BBB Accredited Business since

Georgia Power Company-Albany Region

Phone: (229) 436-0336 Fax: (229) 889-5240 101 Georgia Power Rd, Albany, GA 31701

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Georgia Power Company-Albany Region meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Georgia Power Company-Albany Region
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 30, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1930 in GA Business started locally: 01/01/1930
Type of Entity

Public Utilities

Business Management
Mr. Jay Smith, Area Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jay Smith, Area Manager
Related Businesses
Georgia Power Company-Albany Region Georgia Power Company-Dawson
Business Category

Electric Companies

Products & Services

Georgia Power Company-Albany Region sells the following brand(s): Georgia Power

Georgia Power Company-Albany Region offers the following product(s): Electricity

Service Area
Georgia Power Company Albany service area includes the following: Arlington, Cuthbert, Dawson, Edison and Ft. Gaines.

Additional Locations

  • 101 Georgia Power Rd

    Albany, GA 31701 (229) 436-0336


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I had Georgia Power but moved to ******* a little over 3 months ago now and have yet to recieve our deposit back of $101.80 . Since we had not found an apt before we moved up here wehad it sent to my fathers address in ********* ** . They explained to us in the beginning that it would take 30-45 days for processing to recieve it but after 2 months he still had not got it i called and cancled the check and had another one sent to a po box we had set up in ****** ** on June 9th , though our address has changes all of our mail has been forwarded to our new address and still no check . I have been very patient and civil with them till this last call when they said that I could cancel it and have it sent to our address instead of the po box but it would take another 30-45 days for that to happen and the guy that I talked to in the beginning seemed to have no knowledge of the change of address when I had call about two weeks prior and the person that I talked to at that point said that the check had been shipped out already . My dads address is a very stable address and to have the check supposedly lost twice in the mail sounds very fishy to me . I dont see why with how long I have waited over three months now that when I talked to a supperviser and yes maybe got a little angry why they couldnt fix it right then instead of telling me I would have to wait another month or more am I breaking them or do they feel above the law to give people their money back?

Desired Settlement: I just want our deposit back and if they need to change their policies around a little bit so that this doesnt happen to anyone else that would be great to

Business Response:

Georgia Power Company's Revenue Accounting Dept. took the action of stopping the payment for the old refund check, the stop was verified, & that check voided.  A newly reissued check was created.  The new check will print and be mailed out in the morning Thursday, July 30, 2015 for the customer below.


                ***** ******* *****                 ******** * * *** ***                                    ******* ** *****                ******** ***********                ****** ******* *******


We apologize for the inconvenience this customer experienced.


*** *****

Georgia Power Company

Area Manager - Albany



Cc: **** **************

Customer Service Supervisor - Albany


Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.
The only issue I have with this is that p.o. box was closed and mail is being forwarded to my home which I gave them and am worried that it has been closed for so long that it wont get forwarded , what do I do should I contact them again and give them the new address or will you contact them I don't understand why they don't have my new address on file I gave it to them last time.

****** *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Georgia Power Company-Albany Region
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)