BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
East AL, West & Southwest GA

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Transmission Experts meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Transmission Experts include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 15, 2005 Business started: 04/04/1996 in GA Business started locally: 04/04/1996
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Dicesaris, Owner Mr. Jon Dicesaris, Gen. Mgr.
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jon Dicesaris, Gen. Mgr.
Principal: Mr. Thomas Dicesaris, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile

Products & Services

Transmission Experts offers the following product(s): Transmission and Auto Repair

Industry Tips
Transmissions, Automatic

Additional Locations

  • 5870 Veterans Pkwy Ste J

    Columbus, GA 31909 (706) 561-8993

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a one year warranty on rebuilder carburator on my 1965 Ford Mustang. Which was put in their Shop on May 19, 2014. I have called several times to make an appointment for Transmission Expert to tow my car in to repair the problem. Their reason was said to me that they didn't have the space to fix on it. Well, I find that odd, because when I initially had I my car repair they took me in the every same day. The shop said that they will call me when they have space to repair my car to bring it in. It's been over an month now and no one has called me to return my car to get it repaired I believe they are just waiting for my warranty to be invalid so that they don't have to honor the one year warranty on the rebuild carburator.

Desired Settlement: Fix my car.

Business Response: Thank you for your concern. We apologize for any inconvenience. We checked our call log and apparently your last name and number got misplaced. Anytime you have a question and or concern you can always call and always ask for a different service writer as we are all here to assist any customer in any way possible. We will contact you soon and make arrangements to have the vehicle towed and checked out. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rode with AAA to deliver my BMW TO TRANSMISSION EXPERTS in the month of September. After a couple of weeks they called and said, "you need a master cylinder for brakes and a fuel pump totaling $700 without this they could not begin to check my transmission. I agreed. On October 2, 2013 they called me and said the transmission repair alone was $3200 not to mention and additional $350 to remove and install the transmission. I went online October 2 and found a transmission certified with warranty for $890. Then, I went to Transmission Expert to check on my car and found my BMW wrecked. They are refusing to repair the damages; busted headlights, smashed hood and driver side fender, the grill and unseen body damages. Now I have to file a suit and my car is still at their shop with the transmission removed. **** SAID, "****** UNFORTUNATELY GA LAW DOES NOT HOLD US RESPONSIBLE". REALLY!!!!!

Desired Settlement: I honestly don't know what to do. Please instruct me. They have disposed of the service order.

Business Response:

****** ** *******
2760 Ga. Hwy 315
Fortson ,GA, 31808

Daytime Phone -     ###-###-####
Evening Phone  -     ###-###-####
Fax                  -    
E-mail              -     *********************

thank you for the concern  mr. ****** *******. our responsibility and liabilities are limited, yes you did bring your vehicle to us for repairs as you have stated, the car is a 1989 model and which has many minor dents and dings. you told us that the vehicle has been sitting up for over a couple years and wanted it checked out so we done what you asked us. Upon inspection the fuel pump was not working  along with the brakes worn out not including transmission problems. we quoted you a price for replacing the pump and repairing the brakes you told us to fix it, so we did. Then we quoted you a price for repairing the transmission and you said you could have it replaced buy a different company for less and we told you if that's what you wanted to do that would be perfectly fine. However we were able to work with you and get the price within your budget so you told us to fix it also. You also told us that you were waiting on your money for the repairs. Now please understand that you are never obligated  to have your car repaired at transmission experts we want our customers to make the best choice for themselves and if for any reason you don't want it fixed by us feel free to have someone else finish the repairs. Your concern about the dented fender and hood yes we noticed it, we share a parking lot with a mini mall, cars come in and out all the time day and night nothing we can do about that and its open to the public any one could hit your car and never stop unfortunately there  are people like that. Its better to have full coverage insurance on your car if you have to leave it any where, just in case something happens. Now we told you that we would help you with the hood and fender since you don't have full coverage and we have located a good fender and hood which we will put on . I hope that this will be helpful and resolve this issue. thank you

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/10/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Transmission Experts rebuild my transmission on my SUV. They took a long time to repair it and when it was finished I had to take it back because it was leaking. I understand sometimes this happens but I had to take it back again for the some reason a few days later. **** the salesman was helpful but then got rude when I return to get it fixed like I owed them something. I'm in the military I moved from the area I had a warranty for 36,000 miles or one year which ever came first. My SUV broke down in Texas where I moved. I called them told them my problem they said they will get back with me but I had to call the next day to get answers. I told them my warranty was still good since the vehicle did not pass the mileage or over the year mark. **** the salesman told me that my warranty was local but was not mark on my warranty and would not honor it since I was not in town. I just wanted my transmission fixed by them instead I had to pay another company to fix it. What good is a warranty if you don't honor it. I would not recommend this company to any military or civilian people since they don't do their jobs correctly.

Desired Settlement: I want some money back but not all.

Business Response:

hello mr. ****** *****, sorry youve been inconvenienced on your issues with your vehicle.  for starters lets just say that your vehicle was brought in on february 13 and released back to you ready to go on february 14, as is stated on the repair order which i will provide a copy of to our local BBB, so i dont see how it took a long time but ok.  also i dont have a record of you bringing it back for a leak, when you did bring it back you had a tire light on but that was on since you brought the vehicle to us. i also do not believe **** was rude to you at all "like" we owed you somehing, if anything we owe our customers for keeping us in business. also we do not offer a one (1) year 36,000 mile warranty which does state columbus ga only, and i will provide a copy of as well. **** never told you that and never would, and you signed your name to the agreement that we provided for you. if we have any issues relating to warranty or repairs or faulty parts we always uphold our warranty agreements and honor our warranty statement.  leaks can and do develop at any time, but unfortunately you only have a local warranty and you have exceeded your warranty by the months and the miles according to the conversation we had 3 weeks ago. we do uphold our warranty agreements and an agreement is an agreement. thank you for your time and your business.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

****** *****


 

 When I call and told **** it was under warranty. You can spin it any way you want it but I'm telling the truth. Thanks for horrible service!!!!

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/28/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/13/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service