BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/21/1995

Autofair Honda

Phone: (603) 634-1000

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
11/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Brought vehicle to service at Honda for repair, came back a week later to pick it up and there were 100+ miles on the car and interior was left dirty
On Saturday April 18th 2015, I came to Honda AutoFair Manchester to drop off my 2012 Honda Accord, which I had purchased from there. I had a complaint regarding unusual noise deriving from one of the tires. Beforehand I had taken pictures of the odometer for my personal records. I informed the receptionists that were present that I would not be available to pick the vehicle up during the week, reason being that I had no means of transportation. They said it was fine. I called the service department on Wednesday April 22, 2015 to ask if the vehicle was ready, the receptionists said it was complete and ready for pickup. I asked if it was alright to retrieve it on Saturday April 25, 2015 and asked if the car was safe. The receptionist said that it was fine and the car would be safe. On Saturday April 25, 2015, my son and I drove from Nashua,NH to Manchester,NH to pick the car up. I received the receipt for the work that was done along with the keys. I went to the car, and when I opened the door I found that the car was not in the condition that we had left it. The car was dirty, had cigarette ashes and candy wrappers on the ground and all over the leather seats, and there was sand and dirt in the trunk. Also the registration and insurance card were not in the car. The odometer read 29,005 miles. I dropped off the car at 28,887 miles. Someone had driven the car about 100 miles. I talked to the receptionist and he wasn't able to explain what had happened. So I asked to speak with the service manager. I explained the situation, his response was that his mechanics do not smoke and the receptionists do not smoke either. He wasn't able to explain anything and had no idea what had happened. He didn't say a word that would be helpful to us in the situation. I mentioned that the registration was missing and the service manager just said that it was ok to drive without a registration but did not elaborate on the subject and was not helpful at all during the entire time I was there. Nobody in my family smokes. The service manager offered to clean the car and fill up the gas tank. No one gave us any answers to what happened. Also, the noise that we were complaining about is still present. My son talked with the Customer Service at AutoFair Honda named Austin Rush on Thursday April 30, 2015, and he said he would investigate the situation to find out if his employees were responsible, and look at the security cameras and inform us on Monday May 4, 2015. Since we do not have an answer from Honda and our registration being lost, we do not feel safe because the registration has our address information.

Desired Settlement
While purchasing the car, I also bought a Platinum Membership for $423.00 for 3 years which expires on 3/21/2018. I would like a refund for this plan because after this situation I do not want to bring my car to AutoFair Honda again.

Business Response
****** **** spoke with Mr. ******'s son yesterday to update him on the current status of our investigation. AutoFair Honda is working with the Manchester Police Department to resolve this matter and will continue to update the ********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have received information about the investigation that is on going with the Manchester Police Department and Austin Rush has kept me updated. I been informed that an unknown person has broken into my vehicle and drove off of the parking lot of Honda and brought the vehicle back later that night. The police has started an investigation on this situation. I am upset with the dealership because on the day I went to pick my car up no one was able to help and the service manager didn't say anything and tried to pin the situation on me. I do not wish to take my vehicle to AutoFair Honda in the future after this situation and I wish to be informed about the investigation as it goes on. Also, we did not receive any response about our request to cancel and get refunded for the Premium Membership that we purchased.

Final Business Response
***** *******, GM of AutoFair Honda, has spoken with Mr. ****** and this matter has been resolved.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/04/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
AutoFair Honda did not provide the ******** ******** Co. maintenance contract as specified in the retail sales contract.
On June 2,2013 I purchased a 2012 Honda Civic from AutoFair Honda. ***** ******** was the salesman. ***** ******* was the finance manager. The retail sales contract number XXXXXX and dealer number 3885 lists three "Other Charges": ******** extended service contract, ******** maintenance and M&A ********** road hazard. The monetary charges for each are $1692, $599, and $372 respectively. This vehicle was traded in to another dealership on November 21, 2015. At which time I was informed that I was entitled to a refund for the extended warranties as described above. I contacted ******** ******** ******** Inc. and was informed that while contracts were issued for the extended service (#JoooXXXXXXXX) and for road hazard (#JoooXXXXXXXX) there was no contract issued for maintenance. No contract was ever filed with ******** ******** ******** Inc. for the extended maintenance. When I sought refunds for these three contracts, I received 58.86 percent of the extended service warranty and 50.63 percent of the road hazard warranty. ***** ******** finance manager at Autofair Honda, pointed out to me the dealership's agreement with me to provide the maintenance at the dealership for a period of three years (card # XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX). I pointed out that I was charged $599 for five years of maintenance with ******** ******** ******** Inc. but provided with an in house dealership maintenance program for $599 for three years, I was informed that there would be no refund for this contract even though approximately 3 months remained on the contract. AutoFair Honda offered me one free oil change and a tire rotation as a refund on their 3 year maintenance program.
Clearly AutoFair Honda sold me an extended maintenance contract with ******** ******** ******** Inc. at a cost of $599 for a period of 5 years as per the retail sales contract. However at the time of the vehicle's purchase AutoFair had me sign an agreement with AutoFair Honda for 3 years of maintenance at the dealership. So I paid $599 for 3 years of maintenance when I should have received 5 years of maintenance through ******** ******** ******** Inc. which would be refundable in accordance with ******** ******** ******** Inc. percentages. AutoFair Honda's suggested resolution concerning any possible refund of the contended issue with the extended maintenance contract was to offer me one free oil change and one free tire rotation. Based on the previously mentioned refunds from ******** ******** ******** Inc. I believe I am entitled to a percentage of the $599 as detailed in the retail sales agreement with AutoFair Honda.

Desired Settlement
AutoFair Honda will file the correct extended maintenance contract with ******** ******** ******** Inc. for the amount of $599 as detailed in the legally binding retail sales contract. AutoFair Honda will then have ******** ******** ******** refund me the appropriate percentage of the $599 which was paid to ******** ******** ********* as per the retail sales contract with AutoFair.

Business Response
This matter has been resolved

12/28/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rec'd a flyer from dealership inviting us to trade in our lease for a lower or same monthly payment for newer car but ended up paying more for less
Flyer from dealership promised newer car for same to less monthly payment. I ended up paying more per month for less coverage then our prior lease. No explanation as to why we couldn't get a car for less and more coverage as promised. Some indication given that our credit wasn't up to snuff due to medical expenses we could not pay but why are we paying more for less if our credit was compromised? Why did we arrive at dealership at 10:00 am but didn't leave until 2:00 pm and would have signed anything to get out of there as my wife and I were exhausted by the whole experience.

Desired Settlement
I want an explanation as to why we feel like this was a bait and switch scam? Why we were at the dealership for over 4 hours. Why we were told we couldn't trade up or down without a full explanation, and why we ended up paying more for the lease for less coverage. If our credit was compromised by unpaid medical expenses why would you lease us a car for more? I feel the dealer took advantage of us and we were dealt with in an unfair maner

Business Response
**** at AutoFair Honda has left several voice messages as well as emails for Mr. ******* but has not heard back from him.

10/05/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I got a 2011 civic on Saturday and then Tuesday when I went to finish finance they told me I wasn't able to have that car unless I put 2500 down & pay
I filled out all the paperwork to do payments on the 2011 Honda civic and then when I came in Tuesday to finish the finance part the finance person told me that the banks wouldn't let me have that care unless I had 2500$ to put down and my payments would double & said that my only other option was to get a 2015 Honda civic and my payments would only go up and extra 3$ a month and failed to tell me until after I signed the paperwork that I was doing a lease which I had told them I didn't want to do in the beginning of working with them. I feel that because I was a first buyer with no credit and my cosigner had a low credit score they took COMPLETE advantage of me.

Desired Settlement
I want a decent car for a decent price after being put threw this scam and I was justification served to the those that scammed me which include ******* their finance guy, **** ****** who was my sales person and their bosses that let them do this to innocent people.

Business Response
This matter has been resolved.

06/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hi I am ***** **** son of ***** ******** she is 69 and recently purchased a vehicle at AUTOFAIR Honda Manchester, N.H. and we are from Massachusetts the car was $8,995.00 Honda civic she always dreamed of buying her first car so she scrapped and saved for years $3,000.00 dollars so we went to auto fair Honda to purchase a vehicle she put $3,000.00 on the vehicle and she owes $8,000.00 that's $11,000 on a $8995 dollar vehicle we went back to try to get her money but they would not give it back to her so we left with the vehicle and $11,000.00 dollar debt don't ask me how this happens but it happened to her an elderly woman I wouldn't wish this on anybody's mom

Desired Settlement
her money back without her taking a hit on her credit score or a readjustment of the contract she is not supposed to owe $11,000.00 after dropping $3,000 on a $8,995.00 2008 Honda civic with 145,000 miles totally unfair deal practice on a elderly woman buying her first car

Business Response
Ms ******** and her son came into the dealership and met with ****** ******* ****** was able to resolved the matter and it is my understanding that Ms ******** was happy with the resolution.

06/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 5/8 I leased a Honda CRV from Auto Fair Honda. Worked with salesmen for four hours regarding a 3 year lease. Came to an agreement on the monthly payment and signed all paperwork and left Auto Fair. That day their credit card machine was down and my first months payment could not be taken. I retuned to AutoFair on 5/9 to get an inspection. First payment was still not taken due to machines still being down. Mothers Day 5/10 I received a call stating I MUST go to the store to make my payment. For the inconvenience of their machine being down and having to go to their store on Mothers Day AutoFair gave me one courtesy oil change. Later that week I was called by the finance department that their was a problem with my contract and that I NEEDED to go back to the store to resign. Auto Fair admitted this was a problem due to their error. Due to this again inconvenience of having to return to the store Auto Fair offered an extended warrantee package covering my vehicle for the latter 3 months. On 5/19 I received another phone call from the finance department that my contract was sent back by the Honda lender stating their was another error and the contract wouldn't be accepted. My payment was to be lowered by approximately $2 but I again had to to go into the store to resign. At this point I had about enough and started to question them. Auto Fair was insistent that I immeditely resign. This continued for three days due to work I was unable to go back to the store. On 5/21 I spoke my concern about signing a third contract. Due to this Auto Fair offered me 2 options. First option was to keep current lease 39 months with extended warrantee and decrease payment by two dollars second option to switch term to 36 months and increase payment by $5 and take away extended warrantee. I mentioned a third option I was interested in which was turning my keys in. On 5/22 I was notified that I no longer needed to resign and current contract would stand and discussed options were no longer available.
Product_Or_Service: 2015 Honda CRV

Desired Settlement
I want to return the vehicle.

Business Response
***** *******, General Manager, met with Ms ******* and it is my understanding that the matter was resolved.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.