BBB Accredited Business since

Paragon Benefits Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (706) 327-9218 Fax: (706) 571-9955 6065 Business Park Dr, Columbus, GA 31909 http://www.paragonbenefits.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers administrative services to self-insured employee health benefit plans, including payment of claims, eligibility verification and premium collection.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Paragon Benefits Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Paragon Benefits Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Paragon Benefits Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 1990 Business started: 05/12/1987 in GA Business started locally: 05/12/1987 Business incorporated 05/12/1987 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Nancy Dorris, EVP, COO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nancy Dorris, EVP, COO
Business Category

Insurance - Employee Benefits Insurance Services Health Care Management

Products & Services

Paragon Benefits Inc. offers the following product(s): Management and guidance for self-funded health care plans.

Industry Tips
Insurance

Additional Locations

  • 6065 Business Park Dr

    Columbus, GA 31909

  • PO Box 12288

    Columbus, GA 31917

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paragon Benefits, a prior flex benefit and health insurance administrator for my employer, TSYS, had a rogue former employee steal the identities, including address, date of birth, and social security number, of 5000 TSYS employees, mine included. Paragon has showed neglect obviously in it's prior client record safekeeping.

Desired Settlement: A 7 year subscription to LifeLock paid by Paragon Benefits.

Business Response:
Date: Tue, Nov 26, 2013 at 12:42 PM
Subject: response to complaint # *******


At the time of this incident, Paragon was (and is) under contract with TSYS to provide health plan administration services through December 31, 2013.  We take very seriously our obligation to protect the security and confidentiality of our current ( and prior) clients, and appropriate protections were in place when this incident occurred. We have detailed training procedures and information security policies in place.  The employee, who has been charged with a crime, violated these policies.  Paragon has reviewed our procedures with all employees to ensure we continue to provide the best possible information security.

 

Paragon is working with TSYS to provide one year of comprehensive ID protection through the Equifax ID Patrol program.  This protection may be extended on a case-by-case basis if circumstances warrant.

 

 

 

***** ** ****** | Executive Vice President| Paragon Benefits, Inc.

###-###-#### | Direct: ###-###-#### Ext. ****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regarding the perpetrator who stole my personal information, if Paragon Benefits can vouch that the individual charged with the crime has not sold my personal informtion to the highest bidder, then I will be satisfied with the 1 year protection plan.  If that information is not known or can't be found out, then I'd like the protection extended long term. 

Regards,

****** ******


 

 

Business Response:

 

To Paragon’s knowledge,  there is no evidence that the stolen information has been sold or otherwise transmitted in any way by the person who stole it.  Paragon  is cooperating with federal authorities to make sure that this incident is thoroughly investigated but that investigation is ongoing and the authorities have not released any information to us.   As indicated in our earlier response, we are working with TSYS to provide credit protection to affected individuals and we will continue to do so.

 

 

 

***** ** ******

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Earlier in September an employee of Paragon Benefits Inc "stole a file that contained personal information of a number of TSYS U.S.-based team members and sent it to his personal email account." The file included names, addresses, birth dates and social security numbers. I am angry that it took 15 days to be notified of the theft. I am angry that it was my responsibility to report the theft to the IRS and to Equifax.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to see a change in the system. Paragon Benefits Inc should have made the theft known sooner. Paragon Benefits should be required to inform the IRS and credit bureau of the theft as soon as it is discovered. What can be done? My personal information has been stolen.

Business Response:
Date: Tue, Nov 26, 2013 at 12:43 PM
Subject: Response to complaint # *******


Paragon takes very seriously its obligation to protect the security and confidentiality of its clients’ information.  We notified TSYS the day after this theft was discovered and continued to work with TSYS over the next several days to verify the facts of the incident and the identities of the employees affected.  Under these circumstances, it is important to make sure that all of these facts are known before providing notification.  When dealing with data theft issues, federal law is clear on notification  responsibilities and timing.  We can assure you that in this instance, both Paragon and TSYS met these obligations.  We acknowledge and regret the inconvenience to employees of having to report the incident to the IRS and to the credit protection service, but both the IRS and Equifax require the affected person to activate the identity and credit protections they offer.  This is intended to protect the affected person.  Even if the IRS or Equifax would allow Paragon to activate these accounts, Paragon would have been required to get written authorization from each affected employee before it could have provided the necessary information to the IRS and Equifax, and this would have delayed the protection process significantly.

 

 

 

***** ** ****** | Executive Vice President| Paragon Benefits, Inc.

###-###-#### | Direct: ###-###-#### Ext. ****