BBB Accredited Business since

Tires First, Inc.

Phone: (706) 563-5555 Fax: (706) 563-6370 5454 Miller Rd, Columbus, GA 31909 http://www.tiresfirst.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers tire sales and service and mechanical repairs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tires First, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tires First, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tires First, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 23, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1971 in GA Business started locally: 01/01/1971 Business incorporated 01/01/1971 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Morrison, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Morrison, President
Business Category

Tire Dealers Auto Repair & Service Tire Retread & Repair Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Products & Services

Tires First, Inc. offers the following product(s): Auto Parts & Supplies, Auto Repair, Tires


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased two tires for $172.30 on 8/19/2013 and was guaranteed that they would be good for up to a year or 50,000 miles. As of 12/10/2013 they are worn bald, and deemed necessary of replacement. They said they will not replace the tires. As of that note, we had also had a rear right tire put on the same day, they told me that the brakes were dangerous to drive; leaking brake fluid as well as needing new rear calipers and all four rotors: brake pads front and back. I then took the car to another automotive shop, and was told my rotors were fine and that they had never heard of the brand of tire that Tires First had used on my car. I do need front and rear brake pads as well as rear adjustments. The amount Tires First gave me on their estimate of what they told me was wrong with my car came to be around 900, the other automotive shop gave me the estimate of what I do need which was roughly 700 and had nothing to do with what Tires First said was wrong with my car.

Desired Settlement: Two new front tires. Not the off brand Tires First has to offer.

Business Response:

1. Two tires were purchased on invoice ****** on 8/19/2013 by customer.  I inspected them upon request by the customer.   They showed severe alignment wear.  We put the said vehicle on the alignment rack at no charge to the customer.  I gave them a copy of the print out

   showing the current settings and the factory recommendation of settings as printed out of the computer.  The alignment was way out of specification.  Not even close to being within tolerance.  I gave this to the customer and explained that this causes tire wear.  Tire wear

   created by an alignment issue is not covered by any tire manufacturers warranty.   This inspection was done on 12/09/2013.

 

2.  When the vehicle was pulled into shop for the right rear tire on 1/07/2013, ,  we almost did not stop on the rack as the brakes went to the floor and barely stopped vehicle.  We saw where it was out of brake fluid and put some in for customer  at no charge.  I informed them that the brakes were unsafe and even had them initial that the car should not be driven. I told them it would be better to have the vehicle towed.  I told them that it was not safe for them or others on the public roads.   They drove vehicle regardless of my statement.   I offered a free brake inspection to them.

 

3.  They brought the car back for the inspection on 12/09/2013.   We inspected the brakes and found a blown out caliper on the rear,  this is why the brake fluid was low  on Saturday and was empty on this day of inspection.  The rear brakes were also

    worn out and the rotors were below specifications and the pads were totally worn out.   The front pads were worn to the thickness where they should be replaced and the rotors were at or below specs based on where you measured. We put brake fluid in agan

   at no charge to customer.  Again, we told them it was still unsafe to drive.

 

4.  In reference to the estimate and what the other shop gave estimate on, I don't have enough information to do any comparison.  If they got the work done that was needed to be safe and have the brakes working at a better deal, good for them.  I just don't understand

   what they were talking about with the rear adjustment of disc brakes. 

 

Thanks,

*** ********

 

 

 

 

8/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought 4 brand new tires to get install and did balance, alignment on my 2008 Acura mdx. My car required 4 wheels alignment they did not do so. After the service was done I have to come back in 2 weeks after that for re alignment since it was not correct the first time. It was not correct the second time either. Few months later my tires gone bad and it was less than 10000 on the tires. Brought the car to dealer and found out bad alignment was the cause that ruined the tires. Came back to them several times to get it take care and they told me I need to purchase 4 new tires. Even though they was the one that messed my tires up in the first place.

Desired Settlement: I like my tires perform the way it should be. I just paid close to 1000 dollars for the tires and it ruined. Due to bad service.

Business Response:

1. Customer brought his own tires to Tires First on 10/16/12,  tires not purchased from Tires first

      Installed customers tires IN****** with alignment and transmission service

2. Customer returned to Tires First on 10/25/12 with vibration.  We

    reballanced at no charge on IN******

3.  Came back to Tires First on 5/13/13 with brake shake from rotors

     machined rotors and rotated  IN******

4. Came in 5/23/13  rebalanced tires

5.  came in 5/31/13 with steering wheel off center.  we checked alignment and

    centered steering wheel at no charge.  IN****** at no charge.  Found that RR wheel was bent and

    customer was notified. 

6.  customer came in on 6/03/13 to check vehicle.  asked if wheel had been repaired.  answer, no

     showed customer the bent wheel.

We have done alot of work at no charge trying to work with customer.  He did not purchase the tires from Tires First.The vehicle went from 10/16/12

with the steering wheel straight, then came in on5/31/13 with steering wheel off center and a wheel bent.  This is not our fault.  Wheels don't bend

and steering wheels get off center without contact with something.   Again, we have done a lot at no charge to the customer on a product

that was not purchased from us.  We treated it as they were.  The events that have happened are not the cause of Tires First.

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** ******


 

 When I had the tires installed it was brand new tires. Had alligment on the car. The car needed 4 wheels alligment but you guys only did the front. The rear was out of alligment. In turn messed up the tires, then I got balance and rotate. Which in turn put the good tires to the rear and it messed those tires up too. For the alligment it self I had to come back couples times to get it decent. Brough it to the dealer to find out what happended and was told it caused from bad alligmented. If the alligment was done properly the first time. There should not an issue.

Business Response:

1.  This vehcile does require a four wheel alignment.   Not all vehicles need a four wheel alignment, but this one certainly does.

2.  Yes a four wheel alignmenht was done which would have been described with toe, camber and caster settings for all four wheels on the printout sheet

     that was placed in the car after the aligment was done.,

3.  The steering wheel was straight for 7 months and the wheel  not bent.  When vehicle came in on 5/31/13 a wheel was bent and steering wheel off center. 

     It did not leave her that way 7 months earlier.    What ever bent the wheel, no doubt threw the alignment off which made the steering wheel

     off center.  I don't doubt what the dealer said about alignment.  Usually an impact severe enough to bend a wheel does cause an alignment

     problem.

4.  I would suggest that the customer talk to the company he purchased the tires from to see if they would give him any assistance

     outside of the standard warranty.  They did not come from Tires First  and I can't assume the responsibility for something outside of my control that was not

     purchased from Tires First.

5.  If the wheel is not replaced or repaired, (if it can be repaired)  there is not way to properly do an alignment at this time.