BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
East AL, West & Southwest GA

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers medical services as well as occupational medicine services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Acute Care Express meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Acute Care Express include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 09, 2002 Business started: 08/01/1996 in GA Business started locally: 08/01/1996 Business incorporated: 08/01/1996 in GA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

STATE (GA) BOARD-MEDICAL
#2 Peachtree St 6th Floor, Atlanta GA 30303
Phone Number: 404-656-3914

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Shannon Folds, Business Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Shannon Folds, Business Office Manager
Business Category

Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D. Physicians & Surgeons - Family Practice Clinics Clinics

Products & Services

Acute Care Express offers the following product(s): Walk in medical care, occupational medicine

Alternate Business Names
Team Health, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 7901 Veterans Pkwy

    Columbus, GA 31909 (706) 321-1223

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have visited this Acute Center several times this year and am pleased with their service from their P.A.'s, but not their clerical and billing department. They always collect the $40.00 copay even though my insurance paid the whole bill. They show a credit from my visits but are not able to give it to me, some excuse of their computer system doesn't allow refunds and credits. They always have some reason, I try to contact their new business office and can't get anywhere. I don't know if this is a scam or that their billing office and auditing is that awful. The lady was so rude about it and stated that the insurance required a $40.00 copay. I had to pay it in order to see the P.A.

Desired Settlement: I would like the money that I have paid to be refunded since my insurance by the E.O.B. paid it in full.

Business Response:

January 16, 2014

Better Business Bureau 

************************


Re: Case # *******


To Whom it May Concern, 

This letter is in response to the above mentioned case, complaint about our receptionist collecting a $40

copay when the patient presented for treatment.


The patient had insurance with BCBS. The benefits we verified were that the Urgent Care copay is $40. BCBS would not provide that to me in writing. They prefer the patient call their office for verification that the copay for Urgent Care was, in fact, $40. BCBS can be reached at ###-###-####.


Please allow me to clarify, when the patient presents for treatment, we are obligated to collect a $40 copay based on our agreement with BCBS. The fact that she had a credit from a previous visit does complicate the issue, however; we are not wrong in collecting a copay at the time of the visit.


This patient has a $40 credit from a previous visit that the receptionist did not communicate to me. The patient is correct, she is due a refund that will be processed in the next week and mailed to her.


Our billing office is in transition from local to corporate, however; I continue to take calls locally.

I am not clear what number the patient has to "contact their new business office”. ACE does not have a new or different telephone number for Billing other than the same published numbers we have had here for more than ten years.


Respectfully,


**** ***

Finance Coor.

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *******


 

 

3/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
2/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service