BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
East AL, West & Southwest GA

BBB Accredited Business since

Mediacom-SW GA Area

Additional Locations

Phone: (229) 382-0220 Fax: (229) 382-4095 137 Love Ave, Tifton, GA 31794

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mediacom-SW GA Area meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mediacom-SW GA Area include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 21

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 06, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1978 in GA Business started locally: 01/01/1978 Business incorporated: 01/01/1978 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Category

Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite

Alternate Business Names
Mediacom

Additional Locations

  • 108 Hadley Dr

    Thomasville, GA 31792 (229) 226-6111

  • 137 Love Ave

    Tifton, GA 31794 (229) 382-0220

  • 1634 E Shotwell St

    Bainbridge, GA 39819 (229) 246-2433

  • 2432 S Main St

    Moultrie, GA 31768 (229) 985-2288

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am needing an extension until Aug.3rd. Since I have had service since my transfer of service, I have had nothing but issues, no service. I didn't receive my check, but was told I could have an extension until July 24th, but got called today and was told it was only going to be on until July 19th, I am in college and my husband has major medical issues. I am so tired of getting the major run around with this company. I have even called the Corporation and still get the run around. I just want the truth and better service. My service hasn't worked right since I moved in Thank you. I need an extension until Aug. 3rd. This is the first time it has been late and it took over 3 weeks for them to transfer cable.

Desired Settlement: I want an extension until Aug 3rd. It has never been late. Due to my husband's medical and my college I can't go to a library.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

The customer was connected on 5/23/14, one trouble call was placed for 6/2/14 and the TiVo mini had to be refreshed; the second trouble call was scheduled for 6/26/14 for no dial tone, the customer said there was no longer an issue and cancelled the work order when the tech arrived.

Credit has been given for time without service.

Utilization of the modem shows internet usage since transfer of service.

Our equipment automatically shuts down on 45 days delinquent and we are not able to prevent that without a payment prior to that time.

Please let me know if any other information is needed.

Thank you,

*********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Reported first complaint with Mediacom on, 05/20/14, I was receiving no cable service. On 05/29/14, the technician came out and told me I had a bag cable wire and my cable box was working fine. He advised me at that point it was nothing he could do because he could not repair a cable wires in the wall it was Mediacom's policy. I explained I understood their policy but I asked him about installing a new cable wire. He said he could install and new cable wire, but it would be a fee. He didn't know the fee so he would contacted his supervisor. After speaking with his supervisor he told me the fee would be 29.00 for installing the new cable wire. I asked when he could install the new cable wire he stated he couldn't do it today, but could do it the following week Monday or Tuesday between the hours of 3-5 pm. Tuesday came no show/no call; I contacted Mediacom on Friday, June 6th through the chat service. I explained my dilemma to the agent and she advised me the only thing she could do was schedule another appt. The new appt. was scheduled for June 12th. She made adjustments to my account at my request for 34.00. On June 12th the technician came to install the cable wire, after installation he advised me my cable box was not working and it was nothing he could do about that, but contact another technician who installs the cable boxes. He sent a message out for another technician to come out, but he stated he wasn't sure if they would come out that day. A follow-up appt was scheduled for June 17th, just in case no one showed up that day. The technician never came that day. On, June17th, the technician came out to replace my cable box, but wasnt able to due him stating every cable box he had didnt work. He contacted his supervisor *** ******, who said he would come to do the install. No show again, which as left me with no service and no idea when a technician will be coming out to replace my cable box.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my new cable box installed as soon as possible; and I would also like to have my cable bill adjusted due to recent lost of service.

Business Response:

Good morning,

The Technical Supervisor went to the customer's home on 7/8/14 to replace dct box and correct cable issue.

A credit of $58.89 has been applied to the customer's account for the additional dct and digital services not working from 5/20/14 until restored on 7/8/2014.

 

Please let me know if any other information is needed.

 

Thank you,

********* **********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have mediacom internet and had a technician come out on this past Monday, June 23, to fix an internet issue. The issue was apparently not corrected, yet again and we have contacted the tech department about the problem. The customer service tech was rude and when I spoke with a supervisor, he was trying to say that there is not a problem and that the signal can not be "fixed". I am tired of constantly having these issues happen. I have to have internet for my online training, otherwise I can not get the extra training I need for work. I feel that as mediacom being such a "BIG COMPANY" they should not be having these problems, however they are. As a matter of fact, any given day, our internet will actually "drop" service approximately 3-4 times a day, their modem will restart itsself and after about 10-15 minutes we can be back online. The problem here is that if the internet cuts out while in the middle of my training, it gives me a fail for that training session which, again, effects my job. I'm tired of this problem and feel that I should be compensated for having continuous problems! Since this problem is continous, I feel that we should garnish the payment of the bill until the issue is resolved.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate a free month of internet service due to the numerous times the internet has gone out and would like to have my entire system replaced with everything new. New modem, new cables, EVERYTHING. This has happened before and after everything was replaced then and after about a month, we began having problems again. We then received another replacement modem, and had problems again. I am tired of this issue and feel that it should be resolved immediately and for good.

Business Response:

Good Afternoon,

The Customer Service Manager for Georgia and our Area Director are working on this complaint together.

A trouble call has been scheduled; once the issue is resolved they will discuss the credits to the account.

I will submit another update once the information is provided to me.

Thank you,

********* **********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I canceled my service (phone and internet) on 4/21/2014 for my then residence **** *** ** ** ******* ** ***** due to my moving to another state. My account has always been in good standing. I received a statement reflecting zero balance in May. Approximately 3 weeks later I received another statement reflecting that I owed almost $187.12 because equipment wasn't returned and outstanding balance. I called customer service and acknowledged I had equipment and made arrangements to return it. I was told at that time by ***** on 6/9/2014 I did not have any outstanding balance except equipment. On 6/12/2014 I get a collection letter dated 6/9/2014 from credit protection association representing mediacom reporting I owe 196.74. I called mediacom again on 6/15/2014 and speak to ****** who does a complete check of my account and explains she has nothing in the system that shows me owing mediacom anything and I never had an outstanding balance. Once again like ***** both report I do not owe $48.12. I then contact credit protection association and file a dispute. I now received another letter from credit protection association on behalf of mediacom reporting that they received my equipment and now owe them $57.74. I call them up and I am told that mediacom allegedly sent my account to collections in April 2014 and that they do that whenever an account is terminated. I explain that mediacom did not terminate my account I closed it because I relocated out of state and that there is nothing on mediacom showing that I have an outstanding balance. I do not want this sitting on my credit because mediacom sent my account to collections for no reason. The only thing I owed them was the equipment and I returned it. I am disputing this charge of $48.12 and I am definitely not going to pay a collection agency $57.74 for something I do not owe.

Desired Settlement: I want this fraudulent charge removed, my name removed from collections, and with nothing placed on my credit score.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

The Customer Service Manager for Mediacom researched Complaint Case# ******** - **** ******l.

The current balance on the customer's account is $48.12; she was charged for a partial month for services rendered from 4/6-4/19.

The customer can pay the $48.12 with Mediacom and we will have the charge removed from her credit report and we apologize for the incorrect information she received.

 

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

*** *******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about January 26, 2014 I discovered my bank account was overdrawn. When looking into why it was overdrawn I found that Mediacom had taken just over $140.00, out of my account, after I had already paid them, after they called me to remind me my bill was overdue. This caused me to be charged 3-$35.00 overdraft fees, as well as a $20.00 NSF charge from another business when my check was returned. I called Mediacom and the person I talked to looked at everything and told me he saw where I had indeed recently paid my bill via telephone, and then the money was taken from my account a few days later as if I had set-up "AutoPay" I assured this person I hadn't set-up AutoPay, and he immediately submitted a request for a refund, told me it might take up to 3-days, and told me if the bank wouldn't refund me the overdraft fee that Mediacom would.Today I looked at my emails from Mediacom for the first time this year. When looking at my payment history and my emails from Mediacom I found that in December when I paid online, I received a confirmation email stating I had signed up for AutoPay. The next time I paid online was February and after that payment I found that I had received an email stating I had signed up for AutoPay, followed by another email stating AutoPay had been cancelled. I have never signed up for AutoPay and believe this to either be a problem with the website or a method that Mediacom is using to get people to use AutoPay.Today I was once again told that I would not receive credit (I'm seeking $35.00 of the $125.00) as this fiasco is my fault.

Desired Settlement: This company has cost me money out of my pocket and I am seeking to have that amount credited to my Mediacom account.

Business Response:

Good Morning,

The Customer Service Supervisor for the Valdosta, GA area researched Complaint Case # ********-**** ********.

Our billing system is set up where the customer has to set up automatic payments by entering all of their payment information. Our Customer Service Department cannot set up or deactive auto payments.

We have credited his account $62.50 which is meeting him half way from the $125 he is requesting.

Please let me know if any other information is needed.

Thank you,

********* **********

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 1*******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ********


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I suffered a cable outage on September 1, 2013. Upon calling to report the problem, I was advised the first available appointment would be Tuesday, September 10, 2013. The customer service representative was told that we have a special needs child living here who is usually calmed by watching TV. The technician came this afternoon and replaced one of the boxes. As of 7:15 p.m., the cable has not been working. Calls were made to report the outage with the assurance that we would be called back. No one from Mediacom has returned our calls. I received an email stating mu next appointment would be Monday, September 16. This was is unacceptable. I called customer service and spoke with *******. The call was disconnected after she placed me on hold. I called back and was again disconnected without even speaking to anyone. When I called the third time, the agent told me he would credit my account $16 for interruption of service which is an insult to me. All I see is a blue box on my screen. Paying $80 a month and this is the treatment and service I receive? Totally unacceptable!!

Desired Settlement: I want my cable restored and my money refunded. I have been a Mediacom customer for years, but it has become apparent that I explore other cable providers.

Business Response:

Good Morning,

The Customer Service Manager for Georgia researched Complaint Case# ******-******** ** *****, *** ******** ******* ************ ** *****.

Reviewing the customer's account, she received credit for the time the service had not worked.

The Manager tried to contact the customer by phone, one phone number had been disconnected and another phone number on the account contacted an automated system to a business and would not allow her to choose an operator.

Please let me know if any other information is needed.

Thank you,

********* **********   Valdosta Area, Operations Admin Assoc, Mediacom

275 Norman Drive

Valdosta, GA 31601

###-###-#### (O)

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******** *****


 

Neither one of my phone numbers is disconnected, and I do not feel a $16 credit is adequate for the trouble I suffered as a result of issues with Mediacom.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

After reviewing the complaint with our CSR Manager, the customer should have received 30 days credit and only received 5 days. A credit is being issued today for the remaining 25 days.

We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused.

The manager did try the phone numbers on the customer's account to apologize, one number was disconnected and the other number is to a Federal Office in Florida.

Please let me know if any other information is needed.

vThank you,

********* ********** Valdosta Area, Operations Admin Assoc, Mediacom

275 Norman Drive

Valdosta, GA 31601

###-###-#### (O)

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have constantly been having problems with mediacom's internet service for well over a whole month. Unfortunately on a weekly basis a tech. has had to come out to "fix" the issue, however the issue is never fixed. I still have lost my internet consistently throughout the day, and some days the internet is down for hours at a time. This past Tuesday, I requested for a one month credit, that was given, however today on the 21st of February I again asked for a credit because we are continuously losing out internet services. While I know internet is a luxury and is trivial, we are using the internet for me to prepare for a CNA test this Saturday and my husband is using it for online courses to obtain his GED. These internet issues is preventing us from being able to study and prepare for out tests. I feel that this is causing us to become inadequate in these situation and is causing suffering of our exams. I feel that not only should I receive the second 1mth credit I have asked for, I feel that it is my right as a customer to Mediacom for my services to be fixed.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of my past two months due to consistently having these issues, as stated I have already received one month of credit, I am now wanted my second month of credit, that will be at least another $60.Thanks

Business Response:

 

Good Morning,

This is in response to Complaint BBB CASR# ******* ***** *******.

Our Customer Service Supervisor spoke with the customer yesterday, 2/26/14 after a tech visited her home and she verified the services were working.

The supervisor issued another month's credit to the account and will follow up on the status of her services on 3/6/14.

 

Thank you,

********* **********

###-###-####

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. However I want it stated that if the problem arises again I expect to receive the assistance and the problem to be resolved on the first attempt.

Regards,

***** *******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mediacom cable has never worked in the home since it was installed. I called to cancel the service 3 weeks ago. I wanted to keep the home phone and internet services and was told that the price for those two services would be the 49.99 price. I returned my receivers 3 weeks ago, right after i canceled. however, the bill I now have is for over 100 dollars and im told the cable portion was just now cancelled today. the supervisor stated he was going to pull the call and then came back stating he could not? the issue is still not resolved and the customer service has been poor from the start.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund back for what Ive paid into this and for the entire cable portion. It has not worked and I should not have to pay for it since they are the ones that can not seem to resolve the issue here. I also want my bill corrected 49.99 monthly for one year with no contract

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

The Customer Service Manager for Georgia researched Complaint Case # *******- ***** *******.

The customer spoke with a CSR Supervisor on 10/2/13 resulting in the customer's account being credited for the cable services as promised.

The credit to the customer's account was processed on 10/3/13 and the issue is resolved.

Please let me know if any other information is needed.

 

Thank you,

********* **********

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe. The complainant did not acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I currently have phone, cable and internet service with Mediacom. I am very upset that almost every night there is a system maintenance that can last anywhere from one hour to approximately 6 hours, as it did last night. I am a third shift employee and a mother of two babies, and I get off at midnight at night, and if there is any reason should my husband need to contact me while I'm at work or if I need to contact emergency personnel, I am not able to do so since my phone service is out due to the system maintenance. I am not happy that I pay so much for the services and then if I do need it, such as the phone, it may not be available to me. Upon contacting Mediacom last night from a friend's phone to contact Mediacom about what is going on, and they only offered me a credit, but could not explain why their maintenance takes over six hours while other companies, that are much larger than Mediacom, only takes one hour or less.

Desired Settlement: I would like for something to be done about the time of the system maintenance, it does not need to take 6 hours to do the maintenance. I feel like either the business needs to get their work together and do thing correctly, change the time of the maintenance, or at least give a larger credit than just $32 as should there be a time when I will have to use my phone to contact emergency personnel and can not because of the stupid maintenance.

Business Response:

Under Mediacom's Residential Customer and User Agreement, which is provided to all customers at the time of installation and is available at http://mediacomcable.com/site/legal.html or by calling ###-###-####, under section 4, it states that scheduled or unscheduled service interruptions for maintenance, testing or other purposes may occur at any time, with or without notice.  It also states that ordinarily, customers will not be entitled to a refund, credit or other compensation for an interruption.  Mediacom provides credit on a case by case basis, depending on each customer's circumstances.  Mediacom does provide a website for customers to reference scheduled maintenance in their area and it is available at http://mediacomcable.com/Maintenance/.

Thank you,

******* ********

Director, Operations

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February 2013 one of Mediacom's technicians came to my house to fix a problem I have been having with my Internet connection. It was dropping frequently, thus interrupting our internet connection. The technician changed out the cable box connected to the television, after this my television began having a pink background especially noticeable when the background is really light. The technician then changed the box again attempting to correct the problem; however this did not change the coloration. I am highly displeased about this situation. My television did not have this problem prior to Mediacom changing out the cable boxes. I have talked to several Mediacom employees regarding this matter and several notes have been made on my account, however Mediacom has done nothing to remedy the problem that they have created. I find it very unprofessional of Mediacom to just disregard this situation and assume it is our responsibility to have the television fixed. Once again, the problem did not occur until Mediacom came out to fix our internet connection problem. I worked very hard to pay for my television and now the picture is clearly discolored at no fault of my own.

Desired Settlement: I would like Mediacom to pay to have my television fixed to its prior state.

Business Response:

Please see the attached documentation of our original investigation of the customer's complaint.  After reviewing with the area supervisor, he stated that he had tried to contact the customer several times in order to follow up on the request to seek repairs on the TV set.  We asked the customer to take the TV to a repair location in order to establish what the issue was with the set and whether our equipment did indeed cause the issue as stated.  In our investigation, we found no fault with the installation process and could find no fault with the equipment that was installed.  If the customer is willing to provide a quote and report from a TV repair location stating that the issue was caused by our error, we are willing to rectify the situation for the customer. 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Complainant failed to acknowledge the business response to BBB.

5/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/25/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/14/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/22/2011 Billing/Collection Issues