BBB Accredited Business since

Bishop Well & Pump Service

Phone: (229) 985-5043 1610 Old Camilla Hwy, Moultrie, GA 31768

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bishop Well & Pump Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bishop Well & Pump Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 28, 2009 Business started: 10/01/1978 in GA Business incorporated 10/01/1978 in GA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Grady Thompson, President Mr. Milton Thompson, VP
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Grady Thompson, President
Principal: Mr. Milton Thompson, VP
Business Category

Water Well Drilling & Service Pumps - Service & Repair

Products & Services

Bishop Well & Pump Service offers the following product(s): Electric Equipment Service & Repair, Pump Service & Repair, Water Well Drilling & Service

Alternate Business Names
Bishop Well & Pump Service, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1610 Old Camilla Hwy

    Moultrie, GA 31768 (229) 985-5043


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested a new well pump to be installed by this company over the phone, and they quoted me an estimate of $2,900. When they arrived they took about an hour to look at my well and supposedly ran a camera down into the well, however I never received a copy of any video. They told me that I needed an entire new well dug and that a new well pump would not fix the problem because the water level dropped too low. I asked how much a new well would be, but the boss didn't provide a quote and said he would call me to discuss. The boss left and then the guys who stayed to put the well back together charged me $400. At the time I paid, but was a little in shock, because I did not receive the originally agreed upon service of a new pump and wasn't sure what the $400 was for. When he called me he gave me a quote estimate of between $7,000 and $9,000 for a new well. He did not give specifics and when I asked for them, he said he would need to prepare it and get back to me. I also asked for an inspection report of some kind of his findings including the video, considering I paid $400. He said he would get something put together. I called a week later and left a voicemail. I never heard back from him again. I contacted another well company, and they did their own inspection (for free) and provided a same day well pump installation (for $1,800). They said the water level was perfectly fine and should last over 20 more years. I have not had any issues with my well since. The complaints I have with Bishop Well & Pump Service is that they seem to try to take advantage of people by overcharging. They quoted $2,900 for a new pump compared to $1,800 I paid using other company. And they quoted $7,000 to $9,000 (which seems ridiculous) for a new well that I didn't need. Not to mention all of their quotes were "estimates" and could increase when the job was done. They also lied and provided false information about my well water level in order to get even more money out of me. They also charged $400 for nothing that was agreed upon and I am yet to receive any report from them, and would like a refund.

Desired Settlement: I'm hoping filing this complaint will make others aware of this company's unethical behavior. I would like a refund of the $400 I paid since I received no report. Or if they can document their findings and provide a written statement, so they can be held accountable for their lies.

Business Response:

I’m very concerned about your complaint and want to see what can be done about it.  This is the first notice I have received of there being any problem at all.  I do not have all of the information about what was done, Nor have I heard anything from you about this matter   I assure you that we are not in the business to gouge anyone.   We pride ourselves in our customer service and satisfaction as we have been in business since 1943.  I attempted to call you today and got your voicemail.  I am puzzled by your demands of a refund of $400.00, when you were invoiced for $450.00.  I can’t help you with a complaint unless I know about it   I wish you had called me first.  Please contact me at ************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bishop Well & Pump Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)