BBB Accredited Business since

Growing Room

Additional Locations

Phone: (706) 596-1510 7270 N Lake Dr, Columbus, GA 31909 View Additional Email Addresses http://growingroomusa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Growing Room meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Growing Room include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Growing Room
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 11, 1989 Business started: 06/01/1988 in GA Business started locally: 06/01/1988 Business incorporated 06/01/1988 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sheree Mitchell, C.E.O. Mr. Daniel J Adelstein, Senior Vice President blank Director, Growing Room Too blank Director Growing Room blank Director Growing Room Christian Academy Mr. William P. Mitchell, C.F.O.
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sheree Mitchell, C.E.O.
Related Businesses
Growing Room
Business Category

Child Care Centers

Products & Services

Growing Room offers the following product(s): Child Care

Alternate Business Names
Growing Room Child Development Centers Growing Room Christian Academy Growing Room, Too
Industry Tips
Child Care Services

Additional Locations

  • 1200 Manchester Expy

    Columbus, GA 31904 (706) 596-1234

  • 6110 Bradley Park Dr

    Columbus, GA 31904 (706) 653-0088

  • 7270 N Lake Dr

    Columbus, GA 31909 (706) 596-1510

  • 7572 Kayne Blvd

    Columbus, GA 31909 (706) 221-3248

  • PO Box 4216

    Columbus, GA 31914

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We enrolled my daughter in Growing Room Too bc we thought it would be a good daycare. We were wrong!!! The second week my daughter was there the teacher "accidentally" hit my daughter in the head with a chair. She didn't tell us or put a note in my daughter's folder or anything. I got home and the first thing I see when I looked at my child was a big knot on her forehead. It started to bruise. We asked my daughter how she got the knot and she said her teacher said I'm sorry and she was pointing at the bottom of a chair. I immediately called the school to see if they could tell me what happened and they said no the teacher didn't tell them anything. So we took my daughter to the doctor. Luckily she will be ok but the next day we went to the school I asked the director if she could tell me what happened and she said she would look at the cameras and call me and also do an incident report. I said ok and next time can you let me know when something happens to my child. I went in the class room and asked the teacher what happened. She said she was moving the chair and my daughter supposedly walked into the chair. She said she didn't tell us bc they didn't see a bruise. How could you not see that big knot on her head? I didn't get upset until I tried to speak with the director again to see if she reviewed the camera. She was suppose to call me back I ended up calling her and she said her screen wasn't working so she couldn't look at it. She said someone from the corporate office would have to come fix it. That was the first issue bc I never heard from her again. I called corporate and they apologized and said they would have her call me well I'm still waiting for that. Corporate also promised me they would give me an incident report and review the cameras and I have been told their cameras erase after two weeks so they couldn't review it. It makes me feel like they are covering something up. I trusted them to watch my daughter. Also the teacher had a horrible attitude toward us.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my money back that was paid for that week. My daughter was hit on Monday 2/2 and Wed 2/4 was the last day she went there. I will be continuing my complaint and reporting them every way possible.

Business Response:

Unfortunately, there was an accident at the center.  We have spoken to Ms. ****** and apologized profusely.  We have also waived her two week notice and refunded her for her child's last week of childcare.  Accidents do happen, but we do understand that our staff could have communicated better.  We had met her desired settlement stated here prior to receiving this complaint.  Please feel free to contact me if you have any additional questions or concerns.


Sincerely,

******** ******

COO

Growing Room Child Development Centers

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
This was not resolved before I contacted the better business bureau. Also even if it was I still have a right to let others know what happened to my child at Growing Room too. My issue was not resolved because we never were able to see what actually happened since we were told the tapes erase after a certain time. The amount of time that passed was not my fault. I waited for a call back and never got one so I called back and was told ******** was out and the person would give her my message. After that I still didn't hear anything back until I called again the following week and it was at that time I was told the tapes erase so there's no way to see what happened. I had also questioned another day bc the teacher had an attitude towards me and my child. We couldn't get any info on that either. Yes I received the refund for that week as I should have and I need the rest of my money back. We paid a registration fee and book fee. We paid that and the other week and my child was only there for a total of 5 or 6 six days. I want my money back. We are no longer using your facility as a result of the negligence of the teacher and the director. I still never heard anything back from the director which tells me the kind of person she is. How can she be in charge of a building full of children and not communicate with parents? This situation could have been fatal and I thank God that it wasn't. I hope they learned from this and no one else's child will have to go through this. Yes I understand accidents do happen but when they do you have a duty to inform the parents and this is not something new to you or anyone else who works in childcare. Also to be brushed off by the director like this is not good business so people need to be informed. This really shows a lot about her character.


Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: The day that this customer called our corporate office I spoke to her.  She did not have to wait a week for me or anyone from our corporate office to call her.  Also, that same day, the director of the center tried to reach this customer, but was unable to.  She said that when she called her, that someone picked up the phone but would not respond when our director said hello, three times.  We do understand her concern about the accident that happened with her child, which is why she was refunded a full week of childcare (including days that her child had attended) and her two week notice was waived.  Unfortunately, our camera system was having technical issues at the time of the accident, however I went to the center myself to try to resolve the technical issues and found that the footage was still there but very blurry and therefore I was unable to see what was going on in the classroom.  I did communicate that information to the customer.  We have since had the camera system professionally repaired.  After speaking with the customer she went by the center to pick up her child's belongings including her Abeka Books.  We feel like we have been fair by refunding the last week of childcare and waiving the two week notice and we are not prepared to refund any other money to this customer.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I can not believe you all have posted this big lie on this website. The director never tried to contact me. Not once! The last time I talked to the director was either the day before my daughter's last day or the following day and I called her. She never tried to call me and I'm really upset that you all would lie like this. Even after I was told by someone at the corporate office that they would have her call me, she didn't  call.  I didn't get any books. I went there on a Friday the same day I spoke with ******** at the corporate office and got my daughter's blanket, sheet and folder and her tylenol that was at the front desk. There was one child in the room and a teacher was mopping the floor. I want my money and at this point I want an apology for the lie that has been told. Do not insult my intelligence. Show me proof where she called me. Would you like to see my cell phone records? She knows the correct number to reach me on bc they called me when my child was sick. This is unacceptable. I want my money bc I had no choice but to withdraw my daughter and put her in another daycare. There is no way I could keep her there  with people like this in charge. You are not trustworthy at all. Growing room is at fault and blame that loss on your employee and the director. I will see to it that my money will be refunded to me. Also I'll be glad to provide you with my phone record so you can see what kind of person works there that would lie like this.  

Regards,

****** ******

3/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In early 2012, my daughter stopped attending day care at the Growing Room at the Bradley Park Drive location. Several weeks after my daughters last day, a Growing Room employee, ******** ********, began leaving rude voicemails and emails concerning past due tuition from the last month my daughter attended. After repeatedly calling the Growing Room corporate office to resolve the tuition debt, we were assured through an email from ******** ******** that she received a payment of $82 and that we owed another $70. We disputed the $70 charge because it was comprised solely of late fees. In a telephone conversation with ******** ********, she assured us that the account was paid in full and the late fees were a misunderstanding as to when the payment had to be submitted by. We did not hear from the Growing Room again until yesterday, February 2014, over one year later, when we received a letter from a law firm representing the Growing Room and demanding a payment of $150 plus interest for unpaid tuition. The letter from the law firm was an obvious attempt to intimidate us into paying a "debt" with no supporting documentation or statements showing why we owed money. The Growing Room, and ******** ******** in particular, assured us our account was in good standing and did not contact us for over year before demanding another payment of $150. I have email correspondence and notes showing that we made several payments to Growing Room after my daughter stopped attending in order to close pay off and close the account. I would not have stopped pursuing the situation if I didn't receive a verbal assurance that the account was in good standing.

Desired Settlement: I would like Growing Room to contact me and resolve this matter immediately by clearing my account of any balance due. Growing Room should employ better employees in the future who aren't rude and actually follow through with assurances given to customers.

Business Response:

I was notified today of a complaint at the Better Business Bureau about an account that was recently sent to our collection attorney. This account was from 2012 and references a balance due.

 

There have been numerous emails and calls made regarding this account with the family. The details are listed in chronological order below.

 

On September 6, 2012 the account received a credit from NACCRRA. The final billing amount due was $152.57.

 

On September 13, 2012, an email was sent to both mom and dad giving them a final statement of the account.

 

On September 21, 2012, the dad advised our collection manager that he thought the grandfather had paid the balance due.

 

On September 26, 2012, the grandfather called and advised our collection manager he would be the one to settle the account. He was sent a statement, the late fee schedule and late payment policy. He asked for half of the late fees to be removed from the account, and he would pay the balance in full. Our office determined the late fees were due and payable.

 On October 19, 2012, the grandfather paid $82.57. The remaining balance was $70. 

 

On October 26, 2012 both parents and the grandfather were sent an email asking for the next payment date.

 

On November 7, 2012 the grandfather advised he had no electricity or internet due to Hurricane Sandy, and that he would pay the remaining balance as soon as this was restored. No additional communication was received from the grandfather.
 

In January 2013, a statement was sent to the parent advising him the balance wasn't paid. We received no additional communication.

In December 2013, the account was removed from our in-house collections and sent to our attorney for collections.

 

We realize it has been one year, however according to our records, this balance is due and payable.

 

Thank you