BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/21/1995

Autofair Honda

(603) 634-1000200 Keller St, ManchesterNH 03103View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Autofair Honda offers retail sales of new and used Honda vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/21/1995

BBB has determined that Autofair Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Autofair Honda's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Autofair Honda

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
11/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Brought vehicle to service at Honda for repair, came back a week later to pick it up and there were 100+ miles on the car and interior was left dirty
On Saturday April 18th 2015, I came to Honda AutoFair Manchester to drop off my 2012 Honda Accord, which I had purchased from there. I had a complaint regarding unusual noise deriving from one of the tires. Beforehand I had taken pictures of the odometer for my personal records. I informed the receptionists that were present that I would not be available to pick the vehicle up during the week, reason being that I had no means of transportation. They said it was fine. I called the service department on Wednesday April 22, 2015 to ask if the vehicle was ready, the receptionists said it was complete and ready for pickup. I asked if it was alright to retrieve it on Saturday April 25, 2015 and asked if the car was safe. The receptionist said that it was fine and the car would be safe. On Saturday April 25, 2015, my son and I drove from Nashua,NH to Manchester,NH to pick the car up. I received the receipt for the work that was done along with the keys. I went to the car, and when I opened the door I found that the car was not in the condition that we had left it. The car was dirty, had cigarette ashes and candy wrappers on the ground and all over the leather seats, and there was sand and dirt in the trunk. Also the registration and insurance card were not in the car. The odometer read 29,005 miles. I dropped off the car at 28,887 miles. Someone had driven the car about 100 miles. I talked to the receptionist and he wasn't able to explain what had happened. So I asked to speak with the service manager. I explained the situation, his response was that his mechanics do not smoke and the receptionists do not smoke either. He wasn't able to explain anything and had no idea what had happened. He didn't say a word that would be helpful to us in the situation. I mentioned that the registration was missing and the service manager just said that it was ok to drive without a registration but did not elaborate on the subject and was not helpful at all during the entire time I was there. Nobody in my family smokes. The service manager offered to clean the car and fill up the gas tank. No one gave us any answers to what happened. Also, the noise that we were complaining about is still present. My son talked with the Customer Service at AutoFair Honda named Austin Rush on Thursday April 30, 2015, and he said he would investigate the situation to find out if his employees were responsible, and look at the security cameras and inform us on Monday May 4, 2015. Since we do not have an answer from Honda and our registration being lost, we do not feel safe because the registration has our address information.

Desired Settlement
While purchasing the car, I also bought a Platinum Membership for $423.00 for 3 years which expires on 3/21/2018. I would like a refund for this plan because after this situation I do not want to bring my car to AutoFair Honda again.

Business Response
****** **** spoke with Mr. ******'s son yesterday to update him on the current status of our investigation. AutoFair Honda is working with the Manchester Police Department to resolve this matter and will continue to update the ********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have received information about the investigation that is on going with the Manchester Police Department and Austin Rush has kept me updated. I been informed that an unknown person has broken into my vehicle and drove off of the parking lot of Honda and brought the vehicle back later that night. The police has started an investigation on this situation. I am upset with the dealership because on the day I went to pick my car up no one was able to help and the service manager didn't say anything and tried to pin the situation on me. I do not wish to take my vehicle to AutoFair Honda in the future after this situation and I wish to be informed about the investigation as it goes on. Also, we did not receive any response about our request to cancel and get refunded for the Premium Membership that we purchased.

Final Business Response
***** *******, GM of AutoFair Honda, has spoken with Mr. ****** and this matter has been resolved.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/04/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
AutoFair Honda did not provide the ******** ******** Co. maintenance contract as specified in the retail sales contract.
On June 2,2013 I purchased a 2012 Honda Civic from AutoFair Honda. ***** ******** was the salesman. ***** ******* was the finance manager. The retail sales contract number XXXXXX and dealer number 3885 lists three "Other Charges": ******** extended service contract, ******** maintenance and M&A ********** road hazard. The monetary charges for each are $1692, $599, and $372 respectively. This vehicle was traded in to another dealership on November 21, 2015. At which time I was informed that I was entitled to a refund for the extended warranties as described above. I contacted ******** ******** ******** Inc. and was informed that while contracts were issued for the extended service (#JoooXXXXXXXX) and for road hazard (#JoooXXXXXXXX) there was no contract issued for maintenance. No contract was ever filed with ******** ******** ******** Inc. for the extended maintenance. When I sought refunds for these three contracts, I received 58.86 percent of the extended service warranty and 50.63 percent of the road hazard warranty. ***** ******** finance manager at Autofair Honda, pointed out to me the dealership's agreement with me to provide the maintenance at the dealership for a period of three years (card # XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX). I pointed out that I was charged $599 for five years of maintenance with ******** ******** ******** Inc. but provided with an in house dealership maintenance program for $599 for three years, I was informed that there would be no refund for this contract even though approximately 3 months remained on the contract. AutoFair Honda offered me one free oil change and a tire rotation as a refund on their 3 year maintenance program.
Clearly AutoFair Honda sold me an extended maintenance contract with ******** ******** ******** Inc. at a cost of $599 for a period of 5 years as per the retail sales contract. However at the time of the vehicle's purchase AutoFair had me sign an agreement with AutoFair Honda for 3 years of maintenance at the dealership. So I paid $599 for 3 years of maintenance when I should have received 5 years of maintenance through ******** ******** ******** Inc. which would be refundable in accordance with ******** ******** ******** Inc. percentages. AutoFair Honda's suggested resolution concerning any possible refund of the contended issue with the extended maintenance contract was to offer me one free oil change and one free tire rotation. Based on the previously mentioned refunds from ******** ******** ******** Inc. I believe I am entitled to a percentage of the $599 as detailed in the retail sales agreement with AutoFair Honda.

Desired Settlement
AutoFair Honda will file the correct extended maintenance contract with ******** ******** ******** Inc. for the amount of $599 as detailed in the legally binding retail sales contract. AutoFair Honda will then have ******** ******** ******** refund me the appropriate percentage of the $599 which was paid to ******** ******** ********* as per the retail sales contract with AutoFair.

Business Response
This matter has been resolved

12/28/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rec'd a flyer from dealership inviting us to trade in our lease for a lower or same monthly payment for newer car but ended up paying more for less
Flyer from dealership promised newer car for same to less monthly payment. I ended up paying more per month for less coverage then our prior lease. No explanation as to why we couldn't get a car for less and more coverage as promised. Some indication given that our credit wasn't up to snuff due to medical expenses we could not pay but why are we paying more for less if our credit was compromised? Why did we arrive at dealership at 10:00 am but didn't leave until 2:00 pm and would have signed anything to get out of there as my wife and I were exhausted by the whole experience.

Desired Settlement
I want an explanation as to why we feel like this was a bait and switch scam? Why we were at the dealership for over 4 hours. Why we were told we couldn't trade up or down without a full explanation, and why we ended up paying more for the lease for less coverage. If our credit was compromised by unpaid medical expenses why would you lease us a car for more? I feel the dealer took advantage of us and we were dealt with in an unfair maner

Business Response
**** at AutoFair Honda has left several voice messages as well as emails for Mr. ******* but has not heard back from him.

10/05/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I got a 2011 civic on Saturday and then Tuesday when I went to finish finance they told me I wasn't able to have that car unless I put 2500 down & pay
I filled out all the paperwork to do payments on the 2011 Honda civic and then when I came in Tuesday to finish the finance part the finance person told me that the banks wouldn't let me have that care unless I had 2500$ to put down and my payments would double & said that my only other option was to get a 2015 Honda civic and my payments would only go up and extra 3$ a month and failed to tell me until after I signed the paperwork that I was doing a lease which I had told them I didn't want to do in the beginning of working with them. I feel that because I was a first buyer with no credit and my cosigner had a low credit score they took COMPLETE advantage of me.

Desired Settlement
I want a decent car for a decent price after being put threw this scam and I was justification served to the those that scammed me which include ******* their finance guy, **** ****** who was my sales person and their bosses that let them do this to innocent people.

Business Response
This matter has been resolved.

06/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hi I am ***** **** son of ***** ******** she is 69 and recently purchased a vehicle at AUTOFAIR Honda Manchester, N.H. and we are from Massachusetts the car was $8,995.00 Honda civic she always dreamed of buying her first car so she scrapped and saved for years $3,000.00 dollars so we went to auto fair Honda to purchase a vehicle she put $3,000.00 on the vehicle and she owes $8,000.00 that's $11,000 on a $8995 dollar vehicle we went back to try to get her money but they would not give it back to her so we left with the vehicle and $11,000.00 dollar debt don't ask me how this happens but it happened to her an elderly woman I wouldn't wish this on anybody's mom

Desired Settlement
her money back without her taking a hit on her credit score or a readjustment of the contract she is not supposed to owe $11,000.00 after dropping $3,000 on a $8,995.00 2008 Honda civic with 145,000 miles totally unfair deal practice on a elderly woman buying her first car

Business Response
Ms ******** and her son came into the dealership and met with ****** ******* ****** was able to resolved the matter and it is my understanding that Ms ******** was happy with the resolution.

06/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 5/8 I leased a Honda CRV from Auto Fair Honda. Worked with salesmen for four hours regarding a 3 year lease. Came to an agreement on the monthly payment and signed all paperwork and left Auto Fair. That day their credit card machine was down and my first months payment could not be taken. I retuned to AutoFair on 5/9 to get an inspection. First payment was still not taken due to machines still being down. Mothers Day 5/10 I received a call stating I MUST go to the store to make my payment. For the inconvenience of their machine being down and having to go to their store on Mothers Day AutoFair gave me one courtesy oil change. Later that week I was called by the finance department that their was a problem with my contract and that I NEEDED to go back to the store to resign. Auto Fair admitted this was a problem due to their error. Due to this again inconvenience of having to return to the store Auto Fair offered an extended warrantee package covering my vehicle for the latter 3 months. On 5/19 I received another phone call from the finance department that my contract was sent back by the Honda lender stating their was another error and the contract wouldn't be accepted. My payment was to be lowered by approximately $2 but I again had to to go into the store to resign. At this point I had about enough and started to question them. Auto Fair was insistent that I immeditely resign. This continued for three days due to work I was unable to go back to the store. On 5/21 I spoke my concern about signing a third contract. Due to this Auto Fair offered me 2 options. First option was to keep current lease 39 months with extended warrantee and decrease payment by two dollars second option to switch term to 36 months and increase payment by $5 and take away extended warrantee. I mentioned a third option I was interested in which was turning my keys in. On 5/22 I was notified that I no longer needed to resign and current contract would stand and discussed options were no longer available.
Product_Or_Service: 2015 Honda CRV

Desired Settlement
I want to return the vehicle.

Business Response
***** *******, General Manager, met with Ms ******* and it is my understanding that the matter was resolved.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/16/1994Business started: 12/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NH Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit, Troop G
23 Hazen Dr
Concord, NH 03301
(603) 223-8778

BBB records show a license number of A52 for this company, issued by NH Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit, Troop G.

Type: Dealer's License

BBB records show a license number of 1111 for this company, issued by NH Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit, Troop G. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2017.

Type: Inspection Station

Type of Entity

Partnership

Contact Information
Principal: Sarah Cadden (Executive Assistant) H. Andy Crews (President/CEO) Jason LaCroix (General Manager)
Number of Employees

119

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Alternate Business Names
AutoFair Automotive Group, AutoFair 1477 LP
Industry Tips
Car, Tips on Buying a New

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Autofair Honda

200 Keller St

Manchester, NH 03103

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 200 Keller St 

    Manchester, NH 03103(603) 634-1000

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Autofair Honda is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New Cars

Car, Tips on Buying a New
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.