BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/27/2005

Allen Remodeling, LLC

(603) 672-5992Serving Southern New Hampshire, AmherstNH 03031

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general contracting services

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/27/2005

BBB has determined that Allen Remodeling, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Allen Remodeling, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Allen Remodeling, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
10/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Roof on our residence was replaced by Allen Remodeling August 2012. Complaint involves a leak at chimney, edges not sealed, leaning cupola, & billing
The roll-type IKO Roof-Fast material applied to the back "L" does not go to the outer edge of the drip edge on the sides. An irregular cut stops approximately one inch in from the outer edge. The professional roofers consulted said that it would probably not leak IF THE MATERIAL WERE SEALED TO THE DRIP EDGE. IT IS NOT. It can easily be lifted with your finger. The lower layers extend out farther than the top layers, providing a potential place for water to enter.* The caulking material was applied sporadically around a chimney and to the side wall of the main house. It has not formed a bond with the roofing material and can easily be separated from the roofing with your finger. When it rains I'm getting water into the room under the chimney on the "L". * When viewed from the side, it is obvious that our belltower leans. A level and protractor show that the entire structure is off by at least five degrees. * When the job was "finished" we were billed an additional $1200 over the original quote. The contract stated that "Any modifications to the contract will be written up in change order form, otherwise the specifications outlined in this contract will be met." We have received no written justification for any additional charges. The charge was reduced to $1000 AFTER I COMPLAINED.* While the original contract allowed for replacement of up to 30 square feet of any damaged sheathing, I was told no sheathing needed replacement. The initialed contract called for replacement of flashing in an area of suspected leakage. Replacing that flashing would of course call for the removal and replacement of clapboards in the affected area. It would seem logical that work would have been included in the quoted price. * I gave Allen Remodeling ten working days to come up with a plan, to include a schedule, to repair the defects listed. They replied they were busy and would need an additional two weeks. This filing gives them two weeks to respond. * Fixes required: 1) Seal area around chimney on "L". 2)Ensure the sealing between roofing on "L' and the wall of the main house is adequate. 3) Seal edges of Roof Fast roofing on "L". 4) Reposition cupola so that it is vertical. 5) Provide written justification for additional charges over original estimate or refund payment. NOTE THAT PHOTOS OF ALL CONDITIONS LISTED WERE SUBMITTED TO ALLEN REMODELING ARE AVAILABLE FOR REVIEW.

Desired Settlement
A package with my written complaints (including photos) was sent to ***** Remodeling via U.S. Postal Service Certifed Mail. I gave Allen Remodeling ten working days (from August 21st, the date of their signature on my return receipt postcard) to come up with a plan, to include a schedule to repair the defects listed. When I sent a reminder, I was told they were busy and would need AT LEAST another two weeks - and that I would hear from them by Sept 15th. I have spoken with the Attorney General's office and was advised not to wait, as filing this complaint will automatically give them an additional two weeks to respond.

In lieu of making the repairs, Allen Remodeling may choose to refund $1000.

In addition, in view of the fact that we have received no written justification for the $1000 additional charge (as is specified in the contract initialed by Mr. *****), we feel justified in requesting refund of that additional $1,000 paid above and beyond the original quote.

I would prefer to receive the above-listed refunds (for a total of $2000) so that I can then have the repairs carried out by another contractor.

Business Response
Holly Engel with BBB spoke to Ms. Allen at the business, she said they will be addressing the issues directly with the customer to resolve this complaint.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

I mailed you a package containing supporting material I could not get through your email system. It describes more details on my experience with Allen Remodeling. It is essentially the same package I sent to Allen Remodeling on August 20 of this year.

Their customer relations/satisfaction technique so far has consisted of yelling at me over the phone. I eventually hung up and redialed to ask if it was my turn to speak yet -- this last fall, shortly after the job was "finished".

When I sent them the same package I just sent you and gave them 10 working days to get up here, inspect the work, and give me a timeframe to do the repairs, I was told "They were busy."
This wasn't to actually do the repairs, just to give me a schedule of when they might do the repairs.

Apparently they have no intent of guaranteeing their work.

I received estimates for sealing the roof ranging from $300 to $700.

If I recall correctly, Mr. Allen mentioned $800 for work on the bell tower originally. (I wonder what they would have charged to do it correctly?) Remember that I never received any change order as was called out in the contract.

Then there's the cost of replacing the ceiling tiles damaged by the water coming in around the chimney.

If I take the middle average for sealing the roof ($500) and add $800 to correct their work on the bell tower, and add in some cost to replace the ceiling tiles, I'm at AT LEAST $1500.

So I find their latest offer still not adequate.

MOST sincerely,

Final Business Response
To settle this disagreement/dispute Allen Remodeling agrees to pay **** ******** his settlement amount of $1,300. As stated before Allen Remodeling does not entirely agree with Mr Whitbecks description of events transpired. Allen Remodeling has made a business decision to resolve this outstanding issue and close this case with the Better Business Bureau. Allen Remodeling will forward a check to Mr ******** for $650 by October 31, 2013 and the remaining $650 by November 30, 2013.

We would also like to thank the BBB for their assistance in helping to resolve this discrepancy between both parties.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors-General, Renovations & Additions, Basement - Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Home Improvements, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/07/2003Business started: 03/01/1993
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Keith Allen (Member)Customer Contact: Barbara Allen (Office Manager)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Contractors-General, Renovations & Additions, Basement - Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Home Improvements, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Service Area

Southern NH, Amherst NH, Milford NH, Bedford NH, Merrimack NH, Nashua NH, Manchester NH, Brookline NH, Mont Vernon NH, etc

Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Tips

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

5 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Allen Remodeling, LLC

Serving Southern New Hampshire

Amherst, NH 03031

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • Serving Southern New Hampshire 

    Amherst, NH 03031

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Allen Remodeling, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors-General

Home Remodeling Tips
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.