BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/29/2001

Team Kia

(603) 227-0550View Additional Phone Numbers158 Manchester St, ConcordNH 03301-5112



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Concord Kia is a family owned and operated dealership. In addition to new vehicle sales, they also retail Titan and Indian motorcyles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/29/2001

BBB has determined that Team Kia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Team Kia's rating include:

  • 9 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Team Kia's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Team Kia

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
02/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 1/3/15 I was told by *********** to put a $200 refundable deposit on a car. 1/5/15 I told them II didn't want it They won't give me a refund.
I was told by ********** that it would be put in a safe. When I went to pick it up on 1/5 they had already deposited it and said when it cleared they would refund my $. They pretty much ignore my emails and calls and have been rude. I sent a copy of the front of the check showing it had been cleared and told them to check with their own bank. Today, 1//11/15, I went to the dealer and the manager, ***, still refused to issue me a check.

Desired Settlement
$200 returned at once.

Business Response
Good morning,
I am the office manager at Team Kia and was made aware of Ms. ********'s request for a refund on her deposit of 200.00 (check number 268) on 1/11/15. Team Kia deposited the check on 1/5/15. It is our company policy to refund a deposit (personal check) either after 10 business days, or if the customer can supply proof that the check has cleared their bank institution.

Ms ******** was eligible for a refund on 1/19/15 or if she supplied us with a copy of the cancelled check. I recieved a copy of the front and back of the check via email on Tuesday 1/13/15 at 3:02 pm and issued a check to Ms. ******** (check number XXXXX) . The check was put in mail and mailed out of 1/14/15.
I hope this explains Ms ********'s transaction history and eliviates any negative feelings in concerns to Team Kia.

Thank you ************


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of today's mail (1/17/15) I have not received their check. Also, they never should have cashed it to begin with as I had emailed the salesman, ***** ****** on Monday, 1/5/15 at 7:22 AM stating that I did not want the car.

Final Business Response
Call received from new General Manager ***** ***** who indicates that check has been mailed to
Ms. ********.

07/25/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Team Kia sold me a 2012 Kia Sorento EX V6 as Certified Pre-Owned with 30K miles. I put a $7500. down payment on this vehicle. I found out 9 months later that the car as been in 3 accidents and used for commercial use. before I purchased it and that was never disclosed to me when I bought it. I have been back to the dealership more than 7 times for various issues including major work on the radiator and air conditioning as well as the front end. I returned to the dealership to trade it in after another dealership refused to take in in trade as the air bag had been deployed.I was presented with a Car Fax when I bought it and it was clean. I believed that they gave me this as fact and should stand behind it.Team Kia has a new GM and has fired most of the people who have worked there over the last 9 month. I feel cheated and I need help.
Product_Or_Service: 2012 Kia Sorento EX V6 AWD

Desired Settlement
I would like to have my money back and the payments I have made on the vehicle. I would never have purchased this car had I know it had been in accident and used commercially. I have tried to work with Team Kia and the refused to even give me what I owe on it.

Business Response
My name is ************* General Manager Team Kia, I spoke to Mrs ****** sometime in june about her trading in her car , I looked up the original deal and nothing was done to my knowledge at that time that was wrong. She has now put 35000 miles on the car since she bought it and wants me to refund her in full, I have not fired one person since I have taken over on June 17th , but I have had one person leave to further benifit his life in the car business. I tried to trade her out of her car but she wanted me to lose 6000 and told me so. Please feel free to call me at anytime if needed . THANKS ************* GENERAL MANAGER TEAM KIA

12/20/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The sales manager used deceptive practices to attempt to get me to buy a extended service package.
I consider myself to be fairly bright, and I am very good with numbers. I knew where my 'bottom line' was for vehicle price, independent of financing and monthly payments and all those distractors. I also knew I had no interest in purchasing an extended warranty beyond what the vehicle would come with - and had in fact told the sales associate I worked with, in an email, that I did not want to purchase an extended warranty. I have a copy of this email.

On 12/8/2013, After agreeing on a sale price and trade-in value and establishing that I had confirmed financing from my bank, I met with *** ******* the sales manager, to complete paperwork. He presented me with a worksheet that was printed horizontally, and it had several columns. At the top of each column was a descriptor - I can't remember them all, but the last one on the far right was 'Economy'. Across the top of the page starting on the left was the sale price (denoted as 'amount financed') of the vehicle, and it broke out the price into monthly payments as it ran across the top of the page. This was in very small font - I'd guess 10 point if not smaller. *** described the worksheet to me and the levels of service packages that were available to choose from that were detailed under each heading. At the bottom of each column, underneath each package, was what the monthly payment would be with that package. Knowing I didn't want to pay for any extended warranty, I selected the Economy column (by initialing underneath) since that appeared to be the no extended warranty option.

At no point was it ever presented or explained that:

1. The total actual cost of the Economy package was about $3,000 that would be rolled into the finance package.

Yes, if a person compared the numbers that were very large at the bottom of the Economy package column to the very small numbers that ran across the top of the page, they would notice the difference - and since it was there in print, it is the responsibility of the purchaser to do just that. However, the choice of font size and the complete omission of total cost of any of the packages seemed to be deliberately deceptive to me.

2. Choosing one of the packages was optional. Instead, it was presented as a 'which one would you like' decision without any indication you could say 'none'. This contributed to the perception that the Economy column was only the manufacturer's warranty with no extension.

The presentation of the selection sheet with absolutely no disclaimer or indication that a choice of 'none of the above' was permissible only reinforced my opinion that this process was deliberately deceptive.

*** went through the other paperwork with me, walking me through the columns and numbers. When it came time to sign the sales agreement, he did not walk through the detail of the numbers but instead just referenced that the total amount financed was in the box at the bottom. I noticed this was higher than what I thought it should be, and asked where that number came from. *** said it was the cost of the service package that I selected. I said no, I didn't choose one. I asked to see again the sheet with the columns on it. I think my exact words were, 'Can I see that paper again that you had me sign?' *** quickly said, 'Wait a minute, I didn't force you to sign anything.' After reviewing the worksheet and other paperwork, I informed him that I did not want to purchase any extended warranty and that his presentation and the worksheet was misleading.

Attempting to trick consumers into purchasing the extended warranty goes beyond salesmanship or ethical sales practices in my omy opinion.

Desired Settlement
If the service package is important enough to try and trick people into buying it unwittingly, then perhaps they should provide me with a complimentary service package - the best one they have. They'll of course try to negotiate that, perhaps suggesting the Economy package they tried to dupe me into - at which point, we could agree to meet in the middle.

Business Response
****,

Thank you very much for your purchase again and Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me and I apologize the process did not meet your expectations. I and we as a management group of dealerships take our customer feedback very seriously and strive to continually improve the way we do business. The Finance and Insurance part of our business is the most highly scrutinized and regulated part of our business. In previous years we did not have a menu, which is the sheet with the columns, that *** reviewed with you. And those products were sold in a much less consumer friendly manner. The menu was developed to make the process more transparent and ensure every consumer was offered the same products in the same manner. It has become an industry standard and this menu is not something we created but something we have received from a company that shares best practices and helps us integrate them into our processes. Of course the sale of these products is a profit center for the dealership however they pale in comparison to the actual sale and service of the vehicle and customer satisfaction is the paramount objective to running a successful business. I intend to share your experience with my management staff, and executive management of our group, and possibly change the appearance of the menu. I also intend to review the manner in which we present this menu and make sure we are doing so with thoroughness and transparency. I am confident that sharing your experience and reviewing our process in this area of the business will lead us to a better solution.

It is my hope that you will continue to visit us for the service and maintenance of your vehicle and I am confident we can meet your expectations there in the same way that ****** did during the sales process.

Again, I apologize on behalf of *** and the entire dealership and Thank you for taking the time to write to me. I would love if the next time you are in the dealership you would ask for me and we can meet in person.

12/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unethical practice and was taken advantage of by Team Kia's service and repair department by telling me my vehicle needed repairs that it did not need
Friday 11/29/13 I brought my 2010 Kia Forte into team Kia for a state inspection and oil change. I was contacted by the dealership later on in the afternoon around 2:30pm stating my car failed inspection due to my rear brake pads and was quoted $250.00 to have them repaired so that my vehicle would pass inspection. I knew instantly that $250.00 to replace the rear brake pads was way over priced so I told them that I knew I could find a better deal at an auto body shop and would get them repaired elsewhere. The service tech had told me that if I found a cheaper price to have my brake pads replaced that they would match that price and fix them to save me to from going elsewhere. I then called around to a few different auto body shops in Concord, NH and found that All Tune and Lube on fisherville road would do them for $74.95. I then called team Kia back to tell them that I was quoted $74.95 by all tune and lube and that that price included labor, I was then expecting team kia to agree with that price seeing 5 minutes prior they agreed to match the price if I found a better deal. The service tech asked the manager and they said they would not do them for that price. I told the tech at team kia I'd be picking my car up and getting the work needed to pass inspection done at all tune and lube. I picked up my car and made an appointment for Saturday morning at 8:00am at all tune and lube to have my rear brake pads replaced. At around 10:30am Saturday a service tech by the name *** called me to ask why I brought my car in to have my rear brake pads done and that there was nothing wrong with them. I had explained to *** that my car failed inspection due to my brake pads being 2/32. He stated to me that they were 4/32 and at worst 3/32 and that my car did indeed pass with the brake pads that I had on the car currently. He asked me to come down to all tune and lube so that he could show me and measure them in front of me, so I did. *** took me into the shop and showed me my brake pads and measured them in front of me, sure enough they were fine and did measure 4/32. *** did tell me i'd eventually need new ones but that they were fine and did pass for NH state inspection. I was charged $32.05 by all tune and lube for the labor of them having my car in their shop for 2 hours and for them having to take my tires off to get to my brake pads. Not only did I waste my time Saturday but I wasted the workers time at all tune and lube. I have been ripped off by team kia and they have wasted my time. They were trying to rip me off and get me to dish out $250.00 for something that does not even need repairing. I am a female college student who was taken advantage of by the service department of team kia.

Desired Settlement
Refund for the labor I had to pay to the auto body shop

Business Response
I would like to apologize on behalf of our Service Department for the incident described in this case. It is my understanding the consumer has been back to the dealership and our Service Manager has gone through the braking system with her. The technician took a shortcut in measuring the brake pads which resulted in an inaccurate measurement. Upon further inspection and measurement with the consumer present the consumer is correct. The technician has been disciplined appropriately and the entire shop informed on the procedures that we expect which go beyond the NH State requirements as outlined in the Inspection Handbook. This procedure requires the technician to disassemble the brakes while recording a measurement of less than 4 millimeters. We are happy to refund the consumer for the third party shop bill and that payment will processed this week. Again I apologize behalf of the entire dealership and am confident we will not have this issue again in the future.

11/13/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company has,on multiple occasions/locations, advertised a vehicle that is not for sale, in an effort to gain customer info and seek alternatives
This company advertised both on www.craigslist.org; www.autotrader.com for a vehicle that they do not have. I contacted them several times over the course of three weeks attempting to inquire the vehicle was listed as a: 2004 Red Cadillac Escalade with 117k miles every time I contacted them dealership, I was told different things ie; no longer available, it didnt pass inspection, and wouldnt be sold, it was being signed on as we speak, etc. In every case the sales rep attempted to collect my information in an effort to find a vehicle for me. The days preceding my inquires this same vehicle/matching VIN number was reposted on respective Web Sites. As far as I know this is considered BAIT AND SWITCH, and is illegal

Desired Settlement
I would like to see the business penalized for illegal bait and switch tactics.

Business Response
I am very sorry about this misunderstanding and apologize on behalf of our entire staff. The 2004 Escalade in question is in fact still at our location and available for sale. This vehicle is however being sold in As-Is condition. It is our practice to occasionally offer vehicles wholesale to the poublic that do not pass NH state inspection and which we have decided not to invest in the repairs needed. We have trained our staff to be very upfront about the condition of our vehicles so the consumer may make an educated decision if this is the type of vehicle they are looking for. Again, I apologize about the misunderstanding and intend to meet with our staff today to talk about this incident and make sure everyone has the correct information about all our vehicles. Should this customer wish to view this vehicle or any other vehicles we have please contact **** *****, General Manager at XXX-XXX-XXXX or by email at ******@teamkianh.com.

Page 1 of 2
12/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a 2015 Kia Optima I financed the sales tax via the loan agreement,the check they sent me to go the register is $340 short of what is due. The check they sent to me is $340.00 short of what is due,they are telling there is nothing they,so in fact I will be paying the taxes twice and Kia is of no help either.all I want to do register my car.

Desired Settlement
The $429. Due which is needed to register the car,paying taxes suck paying them twice sucks even more.

Business Response
We collected $1122.00 in the deal based on 5.5% tax,
we do not charge reg fees in that state because they very from county to county , the monies sent to the customer were for $1122.00 that is what we collected on behalf on the lending bank

Consumer Response
Ok this is the because of their incompitance I am out an additional 340.00 I am not ok with that,I would accept at least $150.00 in return,they earned well in excess of $3000. On this deal.this I will accept nothing less. *** *******



Final Business Response
I have attached a copy of the purchase and sales for Mr. *******'s purchase of his 2015 Kia Optima. It clearly states that we configured the sales tax on his vehicle for 1122.00. I have also included a copy of the check we made out to the State of Maine for the sales tax. We do not figure in the county fees because we are unaware of the fees and they vary from county to county. Team Kia has consimated the sale and has no further obligation to complete his registration. We did not charge Mr. ******* anymore then the 1122.00 that we sent a check for.

It is unfortunate that Mr. ******* is un happy however we have completed the sale.

04/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was given 2,000 less for a truck which I brought back less than 3 days after buying and less than 300 miles of use even after I called the next day.
Purchased a 2005 Dodge Dakota SLT with 32,989 miles from salesperson ***** ******** and general manager **** ****** on March 03, 2013. I paid 15,057 dollars for the truck. I traded in a 2011 Toyota Corolla LE with 26,500 miles. I was given 11,700 dollars for the car in a trade. I owed 13,300 on the Corolla.
When I got home, I noticed that the truck was badly rusted and the front seat was torn. I called ***** and told him that I was not comfortable with the truck. He told me to bring the truck back to Concord,NH and that he would " be able to do something". When I brought the truck back, I was forced to go through the whole negotiating process again. They gave me only 13,000 for a truck which
I just purchased at 15,000. In addition, I had other fees such as a second dealer document fee of 399.00. I traded for a 2007 Mustang which had
about 38,000 miles. When the contract was drawn up, I noticed that there were losses in excess of 4,390 dollars. By the way, the price of the Mustang was 14,000. When I went in to sign papers with ***** ******** (after waiting around all day)
I backed away and asked him to explain the 4k plus loss. I also noticed that my interest rate went from 2.99 to 6%. At that time, **** ****** walked in to the dealership and I told him my concerns about the losses and the higher interest rate. He got me a rate of 2.99 but said he could do nothing about the losses I incurred. I called several times and talked to **** and ***** about a reasonable reimbursement but they said that they could do nothing. When I got home with the Mustang, I noticed that the belt was squealing. **** told me to bring the car back and they would check it out. First I had my mechanic take a look and noted
the belt was squealing. When I took it back to Concord, the mechanic looked at it for about 2 seconds and said everything is ok. I talked to **** ******, who is another general manager there, and asked them if there was someone above them who I may speak with. He said there wasn't and told me that I got a good deal.
How can this be a good deal? I drove over an hour to see a truck that turned out to be a junk and was forced to take something else from their lot because I would have lost even more if I went to another dealer to trade the truck back in. I came in with a nice Corolla and a loan of 13,300. I left with a Mustang (Which knock on wood seems ok at the moment) and a loan for over 19k. How is that a good deal?

Desired Settlement
2,000 - 3,000

Business' Initial Response
I am very sorry the customer is unhappy with the transaction. Since the original vehicle was titled, and registered it must be treated as a trade in for the second purchase. Had the Dakota not been titled and registered we may have been able to unwind the deal and start fresh with the Mustang.

Consumer's Final Response
I'm sorry I can't recommend this dealership.
It's disgraceful that this dealership tries to take advantage of it's customers.
I dealt with them with trust and they took advantage of it.
I would stay away from this dealership.
They are unsympathetic and only care about their profits. That's what they told me.
What about the consumer?
If you came to my hospital for treatment and I overcharged you, you would be upset as well.
This is no way to treat people.
You guys are a disgrace.

Business' Final Response
I am very sorry we have not met the consumers expectation.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Motorcycles-Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/07/2000Business started: 12/01/1999New Owner Date: 06/28/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NH Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit, Troup G
23 Hazen Dr
Concord, NH03301
(603) 223-8778

BBB records show a license number of A1860 for this company, issued by NH Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit, Troup G. Dealer License for Team Kia.

Type: Dealer's License

BBB records show a license number of 4114 for this company, issued by NH Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit, Troup G. NH Inspection Station License for Team Kia.

Type: Inspection Station

Business Management
Principal: Steven Kemos (General Manager)
Contact Information
Rob Miller (Sales Manager)
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Motorcycles-Dealers

Products & Services

Sale and Service of Kia's as well as a large facility of Pre-Owned Automobiles

Industry Tips
Car, Tips on Buying a New

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Team Kia

158 Manchester St

Concord, NH 03301-5112

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 158 Manchester St 

    Concord, NH 03301-5112(603) 227-0550

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Team Kia is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (978) 270-2815
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New Cars

Car, Tips on Buying a New
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.