BBB Accredited Business since

Transmission Experts

Phone: (706) 561-8993 Fax: (706) 561-3878 5870 Veterans Pkwy Ste J, Columbus, GA 31909 http://www.transmissionrepairgeorgia.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Transmission Experts meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Transmission Experts include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Transmission Experts
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 15, 2005 Business started: 04/04/1996 in GA Business started locally: 04/04/1996
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Dicesaris, Owner Mr. Jon Dicesaris, Gen. Mgr.
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jon Dicesaris, Gen. Mgr.
Principal: Mr. Thomas Dicesaris, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile

Products & Services

Transmission Experts offers the following product(s): Transmission and Auto Repair

Industry Tips
Transmissions, Automatic

Additional Locations

  • 5870 Veterans Pkwy Ste J

    Columbus, GA 31909 (706) 561-8993

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2007 Ford Escape in for them to look at my transmission because I was having problems with it. They told me the transmission was shot and that I needed another installed. They installed one and charged me $3700.00 for the labor and parts. They gave me a 12 month warranty. In that 12 months I took the car back to them 3 different times with the same problem that I was having before they supposedly gave me a new transmission plus leaks and other problems. Every time I took it back they told me that there was nothing wrong with the transmission and they couldn't do anything. 1 1/2 years later my transmission is now completely gone and I am having to have one installed. I have been robbed of $3700.00 and still have to pay another $2500.00 to have this one put in. However, I will not be using Transmission Experts to rob me again. Companies like this should be put out of business.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to pay for my new transmission I am having put in now but I know that won't happen since they wouldn't even fix what the problem was in the first place since I paid $3700.00

Business Response: We are very sorry to hear you are having problems with your transmission, we are just a phone call away so feel free to contact us anytime. According to our records you had the transmission rebuilt on 6-22-2013 and todays date is 03-17-2015 so by our records your warranty was for for 1 year. That means we completed our obligation 9 months ago. However we do appreciate you as a customer and if you bring your vehicle back to us we will make any repairs to your vehicle's transmission free of charge provided that there was no abuse or neglect on your part as to keeping proper fluid level. We build all transmissions to factory specs however many factors are responsible as to how long the transmission might last, everything from proper fluid levels to computer related devices linked to the car.   Thank you ******** *********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First of all, I know I am out of my warranty range.  But when I was within the range and brought it back 3 times to get it fixed I was told "the engine light is not on, so it will not throw any codes" therefore nothing was done to my car, which tells me that they just didn't want to look at it.  The engine light is not on now and the shop I have it now  told me "the light will not come on but the computer can override that and get in the transmission to find out what it wrong with it".  I received the call yesterday telling me that the drum and all the clutches are gone inside the transmission.  If it had been rebuilt in the first place the drum and clutches would not go completely out 1 1/2/ years later.   I mean the vehicle will not go into gear at all which left me stranded and I had to have the car towed.  Why would I take my car back to the shop that was orignally suppsosed to fix the problem and then refuse to look at the vehicle when I brought it back 3 times within the warranty range?  I need my vehcile to get to work everyday therefore; I don't have time to waste on my car sitting in a shop for 2 weeks only to be told there's nothing wrong with it, which is what happeneed to me 3 times.  As far as the fluids, not only do I check my fluids in my vehcile every Sunday as routine, when I have my oil changed every 3 months they check all fluids, and as a matter of fact told me that the transmission fluid smelled burnt 6 months after I supposedly had the transmission put in.  I brought it back in to your shop and questioned that and was again nothing was wrong with it.  As far as fullfilling your obligation 9 months ago, your obiligation was never filled because my car was never worked on I believe.   This was a $3700.00 mistake on my part trusting you. 

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: Dear Ms ********, as you well know each time you returned we performed complete diagnostic's checks on your car and there was nothing wrong with the transmission, we road tested it several times and scanned the system for codes. The check engine light was not on, the car performed as it should. It is now almost 2 yrs later and you have a check engine light on and a problem you in your story makes me feel like you dont have a transmission problem at all, its possible the cv shaft is broken its not uncommon on that year make and model.We can only offer to help with what were up against right now and the rest is up to you.The fact that we will stand behind our repair even after our obligation has been met should be important to you because i dont think you will find another repair center that would go so far to help there customer. We all make choices and we wish you the best whatever you choose. Thank you again for your business ! Thank you **** *********  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Obviously you didn't read the complaint ,which doens't suprise me one bit, that states my check engine light is NOT on and wasn't on when I took it to the shop where it is now.  Just as it wasn't on when I brought it to you.  It's amazing you can try to tell me what's wrong with it now when you haven't even driven or seen it.  I have my car back now (after only 4 days, not 3 weeks like you had it) after the drum and clutches were replaced in the transmission and it is running like it's supposed to.  So YES IT WAS A TRANSMISSION PROBLEM!!!!!   And yes I know you drove my car around because #1 I saw the techs in it and #2 it came in with a full tank of gas and left with the gas light on.  And I would hope that you ran diagnostics on it since you kept it for at least 2 weeks every time I brought it back in, which didn't do any good obviously because there was never anything wrong with it according to you.   I would never bring another vehicle back to you to get worked on and I have let EVERYONE I talk to know the experience I have had with your company.  And everytime I mention the name of your company I get the same response "*** ****** **** ***** **** ***** **** *** *******.  And now that I've done some investigating I see where a lot of people have sued probably for the same problems I am having.  I don't see how anyone can live with their selves knowing they are screwing people over.  I know I will never get any compensation for having to replace a transmission that you supposedly replaced 2 years ago, but if I can keep someone else from having to go through this I will be ok.


Regards,

***** ********

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a one year warranty on rebuilder carburator on my 1965 Ford Mustang. Which was put in their Shop on May 19, 2014. I have called several times to make an appointment for Transmission Expert to tow my car in to repair the problem. Their reason was said to me that they didn't have the space to fix on it. Well, I find that odd, because when I initially had I my car repair they took me in the every same day. The shop said that they will call me when they have space to repair my car to bring it in. It's been over an month now and no one has called me to return my car to get it repaired I believe they are just waiting for my warranty to be invalid so that they don't have to honor the one year warranty on the rebuild carburator.

Desired Settlement: Fix my car.

Business Response: Thank you for your concern. We apologize for any inconvenience. We checked our call log and apparently your last name and number got misplaced. Anytime you have a question and or concern you can always call and always ask for a different service writer as we are all here to assist any customer in any way possible. We will contact you soon and make arrangements to have the vehicle towed and checked out. Thank you.

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rode with AAA to deliver my BMW TO TRANSMISSION EXPERTS in the month of September. After a couple of weeks they called and said, "you need a master cylinder for brakes and a fuel pump totaling $700 without this they could not begin to check my transmission. I agreed. On October 2, 2013 they called me and said the transmission repair alone was $3200 not to mention and additional $350 to remove and install the transmission. I went online October 2 and found a transmission certified with warranty for $890. Then, I went to Transmission Expert to check on my car and found my BMW wrecked. They are refusing to repair the damages; busted headlights, smashed hood and driver side fender, the grill and unseen body damages. Now I have to file a suit and my car is still at their shop with the transmission removed. **** SAID, "****** UNFORTUNATELY GA LAW DOES NOT HOLD US RESPONSIBLE". REALLY!!!!!

Desired Settlement: I honestly don't know what to do. Please instruct me. They have disposed of the service order.

Business Response:

****** ** *******
2760 Ga. Hwy 315
Fortson ,GA, 31808

Daytime Phone -     ###-###-####
Evening Phone  -     ###-###-####
Fax                  -    
E-mail              -     *********************

thank you for the concern  mr. ****** *******. our responsibility and liabilities are limited, yes you did bring your vehicle to us for repairs as you have stated, the car is a 1989 model and which has many minor dents and dings. you told us that the vehicle has been sitting up for over a couple years and wanted it checked out so we done what you asked us. Upon inspection the fuel pump was not working  along with the brakes worn out not including transmission problems. we quoted you a price for replacing the pump and repairing the brakes you told us to fix it, so we did. Then we quoted you a price for repairing the transmission and you said you could have it replaced buy a different company for less and we told you if that's what you wanted to do that would be perfectly fine. However we were able to work with you and get the price within your budget so you told us to fix it also. You also told us that you were waiting on your money for the repairs. Now please understand that you are never obligated  to have your car repaired at transmission experts we want our customers to make the best choice for themselves and if for any reason you don't want it fixed by us feel free to have someone else finish the repairs. Your concern about the dented fender and hood yes we noticed it, we share a parking lot with a mini mall, cars come in and out all the time day and night nothing we can do about that and its open to the public any one could hit your car and never stop unfortunately there  are people like that. Its better to have full coverage insurance on your car if you have to leave it any where, just in case something happens. Now we told you that we would help you with the hood and fender since you don't have full coverage and we have located a good fender and hood which we will put on . I hope that this will be helpful and resolve this issue. thank you

6/10/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Transmission Experts rebuild my transmission on my SUV. They took a long time to repair it and when it was finished I had to take it back because it was leaking. I understand sometimes this happens but I had to take it back again for the some reason a few days later. **** the salesman was helpful but then got rude when I return to get it fixed like I owed them something. I'm in the military I moved from the area I had a warranty for 36,000 miles or one year which ever came first. My SUV broke down in Texas where I moved. I called them told them my problem they said they will get back with me but I had to call the next day to get answers. I told them my warranty was still good since the vehicle did not pass the mileage or over the year mark. **** the salesman told me that my warranty was local but was not mark on my warranty and would not honor it since I was not in town. I just wanted my transmission fixed by them instead I had to pay another company to fix it. What good is a warranty if you don't honor it. I would not recommend this company to any military or civilian people since they don't do their jobs correctly.

Desired Settlement: I want some money back but not all.

Business Response:

hello mr. ****** *****, sorry youve been inconvenienced on your issues with your vehicle.  for starters lets just say that your vehicle was brought in on february 13 and released back to you ready to go on february 14, as is stated on the repair order which i will provide a copy of to our local BBB, so i dont see how it took a long time but ok.  also i dont have a record of you bringing it back for a leak, when you did bring it back you had a tire light on but that was on since you brought the vehicle to us. i also do not believe **** was rude to you at all "like" we owed you somehing, if anything we owe our customers for keeping us in business. also we do not offer a one (1) year 36,000 mile warranty which does state columbus ga only, and i will provide a copy of as well. **** never told you that and never would, and you signed your name to the agreement that we provided for you. if we have any issues relating to warranty or repairs or faulty parts we always uphold our warranty agreements and honor our warranty statement.  leaks can and do develop at any time, but unfortunately you only have a local warranty and you have exceeded your warranty by the months and the miles according to the conversation we had 3 weeks ago. we do uphold our warranty agreements and an agreement is an agreement. thank you for your time and your business.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

****** *****


 

 When I call and told **** it was under warranty. You can spin it any way you want it but I'm telling the truth. Thanks for horrible service!!!!

5/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service