BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Steven Gauthier Auto Service, LLC

Phone: (603) 532-7391Fax: (603) 532-5727119 Peterborough Street, JaffreyNH 03452

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers a full line of auto services including towing and recovery.

BBB Accreditation

Steven Gauthier Auto Service, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Steven Gauthier Auto Service, LLC's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Steven Gauthier Auto Service, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Steven Gauthier Auto Service, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/28/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I paid this business to evaluate a used car I wanted to buy. They were dishonest and lied about the condition of this car.
On August 19th, 2015 I paid Gauthier Auto Service to inspect and evaluate a car that I wanted to purchase. they were to look it over and tell me what the vehicle would need to pass inspection and be road safe. I spoke with **** on all of these conversations.The vehicle is a 2000- ford explorer, 144,900 miles with a VIN of: 1FMPU18L3YLAXXXXX. Gauthier Atuo Body of Jaffrey told me, twice , over the phone, what the car needed to pass inspection- new front shocks, a brake light, and a small rust hole repaired on the bottom of the car. They said it would take an hours time to fix.I paid them 43.00$ with a credit card for this service, to look the car over. I purchased the car, from ******** *********** believing this to be true. The purchase price was 600.00.
Today, August 20th, I took the car to my mechanic after I registered it at town hall. He informed me about the unsafe and terrible condition of this vehicle- both wheels on the passenger side were almost off the vehicle. Tie rods were rusted and loose, wheels wiggled, the rear wheel had a broken rusted arm that needed to be replaced, rust through out the undercarriage. The vehicle is really a junk parts car. I do not think it can be made safe to drive. It would never, ever ,pass inspection with just a small hole reapired and shocks redone. This Gauthier Auto place totally lied about the condition of the car. I believe that they and the owner of the vehicle were working together to cheat someone into buying this ruined, unsafe car. When I called Gauthier today to ask for at least my 43.00 back, they said they had not actually put a sticker on the car, so it did not matter that they lied. If they had been honest I would never had purchased this car for my daughter. Now we have lost all this money, I have a car that is junk that I registered because I believed that I would get the service that I PAID FOR!!!!! What a dishonest cheap underhanded business. Maybe they should now fix the car so it can pass inspection!!

Desired Settlement
I want the money I paid ( 43.00 ) returned to me, I also think they should reimburse me for the money I have lost by purchasing this car. I never never would have bought it if they had been honest. I want 300.00 from them.

I have talked with them today regarding this issue. I will call again tomorrow.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Towing-Automotive

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 12/29/2006Business started: 12/29/2006
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Steven Gauthier (Owner)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Towing-Automotive

Alternate Business Names
Gauthier Auto Service LLC
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Steven Gauthier Auto Service, LLC

119 Peterborough Street

Jaffrey, NH 03452

To | From


1 Locations

  • 119 Peterborough Street 

    Jaffrey, NH 03452Fax: (603) 532-5727

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Steven Gauthier Auto Service, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.


Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

Auto Repair and Services

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.