BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/06/2003

Ed's Flooring America

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 300-3801Fax: (603) 612-0060View Additional Phone Numbers18 Plaistow Road, PlaistowNH 03865

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers retail the sale and installation of tile, carpet and hardwood.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/06/2003

BBB has determined that Ed's Flooring America meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ed's Flooring America's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ed's Flooring America

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
07/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Since March 2015 I have been waiting for Ed's Flooring to honor the contract regarding defective carpeting and it's replacement.
Since March 2015 Ed's Flooring has refused to honor the signed Contract regarding defective carpeting and it's replacement. In March 2015 ** of ed's Flooring personnally inspected and documented the defective carpet and agreed that it was defective and would be covered by the insurance under the Contract. I have made several contacts with ******* who had assured me that the insuran ce would cover the cost of the carpet and it's replacement. I had submitterd all ogf the required documentation required by the Contract and had provided ****** the proof of correct carpet cleaning dates. I have not heard from anyone since May 2015.

Desired Settlement
All costs and expenses involved in the total replacement of the defective carpet to be borned by Ed's Flooring.

Business Response
We have been working with the carpet mill faithfully for many months and have been in contact with the customer throughout the process. Please see notes with timelines below.

07/10/15 - 13:07:04 : *************t - please see below the complete breakdown of contact and attempts to get resolution to this claim, (taken from email to ***** today):

Here's a quick overview of the issues I have faced trying to get this claim resolved.

03/25/15 - 17:53:32 : ************** - carpet inspection by ** 3/20, pictures attached, customer complaining of poor wear, texture retention. Installed 1/12/2010 by **** Customer had carpets professionally cleaned once a year since install, and they will email me the information and dates for those cleanings as they saved all the receipts.

3/25 - spoke with customer and got info of claim. Claim submitted online 3/28. Emailed pics.

4/9 - received emailed copy of 3 receipts, forwarded on to claims.

4/17 - got voice mail from ****** that she needed pics and receipts, she could not read them. I resized and resent the pics and the cleaning receipts on 4/20.

4/30 - got call from ****** requesting more cleaning receipts as one she received was not for current carpet. I did let her know customer was looking for additional receipt and I would forward as soon as I heard from him. I lmom for customer to ask for status of missing receipt.

5/20 - got email from customer with missing receipt, forwarded to claims.

5/23 - emailed customer that had gotten newest received, sent to mfg, and no new status at this time.

6/2 - got call asking if claim is for a rental unit or if consumer lived there, called and left message for ****** that it was consumer's residence.

6/16 got another messge from ****** asking for more cleaning receipts and if the unit was a rental, called and left message again that owner occupied and no additional receipts were available, lmom with customer that no status change yet.

7-7, customer called and complained to ****** that no response to claim, took too long.

7/8 I lmom for ***************** complain about the delays for this claim .

7/9 - got message from *************** and he said I needed to speak with ****** in claims. I called and again left message for ****** regarding the status of the claim. She called back and lmom that the claim was denied as I only provided only 1 cleaning receipt. I called and spoke with her and she admitted that she had 4 receipts in total but couldn't read them. At no time after 4/17 was I informed that they had any problems with the receipts submitted, only that they needed more receipts. I would have again resent them if asked. While on the phone with ******, we looked at them together and she admitted that she could read the dates on them, which she had not done previously, and stated that she would have to now re-open the claim. Still no status for customer!!!

7/9 ****** called and lmom for customer to call her.

7/10 - per **, I called and spoke with Mr. ********. I apologized and said ** was offering for him to get the carpet replaced at no cost to him, to simply come in and reselect. He responded by saying he refused to work with ***s Flooring any more because he had no faith in us and that the customer service was horrible, that he waiting too long, and got no contact for a month regarding this claim. He demanded that he be allowed to go to a competitor and buy and install the carpet with them and have us reimburse him for it. He said we had till the beginning of next week, that no contact from us would be considered an approval for this resolution and he would go forward with the replacement. Any refusal to go along with this request would likely result in a law suit.

07/10/15 - 14:45:03 : ************ It was explained to me that the customer was upset about the results of the claim that he placed and the length of time it had taken since the claim was placed to get an answer. Called customer and explained we are very much interested in making him whole in spite Mohawks denial of his claim. He sounded very open to meeting on Monday 7/13 and asked that I call him that day to set up the appointment. I suggested using a nylon if possible. Paid $3.19 for ******* Premier

07/13/15 - 12:29:55 : ***** ****** Called as requested to set an appointment with customer. *** stated that he should be in no later than 2pm.

07/13/15 - 14:36:45 : ************ Customer came in and was not happy. I finally was able to explain that in spite of Mohawk denying the claim that we are once again offering to replace the carpet including the moving of the furniture.. I offered the customer a full replacement ( non pro-rated) and stated that I would recommend a nylon instead.I went on to say to Mr. ******** that we would apply all the money he had previously spent toward anything he chose . I explained some of the differences about nylon vs. a polyester and the customer liked the Downs Lady Luck Premier color Shadow ( comes 15') but did not want to pay the difference. He stated however maybe he should just take the check and go else where.I explained that we were not offering money but a replacement. I stated that we were looking to do the right thing in spite the denial of the claim. He stated that he was going to go and comparison shop saying that he thought we should allow him to buy the carpet and install somewhere else and have us pay the invoice. I explained that we were unable to do that. I gave him a card with my # on it for follow up and encouraged him to call with any questions or to schedule the replacement

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
**'s Carpet representatives(ie; ************** and *************) are mis-quoting and altering the communications I had with them. They tell me one thing and report to BBB something completely different.********* quoted a paid price for the defective carpeting to me at $3.50 per square foot not $3.19 as he stated. ******* lied when he quoted they were not offering money FOR HE WAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Because **'s Carpet lack of honesty and poor products I feel a professional is needed.

Final Business Response
Dear Mr. ********- At no time did I say that you had previously paid $3.50 per square foot for your existing carpet. I said that you had paid $3.19 and suggested that we use a nylon instead because of the issues you were experiencing. I went on to say that if we found a suitable replacement that was close in price,like some we looked at for +/- $3.50 I would see if I could make that work. I went on saying that although the claim had been denied , we still wanted to be sure you were happy.Furthermore, we have record of every purchase to show exactly what was paid. We have made every attempt to do the right thing but the customer is not satisfied.

7/27/15 - 12:27:51 : ************ Read response from Mr. ******** and made a reply.

07/22/15 - 16:04:57 : ************ Called customer to follow up. He immediately called me a liar. I told him that the notes were indeed truthful and reflective of the conversation we had in the Plaistow Store on 7/13. He disagreed and restated that I was a liar. He went on to question how I was raised saying, " I guess they are raising a different breed in this generation." He then asked " what do you want?" I continued by stating that the purpose of the call was to find out if he wanted to proceed with the carpet he chose when in the store on 7/13. He said that the answer was no if it was going to cost him money. I again told Mr. ******** that there was nothing more we could do than to offer all of his money back toward a replacement.I reminded him yet again that both claims were denied by the manufacturer and in spite of that we were still offering the replacement. He said ,"well I guess I'll see you in court". I said that I was sorry he felt that way and we ended the conversation.Emailed **, ****** and ******.

10/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

**'s Flooring ordered a runner for our stairs after they measured our old runner and knew the new one was too small. A full refund was not offered.
In April/May 2014 we selected a runner ******** ****** XXXXX) and 3 throw rugs of various sizes (all the same pattern) for nearby hall ways.

A representative from Ed's Flooring came out to our house and measured the existing runner on our stairs. We never took any measurements. After the measurements were made by Ed's, we paid *** ****** at Ed's $1,426.90 to order the carpet on 5/17/14. Payment was a combination of cash and check. Order number CGXXXXXX.

On 6/19/14 the carpet was to be installed. However the installer indicated that the new runner was 0.5 to 0.75 inches too small in width. If he installed the new runner, there would be a visible line along both edges where the underlying wood had never been exposed to UV or weathering would show; plus nail holes may show from the staples. He said that new runners should always be wider than the old runners that they are replacing.

We subsequently went back to Ed's to see what options they had for us given our situation. The next largest runner in the same pattern was too large (it would cover too much of the wood stairs). We therefore found another runner design that would fit (second choice), however, Ed's said it would cost us an additional $900. Alternatively, Ed's would refund our money minus a ~$300 restocking fee. If it was our fault that we measured incorrectly, we would understand paying the restocking fee, however, we did not make the incorrect measurement nor order the runner knowing it would not fit.

We then went to another carpet place and found an equal comparable runner and three throw rugs for $1,361. Then we went back to Ed's to try to get our money back so we could buy the runner elsewhere.

It took over a week to get in touch with Ed (the owner). Ed gave us three options: 1) Ed would see if he could personally make the original runner fit by sanding/staining the gap exposed by the short runner, 2) Ed would give us the second choice carpet for an additional $200 ($700 less than before), or 3) Ed's would give us our money back minus the $305 restocking fee.

At this point we had had enough of the run around with Ed's, we do not trust his sanding/staining ability (option 1 above); we just wanted all our money back. We did not measure wrong; Ed's did. *** ******* the salesman who ordered the runner for us, should have realized it was too short in width and let us know before he committed our money. Therefore, we should get all our money back.

On 9/15/14 we received a refund from Ed's of $1,121.90 ($305 short, presumably for the restocking fee).

We are not happy with the way we have been treated at Ed's Flooring this year. Note that we have completed two bathroom tiling projects with Ed's in the past and have received good service in the past. We were not expecting this poor level of service this year.

Desired Settlement
we would like all our money back (a full refund). We have received $1,121.90. We would like the additional $305 back.

Business Response
Ed's Flooring America made every effort to resolve this customer's complaint. All the options we offered the customer were declined.

Flooring industry standards measure stair runners on length, not width. The right amount of length was ordered. The customer signed an order that clearly spells out it was a 26.5 runner, underlined and reviewed with the customer prior to the order being submitted. The customer received exactly what they ordered.

While on site the installer explained the runner is 26.5" and will need to either have work done on the wood to remove evidence of the previous runner or choose a different runner option.
Back at the store we tried to work with the customer to come up with a solution.

The first and best solution was to pick same pattern in wider runner at no additional cost, customer didn't like that option.
Then we suggested to the customer to pick out something altogether different, which they did. The price increase was $800. We would waive the restocking charge on runner originally ordered, just additional cost of the new runner. Customer didn't want to pay $800 more. We asked the customer how much more they would pay; customer said $100-$200 at the most. We agreed on $200 increase, but after we agreed the customer said never mind, we just want all our money back.

In the midst of the new carpet options, I asked the customer if I could come out and look at what work might need to be done to the wood to be able to keep the original runner but the customer refused this option.

It was explained to the customer if they didn't want any of the options there would be a restocking charge as outlined in the original contract.

We tried everything to give the customer what they wanted and ultimately they decided to go elsewhere.

When the customer stated they were able to purchase stair runner and 3 area rugs from another store for $1,361 we asked to review the quote and would match the offer. However, the customer could not present us with a quote. The only evidence the customer could present was verbal.

Ed's Flooring America is still willing to work with the customer with any of these options to resolve this problem.

Respectfully submitted, ** *****, Owner

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We, as common lay-person customers, are not familiar with the so-called "Flooring Industry Standards" which state that only length in runners is measured, not width. This practice seems absurd.
The person that measured the existing runner (prior to placing the order), measured both length and width, at least it appeared that they did. These so-called "Flooring Industry Standards" were not made clear to us when we signed the order and paid up front. The salesman never informed us that this carpet will not fit width-wise. Had we known that there was going to be even a hint of a potential problem with the width, we would have never ordered the runner. Finally, the installer, who should be very familiar with "Flooring Industry Standards" said that the width was obviously too short, and that this shortness was a "rookie measuring mistake", and not our fault.
With regard to the statement that we said we would pay "$100-200 more at the most", but after Ed's agreed, we changed our mind; note the following: at this stage, we had gotten so dissatisfied with the Ed's shopping experience that we just wanted our money back. This is a simple request under most circumstances when absolutely no product or services were delivered.
With regard to the statement that "The first and best solution was to pick the same pattern in a wider runner at no additional cost, and the customer didn't like that option", we would like to point out that in order to make the next wider size runner fit, we would have to trim the main pattern off the edges of the runner. Even the salesperson said that it would not look right. If we left the pattern on the edge of the next wider size runner, our wood floor stairs would be almost entirely covered, which the installer said would not look right.

Final Business Response
The original selection was available in two widths, it was discussed with the customer and they chose the smaller width.

Option 1: We could have gone to the wider runner at no additional cost as an option, but the customer did not want that.

Option 2: The next solution was to choose another pattern that we were willing to greatly discount based on the customer's request, but the customer declined this option.

Option 3: I also offered to come out and inspect the stairs to see if any part of the finish would need to be fixed, if even necessary, in order to stay with the original order, the customer refused.

I exhausted every option to provide a solution, but the customer declined all options.

I have built my business for the past 30 years delivering the highest customer satisfaction. I am disappointed that this customer was not satisfied with the various options we provided.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Carpet & Rug Dealers-New, Contractors- Flooring, Vinyl Flooring, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Tile-Ceramic-Contractors & Dealers, Floors - Laminate

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 08/16/1996Business started: 01/01/1986
Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 1996, NH

Business Management
Customer Contact: Vylett Cross (Business Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Edward Cross (Owner) Jacob Cross (Lead Sales)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers-New, Contractors- Flooring, Vinyl Flooring, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Tile-Ceramic-Contractors & Dealers, Floors - Laminate

Alternate Business Names
Ed's Carpet, Tile & Hardwood, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ed's Flooring America

18 Plaistow Road

Plaistow, NH 03865

To | From


3 Locations

  • 101 Quality Dr. 

    Hooksett, NH 03106(603) 386-0111
    Fax: (603) 218-1230

  • 18 Plaistow Road 

    Plaistow, NH 03865(800) 300-3801
    (603) 382-3801
    Fax: (603) 612-0060
    Fax: (603) 612-0060

  • 369 S. Broadway 

    Salem, NH 03079(603) 218-1234

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ed's Flooring America is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (603) 382-3801

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (603) 382-1622

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.


Industry Tips for Carpet & Rug Dealers-New


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.