BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/21/1994

Berlin City Ford, Inc.

Find a Location

(603) 752-6644View Additional Phone Numbers485 Main Street, GorhamNH 03581View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Berlin City Ford sells and services new and used vehicles

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/21/1994

BBB has determined that Berlin City Ford, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Berlin City Ford, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Berlin City Ford, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
01/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This is email correspondence starting with an email to me from this ********* who I was told is the head service man at Berlin City Ford.
The basics of my dissatisfaction with this Company is that I have purchased 2 brand New Ford F250's from the in 10 years and when I called them and asked them specifically "Do you have a machine that you can hook up to the trucks transmission system that will completely FLUSH the system and install all NEW transmission fluid?" "Yes We Do" is what **** the Ford service writer told me on the phone when I called to ask and make an appointment if they did.
When I got my truck back and looked at the bill, which was kind of hard to cipher it stated that there was only 9 quarts of transmission fluid that was installed not the 17.5 quarts to completely replace the all of the fluid. When I confronted **** he said "They mad a mistake" and wrote on the bill 17 quarts installed and he was very aggravated I had questioned this and I believe that there was a communication issue with the tech who just performed a tranny service where they replace the fluid in the pan which is 9 quarts. Obviously the technician did what he was told to do and **** just covered up his inadequacy of communication and downright lying to me by writing that on the bill.
I spoke to a former employee who was a Ford truck service technician who left there because they wanted him to be dishonest and cheat on service and then lye about it and he told me that they didn't even have a machine that would "flush" the transmission. When I got home I looked under my truck for any evidence of their work and it strongly appeared that they did not even replace the gasket and tranny filter screen as the was NO evidence of any wrench marks on the tranny pan bolts. I am an auto mechanic by trade and do most of my own work of which changing a pan gasket and screen and refilling the transmission with 9 quarts of transmission fluid I could have easily done myself, but I wanted a COMPLETE fluid FLUSH and filter change which I wholeheartedly believe was not performed. A few days later I get this email from ********* asking about my service experience and in the following email is what transpired which is NO communication back from them. As I stated in my 1st email that I am a marked customer because they won't even give me the courtesy of an explanation. Needless to say I will NEVER do business with them again.

Desired Settlement
My bill was $360.11 ad I would like to see at least $300.00 back and they can keep Their Cost on the parts.

Business Response
MISUNDERSTANDING,CUSTOMER DOESN'T UNDERSTAND.WE ARE JUST GOING TO SEND HE THE MONEYBACK,WE HAVE HAD TRHEE DIFFERENT PEOPLE EXPLAIN THE TO HIM????

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I agree as long as Berlin City Ford agrees to pay my money back as they have stated here in their response

03/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Extremely concerned regarding competence of this facility as affixed wrong state inspection decal then later attempted to create additional charges.
We went in for the annual NH state inspection on 25-June-2013. Our windshield was cracked so we had replaced with a new windshield. Afterwards the facility deemed the vehicle as passing inspection once they replaced the windshield. On 22-October-2013 we visited facility for a routine service call. During this service call the facility has documented that a "27 Point Safety Inspection" was completed and nothing was noted as being a concern now or in the immediate future. They also failed to notice the incorrect decal on windshield during this inspection. On 03-November-2013 the local police stopped our vehicle as they noticed the NH State Inspection decal was overdue (later determined that the facility affixed the wrong year on a brand new windshield, as previously referenced) and a verbal warning to immediately correct was issued to us by the police. We contacted the facility and explained their oversight regarding annual inspection decal. The facility accepted the blame and indicated they would put on the correct year sticker and would be no charge to us. Once the car was reinspected, ( even though they told us prior that it was not necessary...I think they had stated it had been 2 days past the cutoff for re-inspection) we were told it could not pass inspection unless performed front brake service. The car was up on the lift and we had no choice at this point to get the inspection done as the car was needed ASAP. Upon completion of this service call the facility indicated we owed $208.27 for brake pad parts and labor so vehicle could pass inspection. Since previous service call eleven days prior it is doubtful the brake pads became dangerously worn requiring immediate replacement to pass the "re-inspection" (the re-inspection was necessary due to fault of this facility). If brake pads were in need of replacement the facility would have notified us during the visit eleven days earlier that pads were becoming unacceptably worn. So either they did not actually inspect brake pads during the "27 Point Inspection" or perhaps they were in need of replacement but facility does not properly complete their forms. After initially disputing the invoice amount the facility changed the balance we owed to $148 for parts only, as they knew this situation was all their fault. Maybe the brake pads were becoming worn but we have lost all trust and confidence in this dealership as eleven days earlier the facility documents indicate all was checked and in good order with vehicle. Regrettably this facility has a monopoly in area as the only authorized Honda dealer. We have always taken our vehicles to authorized service facilities for the peace of mind with belief they would properly maintain our vehicle. We definitely liked the idea of the "27 Point Safety Inspection" that this facility advertises as performing as we know ahead of time if any maintenance may be due and that our vehicle is safe. If such a simple task as placing a decal on a windshield can become an ordeal it makes one wonder what other problems are being experienced by consumers frequenting this facility. We have attempted to discuss this situation with the service department manger on three occasions. We left two voicemails (Feb 22nd and March 6th) and sent one email (March 6th). As of today, the service manager has not returned our calls nor our email. This is further proof that this facility does not care about the consumer. Based on above, we feel the outstanding balance of $148 for parts should not be our responsibility. On another note, we feel the state should perform an audit of this facility as they are clearly not competently doing the 27 point safety inspection on all vehicles that they claim they are doing.

Desired Settlement
No payment due from us. The $148 invoice to be deleted.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:

On behalf of the continuation of high customer satisfaction, Berlin City Auto Group agrees to absorb the $148 balance owed by Ms. *******.

Additionally, we sincerely apologize for the oversights that occurred in conjunction with this matter.

Sincerely,

** ******
General Manager
Berlin City Auto Group

08/24/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Berlin City has been the most unprofessional dealership I've ever dealt with. Obtaining the sale, under any circumstances is their goal.
My Mom purchased a 2015 Jeep Liberty on July 12, 2015 from this dealership. They delivered it to her home and brought all of the paperwork. A day or two later, they began calling demanding various documents to complete the sale. Since it was purchased in NH, but we live in VT, they advised us to register the vehicle and they would reiumburse us. Now, they are not reiumbursing us the $683, won't return calls or emails. The same day she bought this car, I bought a 2015 Jeep Compass. They have been even worse with my sale. My temporary plates are now expired and they won't return calls. I've emailed the GM, ** ******, 3 times, to no avail. All they care about is the sale and not best practice on how to obtain said sale. Further, when I called my insurance company to get a quote on adding the new vehicle, they informed me that Berlin City had already called and added the new vehicle, had chosen my deductibles, and made other changes that resulted in $1000 being taken from my checking account for these changes. I had no knowledge these changes could be made by anyone but me. At this point, I would be willing to cancel the sale just to rid myself of this nightmare dealership and their unprofessionalism from the GM down.

Desired Settlement
I would like my registration paid for immediately, as agreed upon. I would like an apology for the terrible situation that this dealership has put my family in.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ** ******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@berlincity.com
Case # XXXXXXXX

****** Purchase
Ms. ******* Mother, ***********, purchased a Jeep Patriot from us on 6/30/15. At the time of purchase, Berlin City delivered the new vehicle to her home as a courtesy. She was notified that she would need to provide proof of income as part of the loan approval. She did provide a document to the delivery driver; unfortunately it was merely a picture of a computer screen with limited information, which the lender would not accept. We phoned and emailed her as soon as we were made aware by the lender that it was insufficient. ************** We were very accommodating in getting the corrected information, in fact, we waited nearly two weeks for her to get the required document and then sent another courier back to her home (7/13/15) to pick up the paperwork (at our expense). ************** The documents that she provided the second time were still insufficient for the lender.
During the course of notifying Ms. ****** that the documentation was still not complete she contacted us regarding her VT state sales tax. She indicated that the tax amount that we collected through her loan was short. After speaking with her we determined that the vehicle that she had traded in with us had never been registered in VT, which resulted in no sales tax credit (this was never mentioned to us at the time of delivery). We contacted the lender and re-negotiated the loan (still without having the necessary income verification) on her behalf so that we could correct the sales tax to prevent her having to pay the additional money out of pocket.***********.pdf Fifteen days later (7/30/15) Ms. ****** contacted Ms. ******* via email and indicated that the VT tax department was still asking her for an addition $638 for apparent loss of revenue from the Volvo that she traded with Berlin City. This tax or lack thereof has nothing to do with Berlin City and Ms. ****** was politely informed of that. ***************************pdf We later determined Ms. ****** had completed her own registration form and used the wrong figures. Our office billing coordinator offered, on multiple occasions, to help her get a refund from the state. **************
******* Purchase
Ms. ******* got involved and began speaking directly with Finance Manager ******* ******** she was trying to assist her mother in getting the necessary documentation to finalize her loan. During conversations with Ms. ******** Ms. ******* indicated that she was also interested in purchasing a new vehicle. Ms. ******* worked with her directly and secured a loan for Ms. ******* and arrange for her to purchase a new Jeep Compass. One of the stipulations required by the lender for Ms. ******* was that her personal bankruptcy had to be discharged in order for the loan to be approved. Ms. ******* verbally asked Ms. ******* if the bankruptcy had been discharged and Ms. ******* said yes. The terms of the loan and details of the purchase were finalized with Ms. ******* and home delivery was scheduled (7/16/15). This driver was arranged to deliver Ms. ******* new vehicle, along with the second set of paperwork and addition tax money for Ms. ******* and to collect the income verification (for the third time). **************.pdf. The delivery went well. In fact, both customers were so happy with their vehicles and the level of customer service that they received that they both took the time to email to express their gratitude. *************pdf
The lender providing the loan for Ms. ******* informed us on 7/21/15 that they required documentation to prove that her bankruptcy had been discharged. Ms. ******* immediately contacted Ms. ******* via email and asked her for that documentation. At that time Ms. ******* admitted that she had made an error and that her bankruptcy was not yet discharged. ********k1.pdf Ms. ******* notified Ms. ******* that she would have to speak with the bank and would get back to her as soon as possible. Later that afternoon Ms. ******* and Ms. ******* spoke on the phone. Ms. ******* explained that due to the circumstances of the bankruptcy being open, the lender was unable to lend her the money necessary for the vehicle. They discussed that the vehicle would most likely have to be returned to Berlin City dealerships. Shortly after that conversation Ms. ******* emailed stating that she had contacted the BBB and was told to speak with the General Manager of Berlin City. Ms. ******* insisted that we find a way for her to keep her new vehicle because she was humiliated to have to return it. Berlin City contacted all of the lenders that we use and where finally able to find ONE bank willing to lend to her with the open bankruptcy status. There were MANY stipulations and required documents need and those were asked for in advance. Ms. ******* agreed to the terms so that she could keep her new vehicle and we arranged for yet another paperwork delivery to her home (7/27/15). **********.pdf The following day Ms. ******* contacted Ms. *******'s insurance company to obtain an updated insurance binder (another requirement of the loan). The insurance company asked Ms. ******* "which vehicle are you calling about" Ms. ******* replied, "the 2015 Jeep Compass" the vehicle was already on Ms. ******* insurance policy. Ms. ******* provided the insurance company with the correct lienholder name and address and asked for an updated binder to be sent via fax. That evening Ms. ******* posted a very negative and false accusation about Berlin City on social media and the next morning she emailed Ms. ******* regarding her insurance issue. **********.pdf To which Ms. ******* replied and explained what she had provided for information. Ms. ******* made no further comments until much later that day when she began threatening to take her unfounded claims to the news media. r***********.pdf
Ms. ******* also claimed that her temporary plates had expired while she was waiting for a response from us (8/5/15) however, we mailed her tax check and VT registration paperwork to her on 7/30/15, it was delivered to her post office and notice was left for her on 8/1/15. She did not pick the documents up until 8/6/15. **********.pdf
I believe that any person reviewing the chain of events that transpired during these two automobile transactions will see that Berlin City acted in good faith and with professionalism and that the claims of Ms. ******* are unfounded.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Berlin City, specifically, ***********, acted unprofessionally with both my Mom and I. His emails were unkind and not professional in any capacity. I emailed ** ****** to look into the way I was treated by ****. My three emails were never answered. Berlin City's motto is "EASY". This car deal was very easy to arrange. But, because due dillegence was not taken by ******* ******* to verify information needed, the car deal that was supposed to be "EASY", became an absolute disaster. Several times, I asked, within the 4 day window, to return the vehicle and cancel the deal. **** and ******* NEVER responded. I am really disappointed at the experience I've had with **, *******, and ****. I will never buy from them again and will share my story with everyone I know. Berlin City should consider what "EASY" means in the car business. They could not care less that we are dissatisfied. They have never apologized or made any effort to improve the situation. As it stands, I can't drive my new car because Berlin City never told me that my registration/tax check was sent and I didn't receive the notice. My plates are now expired. I sent 8 emails to **** before he responded days later telling me that my registration/tax check was at the post office. This experience has been a nightmare. I really wish I could just give the car back. It's not worth the trouble that Berlin City has created for my family.

Final Business Response
***Document Attached***
Case # XXXXXXXX

****** Purchase
Ms. ******* Mother, **** ******* purchased a Jeep Patriot from us on 6/30/15. At the time of purchase, Berlin City delivered the new vehicle to her home as a courtesy. She was notified that she would need to provide proof of income as part of the loan approval. She did provide a document to the delivery driver; unfortunately it was merely a picture of a computer screen with limited information, which the lender would not accept. We phoned and emailed her as soon as we were made aware by the lender that it was insufficient. ************** We were very accommodating in getting the corrected information, in fact, we waited nearly two weeks for her to get the required document and then sent another courier back to her home (7/13/15) to pick up the paperwork (at our expense). ************** The documents that she provided the second time were still insufficient for the lender.
During the course of notifying Ms. ****** that the documentation was still not complete she contacted us regarding her VT state sales tax. She indicated that the tax amount that we collected through her loan was short. After speaking with her we determined that the vehicle that she had traded in with us had never been registered in VT, which resulted in no sales tax credit (this was never mentioned to us at the time of delivery). We contacted the lender and re-negotiated the loan (still without having the necessary income verification) on her behalf so that we could correct the sales tax to prevent her having to pay the additional money out of pocket.***********.pdf Fifteen days later (7/30/15) Ms. ****** contacted Ms. ******* via email and indicated that the VT tax department was still asking her for an addition $638 for apparent loss of revenue from the Volvo that she traded with Berlin City. This tax or lack thereof has nothing to do with Berlin City and Ms. ****** was politely informed of that. gentrytax2.pdf gentrytax3.pdf We later determined Ms. ****** had completed her own registration form and used the wrong figures. Our office billing coordinator offered, on multiple occasions, to help her get a refund from the state. **********.pdf
******* Purchase
Ms. ******* got involved and began speaking directly with Finance Manager ******* *******; she was trying to assist her mother in getting the necessary documentation to finalize her loan. During conversations with Ms. *******, Ms. ******* indicated that she was also interested in purchasing a new vehicle. Ms. ******* worked with her directly and secured a loan for Ms. ******* and arrange for her to purchase a new Jeep Compass. One of the stipulations required by the lender for Ms. ******* was that her personal bankruptcy had to be discharged in order for the loan to be approved. Ms. ******* verbally asked Ms. ******* if the bankruptcy had been discharged and Ms. ******* said yes. The terms of the loan and details of the purchase were finalized with Ms. ******* and home delivery was scheduled (7/16/15). This driver was arranged to deliver Ms. ******* new vehicle, along with the second set of paperwork and addition tax money for Ms. ******, and to collect the income verification (for the third time). **************.pdf. The delivery went well. In fact, both customers were so happy with their vehicles and the level of customer service that they received that they both took the time to email to express their gratitude. ************.pdf
The lender providing the loan for Ms. ******* informed us on 7/21/15 that they required documentation to prove that her bankruptcy had been discharged. Ms. ******* immediately contacted Ms. ******* via email and asked her for that documentation. At that time Ms. ******* admitted that she had made an error and that her bankruptcy was not yet discharged. **********.pdf Ms. ******* notified Ms. ******* that she would have to speak with the bank and would get back to her as soon as possible. Later that afternoon Ms. ******* and Ms. ******* spoke on the phone. Ms. ******* explained that due to the circumstances of the bankruptcy being open, the lender was unable to lend her the money necessary for the vehicle. They discussed that the vehicle would most likely have to be returned to Berlin City dealerships. Shortly after that conversation Ms. ******* emailed stating that she had contacted the BBB and was told to speak with the General Manager of Berlin City. Ms. ******* insisted that we find a way for her to keep her new vehicle because she was humiliated to have to return it. Berlin City contacted all of the lenders that we use and where finally able to find ONE bank willing to lend to her with the open bankruptcy status. There were MANY stipulations and required documents need and those were asked for in advance. Ms. ******* agreed to the terms so that she could keep her new vehicle and we arranged for yet another paperwork delivery to her home (7/27/15). **********.pdf The following day Ms. ******* contacted Ms. *******'s insurance company to obtain an updated insurance binder (another requirement of the loan). The insurance company asked Ms. ******* "which vehicle are you calling about" Ms. ******* replied, "the 2015 Jeep Compass" the vehicle was already on Ms. ******* insurance policy. Ms. ******* provided the insurance company with the correct lienholder name and address and asked for an updated binder to be sent via fax. That evening Ms. ******* posted a very negative and false accusation about Berlin City on social media and the next morning she emailed Ms. ******* regarding her insurance issue. **********.pdf To which Ms. ******* replied and explained what she had provided for information. Ms. ******* made no further comments until much later that day when she began threatening to take her unfounded claims to the news media. **************df
Ms. ******* also claimed that her temporary plates had expired while she was waiting for a response from us (8/5/15) however, we mailed her tax check and VT registration paperwork to her on 7/30/15, it was delivered to her post office and notice was left for her on 8/1/15. She did not pick the documents up until 8/6/15. **********.pdf
I believe that any person reviewing the chain of events that transpired during these two automobile transactions will see that Berlin City acted in good faith and with professionalism and that the claims of Ms. ******* are unfounded.

08/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company has taken advantage of me by claiming one problem then lying and telling me it's a different problem after I've paid for the service.
I own a 2006 Honda Ridgeline with 89,000 miles on it and due to a very loud knocking sound in the engine when my Ridgeline sits in idle, my husband and I decided to take it to B********** in Gorham NH., April of 2015 after calling for an appointment. This way we could have a trained Honda mechanic check out the problem and let us know before repair what the issue is. It bothers me to take this vehicle to any mechanic because it's just like new except this horrible knocking sound. The first Honda general manager at Berlin City charged us $75.00 to diagnose our Ridgeline's problem. He informed my husband that it needed a valve adjustment and that would end the knocking sound in the engine. My husband commented there was only 89,000 miles on our vehicle but the general manager said it should be adjusted at 100,000 miles and they were in need of adjustment now. Plus it was the only way to clear up the knocking noise. So we left the vehicle with Berlin City for repair. They adjusted the valves, removed and changed all the gaskets, then they took it upon themselves to change the oil and filter which did not need to be changed. We have always used the same brand and weight of oil in our Ridgeline but they changed it to a heavier weight oil and a different brand to see if that would quiet the noise, when the valve adjustment didn't work. We were charged $855.00 for the repair work and oil change. We paid for the repairs and drove the Ridgeline home. By the time we pulled into the driveway and sat idling we found there was no change from the repairs Berlin City had done, except for the fact it was knocking louder now. I called Berlin City early the next day about the issue and they said to bring the Ridgeline back and they'd check it again. We left it for the day and they called us saying there is nothing they can do to stop the noise in the engine and we could pick it up ASAP. We returned home with our unrepaired Ridgeline and they kept our money. I then called the Honda Company to complain about the service we received from Berlin City on our Ridgeline and how Berlin City is telling us now there isn't anything they can do to repair our Ridgeline. I was furious after paying a total of $930.00 for diagnostics and repairs which did nothing to end the problem and called the Honda Company in California. He listened to our complaint and contacted Berlin City. We then received a call from Berlin City once again to bring our Ridgeline back for a different Honda general manager to give it an examination. He did listen to the knocking engine while I was there with him and then asked his top mechanic to listen to it as well. The mechanic was very sure of his answer when he explained the knocking as piston slap, now. So apparently 2 different general managers had 2 different diagnosis for the knocking sound. The first one of these diagnostics was a valve adjustment which we were told would repair the problem for an amount of $855.00, which failed. The second diagnostic was piston slap, which this second general manager claimed, is common in many vehicles and can not be repaired. Plus he also said it will not cause any damage to the engine. This being state now the valve adjustment didn't clear up the problem. I have been back and forth to Berlin City with 2 vehicles a total round trip of 60 miles each 3 times for a complete total of 120 miles plus many phone calls to 2 different Honda general managers at Berlin City. As well as numerous calls to the Honda Company in California for 2 months. It appears that Berlin City has a very bad track record with customer satisfaction if one would take the time to read BBB. I am so angry with Berlin City who have lied to us about the actual problem with my Ridgeline simply to get my money then tell me it was repairable due to a different problem. This is taking advantage of the hard working customers who feel they can trust their diagnostics and service repairs.

Desired Settlement
I believe Berlin City service has clearly lied to me and claimed my Honda's problem would be solved with a valve adjustment but when the noise in the engine still existed after repair, and we continued to complain, they claimed the issue is then piston slap. Which is common in many vehicles and it will cause no further harm or destruction of my Honda Ridgeline and it is not repairable. They also claimed my Ridgeline needed a valve adjustment due to it having nearly 100,000 miles on it after they had already explained that the valve adjustment would fix the noise coming from the idling Honda engine. And the sad thing is I feel they knew the whole time the valve adjustment would do absolutely nothing to help. My Ridgeline had only 89,000 miles on it when I took it to Berlin City the first time for the diagnostics check. This Honda Ridgeline is a 2006 and in excellent condition. We purchased it brand new and have kept it in mint condition. This company has clearly lied about this whole attempt to repair my engine knock simply to get my $855.00, which I paid for and for absolutely nothing. My Honda sounds louder now than before I took it there for repairs. Shame on this service for taking advantage of anyone, let alone a nearly 60 year old couple! I clearly believe they owe me my money back for lying to me about the problem and the attempted fix.

Business Response
CUSTOMER CAME IN FOR AN ENGINE NOISE,THE FIRST NOISE WE HEARED WAS VALVE TRAIN NOISE.AFTER THE REPAIRS WERE DONE WE COULD HEAR A PISTON SLAP.PISTON SLAP IS NOT A CONDITION THE CAN BE FIX VERY EASY ,THE ENGINE OR PISTON REPLACEMENT IS THE FIX.BUT THE PISTON SLAP WILL NOT HAVE ANY AFFECT ON THE PREFORMANCE OF THE ENGINE.WE TOLD THE CUSTOMER THAT THEY ENGINE WILL NOT FAIL BECASUE OF THE ENGINE SLAP.WE DID NOT REIMBURST THE CUSTOMER BECAUSE THE THE FIRST REPAIR THAT WE DID ,REPAIR THE VALVE TRAIN NOISE.HONDA HAS A SCHUDLE VALVE TRAIN ADUSTMENT AT OR AROUND 80.000 MILE

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I cannot believe this statement!! I'm totally frustrated with this response from Berlin City! First of all at least 3 people or more working at Berlin City claimed our Ridgeline needed valve adjustment at 100,000 miles anyway but it was in need at 89.000 miles. 100,000 miles was their claim, not 80,000 miles and this would end the knocking engine problem. Expecting the truth we allowed this service to be completed on our Ridgeline. If they would have told us in the beginning that the problem was piston slap and there wasn't anything they could do to fix the noise and it wouldn't hurt my vehicle to drive it, I would have gladly paid the $75.00 charge for diagnostics and been on my way. But of course there was no money to be made in that diagnostics so they told us the valves were in need of adjustment for another $855.00+. Once the service was finished the knocking continues, of course, because it had nothing to do with the valves. Now this company says the sound is different than before they adjusted the valves and that the noise now is piston slap. The noise is exactly the same as it was before they adjusted the valves, the only difference is the knocking noise is even louder now. I cannot believe they can get away with this kind of lie!! I want others to at least be aware of what kind of treatment they will receive from this company rather I get my money back or not. If I had read the BBB reports on Berlin City before trusting them with my vehicle I would never have gone there for service! I expect the truth when dealing with anyone and that definitely is not what I received at Berlin City's service department.

Final Consumer Response
Shame on you as well for allowing this company to take advantage of people!! Clearly they lied to us! Clearly they took our money and left us fending for ourselves with what is now the same issue as before we took our vehicle there. This problem was clearly un-repairable as we've since learned from other mechanics. Berlin City took advantage of us and claimed it could be repaired with $1000.00 dollars of our hard earned money then claimed a new & different engine noise now, which is piston slap. The only difference in the engine noise now, is the noise is louder, period! People need to be aware of the dealerships who go beyond their limits & will get away with it!! There are more of them being mentioned on world news, lately! Such a shame that money consumes all of our lives!!

Final Business Response
WE DID NOT TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE CUSTOMER,WE DID EXPLAIN TO THE CUSTOMER AND DID AS WE SAID WE WOULD.WE DONT LIE OR TAKE ADVANTAGE OF ANY OF OUR CUSTOMERS.WE ARE NOT ONE OF THE DEALERS THAT ARE TALK ABOUT ON THE NEWS.WE RUN A VERY TRUTHFULL AND HONEST BUSINESS.THANK YOU

04/06/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
bought this used truck , signed paper work and 5000 down. week later they said the bank needed check stub - sent that in , now that's not good enough .

Desired Settlement
thay can either give me my money back with cost to me in any way or I will seeking advice from my lawyer .

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: CHAD
Contact Phone: CRANE
Contact Email: ******@berlincity.com
ALL TAKEN CARE OF..... FUNDED DEAL AND GUEST KNOWS ABOUT IT!
****


01/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a new 2015 Nissan Frontier Pick up from said dealer was lied to about delivery date and am still waiting for my SD card 3 weeks later
I was lied to by *** ****** of Berlin City about the delivery time of my new truck. Cash was paid no trade in an easy sale. I have save records of his emails and voice mails. After being treated less than human by the staff of Berlin City the truck is missing its SD card to run the Navigation system three weeks latter still waiting
Too many small things to write out from rude cell phone call that make no sense to being asked if I order an automatic or standard 11 days after order and 4 days after Joe Sabins said it was on its way from factory.

Desired Settlement
my navigation system working and paid for all my time wasted by Berlin city and being lied to by joe sabins and his boss bruce macdonald whom said the SD card was in mail. Sick of the lies and they need to pay up.I think 2000.00 dollars plus replacement of the nav system for time wasted and being treated less than human being called a liar and them lying to me and my wife.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *********
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: **********@berlincity.com
Hello BBB,

Mr ******* ****** is up set with how his transaction went. However his family
did receive the vehicle at the price negotiated.
We did flat bed the vehicle here from the other deal as requested and he took delivery. Unfortunately after delivery Mr. ******* ****** discovered that the Navigation chip to his car was missing and after notifying us we did send the part via certified mail to his mailing address which took additional time. We did apologize for the inconvenience that Mr. ******* ****** has endured and have supplied him at this time with the vehicle and all accessories at the price he negotiated.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of this time I myself or any of my family ever receive any apology. We were lied to about the delivery date by the salesman *** ******* The chip should have been caught by Berlin City it is not my job to call, complain and beg for what I bought. The chip came 23 days after I got the vehicle this is unacceptable. It came wraped in an old calendar and white line paper. If this is I'm sorry ***** is sadly mistaken. I'm will be compensated for the way I was treated by *** ****** time wasted dealing with Berlin City and not having full use of my truck for 23 days.. This all could have been avoided by not lying and saying we made a mistake sorry.. they don't see it that way..I still feel that 2000.00 for my time not having full use of my truck and being treated less than human by them is more than fair and a really apology not just telling the BBB they did because I never got it..Ask them if they would want to be treated this way?

Final Business Response
Dear ******* ******,

The Better Business Bureau has notified us that our apology and efforts have seemingly been to little and to late in showing our appreciation for your time and business. We truly do apologize for the inconvenience during the delivery process and time spent with out the navigation chip.

As the GM of Berlin City Auto Group I also want you to know that the unfortunate circumstances and attitude my staff displayed on to you is not tolerated or condoned and I assure you it will be addressed.

However at this time I truly do wish to apologize on behalf of all our employees and would like to extend my appreciation for your business and patience and hope that we can be of service in the future.

I would also like to extend a $2000 coupon towards your next vehicle purchase if you choose
to do business with us again in the future.

Thank you,
** ******
GM Berlin City Auto Group
485 Main St
Gorham, NH XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX

12/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a 2008 jeep liberty in 2008 from Berlin City. It was totaled in an accident in 2010. I bought a 2010 jeep wrangler vehicle from them to replace totaled vehicle. In 2011, I traded the Wrangler in and bought a 2011 Jeep Patriot. In 2014 I traded the Patriot in and bought a 2014 Nissan Rogue. The dealership never told me that I should get refunded any extended warranties or Gap insurance that I purchased through them. My Step Father told me about it. I was refunded for the Jeep Patriot but they will not refund me on the Jeep Wrangler or the Jeep Liberty. How is the Consumer supposed to know about this refund if the dealership is not upfront and honest about this. I feel that they hid this refund from me and I believe that I am due this money.

Desired Settlement
I am due the refund on any Gap Insurance and Extended Warranties on both the 2010 Jeep Wrangler and the 2008 Jeep Liberty. . I received almost $1000.00 from trading in my 2011 Jeep Patriot with the refund on the Gap Insurance and Extended Warranty. So I would be happy with $2000.00

Business Response
On November 8, 2008, Ms. ****** ********* purchased a 2008 Jeep Liberty from Berlin City Auto Group (VIN #1J8GN28K18WXXXXXX) and also purchased an extended warranty and gap insurance. On April 10, 2010, the vehicle was involved in an accident resulting in a total loss.

On April 20, 2010, Ms. ********* returned to Berlin City to purchase a 2010 Jeep Wrangler (VIN #1J4AA2D10ALXXXXXX) with Ms. ****** ******* as a co-buyer. At that time, she used the extended warranty refund and gap refund from the Liberty as a down payment on the Wrangler. Attached you will find a receipt in the amount of $478.53 for the gap refund and $872.92 for the extended warranty refund and a letter signed by the customer giving us permission to use the two refunds toward her down payment.

On September 5, 2011, Ms. ********* returned to Berlin City to trade her 2010 Jeep Wrangler for a 2011 Jeep Patriot (VIN #1J4NF1GB2BDXXXXXX) with Mr. ******* ******* as a co-buyer. She had purchased gap insurance only on the Wrangler and, again, used the refund as a down payment. Attached you will find a receipt in the amount of $577.90 for the gap refund and a letter signed by the customer giving us permission to use the refunds toward her down payment.

On August 29, 2014, Ms. ********* (now Ms. ****** *******) returned to Berlin City to trade her 2011 Jeep Patriot for a 2014 Nissan Rogue (VIN #5N1AT2MK3ECXXXXXX). She had purchased both an extended warranty and gap insurance on the Patriot. For the purchase of the Rogue, the customer did not use the refunds as a down payment and Berlin City issued two refund checks (copies attached).

It is Berlin City's response to the complaint to the Better Business Bureau (case #XXXXXXXX) that no additional refund is due to Ms. ******* for any vehicle or for any insurance product. We appreciate the business she has given to us and hope she will continue to return to Berlin City.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have the paperwork for the 2010 jeep wrangler. it states i had put $420.00 cash down and Berlin City states I put both gap insurance and extended warranty as a down payment. That totals $1358.45 That is not what it states on their bill of sale. It doesn't add up. I don't have paperwork for the liberty but I don't recall and neither does my mother remember using it as a down payment. They did not tell us when I bought the Rogue about getting the gap and extended warranty refunded it was when my Step dad told me about it and I called Berlin City about the refund.

Final Consumer Response
***Document Attached***


Final Business Response
In response to Ms. *******'s Consumer Rebuttal, we are providing additional documentation. When she purchased the 2011 Jeep Patriot, the cash down amount due was $420.00. We receipted in $577.90 on receipt #XXXXXX and sent the balance to the customer in the form of a refund check. A copy of check #XXXXXX in the amount of $157.90 is attached.

When Ms. ******* purchased the 2010 Jeep Wrangler, the cash down amount due was $882.65. We receipted in a total of $1,351.45 between the gap and warranty refunds. Because Ms. ******* did not pay off her 2008 Jeep Liberty in full after the total loss, the dealership was obligated to pay Wells Fargo Dealer Services an additional $630.00. A copy of check #XXXXXX is attached, as well. After that check was cut to the lienholder, Ms. ******* owed an additional $161.20 on her down payment, which we did not collect.

Again, it is Berlin City's response to the complaint to the Better Business Bureau (case #XXXXXXXX) that no additional refund is due to Ms. ******* for any vehicle or for any insurance product.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/06/1990Business started: 01/01/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NH Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit, Troop G
23 Hazen Dr
Concord, NH 03301
(603) 223-8778

BBB records show a license number of 342 for this company, issued by NH Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit, Troop G. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2017.

Type: Inspection Station

BBB records show a license number of A98 for this company, issued by NH Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit, Troop G.

Type: Dealer's License

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 2007, NH

Contact Information
Principal: Ed Watson (General Manager) Lisa Baillargeon (Accounting) Rodney Buscher (President) Katrina Fournier (Complaints)
Number of Employees

95

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Products & Services

Berlin City Ford is engaged in retail sales of new and used
vehicles.

Alternate Business Names
Berlin City Auto Group, Berlin City Dodge, Jeep & Chrysler,, Berlin City Toyota, Berlin City Honda, Berlin City Kia, Berlin City Dodge, Berlin City Jeep, Berlin City Chrysler, Berlin City Lincoln, Berlin City Mercury, Berlin City Nissan, Berlin City Automotive, Inc.
Industry Tips
Car, Tips on Buying a New
Car, Tips on Buying a Used
Auto Repair and Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Berlin City Ford, Inc.

485 Main Street

Gorham, NH 03581

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 485 Main Street 

    Gorham, NH 03581(603) 752-6644
    (877) 206-5180

  • PO Box A 

    Gorham, NH 03581-2030

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Berlin City Ford, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 206-5180
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.