BBB Accredited Business since

TR Motors

Phone: (334) 741-1000 Fax: (334) 741-1004 504 S 6th St, Opelika, AL 36801 http://www.trmotors.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TR Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for TR Motors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on TR Motors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 30, 1998 Business started: 09/01/1996 in GA Business started locally: 09/01/1996 Business incorporated 09/01/1996 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Terry Ratliff, C.E.O. Mr. Gene Tucker, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Terry Ratliff, C.E.O.
Customer Contact: Mr. Gene Tucker, GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

TR Motors offers the following product(s): Auto's - Used

Alternate Business Names
T R Group, Inc.
Industry Tips
Service Contracts Used Cars-(Georgia) Buyer's Rights

Additional Locations

  • 504 S 6th St

    Opelika, AL 36801 (334) 741-1000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put a big down payment on a 2008 Tahoe hybrid the next day it broke down. They were nice enough to give me a loaner, after 3 lemon vans I got a loaner. I purchased a ** warranty that doesn't fix anything. Well since December 21 2015 I've had my Tahoe a total of 3 days. The guy in the service dept at Glynn Smith told them that they should trade me out. I even offered to give them another $1000 down to trade me out. I have 5 kids and no vehicle. **** won't even get on the phone and talk to me and when I call up there I get the run around. This vehicle should be scrapped and they don't want to do anything to help me out.

Desired Settlement: I just want a good running 3rd row vehicle to fit the needs of my family or my money back and I'll go elsewhere.

Business Response:

I am sorry Mrs. ******** has had troubles with her vehicle. We have been in business for 30 years and don't like to have trouble. I just wish she had told the whole story. Mrs. ******** did put down a large down payment and we financed her with Tefco Payment Center. She purchased on 12/23/2015 not 12/21/2015 as stated. Also, when she had a problem with her Tahoe she notified us the next day and we got it to Downtown Tire and Auto in Opelika. After having it there it was sent to Glynn Smith for repairs. It took several days to be diagnosed because the problem would not re-occur. After finally finding the problem they called the limited warranty company and found out that the Hybrid system was not covered. She stated that she purchased a warranty but this warranty was given to her by T. R. Motors. There are no documents showing that she had to pay for this warranty. At the time that the problem was diagnosed, I, **** ******, authorized Glynn Smith to make the needed repairs and the cost was covered by T. R. Motors. The price paid out was $1350.67. Mrs. ******** was not required to pay any of this cost. While her vehicle was being repaired we furnished her with a 2012 Chrysler Town & Country Ltd van that was super nice to drive so that she would not be too inconvenienced.

She was so upset with us that she brought her husband ***** back to T. R. Motors to purchase a truck on 1/8/2016. We paid Glynn Smith for the repairs to her vehicle on 1/19/2016. She did call later and said it was doing the same thing again. I asked her to take it back to Glynn Smith since we had paid for it to be fixed. I offered to loan her another vehicle but she refused saying that it was too small. It was a van that would hold as many passengers as the previously loaned van and just as nice. The next thing I knew was that she was upset and just left. I spoke with her husband and he said that he would talk with her and get her calmed down. The next time I saw her she was in a loaner car that she said was provided by Glynn Smith to use while her vehicle was being repaired for the same issue.  That is the last time I spoke with Mrs. ********. I did not know the vehicle was still there until I received this complaint.  I am not saying whether or not I could trade since this is a recent purchase but if she wanted to talk with me about doing so she knows where my office is. I am sorry for her inconvenience and troubles.

 

Sincerely,

**** ******

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on TR Motors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)