BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/08/2015

Resident Power

Phone: (603) 232-9293

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
01/15/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I signed up for Residential Power back in early 2013 to save money on my electric bill as they advertised a much lower rate. This was totally false.
Apparently, Resident power switched my power supply to another company without my approval or consent. Now they are charging me 3 times what my normal power bill is and they told me there was nothing I could do about it. I did not authorize any changes. My bill has gone from $120 per month to over $250 per month and I cannot afford to pay it. They said "too bad, sorry!".

Desired Settlement
I want the additional charges removed so I can pay the power bill that I budgeted for. I want to receive the rate that I was promised when I initially signed up with residential power. If I had known the rate would change without my knowledge or consent, I would have never made the change.

Business Response
Good Afternoon,

Ms. ******** enrolled with Resident Power via our website on Monday, March 4, 2013 at 9:46 AM. As such, Resident Power began negotiating with suppliers to locate the lowest cost solution for Ms. ********'s electricity supply options. On March 8, 2013, a Resident Power supplier notice was sent via electronic mail to the email address provided at the time of her enrollment; according to our email program, the email was opened by Ms. ********'s email address on 3/8/2014 at approximately 4:24 PM. Supplier notices contain a copy of the Supplier's terms and conditions and a brief letter from Resident Power explaining the offered contract. This notice provides direct contact information and an opportunity of 5 business days for the customer to opt out if they wish to do so. Subsequently, because no opt out notification was received by Resident Power for Ms. ********'s account (either by phone or written means), it was enrolled with People's Power & Gas per the notice that was sent on March 8, 2013.
The notice on March 8 provided Ms. ******** with the information that the rate was considered to be a variable rate plan, which could change throughout the term of the contract, which was scheduled to end on Ms. ********'s meter read date after 12/31/2013. This notice also provided a 90 day opt out period without penalty after the initial service had begun. In December, People's Power & Gas did raise the supply rate without notification to either Resident Power or customers, however, it was immediately requested by Resident Power that all customers be returned to the default utility (PSNH) on 12/23/13, upon learning of the new rate, and this occurred on December 27, 2013 subsequent to People's Power &Gas's default on the ISO-NE market. Several notifications were provided via email to affected customers.
While Resident Power did file a formal complaint with the NH PUC, neither resolution nor further information has been made available to customers and Resident Power. Finally, it is important to note that as an aggregator, Resident Power can negotiate and terminate contracts for actively enrolled customers but cannot directly communicate with the utility nor can consumer supply rates be altered by Resident Power.
This complaint was originally addressed directly with the customer on 2/3/2014 and at that time, a copy of Ms. ********'s Supplier Notice and Enrollment form was made available to the customer and we urge the customer to contact us with any further questions.


Business Response
Good Afternoon,

Ms. ******** enrolled with Resident Power via our website on Monday, March 4, 2013 at 9:46 AM. As such, Resident Power began negotiating with suppliers to locate the lowest cost solution for Ms. ********'s electricity supply options. On March 8, 2013, a Resident Power supplier notice was sent via electronic mail to the email address provided at the time of her enrollment; according to our email program, the email was opened by Ms. ********'s email address on 3/8/2014 at approximately 4:24 PM. Supplier notices contain a copy of the Supplier's terms and conditions and a brief letter from Resident Power explaining the offered contract. This notice provides direct contact information and an opportunity of 5 business days for the customer to opt out if they wish to do so. Subsequently, because no opt out notification was received by Resident Power for Ms. ********'s account (either by phone or written means), it was enrolled with People's Power & Gas per the notice that was sent on March 8, 2013.
The notice on March 8 provided Ms. ******** with the information that the rate was considered to be a variable rate plan, which could change throughout the term of the contract, which was scheduled to end on Ms. ********'s meter read date after 12/31/2013. This notice also provided a 90 day opt out period without penalty after the initial service had begun. In December, People's Power & Gas did raise the supply rate without notification to either Resident Power or customers, however, it was immediately requested by Resident Power that all customers be returned to the default utility (PSNH) on 12/23/13, upon learning of the new rate, and this occurred on December 27, 2013 subsequent to People's Power &Gas's default on the ISO-NE market. Several notifications were provided via email to affected customers.
While Resident Power did file a formal complaint with the NH PUC, neither resolution nor further information has been made available to customers and Resident Power. Finally, it is important to note that as an aggregator, Resident Power can negotiate and terminate contracts for actively enrolled customers but cannot directly communicate with the utility nor can consumer supply rates be altered by Resident Power.
This complaint was originally addressed directly with the customer on 2/3/2014 and at that time, a copy of Ms. ********'s Supplier Notice and Enrollment form was made available to the customer and we urge the customer to contact us with any further questions.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I never received any emails from this business regarding the rate change. If they sent an email to me, there is a very good possibility it was blocked as spam. I have never received anything from resident power and expect that this issue is resolved.


Business Response
Good Morning,

We'd like to thank Ms. ******** for her reply with the BBB. The email that was sent was supplied with the previous response and time stamped for 2/3/2014 at 1:14 PM. When a customer enrolls with Resident Power, it is set up that they consent to receiving mail via electronic means given that a valid email address is offered and this is a statement within the terms and conditions that customers agree to when they enroll. Emails are used to confirm enrollments, answer customer service questions, and provide documents/renewal offers when requested by the customer. Upon enrollment, the confirmation page (in addition to the terms and conditions) explains to customers that the confirmation email may go into a Spam/Junk email box and that it is requested that customers remove the email from the junk mail box and add ****@residentpower.com to their safe senders list to prevent further delivery issues. At the time the response to Ms. ********'s email was sent, there was no indication that the email had not been delivered to the address provided at the time of her enrollment (such as a notice from the email server showing an invalid address).
Finally, in accordance with Ms. ********'s statement, we believe this issue to be resolved and explain further that Ms. ******** has not been a customer of Resident Power since February 2014.

01/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Resident Power as a aggregator gave me a rate of 7.499 cents per KWH. For December, I was charged 18.999 cents per KWH
I have had a rate of $0.XXXXX per KWH since 2/22/13. This rate was supposed to be in effect for one year. On 12/30/13 I received and email indicating my account had been switched back to ****. I was charged a rate of $0.XXXXX per KWH for 11/27/13 to 12/27/13. This resulted in a bill that was $87.98 higher than it should have been. This was due to a default by Resident Power suppliers. At the same time, on Resident Power's web site they have advertised a rate of $0.0825 per KWH with "GUARANTEED SAVINGS" in red on the top right of their web page. Where is the Guarantee? Resident Power has failed in their responsibility to the customers they lured. I have discussed this with the *****************************n but have little recourse. Resident Power representatives have indicated to me that they sent me an email in March that I never received. An after the fact notification that I have been switched back to the default provider (****) isn't acceptable with the subsequent billing at an $0.XXXXX per KWH rate. I want a refund of $87.98

Desired Settlement
$87.98 check mailed to me.

Final Consumer Response
On January 19, I received a refund from Resident Power for the difference in electricity rates. I am satisfied with this outcome.

Thank you for being of service,

01/20/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My December 2013 electric bill was triple my typical bill and Resident Power was listed as the provider. My chosen provider was ***, so I was tricked.
I signed up for *** power to be my electricity delivery entity for my **** power. No complaints with them. Somehow, without me realizing this, Resident Power became my provider. I did not want to switch from ***, I was very satisfied with them. I've been told that this must have happened by me not noticing some fine print or I just believe Resident Power had their own scam going and I was unknowingly switched from *** to them. I'm 60 and live from check to check. My light bills had been between $75 and $80 right along. Then in December 2013 (Happy Holidays from Resident Power!), my bill was $221.40. **** can't help me and Resident Power is unresponsive. They cost me money that I cannot afford to just give away. My bill was triple the usual and I paid it so my power will not be in jeapordy. Resident Power should reimburse the people they ripped off unjustifiably. I was informed over the phone that they no longer met the eligibility to be a **** provider and lost that ability, but it is being restored. With all the money they 'stole' from us, it appears they can afford to circumvent requirements and continue to cheat people. Resident Power owes me $215 and if there's a group lawsuit I'd like to be included. The holiday is difficult enough financially for many of us and apparently they have no scruples.

Desired Settlement
I'd settle for reimbursement of $215.00 from Resident Power. I can't afford a lawyer so I do not know what else to do to try to get my 'stolen' money back, so I will just hope this message makes a difference. Maybe if enough people complain something may happen to make it right. More properly, Resident Power rightfully should refund me the difference between **** delivery fees from December 2013 and theirs. It was triple the amount per KWH at the time.

Business Response
Good Afternoon,

Ms. ******** originally enrolled with Resident Power via our website on Monday, May 28, 2012 at 4:01 PM. As such, Resident Power began negotiating with suppliers to locate the lowest cost solution for Ms. ********'s electricity supply options. Ms. ******** was originally placed with Power New England, and pending their default, responded to an email request from Resident Power on Monday, March 4, 2013 asking for permission to renew her account with Resident Power under a different supplier (please see the attached email message as requested by NH PUC in order for reenrollment to occur).
Subsequently, on April 8, 2013, a Resident Power supplier notice was sent via electronic mail to the email address provided at the time of her enrollment. Supplier notices contain a copy of the Supplier's terms and conditions and a brief letter from Resident Power explaining the offered contract. This notice provides direct contact information and an opportunity of 5 business days for the customer to opt out if they wish to do so. Subsequently, because no opt out notification was received by Resident Power for Ms. ********'s account (either by phone or written means), it was enrolled with People's Power & Gas per the notice that was sent on April 8, 2013.
Within the Supplier Notice was a note to customers asking that if they had chosen to accept an offer from another provider, that they contact us to opt out per the Resident Power Terms and Conditions that were accepted and confirmed upon the original enrollment.
The notice on April 8 provided Ms. ******** with the information that the rate was considered to be a variable rate plan, which could change throughout the term of the contract, which was scheduled to end on Ms. ********'s meter read date after 12/31/2013. This notice also provided a 90 day opt out period without penalty after the initial service had begun. In December, People's Power & Gas did raise the supply rate without notification to either Resident Power or customers, however, it was immediately requested by Resident Power that all customers be returned to the default utility (PSNH) on 12/23/13, upon learning of the new rate, and this occurred on December 27, 2013 subsequent to People's Power &Gas's default on the ISO-NE market. Several notifications were provided via email to affected customers.
Ms. ******** mentions in her complaint attempting to reach Resident Power, only to find the company to be unresponsive and that she was informed that Resident Power had been removed from eligibility as an Aggregator but that the ability to supply power was being restored. This is an inaccurate statement, and we believe that the customer may have confused Resident Power with the former supplier, People's Power & Gas. A search of our phone records (incoming calls only) provided that we had not received a call from the number provided at the customer's time of enrollment and Resident Power was never removed from the NH PUC list of approved aggregators, rather People's Power & Gas did default on the ISO-NE market and was unable to continue providing service to NH residents as of December 27, 2013 but was restored at a later date.
While Resident Power did file a formal complaint with the NH PUC, neither resolution nor further information has been made available to customers and Resident Power. Finally, it is important to note that as an aggregator, Resident Power can negotiate and terminate contracts for actively enrolled customers but cannot directly communicate with the utility nor can consumer supply rates be altered by Resident Power.
This complaint was originally addressed directly with the customer via email and at that time, a copy of Ms. ********'s Supplier Notice, renewal email, and Enrollment form was made available to the customer. We urge the customer to contact us with any further questions.

01/19/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They were mis-leading in their advertising regarding a variable rate which I was told could vary month to month, but would never exceed the PSNH rate.
I recieved my December bill and they had doubled the rate from the prior month to ******** from a prior month bill of ******** When I called they said they were switching me back to PSNH and have not credited my account for the double in rate charge on my Dec/Jan bill. I signed up originally with Resident Power as they advertised cheaper rates then PSNH, and ended up being ripped off. I will never do business with them again and would never recommend them as a reputable company.

Desired Settlement
I believe a should only pay the PSNH current rate and should be reimbursed the difference.

Business Response
Good Afternoon,

Mr. ******* enrolled with Resident Power via our website on Tuesday, January 22, 2013 at 12:12 PM. As such, Resident Power began negotiating with suppliers to locate the lowest cost solution for Mr. *******'s electricity supply options. On February 28, 2013, a Resident Power supplier notice was sent via electronic mail to the email address provided at the time of his enrollment; according to our email program, the email was opened by Mr. *******'s email address on 3/2/2013 at approximately 2:08 AM. Supplier notices contain a copy of the Supplier's terms and conditions and a brief letter from Resident Power explaining the offered contract. This notice provides direct contact information and an opportunity of 5 business days for the customer to opt out if they wish to do so. Subsequently, because no opt out notification was received by Resident Power for Mr. *******'s account (either by phone or written means), it was enrolled with People's Power & Gas per the notice that was sent on February 28, 2013.
The notice on February 28 provided Mr. ******* with the information that the rate was considered to be a variable rate plan, which could change throughout the term of the contract, and was scheduled to end on Mr. *******'s meter read date after 12/31/2013. This notice also provided a 90 day opt out period without penalty after the initial service had begun, in addition to the clause that if the rate ever exceeded PSNH's supply rate for two consecutive billing cycles, the customer could opt out without any penalties. In December, People's Power & Gas did raise the supply rate without notification to either Resident Power or customers, however, it was immediately requested by Resident Power that all customers be returned to the default utility (PSNH) on 12/23/13, upon learning of the new rate, and this occurred on December 27, 2013 subsequent to People's Power &Gas's default on the ISO-NE market. Several notifications were provided via email to affected customers.
While Resident Power did file a formal complaint with the NH PUC, neither resolution nor further information has been made available to customers and Resident Power. Finally, it is important to note that as an aggregator, Resident Power can negotiate and terminate contracts for actively enrolled customers but cannot directly communicate with the utility nor can consumer supply rates be altered by Resident Power.
This complaint was originally addressed directly with the customer via email and at that time, a copy of Mr. *******'s Supplier Notice and Enrollment form was made available to him. We urge the customer to contact us with any further questions.

11/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Billed December 2013 charges at 3 times the "guaranteed" rate.
I should have realized sooner that I could file a formal complaint with BBB, but Resident Power forced me to pay 3 times the agreed upon price for electricity in December 2013. I wrote to them several times regarding this and they simply told me they were looking into the matter and would let me know when it was resolved. To date, I have not heard back. By my calculations, I was overcharged $182.39 over the agreed upon rate of .0749 and the actual charge of .1899 per unit. Because of some trouble they were having, instead of switching me back to PSNH at .0954, they switched me - unasked - to People's Power. I cancelled my contract and took my business elsewhere, but am still angry that Resident Power is advertising low prices still on the website without warning people that there is NO GUARANTEE.

Desired Settlement
$182.39, which was the difference between my agreed upon rate and the rate I was charged.

Business Response
Good Morning,

Ms. ****** enrolled with Resident Power via our website on Monday, February XX XXXX at 4:15 PM. As such, Resident Power began negotiating with suppliers to locate the lowest cost solution for Ms. ******'s electricity supply options. On March 8, 2013, a Resident Power supplier notice was sent via electronic mail to the email address provided at the time of her enrollment; according to our email program, the email was opened by Ms. ******'s email address on 3/8/2014 at approximately 4:15 PM. Supplier notices contain a copy of the Supplier's terms and conditions and a brief letter from Resident Power explaining the offered contract. This notice provides direct contact information and an opportunity of 5 business days for the customer to opt out if they wish to do so. Subsequently, because no opt out notification was received by Resident Power for Ms. ******'s account (either by phone or written means), it was enrolled with People's Power & Gas per the notice that was sent on March 8, 2013.
The notice on March 8 provided Ms. ****** with the information that the rate was considered to be a variable rate plan, which could change throughout the term of the contract, which was scheduled to end on Ms. ******'s meter read date after 12/31/2013. In December, People's Power & Gas did raise the supply rate without notification to either Resident Power or customers, however, it was immediately requested by Resident Power that all customers be returned to the default utility (PSNH) on 12/23/13, upon learning of the new rate, and this occurred on December 27, 2013 subsequent to People's Power &Gas's default on the ISO-NE market. Several notifications were provided via email to affected customers, including three direct email correspondences with Ms. ******.
While Resident Power did file a formal complaint with the NH PUC, no resolution nor further information has been made available to customers and Resident Power. Finally, it is important to note that as an aggregator, Resident Power can negotiate and terminate contracts for enrolled customers but cannot directly communicate with the utility nor can consumer supply rates be altered by Resident Power.
We have made a copy of Ms. ******'s Supplier Notice and Enrollment form available and have sent a copy of this response directly to the customer via send receipt with the USPS and urge the customer to contact us with any further questions.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While everything that Resident Power says is true, and they did let me know that they had filed a complaint with the PUC, I still feel that tripling the rate without any notice whatsoever was a breach of the trust I had placed in them. Yes, I understood that the contract was for a variable rate, however, it was implied that that variable rate would NEVER exceed the PSNH rate. And even if the rate had exceeded PSNH by a reasonable amount, I probably would have been understanding with that, but again, triple the usual charge was too much to accept.

Resident Power has NEVER made an attempt to contact me regarding this issue EVER. I initiated all contact and they responded to my inquiries in a timely manner, but the last communication was to inform me that they were seeking a resolution with the PUC and have never made an attempt to contact me since with an update or anything.

Perhaps that is because I cancelled my contract at the expiration date of 12/31/14, so I am no longer a customer and they don't maintain a relationship because of that. But I can't imagine that any customer who was affected by this rate increase stayed with Resident Power.

I thank everyone involved in the research and response to my complaint - both at BBB and at Resident Power.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Companies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.