BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/12/2006

BMW of Stratham

Phone: (800) 989-5200Fax: (603) 395-2665View Additional Phone Numbers71 Portsmouth Ave, StrathamNH 03885

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sales of automobiles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/12/2006

BBB has determined that BMW of Stratham meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised BMW of Stratham's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on BMW of Stratham

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
05/06/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle was sold to me with a clean carfax. Accident was posted to the vehicle two months after purchase and now I can't sell the vehicle.
On October 22, of 2012 I bought a used 2006 BMW **** *** number*******XXXXPSXXXXX from BMW of Stratham and sales agent **** *****. The car was advertised as a clean car and I was excited to have finally bought my first BMW. With a changing family dynamic I have recently chosen to list the car for sale. The first person that wanted to buy it pulled a carfax report and it showed the car had been in an accident. I was shocked and thought this was impossible but sure enough an accident posted to the vehicle two months after I bought it. The accident occurred in Missouri and the repair work was done at ****** *** in Nashua just prior to my purchasing the car.
My problem here is quite obviously two fold. First the car is now worth far less money than what I perceived it was, meaning I as the consumer am required to take a financial hit on the vehicle. Second, for all of the interest that I've had in the car, no one will even come look at it after I explain that it's been in an accident, especially one involving the front end of the car. I can't blame them as I absolutely would not have bought the car had I known this.
It should also be noted that the sales associate I dealt with, **** *****, was terminated shortly after I purchased the vehicle.

Desired Settlement
In reaching out to BMW of Stratham I have heard back from their business manager who offered to take the vehicle in trade for something else. This is not a solution to my problem, this is a way for them to double down and continue to make money off of me. The gentleman there even had the nerve to call me back a couple weeks later and say that he hadn't heard from me in terms of what vehicle we are looking for moving forward. What I would like the dealership to do is buy the vehicle back from me at the private party "very good" condition valuation. This is the valuation that the car should be worth had it been the car that they represented that is was in the first place.
I believe deep down that BMW of Stratham is a reputable local business here in our seacoast community. When I spoke with the business manager on the phone I encouraged him to do the right thing and buy the vehicle back from me but he refused to do so, saying he could only do so at a wholesale price.
I don't feel that the resolution that I'm seeking is unrealistic, especially considering that my recent attempts to sell the car privately have yielded results in line with what i would expect. People either expect to buy this car at a huge discount or as is the case most of the time, they have no interest in the vehicle at at all.
I know BMW of Stratham is a member of our local community and I would expect that as two members of this community we should be able to come to an agreement on this but to date we've been unable to do so. I'm very firm on my position here and in contacting the BBB this is my first step towards seeking resolution.

Business Response

We have tried to resolve this issue with you a couple of times. Unfortunately we do not control Car fax. At the time you purchased the car it had a clean car fax. We go by the same information as you do. The car went through our shop and meets all safety requirements and was a nice car at the time of sale. We can only disclose what we know at the time of sale which we did.

You mentioned to me that you wanted to purchase a different BMW so I offered to give you a aggressive offer on your car in trade and a aggressive number on any car you pick out. I was not trying to "double down" on you as you state. I was trying to help you in this situation. I stand by my offer to assist you in a different purchase. We do not buy back cars from customers from over 18 months ago but we will help you get out of the car and into something else. As I mentioned to you on the phone we would not deduct for the car fax obviously and the value of the dirty car fax on the open market is not huge any way. Again I extend the offer to work with you in this situation. Please contact me direct .

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
**** was extremely professional in how he handled this situation. His appraisal of the vehicle was accurate and he stepped up to reach a number that we were both comfortable with.

07/27/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I WANTED TO GET A COPY OF MY CAR KEY. I WAS TOLD I WOULD HAVE TO PRODUCE THE REGISTRATION AND LISCENSE. I DID AND THEY REFUSE TO GIVE ME THE KEY
ON 7/9/2015 I HAD CONTACTED BMW OF STRATHAM ABOUT GETTING A COPY OF MY KEY MADE I MADE THEM AWARE THAT I LET A LADY TEST THE DRIVE THE CAR AFTER SHE GAVE ME A DEPOSIT AND THAT SHE NEVER RETURNED THE CAR AND SAID SHE HAD LOST THE KEY. THEY SAID ALL I NEED TO PRODUCE WAS A COPY OF THE REGISTRATION AND MY DRIVERS LISCENSE SO FRIDAY 7/10/2015 I SENT THE COPY OF MY REGISTRATION AND THE $146. THE KEY CAME IN SATURDAY 7/11/2015 AND I WENT TO GO PICK IT UP. I WAS TALKING WITH THE PARTS EMPLOYEE. AND ONCE I EXPLAINED IT HE GOT VERY RUDE AND WENT AND TALKED TO THE GENERAL MANAGER. HE REUTRNED AND SAID I WOULD NEED TO GO SPEAK TO THE POLICE TO VERIFY I WAS THE OWNER OF THE CAR. SO I DID AND THEY VERIFIED THAT I WAS THE OWNER. BUT THEY TOLD THE POLICE I NEEDED A COPY OF THE DEPOSIT SLIP FROM THE LADY STATING THAT I GAVE HER BACK THE $200 AND A CPOY OF THE POLICE REPORT. SO I WENT BACK TO TALK TO THEM AND THEY THEN CHANGED IT TO SAYING I NEEDED A COPY OF THE TITLE. SO I SAID OK AND JUST LEFT. I HAD JUST PAID OFF THE CAR AND CONTACTED THE LEIN HOLDER AND THEY SAID IT WILL TAKE UP TO 3 WEEKS TO RECIEVE THE TITLE. SO SUNDAY I GOT THE KEY FROM THE LADY AND MY CAR BACK. SO MONDAY 7/13/2015 I CALLED BMW OF STRATHEM AND WANTED TO GET A REFUND WHICH THEY REFUSE TO GIVE ME. I THEN SAID I WOULD TAKE THE KEY BUT THEY ARE DEMANDING TO SEE THE TITLE WHICH WAS NOT ONE OF THERE ORIGINAL
REQUIRMENTS DURING THE ORIGINAL PURCHASE.

Desired Settlement
I EITHER WANT A REFUND OR THE KEY THAT I ORDERDED.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******** GM
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@iramotorgroup.com
Mr **** came in on Saturday as stated. We explained to him again that we would need to see the title on the car as proof of ownership to receive the key that we have had special ordered for him. This is a very tricky situation legally as he was trying to repose a car that he sold to someone else. We referred him to the Police about this matter as he showed us a bill of sale made out to another person. There is a lot of liability in situations like this for all parties involved.

We informed him that when he shows us title to the car in his name we will happily release the key to him. We are sorry for the inconvenience this has caused but we must protect all parties involved.BMW has very strict guidelines when keys are to be released to someone. As you can imagine what could happen if you released keys to someone that does not own the vehicle.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/01/2006Business started: 01/01/1967Business started locally: 05/18/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NH Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit, Troop G
23 Hazen Dr
Concord, NH 03301
(603) 223-8778

BBB records show a license number of A640 for this company, issued by NH Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit, Troop G. NH State Dealers License.

Type: Dealer's License

BBB records show a license number of 1883 for this company, issued by NH Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit, Troop G. NH State Inspection License.

Type: Inspection Station

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2005, NH

Contact Information
Principal: Joel Ginsburg (General Manager) John Hartman (Manager)
Number of Employees

53

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Ira Motor Group
Industry Tips
Car, Tips on Buying a New
Car, Tips on Buying a Used
Auto Repair and Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for BMW of Stratham

71 Portsmouth Ave

Stratham, NH 03885

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 71 Portsmouth Ave 

    Stratham, NH 03885(800) 989-5200
    (603) 772-0000
    Fax: (603) 395-2665

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*BMW of Stratham is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (603) 772-0000
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.