addressed the lighting issue right away (I did not even know it was still going on). As for the plumbing, although we do not know if we are responsible for any repairs, we agreed to partially pay for them right away and when that did not satisfy Mr. & Mrs. ******, we fully covered all repairs in full.

Respectfully submitted
***** *******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Repairs and Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Basement - Remodeling, Deck Builder, Home Improvements- Additions, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.