BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/25/1998

Exeter Subaru

(603) 778-030037 Portsmouth Avenue, StrathamNH 03885

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto Sales and Service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/25/1998

BBB has determined that Exeter Subaru meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Exeter Subaru's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Exeter Subaru

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 26 April we left a deposit, via credit card, of $1000 towards the purchase of a vehicle they did not have in stock. Being a Saturday they stated they could not begin searching for it until Monday. On Sunday we went to a different dealership and bought the exact same car for $2200 less. The sales force lied about the "Subaru policy" on pricing, since other Subaru dealers clearly show MSRP and what they call "your price". Federal Law allows up to 3 days to cancel a contract, we cancelled in less than 48 hours...would have been sooner but they were closed on Sunday...so they are required to reimburse the deposit. Yet they are sitting on it. I may end up having to hire a lawyer to get it back and people should know not to trust this dealership. I will also be plastering them all over Facebook and Twitter to get the word out, but wanted to make sure if anyone looks at Better Business Bureau first, a complaint is there. It has been over 2 weeks since the deposit was made and my credit card company has been notified of the disputer amount.
Product_Or_Service: deposit on new car

Desired Settlement
Just want my $1000 deposit back.

Business Response
This is one of the last few businesses left that a customer asks you to do work and then can change their mind without paying. This guy has received his money back! Stop wasting peoples time.
For the record we are open every Sunday with the 27th of April being no exception.
****** ***** GM

07/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After purchasing a vehicle from Exeter Subaru,I discovered they didn't prepare it adequately before release.As a result I incurred financial loss.
Here is the letter I sent to Exeter Subaru late March. I have thus far received no reply.



Dear ****,

Thank you for the kind Birthday wish. I apologize if I made you feel uncomfortable last time we spoke. You must understand how frustrating it is to have to arrange rides to and from work when you just purchased a low mileage, fairly expensive vehicle from a reputable car dealership only days before. As you and your supervisor have been informed by the ************ dealership in West ***********, *************, the vehicle has undergone a full diagnostic cooling system test, and everything has passed. The noise coming from my tire was in fact a rock stuck under the brake plate. However, I did end up getting a full radiator flush as ************** told me it was diluted more than 50%. Since the radiator and overflow were both empty I had no choice other than to fill them. I purchased a fresh bottle of Prestone 50/50, but I am unsure as to what may have already been in the radiator prior to my filling it with the antifreeze. It is unknown how long the vehicle was missing the cap to the radiator reservoir, but however long it may have been was long enough for water or another diluted liquid to get inside. Because of that, it was necessary to do the flush. I now ask that Exeter Subaru cover the antifreeze flush and pressure test, seeing as I wouldn't have had to get it if there was a cap on the reservoir and ample fluid in the system when I purchased the vehicle. Clearly this oversight rests with Exeter Suburu and not with me.

Please remember that my Dad called *** at Exeter as soon as I realized we had a problem explaining early on what happened, and *** told him to do what we had to do to resolve the problem, and my Dad did tell him that I would take it to the local Honda dealership for service. Naturally, Honda recommended a change in anti freeze as well as a pressure test, to insure that I had not ruined my head gasket while driving low on antifreeze from Exeter to *************, a trip of 2 and a half hours. The fact that my oil level was also low, made the head gasket potential problem a strong possibility. This could have resulted in a far worse scenario if the trip were longer, for I might have overheated and perhaps even blown the engine as a result. Luckily my Dad and I checked the fluids when we realized that the car was not producing ample heat through the heating system, and that is when we noticed the low fluids and the missing cap on the reservoir. Thank goodness we checked!

Attached you will find a copy of the bill, as I am sure you were sent a copy from **** as well. Let me know what you guys can do for me.

Sincerely,

**************

Desired Settlement
I *eek a *ettlement from Exeter Subaru for the amount of $122.87 for the Antifreeze flu*h by ****** Honda.

**********************************************
Altogether I incurred a lo** of approximately $148.79.

The amount break* down a* follow*:


1.)$15.00 approx.- 50/50 Pre*tone Antifreeze (*******************)(no receipt)

2.)$5.00 approx. Qt. of Oil (*******)(no receipt)

3.)$5.92- Antifreeze Cap (****** Honda)(receipt)

4.)$122.87- Coolant Flu*h (****** Honda)(receipt)

Business' Initial Response
This email is to confirm the conversation that you had with *****. We will be mailing a check to ************** for the amount of $122.87. Please consider this case resolved

Thanks

************

***************

Exeter Subaru

************

10/31/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Details and understanding of what I wrote on paper and what was verbally talked about in the final numbers was changed and covered up.
10/5/13
Sales rep. **** and ****
Start of paper work had 4k for my car, 500+ a month for payment with 6% intrest. I crossed out there amount on all lines and wrote in wanting 5k for my car, 300/month payment and under 3% because I know I have good credit. They came back, yes,yes giving you what you want, payment of what you want and an intrest rate of 2.89%. Also says we see your from Vt and we are adding in the taxes to your loan. Yes I said sounds great lets do it. Should of known something was up when **** comes out and says you have been here so long for waiting, the boss says we can add a remote car starter. Sounds great except I already know it has one when I looked it over first.He Says oh, Im not awear of that eric say.I said ya rite, nice try. I think they pulled this stunt because I had asked for vent visors several times and they kept saying no. So there was the first red flag. I also had done a 12hr shift and drove 2.5hrs from VT to buy this car. They know I was tired and in a hurry to get home, knowing I had been at the dealership for 4+ HRS. Then in ***** office he does the paper shuffle, I see my payment and months look right, sign and drive 140mileshome. The next day Sun 6, 2013 I print off Vt sales tax for reg to the car, start to fill it out, on paperwork there is no sales rax payed on car and after further inspection the price for trade in was only 4k? Not the 5k we spoke about. So my taxes are about $950. They mannipulated the final numbers, so they took off 1k from my trade in, didn't add my sales tax and the final result is the 1k for each washes out and the final monthly payment doesn't change. Now Im out 1k for my trade in and I also am out of pocket another $950 for my sales tax to VT within the 20 days after sale to change plates. I contacted **** and **** about this. **** says it was poor communication between **** and him self. He was sorrry, there not out to screw custumers and they would make it right. **** texts me back on my cell phone on 10/10 saying his boss at Exeter Subaru will not be helping me with the taxes that they failed to add in and my 1k for my car was also not going to be resolved. I feel I was scamed and they took advantage of me by making the bottom line number work to what I wanted without informing me the details of the loan had changed. They refuse to work with me.

Desired Settlement
I want atleast the $1000 for my trade that was removed from the loan or the $950 in sales tax to the State of VT and the cost of transfer. They have refued both, will settle for either one

Business Response
There was no cover up of final numbers. The payment *** was presented and agreed to on the initial worksheet was 316 @ 70 months( I have the forms if you would like to see them). **** was never informed about the sales tax, it wasn't listed on the P&S. Since **** wasn't aware of it he presented *** a base payment of 303 @ 70 months. The $13 dollar difference per month represents $910, the sales tax. **** called *** and said if you want to resign the contract we can factor sales tax back in and give you a check for the sales tax. **** informed me *** didn't want to do that, the drive back to the dealership was too long. I believe we offered to rectify the problem and see no reason for the complaint.
Thank you
****** *****
******* *******
Exeter Subaru

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
He's lying through the gap in his teeth. If you ask for the work sheet you will see the numbers I wrote down and from there they changed them. They munipulated the numbers. Its funny he didn't mention the 5k that was agreed on my car and then they changed it to 4k. *** is a lying. Why would I drive back down to the dealership if im still being screwed out of $1000 dollars either way. This place is a joke. If they don't do anything I'll contact WMUR news and they can explain to them why they shouldn't be labeled cons in the local news. *** is a joke. I wouldn't walk back into this place to ask for directions

Final Business Response
Here are the 3 pieces we spoke about, our worksheet(which shows you the numbers presented to the customer), the P&S, and the retail installment contract.

I am going to stand by my initial response which stated we already gave the customer a chance to resign but in no way did we change figures at any time during the sale of the car.

Regards,

****** *****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/22/1990Business started: 01/01/1972
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NH Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit, Troup G
23 Hazen Dr
Concord, NH03301
(603) 223-8778

BBB records show a license number of A951 for this company, issued by NH Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit, Troup G. NH Dealer License.

BBB records show a license number of 1028 for this company, issued by NH Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit, Troup G. NH State Inspection.

Business Management
Principal: Darren Coute (General Manager)
Contact Information
David Yanofsky (President)
Number of Employees

26

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Stratham Subaru, Inc.
Industry Tips
Car, Tips on Buying a New

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Exeter Subaru

37 Portsmouth Avenue

Stratham, NH 03885

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 37 Portsmouth Avenue 

    Stratham, NH 03885

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Exeter Subaru is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New Cars

Car, Tips on Buying a New
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.