BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/05/2007

Gourmetgiftbaskets.com, Inc.

Phone: (603) 606-5269Fax: (603) 657-9083View Additional Phone Numbers266 Route 125, KingstonNH 03848View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the shipping of gift baskets both nationally and internationally.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/05/2007

BBB has determined that Gourmetgiftbaskets.com, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gourmetgiftbaskets.com, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Gourmetgiftbaskets.com, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
07/08/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Not delivered. Unable to reach company
They were to deliver Father's Day gift Friday. Was not delivered. No notice of attempt. No phone call though I left two numbers. Items were on ice so how can I accept them four or five days late? I can't expect anyone to stay home another day to wait. Delivery was guaranteed. They failed to deliver. I don't want wine and truffles that sat in a truck for days. I tried to call four separate numbers but all were messages. I tried to contact ups but they had no record. The email they sent stated I could click a link to track but there was no link. No person to speak to. I paid extra for ice. How cold is that ice days later. All I want is a refund. I did not get the basket anyway and there was no attempt to deliver to the address given and no all to the numbers I gave. Plus their website on Facebook is filled with similar complaints

Desired Settlement
Refund only.

Business' Initial Response
Customer placed her order on June 7th, for a gift arrival on June 14th. The item shipped via UPS on June 12th and was delivered on schedule June 14th. The package was sent with a Signature Required, but UPS failed to get this signature and instead left the package at a Side Door with no notification left for the customer. The tracking number for this package was 1Z03XXXXXXXXXXXXXX. We are working with UPS to figure out why the driver did not seek a signature for this delivery.

On Monday, June 17th the customer reached out to us via Facebook, and we responded letting her know that our records indicated the package was delivered. She confirmed that the package was delivered but had been overlooked by the recipient as it was left at a side door. We then reached out asking if the package was damaged in anyway, but have not been able to confirm as the customer has stopped communicating with us.

At this point, we have authorized a full refund on the shipping costs associated with sending this gift.

01/07/2013Delivery Issues
07/11/2012Delivery Issues
12/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ORDER WAS PLACED AND ADDITIONAL MONEY PAID FOR OVERNIGHT DELIVERY - NO CONTACT - NO DELIVERY
CONTACTED CUSTOMER SERVICE 3 TIMES - AS SHIPMENT NEVER DELIVERED SATURDAY - THEY WERE RUDE AND NOT HELPFUL COULD NOT PROVIDE A TRACKING NUMBER OR WHO IT WAS SHIPPED BY - THEN THIS MORNING ASSURED ME IT WOULD BE DELIVERED - JUST RECIEVED A CALL THAT SAID BASICALLY TOUGH YOU ARE OUT THE MONEY AND THE SHIPMENT IS SITTING AT A UPS STATION - SO MUCH FOR THE PATIENT IT WAS GOING TO IN THE HOSPITAL

Desired Settlement
FULL REFUND AS NEXT I AM GOING TO THE MEDIA TO SHARE THEIR BUSINESS PRACTICES OF RIPPING PEOPLE OFF

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x240
Contact Email: *****@gourmetgiftbaskets.com
Thank you very much for taking the time to share this experience with us through the BBB. We take great pride in providing exceptional customer service to our customers and would never want a situation like this to cause our customers to feel like we are in the practice of ripping people off.

All this said, we have reviewed the case and here is what we found. Your order was placed on November 21 at 5:08pm and was shipped the same day via UPS Next Day Saturday service with the tracking number of 1Z03XXXXXXXXXXXXXX. On November 22 (Scheduled Delivery Day) UPS noted that the address that was given was incorrect and that the package could not be delivered. Since the wrong address was given and that information was found out on a Saturday (outside of regular business hours, which are Monday through Friday 8am to 5pm), our company worked with you on Monday November 24 to resolve the situation with the address and the package was in fact delivered on Tuesday, November 25.

Your initial calls to us on Saturday, November 22 were taken by our off-site call center which does not have access to order information, which is why they could not provide you with the tracking number on your initial call.

Below are two links to our Store Policies and Return Policies. As noted on the Store Policies, if an incorrect address is given to us this can cause delays and even incremental charges as the carriers (UPS/FedEx) do apply a charge to reroute a package.
http://www.gourmetgiftbaskets.com/Store-Policies.asp
http://www.gourmetgiftbaskets.com/Return-Policy.asp

At this point the gift has been delivered, according to the UPS Tracking information and would have been delivered on time with the proper address information. If there is more information needed please let us know.

Thank you.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
terrible customer service - would not recommend this service to anyone, once you have paid for the order they care less about your satisfaction. The order was delivered due to MY Tracking it down and contacting UPS - absolutely no assistance from this business.

08/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
wont refund or send basket said card was not charged and sent reciet with complaint emaile
I had a hard time online on their site placing order had to twice ,printed receipt ,after card was charged
signed out of their web site, got a google store good business email confirming purchase
was to be shipped the 2 of july /was not could not sign back in to their site checked it threw google stated charged not shipped/contacted *****@goumetbasket.com included a copy of printed receipt/still insist my card wasn't charged wrong everything on it and decline well staring at receipt/ they slandered i stole 119 bucks had free shipping code ignoraint

Desired Settlement
send basket that was bought and paid for

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********-Dir. Sales
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x240
Contact Email: *****@gourmetgiftbaskets.com
****,
Thank you for your inquiry. We have tried on multiple occasions via phone and email to reach out to you and discuss this order but you have been unresponsive to our direct communications. You also submitted this claim through Google Trusted Stores and that case was closed for the same reason.

The order you placed on July 2nd was not charged to your Credit Card as your credit card declined when we processed it. We have proof from our credit card processor that shows your card was declined and never charged therefor we cannot credit you back or ship out the item.

If you'd still like this item shipped to you please give us a call so we can process the order with a valid credit card payment. Our phone number is X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Thank you.

Consumer Response
That would have been the first time 3 seconds later a purchase on the 2 try and it wasn't declined the site was messed up had to from another browser
reciet of purchase and order number and states not shipped
deen statied several times

Final Business Response
****,

We have reached out to you multiple times via email and phone call. I personally left you both an email and voicemail asking you to contact us to resolve this issue. Your credit card was never charged (I emailed you the screenshot from our payment processor). We are more then happy to ship you the item upon proper receipt of payment, but unfortunately you have not been able to provide that to date.

Again, your credit card was not charged. If you have proof otherwise then we can investigate further, but otherwise there is no further discussion needed.

BBB Please note that Google Trusted Stores has also closed this case following their investigation of the facts.

If there is any further information needed please let us know and we will be happy to provide.

Thanks.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Gift Basket Company

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/14/2006Business started: 01/01/1940New Owner Date: 07/09/1976
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1974, NH

Contact Information
Principal: Ryan Abood (President)Customer Contact: Jason Bergeron (Director of Sales & Marketing) Trudy Abood (Vice President) Jeff Abood (CTO)
Number of Employees

49

Business Category

Gift Basket Company

Alternate Business Names
Cheesecake.com

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gourmetgiftbaskets.com, Inc.

266 Route 125

Kingston, NH 03848

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 266 Route 125 

    Kingston, NH 03848(603) 606-5269
    (866) 842-1050
    Fax: (603) 657-9083
    Fax: (603) 657-9083

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gourmetgiftbaskets.com, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 842-1050
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Gift Basket Company

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.