This business is not BBB accredited.

Carl Gregory Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep

Phone: (229) 883-1700 Fax: (706) 243-7268 701 E Oglethorpe Blvd, Albany, GA 31705 http://www.carlgregorychryslerdodgejeepofalbany.com/ ! There is an alert on Carl Gregory Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Carl Gregory Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 1992 Business started: 04/01/1991 in GA Business started locally: 04/01/1991 Business incorporated 04/01/1991 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason Gregory, President Mr. Robert Stevens, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Gregory, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Carl Gregory Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep offers the following product(s): Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, & Hyundai

Out of Business

on November 10, 2015 Carl Gregory sold all dealerships to AutoNation.

Industry Tips
Lemon Law-Georgia New Motor Vehicle New Cars Service Contracts Used Cars-(Georgia) Buyer's Rights

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    701 E Oglethorpe Blvd

    Albany, GA 31705 (229) 883-1700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAVE A WARRENTY CANCELLATION WHICH I SUBMITTED NOV 07,2015. I WAS TOLD BY THE GENERAL MANAGER BO THAT IT WOULD GET TAKEN CARE OF AND HE SIGN ON MY PAPERWORK THAT SINCE MY HUSBAND IS MILITARY AND WE ARE IN PROCESS OF GETTING STATION ELSEWHERE THEY WOULD EXPIDITE MY REFUND BEFORE WE LEAVE DEC 10,2015. I HAVE MADE SEVERAL CALLS AND SPOKEN WITH SEVERAL PEOPLE TO INCLUDE *** AT HONDA FOR AUTONATION AND SENT EMAILS. I KEEP GETTING THE RUN AROUND AND NO ONE IS CALLING BACK AND THE NUMBERS I HAVE BEEN GIVEN ARE NOT IN SERVICE OR IS JUST AN AUTOMATED MESSEGE AND GETS ME TO NO ONE.

Desired Settlement: I AM EXPECTING THAT MY REFUND FOR WARRENTY GETS PROCESSED IMMEDIATELY JUST AS PROMISED BY THE GENERAL MANAGER, BO BEFORE WE LEAVE GEORGIA WHICH IS BEFORE DEC 10, 2015

Business Response:

Please be advised I have contacted the customer regarding her extended service contract cancellation.  The cancellation has been processed and the check was mailed, but to the incorrect address.  When I spoke withMs. ***** she informed me she had already spoken with someone at the dealership and the check had been sent out again to her correct address but she had not yet received it.  I asked her to please let us know if she did not receive it within the next couple days.

It seems Ms. ***** was expecting a larger refund than what she is getting.  Her service agreement was only for 24 months or 24,000 miles and she was close to the end of the terms.  Ms. ***** expressed to me she thought the agreement was for a longer period and she requested a copy of the agreement.  I left Ms. ***** a message to let her know she could pick up a copy of the extended service agreement as well as an odometer statement that she also requested. 

Should Ms. ***** have questions or need additional information, we will be glad to assist her.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]
I've attemptedto make further contact with no avail. The check was supposedly mailed out a week and a half ago and let her know it still has not arrived. I did call left a message but no response has been received and I left several numbers at which I am available to ensure contact.
Regards,

********* *****

11/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Carly Gregory (Albany) said they fixed my car and when I left the Carl Gregory dealership not even 10 mins away in the drive threw at ******** restaurant my car starts back smoking and shut off completely in the drive threw line, so I called for roadside service. ******** called a towing company as well they came first, so they say I owe them for towing my car but Carly Gregory owe them because my car wasn't fixed and its still under warranty. I called to resolved this issue but the General Manager said they couldn't do anything about that.

Business Response:

Please be advised the customer contacted our Service Department when her vehicle shut off at ********.  She was advised by our Service Advisor to call roadside assistance, which is covered under her warranty, to have the vehicle towed to our dealership.  The Service Advisor went and picked Ms. ***** up and drove her back to the dealership where she was provided alternate transportation.  Apparently Ms. ***** did not inform management at ******** that roadside assistance was on the way and they had the vehicle towed to an impound lot. 

We have advised Ms. ***** she will need to get the vehicle out of impound and have it towed to the dealership but we are not responsible for the towing.  She will need to contact Chrysler to see if they would be willing to reimburse her for these charges.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.  I ask that you please close your file accordingly.

   

10/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing you today in order to seek a resolution to a problem that I am having with Carl Gregory (Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep) in Albany, GA. I am a retired disabled veteran (80% disabled) and recently I purchased a 2015 Dodge Ram 1500 from the owner/GM of Carl Gregory, Mr. ****** ******* on July 29th, 2015. My association with Mr. ******* is: he is a “friend of a friend,” who will be able to get me the truck I want. Mr. ******* contacted me on the July 28th after hearing that I was interested in a new truck. The conditions of the purchase of my new truck were: it had to be blue in color and my payments had to be right at $400.00. When Mr. ******* contacted me, he informed me that he had the vehicle on his lot and since I was disabled, he could get my payments where I needed to be. I was asked by Mr. ******* what my disability rating was and I told him that it was just (July 26th, 2015) increased from 60% to 80% and the difference of the monthly amount is how I was paying for the new vehicle. I agreed to purchase the vehicle from Carl Gregory in Albany, since my prerequisites had been met ($409 a month and the truck is blue). On July 28th Mr. ******* told me that I needed to provide a few documents i.e. driver’s license, insurance card and DD214, all of which were provided immediately. When I spoke to Mr. ******* on the 29th he told me he also needed a letter from the VA stating my disability rating. I wasn’t sure where to go and Mr. ******* said “go to the nearest VA office and the VA will know what I need.” Immediately, I went to the local VA office on Fort Stewart who assisted me with acquiring the disability letter. My disability letter was then emailed to Mr. ******* that same morning (July 29th) at approximately 11:30 am. The VA letter specifically states on the front that I am only 80% disabled. After talking with Mr. ******* several times throughout the day (through telephone or text messages), I was never informed that there was a problem. As a matter of fact, I was reassured that everything was fine and my truck would be delivered to my home that same night. My new truck arrived at my home at 9:40 pm, July 29th, when the delivery driver along with myself and my wife signed the paperwork. I asked the driver if I was going to get a copy of the paperwork and he told me “they will mail it to you in a few days.” As of today (September 15th), I still haven’t received a copy of the paperwork for the vehicle. On September 9th, I received a letter from Carl Gregory stating that I owed the dealership $2,431 in taxes that I was not eligible for. It wasn’t until I received my letter from Carl Gregory with an attached power point presentation, that I knew I wasn’t eligible for the tax benefits for disabled veterans. My problem with this letter is; it is very deceiving in the way it is written, in which Carl Gregory had to wait for the letter from the VA. This is not the case at all. I have purchased several vehicle in my life and I never would have bought this vehicle since the $2,431 would have most likely added another $40 a month to my payment. Worth mentioning is: I also bought a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee from Mr. ******* under the same pretenses i.e. I was eligible for a tax break due to my disability and this would reduce my payments in order to keep them in my price range. I assume, I will be receiving a letter for this vehicle as well in the near future. I have not contact the dealership regarding this matter as I feel they cannot be trusted due to their predatory sales tactics targeting veterans, misrepresentation of facts and other derogatory internet reviews.

Desired Settlement: What I would like to happen is: I would like to receive a copy of my paperwork immediately and I don’t feel I should have to pay the taxes on my new Ram and Grand Cherokee.

Business Response:

Please be advised the tax issue with Mr. **** has been resolved.  Our General Manager, ***** *******, advises me there was some miscommunication regarding the disability tax benefit.  The customer certainly qualifies for the benefit and the issue is now corrected.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ****

9/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 2011 Jeep Compass that I purchased new from this dealership. I bought the car without doing proper research, so this is my fault...but it was far too much money for the cheaply made Jeep. With that said, I want to take care of it and maintain the usability while I need to keep it until it is financially sound to do so. I had the transmission serviced (just fluid exchange) in my Jeep on 7/23. I took to the dealer because it Is a CVT and requires special fluid to avoid warranty cancellation. Carl Gregory told me it would be $199. Then, after I dropped off the car and they began work, called and said it would be over $300 because the car is a CVT. They should have known this. Well, we needed the service so we had it done...*** complained when he went in, so they did knock a little bit off the price. While we were on vacation 275 miles from home the next week, we found a piece of the car (the pipe where the transmission fluid goes) broken off and in the passenger side floorboard. My husband looked under the hood and found a RAG stuffed into the pipe to keep the transmission fluid in... After a week of trying to get in touch with the service manager, my husband called the general manager. He got in touch with the service manager who claims that "the phone number for us in the system was wrong" when *** left his number several times....and they were able to contact us about the price increase while they were working on the car... The service manager said they would replace the part when we wanted to bring it in, at our convenience. Yesterday, I took it in. I asked to speak to the service manager to show him the rag/broken part. He suddenly became unavailable and sent THE RECEPTIONIST to go look at it with me so she could show him. (I never saw her show him). I was watching him speak to her on the phone. He walked by me more than 2 times while I was there, but never stopped to apologize, introduce himself, etc. I was told that it would take about an hour to repair, so I decided to wait rather than take the shuttle back to work. Then, two hours later, I was told that they needed the cap off of the old part and wanted to know if I had the part with me. When I told them that I didn't have the part with me, they went to look for one...thirty minutes later, the receptionist came back and said they couldn't find a part, but had ordered one and if I could bring back today, they would install. I asked if she was sure that it was ok to drive and she said yes.. Well, today..WHILE doing Meals on Wheels, after my first house of ten, the car wouldn't even turn over. I called my husband, who came to investigate. He determined that both battery terminals were broken and there was a screw for something laying on the top of the engine. My husband had to purchase clamps to put on the battery cables to make the car start. He tried, unsuccessfully to reach the service manager. How bad do business practices have to be when the service manager hides in his office? I work in the service industry - in fact, I am the account manager for all of our accounts at an IT firm. I speak with customers sometimes that had bad experiences with our business. Our technicians don't always make great decisions and as the account manager, it is my responsibility to acknowledge that and determine what I can do to make the situation right. In this case, the service manager would not even take the time to SPEAK to me, much less offer any type of apology or concession. I did not relay this experience after the first mistake because I know that sometimes a business has a bad day. But, with this repeat experience, I have determined that they are not concerned about my safety, or the reliability of my vehicle - only taking my money.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for the services performed on my car ($265.89). I believe more damage was done than service. I would also like for the business to take responsibility for these actions. I lost 3 hours at work due to this issue and my husband lost two, totaling $146 in billable hours lost. We would like to be reimbursed for these hours., but I understand the BBB cannot seek this. Additionally, we had to purchase $13.96 worth of parts at Advanced Auto today to get the car started.

Consumer Response: From: ****** ******** <**************************>
Date: Mon, Aug 17, 2015 at 12:41 PM
Subject: Update Case 10761967
to: ************************** <*************************>


On Friday, 08/14/15, We had to purchase a new battery because of the damage that was done to the battery terminals, because my car would not start. This was an additional $140

 

****** ********

Account Executive | NEOS

2722 Dawson Road

Albany, GA 31707  

###-###-####

Business Response:

Please be advised the Service Manager has been communicating with Ms. ******** regarding the issues with her vehicle.  They have agreed upon an amount to be refunded with the exception of the last known issue with her battery terminals.  My Service Manager advises me he is waiting on pictures being sent for him to review before making a decision.  He has assured me the customer will be taken care of.  I am anticipating a satisfactory resolve by tomorrow.  Afterwards, a check request will be put in place and payment will be sent to Ms. ********.

Thank you for your assistance in bringing this matter to a close.

 

7/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 7-13-15 Went in to trade my 2013 Versa. And obtain an 2015 dodge journey. Since the advertising said it was the biggest buy back sale summer clearance. Well i was never told car was not traded. There sales person ** told me with a trade and being the car had negative equity i would need 1000 down and a co-signer to purchase the new car. As paper work was being done i asked about the trade value to the finance person. He said talk to the sales person. the sales person (**) did not tell me the trade did not trade till after my brother had got a car and signed paperwork two days later. My other brother and wife as well went and purchased the same 2015 journey and tried to trade. they had negative equity as well. because the ended up similar and their payment where extremely high. If it was the biggest back back, they are not taking any cars back. Just giving people the illusion they are until the deals are done.

Desired Settlement: Take my trade and work a reasonable pricing. Due to the advertising, and dishonesty.

Consumer Response:

Hello,  my name is ******** ****** Complaint # ********. After talking to the General Manager and going in yesterday afternoon. All issues where resolved. And he handled all the miscommunication between the employees and Customers. Customers should not be lead  to believe something that is not  true. I was lead to believe my car trade was included in the purchase of a new car all the way till signing and after by a sales person and it was not included. All issues were resolved.

7/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted them about a 2007 TAHOE advertised for 11,990. We had contacted their sister lot Carl Gregory Savannah and they said they could get the vehicle to their place. Which is a service they provide in which they agreed to at no cost. This was great and we had financing already approve well Carl Gregory in Savannah says now that the price went up to 14,000 due to they had to put a transmission in. I have a picture of their price for 11,990 on their website that I took with my phone. Albany said we can purchase it for 11,990 but we have to travel four hours to get it. Mind you this is all going on today 6/24/15. This is false advising and I want something done about it. This price change was not disclosed till after the credit approval and plans were arranged to look at the vehicle in Savannah ga now try have decided to change the price.

Desired Settlement: I would like the vehicle to be brought to Savannah like what was agreed in the beginning with the price 11,990. I have proof of their advertising if needed.

Business Response:

The General Manager of our Albany dealership called and left a message for Mr. ******** advising we would be glad to honor the web advertised price of $11,990 and would be happy to deliver the vehicle for an additional $150.  The advertisement made no mention of delivery being included in the price.

To date, I am advised that neither the Albany dealership nor Savannah dealership have been contacted by Mr. ******** regarding the offer.

As of today this vehicle has been sold.  We will be happy to assist the customer in locating another vehicle of choice.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from this dealership almost 90 days ago. I've had to have two tag extensions because they can't seem to clear the previous owner's name from the title. I went back to them for a third extension and they put one of their dealer tags on my vehicle. I work aboard a military base and this is hindering me from driving to work. The military police had threatened to terminate my driving privileges if I don't obtain the proper paperwork. The employees at the dealership are very unprofessional and didn't seem to care that I'm having this issue with getting to work. I told them I wanted to give the vehicle back since I can't drive it and they can't give me updated paperwork to put in the car

Desired Settlement: Refund for tax, tag, & title because they've already been paid for it.

Business Response:

Please be advised we have had some issues causing delay in getting the title from the State.  This has since been resolved.  The Office Manager has tried contacting the customer to let her know the vehicle has been registered and her plate is available to be picked up at the dealership.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.  We ask that you please close your file accordingly.

3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called on 3/11/15 to ask for my 2014 Chrysler 200 to be seen because it was pouring oil from all over the motor. I was informed they couldn't see it till Monday 03/16/15 at 1030 am, but Thursday my wife dropped it off after the oil being completely empty, she was told to wait and it may be a simple fix while waiting she listened to many inappropriate conversations about customers who came in and called as all three service center employees laughed at others and their complaints and one man was even put on speakerphone so they picked at his speech impairment while the phone was muted and they couldn't understand him. She was told she could get a rental car and they would not pay for it until they deemed it a faulty part on the car, they would pay for 5 days if it was faulty. Come Monday I called and they stated that because my wife denied a rental and paying out of pocket at first she could not get a rental car just because it was deemed a faulty part, then told me the wrong part came in and they had to reorder. They have been extremely rude the woman in the service department even got loud with me over the phone because I asked to speak to her manager, whom wasn't in, I called the operator and asked for the general manager and neither the service department or general manager has called me back after I've left two voicemails Two days in a row.

Desired Settlement: An apology and better customer service training for their employees

Business Response:

Our Service Manager has tried to contact Mr. ********* to discuss his concerns and was unable to reach him.  However, there seems to be some miscommunication.  It seems our service department has been speaking with three different individuals relating to the vehicle in question.  The Service Manager spoke with ******* ***** over the telephone regarding the oil leak and during his conversation he offered to arrange for a rental vehicle that would be at her expense until a diagnosis could be made.  Ms. ***** did not want the rental.

Ms. ********* actually brought the vehicle in for the service.  The vehicle had 36,400 miles on it.  It was just outside of the warranty.  The Service Manager made the repair at no cost to the customer, as a good will gesture, since it was so close under the warranty mileage.  I understand the part that came in was the incorrect part so there was a delay in getting the vehicle repaired and the Service Writer did arrange for the rental vehicle at this time.

We apologize for any unprofessional conversations Ms. ********* may have over heard or experienced and appreciate the customer bringing this matter to our attention.  I can assure you this issue has been addressed with the department.  

We value the customer's trust and ask that he allow us to continue to earn his business. 

Thank you for your assistance in bringing this matter to our attention.

 

10/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Absolutely do not do business with Carl Gregory in Albany, GA. I'm not sure if every Carl Gregory dealership treats their customers like this, but I was lied to, manipulated, and plain old tricked into the purchase I made. Perhaps it's because I am young that the GM ***** ******** chose to take advantage of me for this sale. Now the story begins.Mid 2013 I was searching for a new car to purchase. I needed a sedan because I often take care of my fiance's 3 younger brothers, which can be a handful in a coupe. I did as much research as I could and decided that a Dodge Dart would be the best choice. I chose a trim and I went to the dealership. I knew I wanted a Dodge Dart GT, with the sunroof and sound package. I began a deal with ******* something, but after a short while was handed off to ***** the GM. I explained EXACTLY what I wanted and after searching an 800 mile radius he found it for me. I was ecstatic. However after signing a contract I was called several days later with the news that MY CAR had been sold by the dealership he found it at. At this point the car I wanted was GONE. I told him that I wanted to order one. I would wait a few months for a 2014 with my options to arrive. I was told this was impossible. He said we could not get that car until late January at BEST. It would be nearly 7 months before I could drive it home. My ONLY option if I wanted a Dart was to get one that is available now with no sound system and a "dealer installed" sunroof at an extra $1200. He claimed the sunroof would be JUST LIKE FACTORY. Boy did he lie. I found out less than two months later that 2014 Models arrived on dealer lots just WEEKS after I made my purchase, and when I got my car back (that they had to take to ATLANTA) with my new sunroof it was FAR FAR from factory and it was noisy. I am furious and have been. I contacted many many people and tried for a long time to get this resolved and after months I am NOWHERE. Oh... and the 2014 model was THOUSANDS cheaper with more standard features.

Desired Settlement: I want my car replaced with the car I asked for from Dodge. I want a 2014 Dodge Dart GT with the Sun and Sound group.After I finally got a call from ***** ******* the vice president he told me that he would find me a 2014 Dart GT with the sun and sound group and I could trade mine in at no cost to me. Then he never called me back and deflected my calls for months. I would also like the difference between what I paid and MSRP of what I am asking for returned to me. That is nearly $2000.

Business Response:

Please be advised ****** ****** came to Carl Gregory of Albany in 2013.  He came in looking for a very specific Dodge Dart.  At the time of his inquiry the vehicle he was in search of was not available.  Mr. ****** and the Salesperson looked at several different options.  Mr. ****** left and returned three more times.  The last time he returned he had found a car that he wanted and had a print out of it from another dealer.  We bought that car from the other dealer for him.  He asked us to add a sunroof to the vehicle.  We arranged to have a sunroof added to the vehicle for him.  He was told that it was an aftermarket sunroof not a factory installed option, therefore it would not be the same as factory.  We did exactly as he asked us to do.  Several months later after the car he originally wanted was available, he returned to the dealership demanding we take his car back and get him the one he originally wanted.  Our General Manager explained that we could trade him out of his car and he did not want to do that.  Our General Manager states he has not seen or spoken to Mr. ****** since the day he offered to help him and Mr. ****** declined.

 

We appreciate Mr. ******'s business and wish to retain him as a customer.  It would be our pleasure to assist Mr. ****** and work to trade him out of his vehicle for the vehicle of his choice.  However, we must respectfully decline his demands of replacing his vehicle at no cost and of any monetary differences between MSRP and the amount he paid.

 

As always, we appreciate the efforts of the BBB in their assistance of a satisfactory resolve.     

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am utterly disgusted at this response from Carl Gregory. This is an utterly untruthful account. I find it absolutely dishonest and disrespectful that these complete lies would be told. First, the vehicle I was in search of was not initially "unavailable", as Mr. ******** SOLD me the car I was looking for, and I have the contract to prove it that I was sold a car on August 20th, 2013. It was only after several days that I was contacted and asked to come into the dealership that Mr. ******** informed me that the car he sold me the night before had been sold to another person by the dealership that originally owned it. After which I asked to order a 2014 Dodge Dart GT in white with the sun and sound packages installed, to which Mr. ******** replied that we couldn't get that vehicle. He said they wouldn't be able to order that car until after January of 2014. He made it very clear that if I wanted ANY Dodge Dart from ANY dealer that I would have to settle for a 2013 model with no sound package and a "dealer installed" sunroof. The second lie was that I brought with me a printed ad for another vehicle that I wanted to purchase. This is untrue. The only time that I brought any printed advertisements into the dealership was when I returned to confront Mr. ******** about his blatant lies and disrespectful manipulation. I also have a witness to this event, who can collaborate that when Mr. ******** was confronted he did not deny any of the statements he made. he simply twisted the meaning of them to attempt to cover the truth. The third lie involves the sunroof. After it was made clear that I would not be able to get the vehicle I wanted unless I waited more than seven months Mr. ******** offered to find me a white Dodge Dart GT with no speakers, and no sunroof and he would then provide a "dealer install" sunroof that would be and I quote "just like factory." This sunroof was neither installed by the dealer, nor was it "just like factory." It was installed aftermarket by a company in Atlanta, GA, where they had to take my car for over a day. They simply did not do what I asked them to do. Their purpose was not to satisfy a customer, their purpose was to make a sale that would benefit only them. The only true statement in the recount provided by Carl Gregory was that they offered to trade me from my car to the Dart I had asked for. They offered me nearly forty percent lower than what I paid for the car just two and a half months ago. Not to mention that the mere fact that they offered to trade me into what I wanted PROVES that they could have simply ordered the car for me initially instead of having me believe that the car I wanted would be available absolutely nowhere until more than half a year later. I accept nothing less than what I asked for, which I will reiterate: I want my car to be replaced with what I should have been sold, which is a 2014 Dodge Dart GT in white with the sun and sound group. A car that costs more than $2000 less than what I paid. I also expect that difference to be repaid, or removed from my principle loan amount. Perhaps should I have been treated with even an inkling of respect I would settle for less, but after months and months, and very much time and effort put into attempting a resolution, I stand that I will take no less than what I am asking from Carl Gregory.



Regards,

****** ******

4/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dicetfully and underhandedly lured into a car loan at carl gregory of albany Salesman lied to trap me into a new car

Desired Settlement: I just want my down payment back and all those inquires off of my credit and they can have there car.

Business Response:

The customer signed a credit application and gave us permission to obtain financing for him on the vehicle he selected.  Due to Mr. *******'s credit history it was necessary to send his application to more than one lender.  We were trying to obtain the best possible rate and term for the customer.

We must respectfully decline Mr. *******'s request for a refund.  Please close your file accordingly.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

****** *******


 

 Regardless of my credit I told the sales if I couldnt go through one bank I didnt want to do the deal I didnt care about what bank had the best interest rate I gave specific intructions and the salesman agreed to my request if in fact the salesman was new to what he was doing and didnt know how things worked as far as credit submission he should have not agreed to my terms and I got information that my request was never mentioned to the finance department so it seemed to me that the salesmen only entention was to bribe me in a car deal my request to only pull my credit through one bank was intentually  ignored I spoke with the sales on the phone about why wasnt my requst cared out sales said he didnt know I have it recorded

Business Response:

Unfortunately we cannot remove items from the customer's credit file unless they were in error.  Since Mr. *******  was applying for a car loan and signed a credit application authorizing the dealer to obtain financing on his behalf, this would not be considered an error.  Most credit scores are not affected by multiple inquiries for a secure loan like a car loan made within a short period of time.  Typically these are treated as a single inquiry and will have little impact on the credit score.

 

Business Response:

I apologize for the lack of communication between the salesperson and finance department.  Typically conversations regarding payment terms and conditions are between the customer and finance manager.  There is nothing we can do at this point.  The customer's downpayment was sent to the lender and the transaction was funded on February 26th. 

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.  We ask that you please close your file. 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

****** *******


 

 No I want close because I was lied to, to get into a deal. I could have taken my down payment somewhere else and got what I asked for from a more experienced salesman. carl gregory know they where wrong thats why they want me to close the account they dont want to look bad, but they will do bad, and sneaky underhandedly sales tricks to get people to buy there cars. I will never buy another car from dodge I want refer anyone  and I hope people who see this dont buy dodge cars.  carl gregory are people who will do anything to get people to buy a car i hate I bought a car from carl gregory 

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March of 2013 I purchased a pack of (3) oil changes from the Carol Gregory of Albanys auto shop, and had my first of the (3) changes on the same day as the purchase. Weeks later I was driving from the Atlanta airport to Buckhead, GA. Approximately 20 miles into the trip, I heard a loud bang below the hood & ample commotion followed. I pulled off the road and found that a 12 inch pry bar was lodged in my engine, and with time had shifted its way into the serpentine belt. When caught by the serpentine belt, the tool slung through my engine & damaged my harmonic balancer, power steering pump, serpentine belt, etc. My first step from here was to repair the damages which amounted to approximately $1,200. During my conversation with the shop that repaired the damages, it was conveyed that there is no doubt that the damage to my vehicle was caused by the pry bar. This raised the question of how the pry bar found its way into my engine. Through many tests, it was determined that due to the compact configuration of a 2007 engine it is impossible to find a rout to the location the tool was found from below the vehicle, ruling out the possibility of someone placing the tool from below with malicious intent. Because of this, it was determined that the tool would have had to be placed into the engine from above while the hood to my vehicle was open. My hood had not been opened since the oil change at Carol Gregory. At this point I contacted CG of Albany and spoke to **** *********. I explained the situation and immediately emailed over all information, statements, photographs, etc. I was informed by **** that he would look into the matter & get back to me within a couple of days. Fifteen days went by where I left two voicemails with no returned call. On the fifteenth day I sent an email requesting an update by close of business. ****s short response did not acknowledge a reason for the delay, and simply stated that his shop isnt missing any tools. This response that took 15 days to give was very unprofessional and holds no weight. At this point I filed a complaint via Carol Gregorys website, where I immediately heard back from ******* ******* who apologized for the troubles I had experienced. She said that she would look into the matter and also notify the appropriate managers to give me a call. A week went by with no response. After this week I sent another email asking for an update. ****** replied stating that she had contacted the appropriate managers asking for an explanation and was told I would receive a call, which I did not. ******i apologized and said she would call and email the appropriate managers again to assure I would receive a call. Another week went by without a response so once again I followed up with ******i asking for an explanation for the delay. Her response this time was that *** ***** and **** ********* told her that no tools were missing from their shop. Again, I never received the managerial call to discuss this matter that ******i said I would. Instead, after two weeks of waiting I received an impersonal claiming that no tools are missing. From here I sought out *** ***** via telephone to discuss my lack of responses in combination with the pry bar damages, but I was unable to reach him. I left a voicemail for him every other day for a week and received zero calls back. My final message to him stated that I intended to contact the BBB in regards to the situation, to which he immediately called back. Upon discussing the topic and asking his explanation of how he though the pry bar may have found its way into my car, he angrily stated that this was not his problem and that Carol Gregory had no interest in resolving the issue. He gave no reason as to why it took so long to get a response back from any manager at Carol Gregory, and refused to disclose which types of tools his shop used. To this day I have not received any compensation for the damages, nor been able to discuss the matter further with anyone from Carol Gregory.

Desired Settlement: I would like CG to accept responsibility for this situation and reimburse me the $1,211.82 paid to fix my vehicle, and an $65 refund for the (3) pack of oil changes.

Business Response:

After researching the customer's complaint I found the vehicle came in to our shop on March 23, 2013 with 92,640 miles.  We did an oil change on the vehicle.

I have attached a diagram with detailed instructions on removing an oil filter.  As you can see the filter is removed from the bottom of the engine.  We would not have a need for a prybar for this service.

We have questioned the technician and he said he is not missing any tools.  We have no idea how the prybar got under Mr. *******'s hood.

Respectfully we are declining Mr. *******'s settlement request.  We ask that you please close your file accordingly.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Carol Gregory of Albany, hereby referenced as CG, submitted a rebuttal which stated that the directions for changing the oil filter in a 2007 Jeep Commander do not include a pry bar. Never in my previous message did I state or disagree that a pry bar is an unconventional tool used for an oil change. I do, however, firmly believe that a technician may have "broken the rules" and used a pry bar for unconventional methods (i.e., scrape away dirt or mud that accumulated on an oil filter from living on a dirt road), or that another technician working on a separate vehicle may have accidentally placed the tool down while in conversation or passing. Regardless if the tool was unconventionally used by CG during maintenance or if the tool was set down by mistake, the fact remains that a pry bar was not in my engine compartment when I arrived at CG of Albany's shop, and one was found inside my engine compartment shortly after the oil change. Again, please note that the pry bar had to be placed into the engine compartment while the engine hood was open, and that my engine hood had not been opened since the oil change at CGDeductive reasoning will convey that CG is at fault for the tool in the vehicle, regardless of how written instructions convey the maintenance should be performed. 

The rebuttal that CG has issued is not relevant to the situation and in no way proves that CG was not negligent. I respectfully refuse to close this file and request that CG accept responsibility. 

 

Regards,

***** *******


 

 

Business Response:

Please be advised we have no proof of negligence and no reason to believe our technician left a pry-bar in the engine compartment.  The odds of this happening are very slim and it is more probable that the pry-bar came up from the road  The oil change occurred on 3/23/13 and some two months and seventeen hundred miles later the accident occurred. We cannot and will not accept responsibility for this.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

It is impossible for this tool reach the location in which it was found from below the vehicle. This tool could not come from below the vehicle. This tool did not come from the road. Due to the complex configuration of a 2007 engine, it is impossible for a 12 inch rigid pry bar to reach the location in which it was found from below the vehicle without obstruction. This has been reiterated over and over. This tool was placed from above the engine while the engine hood was open. The engine hood had not been opened since the maintenance at CG of Albany. Logic will convey that this problem was brought on due to negligence by a CG technician. This tool could remain sandwiched under the hood for 2 days or 2 months before becoming dislodged, and claiming that a replaceable tool was not missing hold no weight. Regardless of the probability, duration, or investigation performed, the fact remains that all signs point to CG of Albany. I firmly believe that CG of Albany is at fault, regardless of what internal investigations were performed or what statements were made.

This complaint to the BBB was never brought on with the anticipation that CG of Albany would act as a reputable company, accept fault, and provide reimbursement. This complaint is brought on because of the lack of customer support that has led to this scenario, in combination with CG of Albany avoiding responsibility. From the start of my internal investigation, I had to leave several messages, emails, and demands before receiving an initial response. I believe that this is the first sign that CG of Albany would attempt to avoid confrontation on the issue as well as avoid accepting responsibility. I believe that CG of Albany refuses to accept responsibility for this situation due to the ramifications that could potentially arise.

This is a complaint brought on by concrete facts as well as statements made by other industry professionals. Regardless of what statements or investigations CG of Albany claims to make, I will not retract this complaint and I will not accept any response issued by CG of Albany. 

Regards,

***** *******


 

 

Business Response: It seems we are unable to resolve this issue.  Please close your file accordingly.

1/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 21st around 5 p.m., I took my car to Carl Gregory for diagnosis of ticking noise coming from under the hood. On October 22nd around 5:15 p.m., I received a call from Carl Gregory informing me of what they had diagnosed. I was given an estimated quote and was informed that it took two days for parts to come in UPS. On October 28th I called around 9:40 a.m. and guy said that parts were not in yet but another truck was coming that afternoon. I asked if they did loaner vehicles because my two daughters had dentists appointments and they said no due to liability reasons. On October 29th at 3:47 p.m. I called Carl Gregory and was told that all my parts had come in and that my car should be done by the end of the week. On October 31st at 11:44 a.m. I called Carl Gregory and was told that they were waiting on a few small parts but the guy was working on in and he would have it done Friday and if not Friday, then Monday. This is when I began to get very frustrated. I had an appointment with my daughters special needs teacher and had to cancel that as well due to no transportation. On November 1st I called around 11:45 a.m. and just kept getting the automated message. On November 4th at 11:50 a.m. I was told my car was being worked on may be done later that day. Called back at 3:53 p.m. and was told it was not ready because they were waiting on parts..??..November 6th I called at 11:30 and was told parts finally came in and they were the wrong parts in the right box..so I was told they would have to order the correct parts and it may take two more weeks before my car would be done. I went up there around 4:30 p.m. requesting to speak to someone about getting a loaner car until mine was finished, however, the guy at the service desk talked to a guy in the office(he did not come out and speak to me)and NOW my parts were "in" and my car would be fixed and ready the next day.?. November 7th, called at 4:24 p.m.was told they were finishing up and would call me back. Have not heard ANYTHING yet!

Desired Settlement: Personally not requesting anything, professionally a little more common courtesy. I bought the car from Carl Gregory and that was the reason I took it there to be serviced. After having to reschedule 2 different dentist appointments and missing my daughters annual special needs meeting and being 17 days still without means of transportation, I just do not feel like a satisfied customer.

Business Response:

We apologize for any inconvenience caused to the customer.  We experienced some delay in receiving the correct parts needed for repair to the vehicle.

However, the repair has now been completed and the vehicle returned to the customer.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.  Please close your file accordingly.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[My vehicle is still making the exact same ticking noise as prior to having the $1,800 in repair and 17 days with no vehicle. I am uncertain as to whether I take the risk of taking it back to Carl Gregory to be "re-serviced" and have to spend more money on an issue that I was supposed to have been corrected in the first place. I understand that things come up and there may be delays, however, these parts were coming from 160 miles away so I don't see how it took two weeks. Yes I have picked up and paid for my car and services because it is my means of transportation but does that mean that I am a satisfied customer..no..especially when my vehicle still has the same ticking noise coming from under the hood.]

Regards,

****** ********


 

 

Business Response:

In order to reassess the noise issue the customer will need to take the vehicle back to the service department.

We do understand the customer has had a bad experience waiting for parts to repair her vehicle and now after that long wait it remains the same.  Due to this I can assure the customer our staff will be more attentive to the situation.

Please have her contact the dealership for a convenient time so that they may assist her.

Thank you for your time and assistance.

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ****** & ******* ****** we just purchase a 2013 Chrysler 300 and we are very upset with the service we receive, we are going to be getting in contact with our lawyers how things were handle, we did not like how the dealer at Carl Gregory handle business with out other dealer that gave us a better deal we trade the car back in before 30 days we didn't eve have our car for more than 2 weeks she was very rude to the other dealer that was giving us a better deal on about 2013 with more features she had us to get on the original car we purchase we were about to pay basically 700 a month on a 2013 Chrysler with basic feat but the S we had a better deal paying 6 something month on the better deal an the seller was nice an *****i had no business harassing this man when her deal was already close out if this is the cooperate office please give us a call i will be contacting better business bureau our number that we can be reach on is ###-###-#### an cell number ###-###-#### thank you very much for taking out the time to read this message. plus i have high blood pressure this is not good for my heath i came to this company with a smile on my face walk out upset an angry . heavy set finance manager made a comment when we return the car basically saying that we should charge you for the miles you use on the car that your return if you keep talkin, i stated you cant charge me with anything basically the whole issue is that *****i the sales dealer was upset that another dealer gave us a better deal with a lower price an thats when everything got worst this issue is very sad it discuss me /

Desired Settlement: just basically want teh chrysler s with ***** the dealer that help us we want the car back we had with a better deal.. and better service and ***** got us full tank of gas when we had the orginal deal we didnt have a full tank of gas we didnt have or tire pressure check they didnt want to handle the issue with the orignal deal we had half wash the car is was horrible *****i gave us the run around with the car with gas and one of the finance manager he is heavy set with a ball head made a comm

Business Response:

The customer purchased a Chrysler 300 from our dealeship.  A few days later the customer returns wanting to upgrade to a Chrysler 300S.  We explained to the customer the bank would not approve the

transaction.  We regret we are unable to obtain financing for the customer as we would love to sell them the upgraded vehicle.

Please close your file accordingly.

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Carl Gregory Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)