BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/09/2006

Irish Electric Corp.

Phone: (603) 224-7474Fax: (603) 224-7475659 Currier Rd, HopkintonNH 03229



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers electrical contractor services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/09/2006

BBB has determined that Irish Electric Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Irish Electric Corp.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Irish Electric Corp.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/27/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Regarding Irish Electric Corp. mechanic's lien on my home I strongly dispute the statement my home and family were in no danger even though the electric heat in the kitchen was tripping the main breaker. I sent a letter with partial payment Feb. 2, 2016 to address this problem. It took over six weeks to be addressed and then only after many phone calls. And then fixed only after calling me at my vacation home yelling and screaming at me to promise to send him his money. At that time I told him I would send him some money when the air conditioners were installed as we had to request a higher grade wire and I am not confident that the breakers will not trip. At the time I should also be compensated for the time delay. The wiring began in March of 2014. Worked 2 hours in May, 2 hours in June then nothing done until October 2015.

Desired Settlement
Deduct from what I owe Irish Electric the amount I will need to hire another electrician to come in and fix all of the existing problems and finish the job.

Business Response
My client, Irish Electric Corp., is in receipt of the complaint lodged with the BBB by Ms. ***** ******. My client categorically denies any deficiencies in the work it performed for Ms. ******. Irish Electric's work was inspected and approved by the concord building inspector as meeting or exceeding all standards required by the relevant building codes. My client has made every effort to satisfy Ms. ******, this includes rectifying at no charge faulty electrical work that had been completed by an another electrician and for which my client had no responsibility.

At this time Ms. ****** owes my client $5,154.02. There is no basis for her asking Irish Electric to discount that bill.

However, my client is willing to resolve the matter as follows: By Monday June 20, 2016, Ms. ****** will provide a written punch list of items that she feels need to be addressed. My client will review that list. If Irish Electric deems completing the list to be a reasonable accommodation to resolve the matter, then we will advise Ms. ****** of that decision. Prior to Irish Electric commencing any work on the punch list, Ms. ****** will furnish full payment of the $5,154.02 to my office. I will hold these funds in escrow until Irish Electric completes the work set forth in the punch list. Once the work is completed and Ms. ****** authorizes me to, I will release the funds to my client. If there is any further dispute, I will hold the funds in escrow until the matter is resolved either by agreement of the parties or through litigation.

If Ms. ****** is not willing to resolve the matter in this way, my client intends to file suit to perfect its mechanic's lien on Ms. ******'s home.

We look forward to Ms. ******'s prompt response.
Very truly yours,

******************
Attorney for Irish Electric Corp.

*********************************
2 Maple Street
PO Box 465
Contoocook, NH XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX
www.hopkintonlawyer.com

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/09/2006Business started: 08/01/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Electricians Board, State of NH
2 Industrial Park Drive Building 2
Concord, NH 03301
(603) 223-4289
http://www.state.nh.us/electrician

BBB records show a license number of 11383 for this company, issued by Electricians Board, State of NH. Their web address is http://www.state.nh.us/electrician. The expiration date of this license is 10/31/2016.

Type: Electrician's License - Master

BBB records show a license number of 7805 for this company, issued by Electricians Board, State of NH. Their web address is http://www.state.nh.us/electrician. The expiration date of this license is 05/31/2018.

Type: Electrician's License - Master

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2004, NH

Contact Information
Principal: Darragh Madden (President) Christine Madden (Co-owner)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Electric Contractors


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Irish Electric Corp. has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Irish Electric Corp.

659 Currier Rd

Hopkinton, NH 03229

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 659 Currier Rd 

    Hopkinton, NH 03229(603) 224-7474
    Fax: (603) 224-7475

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Irish Electric Corp. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Electric Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.