BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/05/2010

On Broadway Appliance, LLC

Phone: (603) 834-6492Fax: (603) 834-649177 Portland Ave #1, DoverNH 03820View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company operates a home appliance business. The company repairs most major brands and some under manufacturer's warranty.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/05/2010

BBB has determined that On Broadway Appliance, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised On Broadway Appliance, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on On Broadway Appliance, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Failure to complete service repair on gas dryer
********** came out on 7/9 to evaluate my broken gas dryer. He took it apart, told me to clean it by vacuuming the exposed motor, and said that he would be back with parts. He has not come back to finish the job despite my calling him several times. I have left many messages asking him where the parts are and when he is coming back. He has not responded at all. I even left a message asking him to let me know if he has no intention on coming back so that I can figure out what to do with a gas dryer that is all apart in pieces in my basement now. No response.

Desired Settlement
I want *** ****** to come back and finish repairing my gas dryer like he agreed to when I hired him. I already paid him $90 and all he did was take my dryer apart. I had to vacuum it as he refused to. He told me that it would be "good for me" to learn how to do it. I expect him to return, replace the parts, and complete the job at no charge at this point. I have incurred upwards of $65 in laundromat bills at this point. He should complete the job free of charge for my inconvenience.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ****** owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***
I called **** and left a message on July 22 that parts are in and want to schedule service. On July 23 I called again talked with **** and set an apt for July 28th. Arrived as scheduled, replaced needed parts ran and tested dryer all set. I called **** to go over misunderstanding of cleaning the dryer, I did not refuse to clean it I was explaining if she cleans it while its apart it would save her money. She told me she might have her neighbor clean it for her. I talked with her neighbor and explained what parts to be careful of. I agreed to reduce the bill and **** was happy with that and she did pay the invoice.

07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

They never informed me there would be a charge for an estimate. They charged me 90 dollars and did not fix the appliance or tell me what was wrong.
I contacted them to assess my refrigerator. They showed up on the wrong day. I was asking for an estimate he charged me 90 dollars to say the ice maker was broken and that they would get back to me with an estimate. 1 week later they have not given me an estimate. I emailed asking for this information and was not replied back to. Phone calls have been left unanswered. I feel something shaddy is going on. I should have been informed that they were charging 180 dollars per hour.

Desired Settlement
90 dollars. Or the information as to what is actually wrong with my fridge.

Business Response
The technician showed up on the correct day. The refrigerator was diagnosed, which is what the service fee pays for. There wouldn't be any appliance technicians if they didn't get paid for their time, training & knowledge. I may or may not have explained the cost of the service call, but no one has ever expected it to be free. We could not provide Mr. ****** w/a repair estimate, because the part he needed is no longer available, which I did tell him. As far as keeping him informed, everything I did, every one I called, and all part research attempts, successful or not, were relayed back to this customer. Unfortunately, we were not able to succeed in any way to please him.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I disagree because they never informed me there is a service charge. According to LG the parts that on Broadway say I need do not exist and they are unsure why on broadway told me the wrong information. So why am I paying for incorrect dishonest information?

On a side note as far as using the technicians time. I am a paramedic, when people use life alert I show up and pick them up for free. Very frustrating to help people for a living only to be lied to and deceived.

They lied and deceived me.

Final Business Response
********** called the business last week to find out how they could provide a part number to the consumer if it was not available. It was explained to me that she gave the part number to the consumer in case he wanted to try to find the part on ebay or craigslist or some such venue. She said they only install factory certified parts and that they could not get this one - and that they would not install an "aftermarket" part.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair, Appliances - Installation, Appliances-Major-Parts & Supplies

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 02/02/2004Business started: 08/24/2001
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Timothy Sprowl (Owner)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair, Appliances - Installation, Appliances-Major-Parts & Supplies

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

On Broadway Appliance, LLC has received 3.46 out of 5 stars based on 3 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for On Broadway Appliance, LLC

77 Portland Ave #1

Dover, NH 03820

To | From


1 Locations

  • 77 Portland Ave #1 

    Dover, NH 03820(603) 834-6492
    Fax: (603) 834-6491

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*On Broadway Appliance, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Web Addresses


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.


Industry Tips for Appliances - Major - Service & Repair


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.