BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/10/1997

Auto City Collision Repair Center

Phone: (603) 668-4088Fax: (603) 668-4094

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
12/23/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife was in an accident and per insurance our car was towed here for an estimate. We never received estimate and work began. My wife was in a front end collision on Friday. Our car was towed to Auto City of Manchester per our insurances referral because we do not have a regular mechanic. My wife was under the impression that she gave authorization to get an estimate for the damages. According to ****** she was giving authorization to do the repairs. We have decided to cash out of the car because it isn't worth as much now and we can get a safer more reliable car. We never received an estimate from them even after a voicemail stating that they would have the estimate done and contact us (we still have the voicemail saved). They also sent the estimate via email to the wrong email address and never got any confirmation for the repairs. We had no idea it was being worked on and now we are out $760+ that we don't have. If we hadn't been wondering when the estimate they may have had the car done without us knowing. Also on the estimate they state that the repairs wouldn't start till the following week. This whole thing really feels like they are taking advantage of us and really don't care about their customers. To be treated like this is unjust and reprehensible. No one should have to deal with this and I hope that this can help us along with any others. To be told by an employee that he doesn't care what we do he is getting paid by us is rather rude as well. I really do not understand why they wouldn't work with us and just try to extort money.

Desired Settlement
the desired outcome would be to not have to pay for their work that was not authorized. I understand that they had to come up with an estimate and that some work would have to be paid for to get said estimate. by the time this reaches anyone we will have had to pay or else accrue storage costs as well as the $760+.

Business Response
Dear ******

Ref to **** ***** Case # XXXXXXXX I **** G ****** Owner/President of Auto City Collision hereby states the following.
On Friday October 10th , 2014 at 4:16pm we received an electronic assignment from State Farm Insurance Company stating a 2007 Subaru Impreza belonging to ******** ***** would be towed to our shop. The assignment has all vehicle and customer information we need. State Farm requires us to contact the owner immediately to get authorization to do any teardown necessary for the purpose of writing a thorough estimate and starting the repair process in order to make it quick efficient and simple.

Mrs. ***** was called on Friday 10/10/14 at 4:40 PM by ****** ****** our in house collision estimator. He explained the process and asked Mrs. ***** for her authorization to tear down and start the repair process which
she verbally gave him.

On Monday, October 13th,2014 approximately 11:00am, the vehicle was towed in to us and the estimating and repair process began. An additional requirement of State Farm is the use of Parts Trader (a web based parts location program) to locate parts
the quickest and best price possible. Once Parts Trader pricing becomes available (usually 2 hours) we upload the estimate to State Farm electronically. This was on Wednesday October 15th, 2014 at 8:30am. A copy of the estimate was also emailed to Mrs. ***** at (**************@gmail.com) as provided by her on October 15th, 2014 at 8:45.am

On Wednesday, October 15th,2014 at approximately 4:00pm Mrs. ***** Called ****** and requested we stop the repair process she now wanted to talk to State Farm we stopped immediately, the next morning Mrs. ***** Called said the vehicle had a major leak and that they had tried to trade it in before the accident were offered only $3,000.00 for the vehicle. She was seriously considering not repairing the vehicle and trading it in in its current state which she would let us know after speaking with her husband.

On Friday October 17th , 2014 about 9:30am Mrs. ***** called again and said after discussing it with her husband they did not want the car repaired and were going to trade it in as is. She then inquired what the charges were she was told $620.40 for labor, no charge for the estimate and $150.00 for parts handling the dealer was charging, for a total of $770.40 she said even paying this she would be ahead we never heard any more from the Smiths. I personally contacted the dealership told them I had a unhappy customer I FELTED THEY SHOULD NOT BE CHARGING A HANDLING CHARGE AND REMINDED THEM WE BUY A LOT OF PARTS they agreed to credit us back the handling charge of $150.00 which I would be happy to give back to MR. and Mrs. *****.

Sincerely
**** ******


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is not acceptable. If the estimate was free then I want a full refund. We were never given an estimate and the email that was given in their response is the wrong email, exactly why we were never given an estimate. If we had received this email (which we were expecting) we would have never allowed repair to be started. They used the wrong email and even told us that in voicemail. Unfortunately I will probably have to get my attorney involved at this point.

Final Business Response
In respond to Mr. *****'s rebuttal please be advised he was not involved in the communications between ****** ****** and Mrs. *****.

Mrs. ***** admitted she gave ****** authorization to estimate and start the repair process. Later, she informed us she thought she had only given Auto City authorization to perform the estimate. I don't understand how it could be misunderstood as ****** is very thorough.

Mrs. ***** spoke to a State Farm Claims adjuster about the estimate and repair process-the adjuster has records of her call.

We are very sorry for this confusion and inconvenience however we never order parts without being certain we are actually doing the job. ****** researched the parts ordered them and our parts department received them into inventory we then had to reverse the process and the best we are able to do is refund the handling charge we were access from the vendor.

09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle needed two additional part repairs and one complete repainting after initial completion spanning a total of about 7 months.
After the body shops' initial try, the vehicle was not steering properly/driving as before the accident and vehicle was getting 4-5 mpg less then prior to accident. After a few visits back to the body shop, body shop stated over and over that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle and I was just being picky. Brought vehicle to dealership as it was only 1 year old. Dealership found a faulty steering knuckle where car insurance company was called in and determined it was from this accident. After replacing the steering knuckle, the MPG did improve significantly 3-4 MGP but was still not quite to where it was prior to accident. After trying not to notice and giving more time the mpg stayed the same, but again was still less than prior to accident. Brought vehicle back to dealership where they did extensive troubleshooting and determine that one of the tires that was replaced by body shop was faulty and needed to be replaced. Tire was replaced and lone and behold, MPG finally was back to where it was prior to accident. After several overall complaints to the body shop of their work that they refused to address and did not fix throughout the process, I finally complained about the actual paint job. I did not complain at first cause body shop was making me feel that I was being picky and at the time wanted the mechanical issues fixed as priority. All parties, the insurance company, body shop and I were present where they determined that the paint job was unsatisfactory and body shop repainted the damaged area again. Second paint job was finally successful and acceptable. Also, I'd like to also add while vehicle was at body shop, 1 rim was scuffed/damaged/marked-up in which I originally complained about as I was picking up the vehicle after the initial repair. Body shop absolutely refused to address/repair/replace damaged rim. After several months of ongoing issues the body shop owner adamantly and absolutely refused to repair rim and actually walked away from customer in mid-sentence. Total time from initial repair until owner walked away mid-sentence from customer, 7+ months!!!

Desired Settlement
Replacement of rim that was damaged at shop while vehicle was being repaired. Every other item has since been addressed.

Business Response
Mr. ********* brought his vehicle in on 10/9/14 picked it up on 10/18/14 inspected his vehicle very carefully he was satisfied with the repairs the repair bill was $3092.38 a couple weeks later Mr. ********* came back his complained was he was not getting the same gas mileage as before the accident a difference of 4-5 mile per gallon
and that there was a scuff mark on his wheel that was not there before he brought the vehicle in.The shop manager stated to him the gas mileage could not be related to the accident the scuff mark on the wheel was not something we did but offered to repair the scuff mark on the wheelto make him happy he made an appointment but never kept it, shop called left massage to reschedule did not here from him several weeks later he called made another appointment again he did not keep the appointment shop called again to reschedule never replied On 05/16/14 Mr. ********* came to the shop had the Ins Adjuster meet him his complaint was in certain light angles the paint was a shade off I the shop owner, the manager the shop supervisor the painter and the Ins adjuster when round and round on weather it was off or not because of the different light angles I suggested we paint the quarter for free the insurance would pay to blend the rear door to make the customer happy the adjuster reluctantly agreed When Mr ********* picked up his vehicle he insisted to the shop manager he wanted a new wheel and wanted to speak to me directly I looked at the wheel I have to say I had to get down on my knees to look close enough to see the scuff mark he said all his wheels were perfect so I when around the car found two more wheels with more scuff marks than the one he was complaining about he insisted he wanted nothing less than a new wheel I than told him this was the end of the conversation.
What was really done if anything to correct his gas mileage comp I don't know

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting, Full Mechanical Service, Mechanical Repairs, Auto Repair & Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.