This business is not BBB accredited.

Trailers & Hitches

Phone: (706) 596-0380 Fax: (706) 576-5134 5232 Hamilton Rd, Columbus, GA 31904


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sale, installation and repair of trailers and hitches, linex bedliners, welding and other truck accessories. 


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Trailers & Hitches include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Trailers & Hitches include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Trailers & Hitches
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 27, 1993 Business started: 10/01/1964 in GA Business started locally: 01/01/1975 Business incorporated 01/01/1975 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Lemieux, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Lemieux, Vice President
Business Category

Trailers - Rent & Lease Trailers - Repair & Service Campers - Service & Repair


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5232 Hamilton Rd

    Columbus, GA 31904 (706) 596-0380

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dropped off my trailer on 06/11/2014 and had Trailers and Hitches install a spare tire. I also told them to look at the tires on the trailer to see if they needed replacing. They called me back later that day on 06/11/2014 and priced the spare and the carrier. They said the tires were a worn down, but they should last the rest of the season. I told them to go through with the spare tire, but not to replace the tires since they can last another season. I called on 6/14/2014 for a status update on the spare. They replaced the tires anyway without my permission. The store said they would remove the tires at their own expense.I went to pay for the trailer on 6/17/2014 and another set of used tires were put on my trailer. These are not the tires I dropped the trailer off with.

Desired Settlement: I want my tires back or a brand new set of tires put on.

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had trailers and hitches put a towing hitch on my new dodge vehicle with the very clear specification that there should be NO splicing of ANY wires and that the "T-connector" be used instead.On December 4th, 2013, I discovered that my specific request was not honored, and that Trailers & Hitches had, in fact, spliced the wiring in the vehicle. I discovered this because I visited the dealership's service department where I purchased the vehicle trying to figure out why I was (and still am) having tail lights stop working, as well as other electrical issues in the vehicle. .Dodge instructed me that the entire electrical harness for the back of the vehicle has shorted due to the spliced wiring done by Trailers & Hitches and needs replacing. Since then I have placed several calls to Trailers & Hitches, held several conversations with the manager, and even visited the business in person, and after the initial "you are right, we should have done it this way, and we didn't, we will take care of this" I have always been given some excuse or another, "the owner just stepped out, the owner is at lunch we will call you back in 30 minutes, the owner never came back yesterday", needless to say I have never heard an "I'm sorry"!The final insult was today when I spoke with them, I simply asked with whom had he spoken with at dodge to take care of this matter and was told "***** ********s". I called back to dodge to speak with *****,(who SOLD me this vehicle) and found out that ***** ********s has been the new car sales manager at the Hyundai Location for 2-3 months now! I finally called back to Trailers & Hitches to confront the dishonesty and was adamantly told I was mistaken, I didn't know what I was talking about and he speaks with ***** every day. I explained to him that he needed to, after a month of dealing with him, that if there is not some sort of solution to this matter I would indeed file a complaint with the BBB and was instructed by the manager to "Go ahead".

Desired Settlement: Trailers and hitches needs to present a check for the amount that was quoted from Dodge dealership in their copy of the work order provided by myself in person OR make a phone call to Mr. ***** ******** Service advisor for Carl Gregory Dodge ###-###-#### with whom I have been working with regarding this issue and arrange for the repairs to be made at the expense of Trailers & Hitches in a timely manner.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

In reference to BBB Case # ******* - ******* ******  the owner **** ****** has spoken to her and advised for her to bring her vehicle into Trailers and Hitches and we take a look and and fix any problems she has refused to bring her vehicle into our place of business we have advised her that any and all warranty work has to be done here at our location she still has refused to bring in vehicle we have since placed a call to our insurance company about this incident for them to handle problem.

If you have any further questions please give **** ******* a call at ###-###-####

 

Thanks,

******* **********

Office Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* ******


 

 I  did indeed speak with **** on Jan 6th, 2014 and before I could get 2 sentences out, he decided to start yelling at me, accusing me of making false claims and berating me as if this issue was my fault, refusing to let me speak by talking over me continually. I was informed he did not appreciate me acting like trailers and hitches were trying to "rip off" customers,(of which I have never even implicated), that he has installed these hitches in cars like this everyday for the past 20 something years and had NEVER had a problem, that I must be "out of my mind" if I think trailers and hitches will pay for Carl Gregory Dodge to fix it, and that they "don't even make a T-connector for my vehicle". (this last statement was the very first time I have EVER heard that one) especially since during my very first phone call to inform them of what had been found the desk clerk looked up the original transaction and put me on hold to find the t-connector that was ordered but never used and came back to the phone stating "I've got it right here, I don't know why they did not use it, come on by and we will get this worked out" .  I tried to explain to ****, that looking at this from a customers' point of view, after having asked specifically to have this hitch installed WITHOUT splicing wires to avoid this exact problem, being led to believe this was the way it was originally done, and being treated as I have over the past month trying to get things resolved to where I feel comfortable driving my vehicle without fear of it catching on FIRE from an electrical shortage , that I don't feel entirely comfortable having them fix something they were happy to lead me to believe never happened in the first place. I was refused a copy of the original work order, told that I should call their insurance company on my own, and that if I didn't allow trailers & hitches to fix this issue then I was just out of luck... **** stated that this company works with Carl Gregory Dodge every day, and they have a "fantastic" working relationship with the dealership everyday. I do not see the issue with these two companies working together to settle this in a timely and FRIENDLY manner. I am not asking that I be paid directly for this issue, I am not asking to make any profit from not being able to use my vehicle that I have had for less than a year or the time and the hassle that I have had to go through trying to come to an amicable agreement in the resolution of an issue that I didn't create, I am simply asking that the actual certified dealership from where I purchased the vehicle fix the problem that trailers & hitches has created by their blatant dismissal of my request to NOT SPLICE WIRES IN MY VEHICLE. I have been continually lied to, dismissed, ignored and treated incredibly harshly (to put it lightly) and quite honestly do not feel that I am being unreasonable in my request to have Carl Gregory make the repairs.