This business is not BBB accredited.

Albany Water, Gas & Light, Commission

Additional Locations

Phone: (229) 883-8330 207 Pine Ave, Albany, GA 31701

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Albany Water, Gas & Light, Commission include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Albany Water, Gas & Light, Commission
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 12, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1974 in GA Business started locally: 01/01/1974
Type of Entity

Public Utilities

Business Management
Mr. Steven Collier, Gen. Mgr.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Collier, Gen. Mgr.
Business Category

Water Companies - Utility Electric Companies Natural Gas Companies

Products & Services

Albany Water, Gas & Light, Commission offers the following product(s): Utilities

Additional Locations


    207 Pine Ave

    Albany, GA 31701 (229) 883-8330


    PO Box 1788

    Albany, GA 31702


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My concern is that im paying high lightbills and i rarely be at home last month my bill was 156 i been staying in my apartment since march my bill has never been high they tell me its been a glinch in the system and im one of the ones that were in the glinch i feel like thats not my fault that there system is are was messed up around the time they printed the bill and i shouldnt have to pay for there mistake its ridiculous because im never home until 11pm majority of the time and i leave home at 6:45am so im gone 16hrs at a time and no one else resides in my home im getting sick of them

Business Response: Date: Thu, Sep 24, 2015 at 4:17 PM
Subject: ***** *****
To: "************************* **************************

********* ****,


We received your letter in reference to ***** ***** complaint concerning her utility bill . I spoke with Ms. **** today to see what was her concern .

She stated that she is never home and her electric is still high. She also stated that if she set her thermostat on 78degrees that it blows out hot air. She set it at a much lower degree. I offered to have our Field Technicians to come out and give her a free energy audit and she accepted.

If you need additional information concerning this matter, please feel free to contact me either by phone or email listed below.




******* ******

Senior Account Analyst

Albany Utilitiy Board


************ *** ***


9/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a complaint about the service fees for my electric bill with WG&L in Albany GA. My bill keeps getting extremely higher and every month. I believe that the fees fluctuate very frequently and the rates are not affordable for those who are at a socially disadvantage. I understand the hot weather being a common factor in this situation however, every month for the last four months, the bill has gone up $50 more per month. My bill has increased from 367.00 to 527.00 per month. Other consumers have this same issue. The company has been known to turn off services if you are $20 short. There has got to be some resolve to a company that has rates such as these. We are citizens and we pay our taxes and one would think that the city would look after it's own. Complaints have been going on with this company for a while now and consumers, along with myself, feel that we don't have a voice nor a choice when it comes to these outrageous fees. Georgia Power is a better company and they don't allow for their rates to fluctuate at any given moment. If some one could please take a look into this severe complaint and WG&L's charges, that would really help many like myself who live on a tight budget.

Desired Settlement: I would like for WG&L to have sensible rates that don't put hones hard working consumers in a position that we're having to decide if we should pay the electric bill or by food and gas to get to work. I would like for someone to look at how consumers are being charged and billed and request reasoning for the ridiculous rates. I would like to see someone set regulations about how this company hike the bills up often for it's own personal gain. I would like to see regulations set for this company so that the spikes in the fees don't add hardship to consumers.

Business Response:

Good Morning,

The Georgia Public Service Commission ( annually conducts a survey to compare all utility providers rates. The City of Albany Utility Board rates are competitive with the other utlity providers in the area. However, the city's utility bills include multiple services like water, natural gas, solid waste, storm water and sewer unlike other utility providers who only provide a single service. Customers are encouraged to take advantage of the energy efficent programs that we have available like the free home energy audit. Home energy audits allow the customer to have a train auditor come to their home and give them tips on how to improve the efficency of the home. Often Auditors discover issues that causes increase usage like the lack of proper insultation and air leaks. These appointments can be scheduled through our Customer Service Department. If more information is needed feel free to contact me. Thanks


******* *********

Marketing Manage

City of Albany Utility Board

207 Pine Avenue

Albany, GA 31701

Office: ************ ext. ***

Fax: ************





Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

  I have had the home audits performs several times. I have unplugged, minimized, and reduced in every way possible. Not only am
I dissatisfied, but a number of other consumers as well. There is a partition circulating to get something done about WG&L rates.
The was even a news clips with complaints and schedule meetings against the power company. I believe that this is very unfair
to the people who work hard only to get raked over by this power company. Often times individuals are forced to decide if they
should pay their electric bill or eat, or pay for the insurance on your auto insurance.

********* ********

5/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved out of a residence, called and requested to cancel service and put in a change of address card with the post office. I never received any bills, final bill nor phone call about the outstanding monthly bills that were not paid. I was still being charged for months I didn't live at this residence. I ran a credit report to apply for a job and this was reported on there. I paid a bill for $615.72 out of "Good Faith" in order to get a job. I also sent Certified Return Receipt to them and requested them to update the reports showing this as paid. And now, 2 years later this is still showing on my credit report as unpaid and as a negative account. I have contacted W,G,& L and their response is "it's out of their hands, I need to deal with the credit collections company they transferred it to". My place of employment runs credit reports and background checks every so often. I don't want this to jeopardize my job and would like for this to be handled. I have tried to clear this up numerous times with W,G,& L and Union Credit but keep getting the run around.

Desired Settlement: I would like for a refund from the date that I moved and also would like for this to be removed from my credit report.

Business Response:


P.0. BOX 1788 ALBANY, GEORGIA 31703 ###-###-####

October I, 2013

Better Business Bureau 500 12‘” Street

Post Box 2587 Columbus, Georgia 31902

RE: BBB Case #******* ***** ******

Dear ******,

According to the Water, Gas, and Light Commission records "NO Move Out’ request was ever made by Ms. ****** which resulted in a ‘Cut—Off" Notice being generated and eventually the account was made ‘non-active’ an August 14, 2008. No bills to Ms. ****** were ever returned to as as undeliverable. Ms. ****** did not pay the account until June 9, 2011. She wrote that she only paid us than “in order to get a job”; disregarding that she owed the money.

Union Credit was notified when she paid the account. The Water, Gas and Light Commission has no control over the length of time that they continue to report credit history. I am told that credit information remains on a person's record for seven years.

I am including our response to Ms. ****** on May 16, 2013 in response to her correspondence with SGL dated May 13, 2013.

If I can be of further assistance do not hesitate to contact me.

Respectfully Yours,

***** ******, WGL Assistant GM Customer RelationsMarketing

6/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A light pole fell behind my home ,causing my power line to be yanked from my roof. There was damage to my service stack ,roof boot, wires , weather head and roof. I have reached out to water gas & light but, was told they would not pay for the damages and if I made a claim the would deny it.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the 403.57 for the electrical damage and the cost of the carpenter to fix the hole in my roof