BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/02/2002

Baron's Major Brands Appliances

Find a Location

Phone: (603) 792-8925Fax: (603) 382-2720View Additional Phone Numbers399 East Industrial Park Dr., Ste 1, ManchesterNH 03109

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers the sales and service of appliances.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/02/2002

BBB has determined that Baron's Major Brands Appliances meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service10
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Baron's Major Brands Appliances

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
09/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Oven damaged at delivery. Repair guy broke new part. 2nd repair guy decided not to show up. Company's only solution was to send 3rd repair guy.
Purchased oven, fridge, dishwasher and microwave ($4500). Oven damaged by delivery guys. First repair guy broke the part he was replacing, cursing a profanity while doing so. I lost a days wages waiting the tree hour time frame. Told by ***** ***** I would not be inconvenienced a second time. Second repair guy called me to say he would be an hour and half late for my 1-3 pm appointment. He told me he was doing me a favor, proceeded to hang up on me, and never showed for the appointment. I lost nine hours of time and a half overtime waiting for this no-show. Managements only response was for me to schedule another appointment and sit around waiting for a third repair guy. I said I did not want unreliable, cursing repair guys in my home. As of this complaint I have a brand new broken oven and several hours of lost wages and time. This is an example of very poor customer service.

Desired Settlement
I have explained to ***** ***** that I will not be inconvenienced by his company again (*****'s delivery guys damaged the oven, their repair guy broke the very part he was suppose to fix, and their second repair guy decided not to show for the appointment). Their only response was for me to schedule another appointment. I told him that was unacceptable. Since I have a damaged oven, I should not be paying full price. I feel a billing adjustment is fair. Not a store credit, as I will never deal with *****'s again due to this experience.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Store manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****
Barons thanks Ms. ******* ******* for sharing her experience and regrets any trouble she has had with the delivery. I apologize for any inconvenience that this has caused you and I will try and rectify this as best we can.
Barons does have the parts needed to correct the damage on your range. Barons does understand that taking time away from your day for repair has been difficult.
We can complete the repair ( service appointment needed) or offer you $100. Refund For the repair value intended. Let up us know by either calling me at XXX-XXXX or email : *****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
It is a shame that I had to go to such lengths to get a simple apology, or acknowledgment that Barron's has a serious customer service problem. I accept the company's offer to refund me $100 dollars. They may send a check to my PO Box.

09/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

On June 24, 2016 we bought a GE Dishwasher floor model from "*****'s Major Brands" located at 350 Loudon Road, Concord, NH 03301 for $699.95 with a credit card ending with 6788.
On two occasions the dishwasher quit working, blinking light, soap undisolved, etc. The repair guy came on Aug. 9 the first time, it worked for a couple weeks. It never had the brackets when: we. fist. brought it home ( we have a second witness to this). On Sept. my husband and a witness returned it on a Thursday and the employees said they didnt want it but my husband :left it with them perfect condition except it didnt work (with a witness). I have made several calls to the manager in Concord named **** ******* and after I gave my name they said he was "on another line" or not there and I never got any calls back,
Calls I made:
9-3-16 **** said he would process the refund.
9-5-16 **** said he would process the refund and I gave him two credit cards that might have the
dishwasher sale on them but then I found the correct one later and he only needed the last four numbers which T thought was strange when he had said before he needed the complete 16 numbers with the previous cards because he said "we dent keep customers' numbers on file.
9-6-16 Called again and an employee answered and said it takes 3-5 days for a refund.
I've been checking my account daily and no refund has appeared so much for electronics. All Iwant is my refund, I am on a fixed income and cannot afford to lose this money. With two breakdowns on a brand new item we could forsee problems constant in the future. We figure it was a floor model and someone probably returned it since it is a lemon.
If you could please help me with this matter I would be most grateful. I've heard great thinks about your bureau.

Desired Settlement
My refund.

Business Response
I do apologize for the delay on processing the refund, which was processed in our point-of-sale system on September 16, 2016 (return #XXXXX). The reasons for the delay were tied into several issues:

1. Item was left in our parking lot by the customer more than 2 months after original purchase, well beyond our regular return policy. Offers for additional service (in-warranty, no charge to the customer) were refused, and the sales team was never given the option for a potential exchange instead of additional service.

2. To protect our customers, we do not keep credit card numbers on file. As we were then given several potential options by the customers before being given the actual card used on the purchase, we did not begin to process the refund until after receiving verification from the customer as to which of these cards was actually used for the original purchase.

3. Given the nature of the returned item (see #1 above), it was important for us to determine proper dispensation of the unit to determine the amount of restocking fees that could be assessed. As a concession to the customer (due to their distress) I made the determination not to impose any such fees despite the condition of the unit and the time that had elapsed from their original purchase.

As always, we attempt to resolve all customer issues in a satisfactory manner and hope that the *******'s have success in finding a good solution for their needs.

03/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Will not allow a return of a $1000 kitchen aid microwave that flat out does not work. They said no returns and they would repair.Which is unacceptable
Barons Major Brand Will not allow a return of a $1000 kitchen aid microwave that flat out does not work. They said no returns and they would repair.Which is unacceptable.
They initially sent a service person out, that confirmed there was a big issue with the product and a big component of the microwave mechanics need to be replaced. I do want want a refurbished product that costs $1000. I want a brand new functioning one right away. Not only should I not have to be stuck with a refurbished product for the same price as brand new. I also need a Microwave now and not have to wait weeks for a service tech. Then who knows if it will even work then. I think it is my consumer right to ask for a refund on a product that is not working. Even more frustrating, they did not seem very apologetic and also did not even offer to give a discount on this defective appliance, or so much as a a store credit. Not that I would shop there again, or refer anyone to there, if my refund does not materialize
Details of the product as follows

"24"" Built In Microwave Oven with 1000 Watt Cooking - Stainless Steel"

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund, as I know longer feel comfortable with the quality oif this item and I should nto have to pay full price (brand new price) for a defective item that immediately needs repairing from the moment it arrived.
I think it is my consumer right to ask for a refund on a product that is not working.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* Lomonte-Manager
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********
I was first made aware of the situation with the defective microwave on Friday afternoon, March 18. I then called the customer, ***** ******** as discussions for a resolution had already taken place within our service department. Due to the special order status of the item and the time (2-3 weeks) it would take for a replacement, an expedited repair was offered, as well as a free 5-year extended warranty. ****** then called back later in the day and told me that this was not acceptable to him. In response, I asked if he could give me a day to work on other potential solutions so that we at *****'s could resolve the situation in the most timely manner.
I then searched through our inventory to find any similar items that may be on hand. Upon opening the business day on Saturday the 19th, I called ****** and presented 3 solutions:
1. Re-ordering an exact replacement, with the hope of speeding up the 2-3 week expected time of delivery.
2. Reiterating our offer to service the unit with a free 5-year warranty added.
3. Offered a trade up to a similar model that we did have available in our warehouse (at which point, I emailed the specifications of the proposed unit to ****** for his review to see if it would be appropriate for his needs). This would be an item I could have sent to the store as early as Tuesday, 3/22.

Later in the day on Saturday the 19th, ****** and I had a conversation when he decided he would like to choose option 3 above. I then wrote an order for the item, procured it from stock through our warehouse manager and instructed the warehouse to transfer the item to our store location for exchange. I left it with ****** that I would call him when the item arrives.

Consumer Response
From: ****** ****** (mailto:***********
Sent: Saturday, March 19, XXXX XX:XX AM
To: Info <****>
Subject: Complaint resolved


I filed a complaint with you on the 18th March 2016.
It was a complaint for Barons Major Brands Appliances in Concord NH, regarding them not offering a refund on a faulty product.
This issue is now resolved and so the complaint can be retracted.

My name is ****** ******
email - ***********

02/16/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Complaint against Baron Major Appliances, 12 Plaistow Rd. Plaistow, NH 03865
We bought ****** kitchen appliances in July, 2015 refrigerator, range, dishwasher & microwave from Baron's Appliances in Plaistow, NH.
Delivery was on 7/31/15. The delivery men were in a rush & never unpacked the appliances - they ran out of the house before I could inspect them. The gas range was severely damaged. I agreed to have the service dept (**************************)come to fix it, but they could not accommodate the time (it had to be after 2pm). They scheduled & cancelled twice. Very frustrated, I spoke with ******* & all she would say is "we can't pinpoint a time". I hung up on her. I feel that is VERY poor customer service. A few minutes later, she called back & left a message saying that she is cancelling the work order & I would have to call her back to schedule a new work order. At that point, I was fed up & after speaking to several friends; they told me that I should have a new stove, which is what I then asked for. It appears that this is impossible...I have to have the damaged one fixed. I called ****** directly & was basically told it was my problem because I accepted delivery. If the delivery guys had given me the time to look over everything, I would have refused the stove_ I know they knew about it because of the way some of it was covered up. Anyway, I am extremely frustrated with Baron's, I bought these appliances there because of your good reputation & ********* (the salesman). He was knowledgeable & patient with me. He has now lost all credibility with me - as has your entire company. I am so disappointed in Baron's. I cannot believe the way I've been treated. I have not been able to use the stove because the grates are bent, so the pans wobble- not to mention that the control panel is dented & the parts in the back have pulled away from the stove. I spoke to *** & I have agreed to have the stove fixed because I am defeating the purpose of having a stove if I cannot use till The repairman came on Friday, Sept 4th. I sent the above to **** *****, as suggested by ***. He said that **** answers all messages. I wrote in hopes that they change their customer service policy and don't treat other seniors the way they treated us. I sent the above to **** ***** on September 1 & he never answered.
Follow up on December 28, 2015
After several service calls and basically most parts were replaced, my stove now works. The serviceman suggested that we buy the extended warrantees & we did that also ($566) In October. My husband went back to *****'s to discuss this with *** & *** promised that *****'s would pay $100 of this- even if he had to pay out of his pocket! - Well, here it is, December 28 & even after several visits to *****'s, we haven't seen a dime,

Desired Settlement
$100 refund that was promised.

Business Response
BBB case # XXXXXXXX: in order to maximize the number of customers ******** ******* is able to accommodate on any given day, they are unable to allow each individual to choose a time. The time frames are set up in a sensible geographical order. Unfortunately, if a customer hangs up on the operator, the assumption is that the time is not acceptable, hence the cancellation.
Each customer signs off on receipt of appliances at time of delivery. once the product is accepted, we have no recourse with the manufacturer as far as getting return authorizations. We did follow through and repair the range.
There was a miscommunication as far as paying out of pocket. *** said he wished he made enough money so he could pay the $100 himself. It was not an actually offer.
Some time has lapsed, and there was an oversight. I didn't realize we still owed the customer money. We made good on this January 15, 2016 by crediting the *********** visa card $100. -*** *******, Plaistow Sales Manager

Consumer Response
In order to maximize the number of customers Reliable Service is able to accommodate on any given day, they are unable to allow each individual to choose a time. The time frames are set up in a sensible geographical order. Unfortunately, if a customer hangs up on the operator, the assumption is that they time is not acceptable, hence the cancellation. When my husband went to *****'s to have *** listen to the message that the operator left, they recorded it. They told him that they get numerous complaints about her & wanted to elevate the issue. Seems like they tell their customers whatever they think we want to hear. Also, when the owner of ******** later called me, he had no problem accommodating our request for an afternoon visit.
Each customer signs off on receipt of the appliances at time of delivery. once the product is accepted, we have no recourse with the manufacturer as far as getting return authorizations. We did follow through and repair the range. When we called *****'s to inform them of the extensive damage to the stove, they told us that the deliverymen should have unwrapped each appliance. Then, a month later, they told us that the deliverymen do NOT have to unwrap each appliance. Again, they say what they think you want to hear. I would like to ensure that future customers of *****'s make sure to have the deliverymen unwrap the appliances OR do not accept delivery because once you do, you own it!! It's perfectly clear that they are on a schedule, but consumers should not have to pay dearly as we did so they can adhere to that schedule.
There was a miscommunication as far as paying out of pocket. *** said he wished he made enough money so he could pay the $100 himself. It was not an actual offer. There was no miscommunication, but nobody can prove what *** said because nobody else was there. AGAIN, they say what they think you want to hear.
Some time has lapsed, and there was an oversight. I didn't realize we still owed the customer money. We made good on this January 15, 2016, y crediting the ********** visa card $100. - *** *******, Plaistow Sales Manager So, if *** did not say that he would get the company to pay us the $100, then why did they credit our account? Why did they think they owed us the $100? It just happened to be a couple of days after they received our complaint from the Better Business Bureau. What a coincidence.

Final Business Response
In the original complaint, the ********** request listed for 'Desired Resolution' was to receive "$100 refund that was promised". I addressed this and processed the full refund on January 15, 2016. *****'s considers this resolved. Internally, *****'s discusses and addresses policies and procedures on a regular basis. Our intention is to meet the needs and wants of all our customers. We hope, in the long run, that the ********** will accept the $100 credit and our apologies for this situation. Thank you, *** *******, Sales Manager, Plaistow NH

Final Consumer Response
We are ok with *****'s response. I would just like for future customers to be aware of how *****'s treats their customers & want to warn them to have the delivery men open delivered goods before signing off on them.
I'm glad that these complaints stay visible for quite a while.

01/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

When I bought a washer and drier, I paid for disposal of the old appliances; now they want another $50 to dispose of old drier.
I asked for a specific date for delivery so that the new appliances would be there when the required plumber and electrician arrived the next day. I was told that the delivery people could not disconnect the old gas drier so they left it. After my plumber disconnected it and installed new appliances, I called to ask for removal of old drier. First, I was told there was a timing problem since I would be out of town for a bit, but on my return, I called and was told I had to pay another $50 for them to dispose of drier.

Desired Settlement
Removal and disposal of old drier without additional charge.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****, ****
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****
Barons takes great pride in satisfying our customers. Ms ***** purchased a new washer and gas dryer, Barons delivered it as promised, but it did not fit the space to her satisfaction. Barons returned both items, and Ms. ***** made a different selection that would fit her needs better. Barons delivered it as promised. The original gas dryer was not disconnected from the gas prior to the arrival of the *****'s delivery team, as removals are always performed during the same visit as the new delivery.
Barons will return to pick up the old dryer on Thursday 1/16/14 and this has been communicated via phone to Ms *****.

Final Consumer Response
The drier was just removed. Thanks to BBB. Your help was invaluable. Other than the rudeness of the Baron's employee who called me, I am pleased with the result.

Thanks to BBB

02/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Refrigerator was recommended to fit a 36" cabinet opening based on advertised specification sheet. Fridge is larger than specified dimensions.
Fridge specifications sheet list width as 35.75 and will fit a 36" opening. Actual fridge as deliveved is 36.75 " wide. Fridge was. Ought on Black Friday sale and was the same price as alternate whirlpool brand which was also on sale. Store brought out a 2nd unit that was still too wide. Service manager ***** told me this is known issue to h with samsung. ***** **** - Partner of owner told me he would take samsung back and refund my sale price but I would have to pay full non sale price now for whirlpool. Both are the same detail price now and had been on sale at same time for same price. I would have to pay $1000 more now to purchase the same whirlpool because they are not on sale. Sales rep **** knew my cabinet specs and recommended samsung over whirlpool . Service department was previously aware of width issues with samsung. I could have paid the same price for whirlpool but was talked into samsung, now they tell me to pay $1000 more than I would have paid because sale is over and they had me work with samsung to try to resolve issue but samsung will not honor their spec sheet

Desired Settlement
Whirlpool and samsung have the same curent price and had the same sale price when I purchased. I would like an even exchange for the improperly advertised samsung at no additional expense

Business Response
Barons has read Mr. ****'s complaint and has been working with him to resolve his problem of a no fit issue. Mr. **** was delivered 2 refrigerators to his home and sent an experienced installer to measure his opened of installation, openings found normal. Due to both refrigerators being out of the manufactures specifications, Barons has offered a full refund on several occasion to Mr. ****. When Mr.**** made his decision on XX-XX-XX to purchase the above refrig. at that time It was specially priced for all purchase ending 11-30-15.
Barons has stated the purchases after that date do not qualify for special pricing.
Barons has called M.**** on X-XX-XX two times and left messages to discuss further other options in his situation. Barons is waiting for his call ( ***** -XXX-XXX-XXXX) to help resolve his refrig. Problem.

01/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Our firm represents ********************************, New Hampshire. We are advised that Mr. and Mrs.***** purchased the following Viking appliances from *****'s Major Brands ("*****'s") in March, 2011:
* 30" Refrigerator (Model No. DFFB3021L; Serial No. XXXXXXRXXXXXXXX);
* 30" Freezer (Model No. DFRB304R; Serial No. XXXXXXRXXXXXXXX);
* 60" Open Burner Commercial Depth Range (Model No. VGRC6056GDSS; .Serial No. XXXXXXCXXXXXXXX); and
* 60" x 6" Cooktop Backguard (Model No. R60BG6SS,. Serial No. XXXXX).
Further, we understand that Mr. and Mrs. **** simultaneously purchased extended service plans (the "Warranties") from *****'s for each of the above-referenced appliances. The total cost of the above-referenced appliances (the "Appliances"), together with the Warranties, was $17,875.
Our clients advise that the Appliances have required numerous repairs since the original date of purchase, and that they continue to work improperly as of the date of this letter. In particular, the refrigerator and freezer chronically leak water and present a risk of significant damage to the wood flooring underneath the Appliances. The constant need for repairs and the Consumer Protection and Antitrust Bureau Office of the Attorney General temporary measures our clients have had to undertake in order to prevent costly damage to their home have caused a great deal of frustration.
The poor condition of the Appliances has also presented an imminent danger to the ***** and to their home. Specifically, a griddle fire erupted in the cooking range, causing Mr. **** to shut off the gas in order to prevent a catastrophic fire or explosion. When Mrs. **** reported this incident to *****'s, a representative of *****'s merely advised her not to use the range and never made any attempt to address the underlying issue.
Attempts to resolve the issue pursuant to the Warranties have proved unfruitful. Our clients report that several of the technicians dispatched by *****'s to repair the Appliances have informed them that they have not been trained to repair or service Viking appliances. Additionally, service technicians have advised the ***** that the parts required to fix the Appliances are no longer available. This has essentially rendered the Warranties ineffective. It has also caused some concern as to whether *****'s may have sold the Warranties to Mr. and Mrs.***** with the knowledge that its technicians lacked the training necessary to honor the Warranties and that the Warranties would ultimately be ineffective.
Mr. and Mrs. are further troubled by the fact that, based on their records, the Appliances appear to have been sold to them as floor models, which are expressly excluded from coverage under the Warranties. While ***** understood at the time of purchase that the refrigerator and freezer were floor models, they believed they were purchasing a new range. In any event, the ***** believe *****'s misrepresented the nature of the Warranties and misled them to believe that the Appliances would be covered thereunder.
In light of the above, Mr. and Mrs. **** believe a claim or claims against *****'s may exist under NH RSA 358-A for unfair trade practices and deceptive acts. These acts include, in particular, the following:
(i) that *****'s violated NH RSA 358-A:2(V) by selling the Warranties to the ***** with the knowledge that the Appliances would not be covered thereunder and/or that the Warranties would ultimately be ineffective; and
(ii) that *****'s violated NH RSA 358-A:2(VII) by purporting to sell the above-referenced range as a new appliance when in fact it was a floor model.
We hereby respectfully request that the Consumer Protection and Antitrust Bureau bring an action against *****'s under NH RSA 358-A:2 for (1) an order of restitution to the ***** of an amount equal to the cost of the Appliances and Warranties, and (2) for the imposition of civil monetary penalties against *****'s. Additionally, we would appreciate knowing whether any similar consumer complaints regarding *****'s have been brought to the attention of the Consumer Protection and Antitrust Bureau.

Desired Settlement
Information only

Business Response
Thank you for alerting Barons of a customer ( ********************* unsatisfied with the repair-service that have received on their appliances(s) as mentioned in the enclosed letter. Barons is currently working to come up with a resolution for the******* and working with their counsel to resolve the situation.

Barons Appliance

12/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Our brand new microwave shorted out and caused smoke to fill the kitchen. Baron's nor Electrolux wants to replace it. repairmen came -still broken

My husband and I purchased new appliances from Baron's including a refrigerator, a dishwasher, an induction range, and a microwave. The appliances were installed on October 6, 2015. The microwave had to be installed by us because the fan was designed to vent to the outside. There had to be ductwork installed.

On November 18, 2015 the microwave shorted out, filling the kitchen with electrical smoke. Baron's and Electrolux both have refused to replace this appliance. It is a fire hazard.

Today, November 25, 2015, two repairmen came, spent two hours taking the microwave apart, only to tell me on the day before Thanksgiving thatI can only use some of the features on my unit, and they will have to come back, take the thing down, take it apart and replace a part that may or may not be the right fix.

Baron's refuses to replace this microwave that I probably will be too scared to use because it is a fire hazard.

Desired Settlement
I need a new microwave. I will be too scared to used this unit that they want to fix. The repairmen took it apart, and it took hours to find what might be wrong. I don't know why that part shorted out, but I won't want it used for fear office in my newly remodeled kitchen. We spent a substantial amount of money, and replacing a defective unit should be a no-brainer.

Business Response
A call was received on November 18, 2015 regarding the microwave at ****************** in ****** that was purchased on October 6, 2015. The complaint was "TRIPS CIRCUIT BREAKER AS SOON AS PLUGGED IN. HAD BEEN WORKING PRIOR TO THIS ISSUE. BURNING ODOR." A technician was dispatched on November 20, but found that the over the range microwave would have to be uninstalled to properly evaluate the condition, requiring two technicians. On November 25 two technicians went out and determined that the microwave needed a thermostat and a convection fan assembly and the parts were ordered. The customer was requesting replacement and not repairs, so Electrolux was contacted through our office on November 27, 2015 requesting replacement. Their customer service group reiterated that the warranty was for repair, not replacement and that they would not issue a return authorization for the unit. As stated in their warranty:
Major Appliance Warranty Information
Your appliance is covered by a one year limited warranty. For one year from your original date of purchase, Electrolux will repair or replace any parts of this appliance that prove to be defective in materials or workmanship when such appliance is installed, used, and maintained in accordance with the provided instructions.
On December 2, 2015 two technicians were dispatched to complete repairs as directed by Electrolux. These repairs are performed by trained technicians with parts manufactured by Electrolux with the express purpose of correcting this type of problem. The parts are factory certified and UL listed and are completely safe when installed as specified. The repair was completed and the unit was tested as operational by the technicians on site.

04/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Ordered appliance package. Refrigerator delivered with dented freezer door. Will not repair
The refrigerator was delivered to the house with a dented freezer door. It was placed in the garage with doors up against the wall where it stayed for two months while the house construction was completed. When moved the dent was discovered and the store will not repair as they say it was not immediately reported. This was paid by credit card.

Desired Settlement
I want the freezer door replaced at no cost to me.

Business Response
The customer ordered an appliance package from Baron's on 8/29/14, which included a floor model refrigerator. The refrigerator, which did not have any damage at the time it left the store, was wrapped in plastic and delivered to the customer's home on 12/10/14, along with the rest of the appliances that were ordered. The customer's home was under construction and the customer was not at the home at the time of delivery, so the customer's on-site contractor accepted and signed for the delivery, and directed the delivery team to place the appliances in the garage. Approximately 2 months later, on 2/5/15, the customer contacted Baron's to report that a dent was discovered on the freezer door of the refrigerator. The customer requested that Baron's replace the freezer door at no cost to him. However, Baron's policy regarding damage to appliances, as indicated on the delivery order under "Acceptance of Delivery", states in part "Acceptance of delivery means that all products have been inspected and are in acceptable condition unless specifically noted on the delivery ticket. Concealed damage must be reported within 48 hours, original packaging must be inspected by our representative before consideration for any concealed damage claim." Since the refrigerator was in the customer's home for two months while it was under construction before the damage was reported, and the delivery was signed for as being accepted in good condition, there is no way to know for certain when or how the damage occurred. As an equitable compromise, Baron's offered to cover the cost of having a service technician install a new freezer door if the customer would be willing to purchase the replacement door. The customer agreed to this arrangement and ordered a new door from the manufacturer. The installation of the door is currently scheduled for 4/7/15.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The refrigerator was clearly delivered damaged. The refrigerator was delivered to the garage with the doors up against and facing the wall. It was never moved from the spot the delivery person placed it until the house was complete. It was placed in such a way that it was not possible to damage the door by anybody onsite. It was also not possible to see the damage without moving the refrigerator from where it was placed by the delivery person. I did let *****'s come replace the door with me buying the part because they gave me no other choice. I was 100% clear that I was not fully satisfied with this solution and did not consider it a full resolution. I was also very clear that I intended to file this complaint. I paid $183.25 for the door replacement and feel that this should be reimbursed by Barron's.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am 100% certain that the appliance was delivered damaged. Unfortunately there is no way that I can prove this to be true and it is clear that Barron's will not take full responsibility. I have purchased two full kitchen packages from Barron's and the most recent purchase will be my last.

Final Business Response
Per the BBB, "resolving a complaint requires both parties to move from their current position to a middle ground". *****'s has certainly met this condition with our installation of the replacement door at no charge, as well as wavering on our 2 day claim for damage policy to 2 months, which is well beyond the industry standard for damage claims. In addition, the manufacturer reduced the price of the replacement door for the customer to 50% of the regular price. *****'s considers this matter resolved in an equitable manner.

02/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

product that was purchased under one year warranty broke and has been serviced at least 4 times still does not work and dealer is avoiding replacement
Products purchased 10/15/13 delivered 11/8/2013 with one year warranty. Warranty was from 11/8/2013 to 11/8/2014. Model # FAFW3801LW Frigidaire Affinity front load washer purchase price $539.00 and model #FAQG700LW Frigidaire Affinity ft. gas dryer purchase price $699.00. Sales order # XXXXXXX. Cust. # XXXXXXX. Salesperson ***** ******** On Oct 24, 2014 a service called was placed for the washer not running a full spin cycle, and when starting the water fills up a little bit but not enough and the dryer was not drying properly and takes at least 3 cycles to dry towels. Repair man came out on 10/24/2014. On 11/6/201 the motor, motor control and door lock asm. was replaced on washer. On 12/8/2014 repair man came out because some water goes in but then the unit shuts down and won't finish cycle and more parts were ordered. On 12/23/2014 repairman replaced drain pump, PCB, and door lock Asm. Repair man said that he replaced all the parts that he could possibly replace. He then placed one towel in washer and the washer began to fill and agitate. The repair man left just after agitation began and did not wait for the cycle to complete. Shortly after agitation began the washer stopped working but the repair man had already left. Water remained in washer and had to be bailed out by customer. A call was placed to Baron's Major Brand Appliances complaining of all the failed attempts to fix the washer and for a request to replace the washer but the service manager was on vacation and I was told that no one else there could help and that *****, the service manager, would call back on 12/29/2014. Dec. 29th came and went without a call from the repair manager. I called to speak to ***** on Dec. 30th and was told by a women that he was not there and that she didn't know if he would be in or not that day and that he was too busy on Monday to call us and that she told him about the situation and that he was going to look into it.I called to speak to ***** again today, Dec. 31, 2014 and was told that he had stepped out for a quick errand. We feel very unhappy and abandoned by *****'s Major Brands Appliances and feel that they are just avoiding the situation and hoping that we will get fed up and go away.

Desired Settlement
At this point after all the time and failed attempts to repair the machine and all the frustration caused by those failed attempts I think the best thing to do to settle this matter is to receive a complete refund and to send the washer back.

Business Response
Baron's had another man from their repair service come out again a couple of weeks ago and he replaced another part. The washer does seem to be working...The repairman did say to wait a week or so to see how it runs and that he was going to talk to ***** at Baron's about getting in contacted with Fridgidaire about getting an extended warranty but I have not received any communication from them as of today.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances-Major-Parts & Supplies, Appliances-Small-Dealers, Appliances-Major-Dealers

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 02/13/2001Business started: 01/01/1947
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: November 1983, NH

Business Management
Principal: David Souter (Operations Manager)Michael Baron (General Manager)Donald Baron (President)
Contact Information
Raymond Baron (Treasurer) George Conway (Service Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Appliances-Major-Parts & Supplies, Appliances-Small-Dealers, Appliances-Major-Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Baron's Major Brands, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Baron's Major Brands Appliances

399 East Industrial Park Dr.

Manchester, NH 03109

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Baron's Major Brands Appliances is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (603) 382-4224

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (603) 228-2334

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.


Industry Tips for Appliances-Major-Parts & Supplies


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.