BBB Business Review

Text Sizesmall medium large

This business is not BBB accredited.

The Money Tree of Georgia

Phone: (229) 377-2129 Fax: (229) 377-2166 View Additional Phone Numbers 9 S Broad St, Cairo, GA 39828 http://www.themoneytreeinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers consumer loans and financial services and used automobile sales through a subsidiary.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Money Tree of Georgia include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • No complaints filed with BBB


Customer Complaints Summary

0 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 0

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Money Tree of Georgia
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 22, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1973
Business Management
Mr. Derek Martin, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Derek Martin, Vice President
Business Category

Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Financial Services Auto Dealers - Used Cars Telephone Pre-Paid Card Sales & Distribution Road Service - Automotive

Alternate Business Names
Money Tree of Georgia, Inc.
Government Action

On December 19th, 2011 the BBB recieved the following notification from the company.



The Money Tree Inc. Announces Voluntary Filing for a Plan of Reorganization
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Bainbridge, Georgia, December 19, 2011 - - The Board of Directors of The Money Tree Inc. (the "Company" or "The Money Tree") announced that the Company and certain of its subsidiaries have filed a voluntary petition for relief under Chapter 11 of the U.S. Bankruptcy Code in the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Middle District of Alabama. The Company will continue to operate its business as a debtor-in-possession.
As with nearly all consumer lenders throughout the country, The Money Tree has been impacted greatly by the financial collapse and continued related economic downturn. Many of The Money Tree's customers are unable to pay their obligations when due, which, along with the losses created by these troubled loans, increased governmental regulations and increased investor redemptions, placed increased pressure on The Money Tree's liquidity and financial position.
The Money Tree retained Warren, Averett, Kimbrough & Marino, LLC, a Birmingham, Alabama-based accounting and financial consulting firm, as an advisor to guide the restructuring and began implementing a series of cost-cutting measures, including the merging of marginally-profitable branches, from 92 to 46 branches, which the Company intends to continue as part of its reorganization.
Bradley D. Bellville, the Company's President, commented "It is with great regret that we made the Chapter 11 filing late Friday. However, this filing allows The Money Tree to enhance its short-term liquidity while we confront this historically difficult environment for our business. We tirelessly pursued many different potential solutions to the challenges facing the Company. We have done everything possible to try and protect the integrity of our investors and the Company." He added "We will continue to focus on our core business and restructuring The Money Tree to fully realize our long-term strategy. We want to thank our customers, investors and employees for their loyalty, support and continued patience. We remain very proud of our contributions to our communities. In particular, we look forward to continuing our strong relationship with Decatur County and the surrounding area."
The Company's subsidiary, Best Buy Autos of Bainbridge Inc., is not a party to the bankruptcy filing and intends to operate its business in the ordinary course.
Safe Harbor Statement under the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995
Certain of the foregoing information contains forward-looking statements that relate to future events or the Company’s future financial performance. These statements involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors which may cause the Company’s actual results, performance or achievements to be materially different from any future results, performances or achievements expressed or implied by the forward-looking statements. In some cases, you can identify forward-looking statements by terminology such as "may," "will," "should," "expects," "plans," "anticipates," "believes," "estimates," "predicts," "potential," "continue," or the negative of such terms or other comparable terminology. These forward-looking statements include, but are not limited to, statements about the Company’s plans, objectives, goals, expectations and intentions, the timing and outcomes of court proceedings, lender negotiations, regulatory approval processes or administrative proceedings and other statements contained herein that are not historical facts.

Industry Tips
Investments Service Contracts Used Cars-(Georgia) Buyer's Rights
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.