BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Concord, NH

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Core Fitness

Phone: (603) 224-6530

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues9
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints15

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
06/20/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: My checking account was deducted membership fee plus $10 60 days after I cancelled my membership.
I waited 1 yer to cancel my membership as the policy at Core Fitness states. I gave them a 30 days notice as their policy states. 30 days later ABC Club financial deducted $29 from my checking account. $29 is $10 more than what my monthly membership fee was. I walked inside Core Fitness the day after I looked at my checking account statement. The young woman working the counter at Core Fitness explained to me that whoever cancelled my memebership didn't not fill the paperwork out right and I would have been billed till July had I not noticed. That afternoon I received a call from ******** the owner of Core Fitness stating that she did not know how she messed up but I would be refunded. She did not say when. I have not heard from her since and I have not received my money. $29 is not a lot of money but if the tables were turned and I owed that money to Core Fitness they would call me everyday asking to be paid. I feel violated my checking is still accessible to Core Fitness's billing company.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/13/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: Canceled gym membership in December as instructed and was never canceled and have them and collection agencies looking for annual fee.
Canceled gym membership in December as instructed and was never canceled and have them and collection agencies looking for annual fee. I have called many times and the girls that I keep speaking to me keeps telling me that they correct this error! I am unable to attend the gym due to personal issues in my life and the added stress of bill collectors calling me every day and all hours of the day is not making my situation any easier if anything it is making my anziety even worse! Not sure why they will not cancel this as I did my part of bringing in a letter to cancel the membership as I was instructed by ******** in November when my life forever changed and I was no longer able to go this facility even though I did love going here. Even if I needed to come in and write them another letter to clear this up they have not told me I needed to do this just that they would take care fo this and it has not been taken care of it and qite frankly I am getting extremely upset!!!!

Initial Business Response
Writing back in regards to ********* *******, case #XXXXXXXX. ********* *******
membership has been canceled effective immediately.


Thank you,
Core Fitness

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

12/16/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: Charging me more then both contracts specified. Huge hassle to cancel.
I have been a member for well over a year. My girlfriend I believe just over six months. Now I have brought this to their attention verbally when I use to go. That the are charging me 39.99 for my membership that I could have sworn was suppose to be 29.99. Well i sat thinking they would fix it guess what they didn't. So I called asking that they cancel my membership and I would fulfill my girl friends contract then wish to have hers canceled as well. Told to show up and i did i told the front desk i wish to cancel my account gave her my name and left because I'm a busy individual who travel on orders with the reserves constantly. so this was my second attempt at canceling the membership this time in person. This place has a lot of issues management wise but a very decent environment. But I would sacrifice the environment to have ****** ******* **** a year and no ** or an Actual ********* its no wonder why ******* no longer supports this gym and it had to become a stand alone.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ***
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****************@gmail.com
11/21/13

Case Number: XXXXXXXX

******** *** has been a member of Core Fitness since 06/25/2012, upon signing a 12 month membership contract. This contract obligates a member to 12 months/12 payments minimum. The membership contract states that "Upon completion of 12 payments, billing will continue on a month to month basis until written notice is given to cancel." Any request for cancellation must be received in writing, preferably sent by way of certified mail. A member may also sign a cancellation form at the front desk of the club as long as at least 12 payments have been made. Any request for cancellation must be received within 30 days of the bill date after 12 payments have been made at minimum. Around the end of October 2013 ******** came into the club to cancel his contract. It was determined that he was at that time delinquent with his contractually obligated payments. He was told he would not be able to cancel until his account was paid and brought to a current status. ******** *** is also the buyer and the responsible party for ******* ******** membership contract. ******* signed as the member of the contract on 04/25/13. In the state of New Hampshire, all health club membership contracts are approved by the Attorney General's office. All members are obligated to this contract until the 12 months/payments have been paid. After the 12 months/payments have been fulfilled, a member may cancel their membership by following cancellation policy written on the front of the membership contract they sign upon joining. ******** cannot cancel *******'s membership contract until the 12 obligated payments are made. The membership is in contract until 04/25/14. As always we like to resolve these matters in a timely manner. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to call me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.


Thank You,

******* ***


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I never came in around the end of October this is a bold faced lie. First off I came back in the beginning of September to end my contract that was out as I posted on my fb I was. **** is responsible for her own account but its funny you say written like the lease for your gym equipment was written but you still tale them to court eh. Consider this a written termination of my contract from September 1st I have added your gym to a fradualent list to my account. So you will not get another payment from me.


Final Business Response
On November 22nd, 2013 ******** brought a letter into Core Fitness stating his intent to cancel his membership contract. The letter also states that ******** is aware of a final payment that needed to be made on November 25th, 2013. The letter was received and signed by a staff member of Core Fitness. The final payment due on November 25th, 2013 has been made. ******** has officially completed all obligations to his contract. Said contract is cancelled effective December 24th, 2013. No further payments will need to be made.

******** did sign his girlfriend *******'s membership contract as the buyer, meaning he provided his own billing information and signed, as the contract states, a "Request for Preauthorized Payment Plan". Doing so put ******** in the position of being financially responsible for *******'s account. To change this, ******* must provide her own billing information by coming into the club and filling out a "change form". This will remove ******** as the responsible party for her contract and put ******* in the position of being financially responsible for her own contract.

The steps outlined above will clear ******** of all obligations to Core Fitness. There will be no further response. As always we like to resolve these matters in a timely manner. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to call me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Thank You,

******* ***

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/03/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: Core Fitness continues to charge my account for services even though I left the state and requested my membership to stop.
On 6/20/2011 I joined Gold's Gym for a 2 month membership while staying with my daughter's family in ****** I returned in 2012 for another visit and went back to the gym which was then Core Fitness and signed a new membership in which the fine print stated that I would pay an initiation fee of $29 and 11 monthly payments of $39.99 charged to my credit card. I was told I could freeze my membership when I left and reopen the charges when I was in the area. Later on when I sent a note asking to cancel my membership and stop charges on my credit card, I was told that I could freeze the membership again, but that I could only freeze the membership for 3 months. This means I am to be charged for services not available to me. This is wrong and unnecessary. I have already been charged for 4 or 5 months of the contract and have been told that since I signed for the total amount that I would be held for the total.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****************@gmail.com
11/20/13

***** ******* joined Core Fitness on 06/20/2012. ***** signed a 1 year membership contract obligating him to 12 payments with an expiration date of 7/20/13. In the state of New Hampshire, all health club membership contracts are approved by the Attorney General's office. ***** visits family every year and as a courtesy to him, we put his membership on an extended freeze status during his travel. A freeze status means membership payments are put on hold and the member does not use the club for the length of the freeze status. Membership payments during the months of freeze status are by no means forgiven; they continue for the corresponding due date following the end of the freeze. The expiration date of the member's standard 12 month contract/12 payments is also extended by the length of the freeze. All members are obligated to this contract until the 12 months/payments have been paid. After the 12 months/payments have been fulfilled, a member may cancel their membership by following cancellation policy written on the front of the membership contract they sign upon joining. Any request for cancellation must be received in writing, preferably sent by way of certified mail. Any request for cancellation must be received within 30 days of the bill date after 12 payments have been made at minimum. In the past, *****'s membership was put on freeze for approximately 6 months at a time. About 3-4 months ago, ***** was at the club and requested a cancellation of his 12 month contract. I explained to him that while his membership was on freeze status, his payments were not forgiven and the expiration date of his contract was extended according to the length of freeze. ***** was offered an additional freeze on his membership for 3 months, which he declined. ***** was also offered the opportunity to pay out the rest of his contract, which would give him the means to cancel his membership. This offer was also declined. ***** is currently under contract and is obligated to make the remaining payments. A courtesy of a freeze to accommodate travel time does not null and void a contractual obligation. ***** will not be issued a refund. As always we like to resolve these matters in a timely manner. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to call me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.


Thank You,

******* ****

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized changes to the contract or agreement

Complaint: They make it difficult to impossible to terminate the contract.
Even when repeatedly informed to cancel the contract they refuse to comply or acknowledge. They further go to billing/collection agent to follow-up on their failure to acknowledge cancellation.

Business' Initial Response
Core Fitness has received the complaint in regards to a ******* *****. We do not currently have anyone by the name of ******* ***** in our system.

As always we like to resolve these matters as quickly as possible. If i can be of any further assistance please call me at (XXX)XXX-XXXX.

Thank you,
******* ***

Page 1 of 2
07/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: Core Fitness refuses to stop charging me even though i am currently on active duty in the Marine Corps which was noted in my original contract.
When i signed up at Core Fitness i told the manager i was going to be active duty in the Marine Corps before my contract was over and she said she would note it in my contract so i could cancel when i received orders. When i got orders the employee i talked to would only put my account on "hold" for a few months. A few months later i started getting charged again. I have called about 6 times and every time the employee can do nothing and they leave a note for a manager. ****** a manager called me back once but i was unable to get to my phone at the time and couldn't get her on the phone after that. I am currently on active duty in *** ******* ********* working for Marine Forces Reserve. I never had an issue while i went to core fitness but now i am being taken advantage of and the gym refuses to help me.

Initial Business Response
I am writing in regards to ****** **********, case # XXXXXXXX.
His membership was never canceled because he did not do his
due dilligence in completing what was required of him in order to
cancel the contract. He admits he has not done the requirements
via the phone conversation we have attached between him &
ABC, our billing company. Also, please see attached documents
to confirm the contract cancelation requirements.

As always we try to resolve any issues as quickly as possible.
If there are any more questions please feel free to call me at
XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank You.


Sincerely,
******* ***


Business Response
Dear ********,

I am writing to you in response to receiving the notice in regards to the resolution on ****** **********'s
case # XXXXXXXX. The quick response is greatly appreciated and we have sent out a final statement to
******. I have forwarded the e-mail sent to ****** from Holli at ABC Financial, the billing company we use.
Also there is attached voicemails and calls between Holli and ******.

If there is anything further we can do, please let us know. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Michele ***
Owner.

From: Holli Raimer <************@abcfinancial.com>
Date: June 3, 2014, 6:58:26 PM EDT
To: "******** *** (*************@gmail.com)" <*************@gmail.com>
Subject: FW: Core Fitness: XXXX-XXXXX / Name **********, ******
For your records this is the last correspondence I have sent to ****** ********** agreement XXXX-XXXXX dated today 5/29/14.


Holli Raimer
Customer Care Supervisor
ABC Financial Services, Inc.
501.515.5000 Ext. 1281
************@abcfinancial.com



From: Holli Raimer
Sent: Thursday, May 29, XXXX X:XX PM
To: '****** **********'
Subject: RE: Core Fitness: XXXX-XXXXX / Name **********, ******

Hi ******,

This will be the last correspondence on behalf of your membership with Core Fitness and ABC Financial Services. Core Fitness offers a 12 payment term membership to all members; however you were given an exception by the club. As a courtesy they created a moving clause, because you anticipated a possible move prior to the completion of your 12 payment contract. Due to what has transpired over the last few weeks Core Fitness and ABC Financial Services will no longer be making exceptions and adding any moving clause to our contracts for new members.

For clarification you were not lied to in order to retain you as a member. When you called and asked if you can cancel as a generalization, in the system you are listed as a 12 month member therefore the employee gave you the information that they had. They do not have access to images of scanned contracts which in your case had a hand written moving clause accommodation as a special courtesy for you. In addition by calling before your contract was completed at 12 payments you were aware of your moving clause therefore if you had all required information to cancel why did you not send that information to the club, why would there be a need to call and ask any additional questions?

In addition you did not have information withheld from you, you had all the information you needed the day you joined. The moving clause that was added for you was a very simple 3 steps that were initialed by you and the employee from Core Fitness and you were aware of the exception that was made just for you on your join date. It was up to you to follow the criteria to cancel by following all requirements agreed upon for the moving clause. As you stated in a previous email you lost your original paperwork; however once requested from us we sent you a copy of your agreement that contained your cancellation clause. The end of our obligation was after the contract was signed and you were provided a copy of your contract and the terms on the date of joining.

As an additional courtesy Core Fitness has waived your 30 day notice of cancellation that is required upon receipt of your documentation since you are in the military and yet you are still not satisfied with your resolution. Please note that your account has been cancelled and there will be no further billing on your account and no refunds issued on your account.

Attached is an additional copy of your contract. On the contract it states 12 payments as a 12 month term however due to freezes during these specified months it will extend out your contract term which is approved by the attorneys state general.


Holli Raimer
Customer Care Supervisor
ABC Financial Services, Inc.
501.515.5000 Ext. 1281
************@abcfinancial.com



Consumer Response
Core fitness has completely refused to refund my money. For months i have been calling and asking how to cancel and have been told it isn't possible even though my contract says it is. Because core fitness employes lied to me and refused to help me i have lost hundreds of dollars while serving on active duty in the Marine Corps. It took my first complaint to the BBB for me to even get someone to talk to me on the phone and they finally told me how to cancel but my contract ends next month, it's not this months $25 i'm worried about its the past 10 month that they refuse to pay me back. Bottom line Core Fitness lies to its customers so they cannot cancel their contracts. I have been in the Marine Corps for over seven years and i have always been able to cancel any contract from cell phone to housing due to relocations or deployments. Core fitness if the first business to take advantage of me as a service member.


Business Response
This will be the last correspondence from Core Fitness regarding this case.
****** has stated that for months he has been calling and asking how to cancel his membership. However on the day he signed the contract, he had all of the cancelation information written very clearly and very simply on the contract that was amended specifically for him as the document shows in the attachment with the last correpsondance. Therefore there should be no confusion and no need to call because he had all the information. At the time there was a special exception made for him because he was in the military and there was a possibility of him relocating. Core Fitness does not lie to our customers and the cancelation policy is in bold print on the front of the contract as required by the Attorney Generals Office. Contracts exist to make sure there is no chaos, confusion or misunderstanding on what both parties are agreeing to. The contract stated that ****** simply had to put it in writing and mail it to Core Fitness since we do not take cancelations over the phone. He agreed to the three requirements in order to cancel early when he signed the contract. They were put on there specifically for him per his request and he did not follow through with his responsibilities.

Lastly, we do not do anything to take advantage of any group especially military.
We try to accommodate do as much as we can to help people in different circumstances.

As always we try to get these issues resolved in a timely manner.
If there is anything else needed, please e-mail me back or call XXX-XXXX.

Thank you,

Michele ***
Owner of Core Fitness

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

08/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint:
I joined Core Fitness in Sept 2012. When I joined I signed an agreement that said I had 2 months free for a 12 month agreement, I knew I had to commit to 12 months even though the main reason I was there was for the classes an the instructors were always late or the classes were cancelled. So in May I said I wanted to cancel my membership in July, and was told I could cancel it until October. I said I signed a 12 month a agreement and you gave me 2 months free which meanes my membership ends in 10 months not 12. The pregnant girl said she would leave a message with ******** to call me, I'm ss till waiting for the call and still being charged. The contract was misleading and I still want to cancel my membership but no one is returning my calls. I don't even leave in concord and when I told them I was moving out of state for work they said so.

Business' Initial Response
***** ******, member number XXXXXXXXX, joined Core Fitness on September 25, 2012. We were running a promotion at the time where when you joined you received the first 2 additional months for free. When ***** joined she did not did not pay any money down which she normally would have done, but because of the promotion no money was due for the first 2 months which resulted in her first payment to the club being on November 25, 2012. The contract that ***** signed states that it is a 12 month contract, which she acknowledges in her complaint. The contract was not altered nor was it specified at any point that the 2 free months voided any of the obligated 12 payments.
As of this day ***** has completed 9 of her obligated 12 payments. Her 12th obligated payment will be withdrawn on October 25, 2013. Her membership will be canceled as of that date and ***** can still use the club until November 24, 2013.
The phone number which we were provided with at the club (XXX) XXX-XXXX, has been called multiple times and the number is out of service.
As always we like to resolve these matters in a timely manner. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to call me at (XXX)XXX-XXXX.

Thank you,
******* ***

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When I left messages, I provided my new number XXX-XXX-XXXX.

I would have never agreed if I knew I was signing a 14 month contact. I also believe in NH it is against the law to hold someone in a contract for more than 12 months. I am in a contract for 14 months not 12. Also, I have been doing thi back and forth for 2 months now.

I want my membership cancelled, considering I had to more for my husbands job, who was moved because of the military. Your company does not look good if you put some In a 14 month contact and my husband who is a veteran, yet you won't cancel my membership, and my membership should be cancelled.

Business' Final Response
***** ****** signed up under a promo which offered the 1st 2 months Free on top of the obligations under the contract. A promo does not take precedent over a contract. She signed a contract obligating her to 12 payments, the free months do not void any of the obligated 12 payments. She is still obligated for 2 more months until the 12 month contract is complete.

As always we like to resolve theses matters in a timely manner. If I can be of any further assistance please call me at (XXX)XXX-XXXX

Thank you,
******* ***

04/30/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: I moved out of state I cannot use the services anymore because I moved I did sign contract but I cant seem to get out of it now.
I no longer live in concord,nh so I cant even use the services anymore. I signed the contract but I want to get out of it. If I cant even use the services why should I pay anything for something I cant even use. I think I should be able to cancel my contract if I no longer live there to use the services.

Business' Initial Response
*********** joined Core Fitness on August 8th, 2012. On April 1st he sent a letter stating that he wished to cancel his membership because he moved out of the state of New Hampshire and would no long be able to use our services. On the contract he signed 8/8/12 it states:
"This is a 12 month contract and may only be canceled for the following reasons with a $25 cancellation fee.
1. You are unable to receive benefits due to death or disability.
2. We relocate more than 8 miles from this current location or the services provided by us are materially impaired
3. The aggregate price of all contracts in force exceed $1,000.
4. This Core Fitness facility ceases operation.

There is no moving clause in the contract; therefore he is obligated for the full 12 months of the contract he originally signed. ****** still has 6 months left of his contract.

In addition, ***********'s letter of cancelation was post marked on April 12, 2013 and received at the club on April 15, 2013.

As always we like to resolve these matters in a timely manner. If I can be of any further assistance please call me at (***) ***-****.

Thank you,

***********

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I cannot use the services the business is no where near where I live

Business' Final Response
*********** as well as all members, buy the ability to use the club. We do not monitor the member's usage of the club.
We have answered the complaint. ****** is in contract and he can not cancel based on the cancelation policy stated on the contract.
There will be no further responses.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

09/11/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/28/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Health Clubs

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.