BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In East AL, West & Southwest GA

BBB Accredited Business since

Bob's Transmission

Phone: (706) 653-8438 Fax: (706) 327-0264 3801 Veterans Pkwy, Columbus, GA 31904

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bob's Transmission meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bob's Transmission include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 12

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 10, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1979 in GA Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated: 04/13/2004 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Kreyer, Owner Mr. Bob Thoman, Owner Mr. Chad Posey, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Kreyer, Owner
Principal: Mr. Bob Thoman, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile

Products & Services

Bob's Transmission offers the following product(s): Transmission repair, Auto repair, A/C repair, Electrical repair

Alternate Business Names
Bob's Transmissions Unlimited, Inc.
Industry Tips
Transmissions, Automatic

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3 Feb 2014 Monday I contacted Bob's Transmission via phone and told him I needed to get an estimate on repairing my 2001 Kia Rio's transmission. Mr Bob stated that his shop would transport my car to his shop for $50.00 and would not do any repairs until he contacted me with the price. When he called me he stated that whoever installed my radiator did not properly connect the hoses which caused damage to the transmission. He quoted that he could fix the transmission for $798.00 on Tuesday. On Wednesday Mr Bob calls and says that there was more damage to the transmission and I now have to pay $1,296.12. I was flabbergasted. He asked me did I have good credit and I told him I had not plan on spending that much on a car worth only $1,400 to repair and to not proceed with the repair. Mr Bob said that I could not get my car back unless I paid him $798.00 for the dianostic. In essence Mr. Bob deliberately underquoted a repair job then doubled charged and held my vehicle hostage. He conveniently stirred me to a finance company where he sends his business and gets a $100.00 referral fee for customers. Mr Bob refused to give my husband a written estimate and also added more charges to the repair bill stating he didn't add sales tax to the $1,296.12 increasing the bill even more. He laughed and said Obama has to get his money, too. We are African American.

Desired Settlement: We request that Mr. Bob repair my car for the original quote of $798.00 flat price with a year's warranty on the repair and put it in writing so he will not reneige on the warranty.

Business Response: Mrs. ****** contacted Bob's Transmission about getting her transmission repaired and stated that the vehicle would not shift properly. The Manager **** told Mrs. ******  that we could tow the vehicle in at no cost as long as she had the car repaired and if she decided not to get the repair done that she would be responsible for the $50.00 tow. She agreed to get the vehicle towed in for us to take a look at it. Once the vehicle arrived ****'s Technician determined that the transmission cooler lines were leaking so he tightened the lines up and filled the transmission to its proper level and drove the vehicle and found that the transmission was damaged due to the vehicle being driven with low transmission fluid. **** contacted Mrs. ****** to let her know that the lines were left loose. **** also noticed that a new radiator had been recently installed so he asked Mrs. ****** how long as the new radiator been installed and she replied that a friend from church installed it so **** let her know the lines were left loose. **** then informed Mrs. ****** that the transmission would have to be removed to determined the extent of damage and the complete labor charge would be $798.00 plus parts. Mrs. ****** stated to go ahead and pull the transmission because her son needed his car back to go to work. Once the transmission was disassembled and determined what parts were needed **** contacted Mrs. ****** and explained to her what parts were needed. **** then told Mrs. ****** the price to repair the transmission would be 1296.12 plus tax which also includes the labor of $798.00. Mrs. ****** was ok with the repair but she stated to **** that she didn't have the funds that's when **** recommended a finance company. **** then filled out an application with Mrs. ****** giving him all of her personal information. **** faxed the application to the finance company to see if she could get approved. Once Mrs. ****** realized that she couldn't get financed by herself the finance company asked her if she is willing to add her husband to the application and she said her husband doesn't know she is trying to get the car fixed. Once her husband found out,she got angry and stated that **** was not truthful but Mrs. ****** was aware of what was going on from the beginning. Bobs Transmission strives for excellent customer satisfaction with that being said Mrs. ****** still has a check engine light on in the Kia that was repaired so **** has informed Mrs. ****** and her husband that if they purchased the O2 sensor that Bobs Transmission would install the sensor for FREE!!!

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We dropped off our vehicle at Bob's Transmission on July 26, 2013, to have the transmission checked out for some issues we were having with it running smoothly. **** at Bob's Transmission said he would have it checked out free of charge Monday morning. We got the estimate from **** which seemed very high. When we told him that we wanted to have another estimate done by another shop he then said we had to pay a $100 diagnostic fee. He scammed us by telling us that there would be no charge to check it out but changed his story when we picked up the vehicle. Side note: their estimate was $800 higher then the local Ford Dealers on top of it. This is a very dishonest shop.

Desired Settlement: Refund the fee they charged us.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *********,

     After receiving the complaint # *******, From a **** *****. He was not a customer of ours, After talking to  

**** he told me it was under a ** ******** for the amount of 97.15. We spent over an hour running diagnostic

 test by A.S.E. Certified Mechanics. We do offer free diagnostic with repairs. I am sorry that Mr. ***** did not

 understand this, However Bob's Transmissions has been a trusted name in Columbus for over 30 years and

we will continue to strive for customer satisfaction. ** ******** can bring her MasterCard and we will gladly

credit the 97.15 to her card.

                                                                                                                                      Respectfully,

                                                                                                                                      ***** ******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *****


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2011 Problems with Product/Service
6/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1