BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/15/1997

Al Terry Plumbing & Heating, Inc.

Phone: (603) 428-3573Fax: (603) 485-5323View Additional Phone Numbers1776 Hooksett Road, HooksettNH 03106

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers residential and
commercial plumbing & heating services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/15/1997

BBB has determined that Al Terry Plumbing & Heating, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Al Terry Plumbing & Heating, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Al Terry Plumbing & Heating, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
02/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

They came and cleaned my furnace, when I returned home there was oil all over my basement and the rug.
I called to have my furnance serviced for a cleaning on 1/12/15, that cost me 274.00 with a coupon. The representative looked up any work they had done before because I have recently purchased the home. He said they had replaced the blower on 7/19/2013, I asked him what the loud noise was and he thought the ball bearings in the blower we're going but he didn't offer to fix it. When I returned home the same night after they had cleaned it there was oil all over the basement and my rug. They sent out a service representative who said the apprentice put the part in wrong. He cleaned up the oil and cut the oil stain out of my rug. The next day the noise from the blower was louder I called them again.and had to stay home from work again costing me another 31/2 hours at 12 someone showed up they said I needed a new blower, but that it wasn't the blower they had replaced it was a different part. At this point I still had not received a call about the oil on my rug. I had them leave, because I wasn't feeling confident about there skills or the fact that they had replaced it within the two year warranty period.i had also never recived a call from anyone about the rug. Five minutes after they left I recieved a call from ******. I have left two messages and still have heard nothing. The oil spill was on 1/12/15 today it is t1/18/15. And I have not heard back. I was told the rug would be replaced and nothing. I do believe now that they didn't replace the blower after having someone else look at it, but it could have been fixed on the first trip when they cleaned it . The time I have put into using this company for a simple cleaning has taken up my week, cleaning there mess.

Desired Settlement
I believe I should recive a refund for the cleaning and a new rug.

Business Response
After several attempts to contact the customer in regards to their complaint, we were finally able to make contact with her and come to a happy resolution. After speaking with the customer, we agreed to give her a 50% refund on the service call that our company did for her and we also are going to buy her a new carpet to replace the one that had oil spilled on it. We are also going to go out again, free of charge, to just double check to make sure that her furnace is running properly.

05/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

After numerous attempts to repair by Al Terry Plumbing, the toilet continues to leak at the base.
***** from Al Terry plumbing attempted to repair a leaking toilet(at the base) on 21 January 2014($435/Invoice #XXXXX, paid day of service).
***** returned on 20 February 2014 to evaluate why the toilet was still leaking. Supposedly, a wax ring was replace(no charge). The toilet continued to leak. On 01 March, **** came to evaluate. I was asked if a seal was replaced. I was unsure. The toilet was moved and the seal had NOT been replaced. A new seal was installed OVER the old seal(no charge). On 25 April, **** again visited due to the toilet continuing to leak at the base. He stated he didn't know what was causing the leak and there was nothing more he could do(no charge).
The base is still leaking(the base is wiped dry, a white paper towel is placed at the base and the toilet is flushed. The paper towel becomes wet with each flush). I am concerned this leak is causing floor damage.
Since the original problem was never repaired and Al Terry Plumbing doesn't seem to have a resolution, should I expect a refund? Should I contact another plumber?
Please advise.

Desired Settlement
I want the leak fixed especially because I'm afraid this is causing floor damage. I have low confidence in Al Terry Plumbing's ability to perform the repairs

Consumer alerted BBB of direct contact from the business
**** ********** (service manager) came over yesterday with a worker & took off the toilet, cleaned the badly stained floor Put a new wax sealer & caulked the base of the toilet. That`s just what I would have told him to do to satisfy me.
Thank you for helping to solve the problem.

05/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I feel I was overcharged for work performed on April 28th. No effort from Al Terry has been made to address my complaint.
On April 28th I had a Al Terry Plumbing send out a plumber to fix a small leak in the back of our bathtub. After approx. 2.5hrs the problem was finally fixed and I was charged $333.00. I questioned the cost but the plumber, *****, coded the work as a level 4(?) and I paid the bill using my CC. After discussing the work that was done with my wife we felt that the charges were unwarranted. I filled out a postcard indicating that we were not happy with the service. I also filled out an on-line response for the service on Al Terry's website but got no response. I then called their Service manager and left a Voice message on May 5th and so far no response. The stated on their work order that they offer 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. I don't so that.
I would request a partial credit for the work performed to a more reasonable charge. I estimate that they only used approx. $15-20 in parts to fix my leak so the rest of the charges was for labor to the tune of $313. So if I do the math the labor amounted to $125/hr which I find to be extremely high for this type of work. I feel it shouldn't be any more than $70/hr. I feel that their labor rate is too high, especially to seniors like myself.

Desired Settlement
A refund of $137.50 for the labor.

Consumer alerted BBB of direct contact from the business
The above case has been settled between AL ***** Plumbing & us, with them giving us a $100 credit refund and waiving their $59 Service Fee on their next visit should we decide to use them going forward.

Thanks for your assistance. I now consider this case closed.

All the best,
******* ********

07/09/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

They falsely told me replacement parts for my central air unit were no longer available and I would have to replace my entire system ($5,000 cost).
My central AC was not working properly and an Al Terry service tech came out on 6/6/13 and charged me $172 to spend 30 minutes finding the problem: the coil on the condenser had a hole in it that was leaking Freon. He did not attempt to repair it. The service rep left and said they would call me back with more information. The sales rep, Carl, called me about an hour later and said that after calling the manufacturer they determined that the unit was so old that replacement parts were no longer available and I would have to replace the whole system and because the compressor was a different model, that would have to be replaced, too. I told them a whole new system was not in my budget and pressed them to repair the old coil. They tried to convince me to finance the new system with them, but I refused. They finally priced a repair service of the old coil at $882, but told me it was not guaranteed to work. I told them I would think about it and call them back later because I didn't have $882 to throw away for a repair that may not work. Within an hour the sales man, Carl, called me back again with "Good News!" He said he called the manufacturer back and found a suitable replacement coil. I found this very suspicious. If the replacement part ($300 retail value) was available, they would have found it before they tried to sell me a whole new system ($5,000 value). They quoted me $1,200 to replace the coil. I didn't trust them after they tried to sell me a whole new system that I didn't need, so I got another quote.

Two other licensed HVAC repair services came in and told me a repair was most definitely possible and it was standard industry practice to repair these coils. And they also stated that replacement parts are readily available.
The best quote was $300 to repair the old coil and $500 to replace the coil.

I understand that varying price quotes may not be evidence of a dishonest sales practice, but I am appalled that Al Terry tried to sell me a $5,000 system when I didn't need it. And they took advantage of my lack of knowledge to steer me away from a standard repair or part replacement.

The bottom line is I paid Al Terry $172 so they could try to sell me a whole new system. They did no repair work at all. They didn't even give me an honest repair option.

Desired Settlement
Although no other company charged me a fee to come out to my house and give me a quote, I will concede that Al Terry's charge of $49 for the 'service call' may be valid. But I would like a refund of the balance: $123.00 ($172 paid, less $49).

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******
After speaking with my CCR and parts manager we have reviewed all of ******'s claims and this is our side of this complaint. We did find a hole in the coil as she has confirmed with other companies. It is our practice to not put a bandaid on a system that is so old as it only a tempary solution and we believe it is not in the customers best interest, although it is surely the most cost effective option. We called for a part replacement from our supplier and we were told by them that it was not available and this is what we told ******. Carl mentioned this to our HVAC manager and he called the same supplier and spoke with a manager and determined they could get the part that was needed. We then called back with this information and the cost associated and for this we are accused of "dishonest sales practice". It appears to me that we found out different information and instead of staying with the complete system replacement we called back to offer ****** a better solution to her problem with a much better price point. This to me seems like we are working hard for her to get this repaired at a cost that is better for her and its a solution that allows us to give her our 5-year parts and labor warranty. I am sure that the prices she received from the other companies do not come with a 5-year warranty. We have no idea of the $5000.00 replacement cost she accuse us of as we have in her file the replacement cost of $2895.00. I will issue a check for the $123.00 as she requested and wish her well.

06/19/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Al terry plumbing visited ********* **** hair salon at provided address. Billed for services not provided.
Visited. Duct tape leaky faucet and left saying they is to order part and would return. They never returned or spoke to anyone on the phone regarding status of service. Now forced to pay nearly 200$ service charge stating they tried to contact us which we have no evidence they ever did. They stated they left voice messages which they did not.. We are open 7 days a week from 9 to 8 m-f. 9-5 sat and 11 to 5 sun. It is hard for me to believe they tried realistically to contact us. They reduced bill to 149. Which we paid under dispute. Needless to say we have to hire another plumber to do the work . My employees would not lie to me about voice messages not being received and al terry plumbing cannot prove correspondence other than sending us bills for incomplete work.

Desired Settlement
Refund of 149 diagnostic charge paid.

Business Response
We were contact by ***** ****** to come repair a leaking salon faucet. Once we were on site we diagnosed the Belevdere faucet was in need of repair. My part manager located the parts and relayed the cost and availability to our dispatcher who spoke with a store manager that same day telling them the cost and availability, we believe it was ****** at the time. Per our company policy we do not order special order parts until we have approval from the owner which ****** was to contact ***** ****** to get that approval. We also require a 50% deposit on all special order parts which again was relayed to the manager. We waited a few days for approval and never heard back from the manager or the owner. My dispatcher called numerous times looking for guidance on whether or not they wanted to go forward with the repair. She left numerous messages with different people that were working at the salon at the times that she called. So in response to doing nothing per ***** ****** I must highly disagree. We went there as directed by ***** himself, diagnosed the problem, located the parts and made numerous attempts to set an appointment to install the parts. Why would we not want to install the parts and complete the call, it makes absolutely no sense. We are in the service and repair business. We left messages at XXX-XXXX and my parts manager also left message on he believes ****** cell @ XXX-XXXX. Now in response to it should be free, I must completely disagree. Does ***** really think that sending a licensed plumber, licensed apprentice, fully stocked truck to his site, diagnosing the problem, locating the parts and attempting to make arrangements to install the parts for him should be of no cost to him...Seriously. We waived the service fee of $49.00 which he agreed to when he booked the call. Why did it take us to threaten legal action for him to agree to pay the $149.00? Why would he wait for 4 month to not call and try to resolve this or even ask why we didn't do the repair or contact him? We sent him a monthly statement which I'm sure he is going to say he never received. We have a signed invoice from someone there for the total of $198.00 (K Piece). We agreed to waive the $49.00 SF to help resolve this and now after 4 months he thinks is should be free. We will not be refunding him any more money and if we didn't attempt to collect this money he still would have not contacted us to resolve this.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There were no messages left on either of my phones. (The salon @ XXX-XXXX & my personal cell XXX-XXXX. I received 1 statement which is the one hat prompted my call to Al Terry.

At the time of my payment and subsequent complaint, I had not yet had the faucet repaired because the service provider (Al Terry Plumbing) had not followed through with providing service. In my opinion the job must have been too small for them to want to do and decided to still charge for the visit and "diagnostic" service. I have since had to pay another individual to order the part and perform the repair.
I have receipts to prove the work wasn't performed until after the dispute with Al Terry Plumbing. Since I had to pay twice for the same repair, there is no reason to believe I was holding back payment because I went with another company. I was simply waiting for any response from Al Terry to follow up on the initial visit which never happened.
Basically, Al Terry has their money now which is all they care about and we went nearly 5 months with a broken faucet until it could be repaired by a reliable and responsible party that isn't in the business of collecting fees for performing no work. interestingly enough, the individual who ordered the part and performed the repair was paid immediately.
I don't actually expect Al Terry to refund the payment I made although they had no real legal recourse to collect it as I never signed any agreement or made any verbal commitment to pay for simply a service call and diagnosis. No contract was signed, no consideration occurred, and no tangible service was provided. I just want it on the record that this is how his company does business.
In my business the client expects results and when we aren't able to perform up to their expectations, they receive a full refund.
Apparently Al Terry plumbing considers sending a bill as a status update on the work you are waiting for them to provide. We assumed his company abandoned the job for lack of interest or at best, was still waiting for the part to do the repair.

This whole issue is now a sunk cost from my perspective. However, I do not appreciate the suggestion that I somehow was trying to get out of paying for something ideas perfectly willing to pay for had the company in question actually been interested in coming back and performing the work.

04/08/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Billed in excess for services received. Services did not exceed disagnosis.
11/16/12 Account #****** Total Billed: $353.00 Total Paid: $0.00

On 11/16/12 a representative of Al Terry Plumbing & Heatng, Inc. came to my store to diagnosis 2 plumbing issues. I called for a quote prior and was quoted a service charge in the amount of $59.00. The representative was in my store for no more than 1 hour and provided no services other than a visual diagnosis. I was billed $353.00 with no description of services on the invoice. This price is both more than the original price quoted to me and an arbitrary amount for the diagnosis.

Desired Settlement
I wish for paying the quoted price of $59.

Business' Initial Response
We have made numerous attempts to settle this charge with no success. We have reduced the amount due to $276.00 but that was not enough. We quoted a $49.00 service fee which is a fee we charge on every call for the cost of our truck to get to the job. It has nothing to do with labor and is not a diagnostic charge as ****** believes. GPS confirms that we left our office at 7:41am and arrived at 8:04am and departed at 9:05am. So the time of a licensed and trained professional to go to their store at there request is in their mind free. Pretty sure they are not giving there sandwiches away for free. We do not give our time and service away for free either. I will settle for the service fee of $49.00 and a labor charge of $135.00 for a total of $184.00 if that is acceptable. We went to their business as they requested,determined the problems they were having, offered solutions and pricing to repair as needed. We spent time and money to help them out and they somehow believe that $59.00 is a reasonable. That is $39.33 per hour for a truck, gas, licensed plumber, overhead and profit, that is ridiculous and unreasonable.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I still believe $184.00 is an unreasonable rate to pay for the diagnosis received. If their service fee is $135.00 hourly, then surely they have a separate fee for a diagnosis like other companies do because it is a separate service. It doesn't make sense that I would pay the same amount for a diagnosis AND actual labor. Furthermore, if that is in fact the accurate price for what I received, that should have been the price quoted to me and the price on my first invoice, not the $353.00 I was actually charged. They tried to exploit me and were blatantly dishonest. I am prepared to pay a service fee, and nothing more.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Plumbing Contractors

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 05/06/1997Business started: 01/01/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Plumbers Board, State of New Hampshire
2 Industrial Park Drive
Concord, NH 03302-1386
(603) 223-4289

Division of Fire Safety
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
(603) 223-4289

BBB records show a license number of 2694 for this company, issued by Plumbers Board, State of New Hampshire. Their web address is This is a Master Plumber License for Michael J. Terry.

Type: Plumber - Master

BBB records show a license number of GFB0900359 for this company, issued by Division of Fire Safety. Their web address is The expiration date of this license is 12/31/2015.

Type: Business Mechanical

Contact Information
Principal: Michael Terry (President)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Plumbing Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Al Terry Plumbing & Heating, Inc.

1776 Hooksett Road

Hooksett, NH 03106

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1776 Hooksett Road 

    Hooksett, NH 03106(603) 485-4205
    (603) 428-3573

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Al Terry Plumbing & Heating, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (603) 485-4205

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.


Industry Tips for Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.