BBB Accredited Business since

Mediacom-Columbus/W GA

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 239-8411 Fax: (706) 562-8270 6700 Macon Rd, Columbus, GA 31907


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mediacom-Columbus/W GA meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mediacom-Columbus/W GA include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 44 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

44 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 17 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 36
Total Closed Complaints 44

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mediacom-Columbus/W GA
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 29, 1970 Business started: 12/14/1981 in GA Business started locally: 12/14/1981 Business incorporated: 12/14/1982 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Constance Lewis, Human Resources Mr. Phil Skinner, Sr. Dir.
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Constance Lewis, Human Resources
Principal: Mr. Phil Skinner, Sr. Dir.
Business Category

Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite

Alternate Business Names
Mediacom

Additional Locations

  • 103 College St

    Cuthbert, GA 39840 (800) 342-8405

  • 302 Tripp St Ste A

    Americus, GA 31709 (800) 239-8411

  • 401 S Pecan St Ste G

    Cordele, GA 31015

  • 6700 Macon Rd

    Columbus, GA 31907 (800) 239-8411

  • 708 S Grant St Ste 5

    Fitzgerald, GA 31750 (229) 423-3800

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    80 Parsonage St

    Mc Rae, GA 31055

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am not even sure where to begin. I needed to select almost every option from the drop down box. I am a new customer with Mediacom. I set up an appointment to have the cable connected. They sent a contract company, Apex, to my home. My appointment ***e was 3-5pm, they arrived after 6. He showed up in a personal, unmarked vehicle. The installer stayed until 10:30pm in a home with just me (a female) and my small child, until I finally had to have my father come over to ask him to leave. He advised he could not connect the cable because the home was wired incorrectly. I had to have my contractor's electrician come to the house. Upon his arrival, he discovered the guy had torn apart the HDMI cord and damaged the face of the jack. Upon calling his supervisor with Apex, *** answered the phone "yah". Completely unprofessional. They sent another technician out to see about repairing the damage. Because my home is wired through the walls, they cannot fish the line through. My brand new home will need to have holes put through the walls so they can rewire the HDMI line to the tune of an estimated $400. They sent the claim to their insurance company *********. After contacting Mediacom numerous times, working with **** at *********, and having to be at SEVERAL service calls in my house, the damage has still not been repaired. Not to mention, their customer service, turn around time, followup, and professionalism is deplorable.

Desired Settlement: I would like the damage in my home repaired immediately, obviously, at no cost to me. Furthermore, if the lack of response continues, I will seek damages due to the time away from the office I am having to dedicate to this, the mileage on my vehicle traveling to and from work to meet them at the house, and my gas expenses.

Business Response: I spoke with our contractor and the customer should be receiving a check for the damages from their insurance company very soon.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Per the attached email, **** *********  at ********* Insurance advised that Atrex (the contracted company that was sent to my home) would be issuing a check. I have not received any confirmation or follow-up from Atrex or Mediacom. Nor do I have a turnaround time on when the check will be mailed.


Regards,

******** ******

4/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service goes down every week for at least one hour duration.Service is currently down, I am reporting this via my phone on a 3G connection.The problem is NOT with my house or the equipment inside.

Desired Settlement: I want them to actually fix the service so that it doesn't go down every week for an hour at a time.

Business Response: We've had our maintenance staff inspect the cable plant in the area and they were not able find anything that would cause services to drop.  I do see where we had an outage in the area last week which would have caused all services to be out but it was restored.  We do roll on declared outages no mater the time of day or night.  I would recommend the customer to call us anytime services are out so we can document the problem and narrow down the issue.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I've been doing this for months. I report it, they send a junior tech out who looks at the house cable and says "I don't find anything wrong, but the signal is off, so it must be in the street lines, but I'm not authorized to look at those, so I'll have to open a ticket to get maintanence to come out." They send a line truck out, he fools around, then 24 hours later it goes out. Every time I report it I'm told there are NO OUTAGES in my area. I've had 3 people at Mediacom tell me they know there is a problem with the lines on this street. The cable feeding my house isn't even attached to the pole.

see attached images

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: We can certainly get someone out to secure the cable to the pole.  As already mentioned, maintenance has been out and we are unable to find a problem that would cause the cable to go out once a week.  I would suggest the customer to call us as soon as the cable goes out so we can respond as quickly as possible in an attempt to identify the problem.

4/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: April of 2014, I cancelled service with Media-com. I was offered a service to have my equipment picked up by technicians,("a service that is not within normal practices of Media-com"), as was explained to me by Media-com customer service later on. This service was offered due to me moving to another state abruptly, as I was working as a civilian contractor on military posts. Upon receiving my final bill from Media-com at my new residence May of 2014, I called to pay the final bill and check the status of the equipment pickup. I was told by customer representatives that it had not been picked up. I asked why and was told that the technicians failed to follow the specific directions about meeting the Office management of the apartment complex on any day other than the weekend, (they went on a Saturday). I set up for another pick up date, and was told it would be a little while before they would send someone again. June of 2014, (two months after I had moved) Media-com sent technicians to the apartment complex,the equipment was no longer there, thrown out by management, who too tried to contact Media-com to come and pick up the equipment. Due to some fine print "all equipment is the sole responsibility of the customer", as I was told by Media-com Customer Services. I was also told that at some point in that time ("I had requested a different method to return the equipment"), which is a false statement. I was sent a Collections letter for 289.00, and attempted to reconcile with Media-com as lost or stolen equipment. Media-com declined and still pushed to file for collections. March 2015, I have attempted to call Media-com to pay-off the debt and was told it was 589.00 which is not the amount the collection agency had sent me, and is also not the amount shown on my credit report. Media-com is attempting to contact the agency to correct the issue and contact me back...Though I have also been told by customer service that email notifications and/or phone calls are not a practice of Media-com.

Desired Settlement: I request that Media-com absolve the collections claim and remove from credit report. I was offered services that were not rendered in a timely fashion or to customers request; as-well a service that was not even a legitimate service of Media-com. I also request that the collections debt be absolved as the collections debt of 289.00 is found to be a False and/or Inaccurate statement that was not checked or followed up by Media-com the "creditor" damaging my credit for a period of nearly a year.

Business Response: I do see the two unreturned pieces of equipment on Mr. ******'s account.  Unfortunatley I can only relay the same message that other Mediacom representatives have already explained to Mr. ******, which is that it is the customer's responsibility to make sure the equipment is returned. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

****** ******

I can not pay off the debt as MEDIA COM has failed to accurately submit a  Notice to the "COLLECTIONS AGENCY"
The disregard to mentioning the inaccurate/false submission, as stated in my complaint is again an example of the standards that reflects Media Com as a company.

So as to assist in the reading of the complaint.  "I  HAVE A NOTICE FROM COLLECTION THAT SAYS I OWE A DIFFERENT AMOUNT THAN WHAT MEDIA-COM SAYS I OWE".
Collections notice says I only owe 298.00
Media com says I owe 598.00
I have been waiting three days now for a return call on this matter; as I was told I would receive a phone call.

I will gladly pay 298.00 to collections However; I am sure Media Com will not find that sufficient, So I EXPECT the 298.00 false information on my credit report,and Notice to collections to be removed by Media Com and then I will pay their desired amount of 598.00
 

Business Response:

I have confirmed that the correct amount due is $589.  We've also confirmed with CPA that the amount they now show due is also $589.  The breakdown is as follows:

The unreturned equipment, consists of 1 DVR/HD Pace-Dallas RNG200N (replacement value $450), and 1 DPC 3925 –EMTA/Wireless Modem (replacement value $139).  Total unreturned equipment value is $589.00.

4/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: cable tv repair issues ongoing for a year now every tech states there is a different cause we have had multiple box replacement,modem,new wires and ends. picture freezes looks like a picture on the wall also has scattered blocks of color,or does not work at all.three technicians were out last week at different days the first one said we needed a new dvr witch he did not have.he called in another service call to have them come back with the part.they came back and did not replace it and said it was a cable issue replaced all the cable ends.and said there was still a problem and all the cable in the house would have to be replaced. this house is only 6 years old as is cable.he called and wanted to come out on tuesday. this was on monday,me and my wife are not able to take off work at that time we are in management and have to schedule for someone to cover for us.so the tech.gave his cell number to call him and make an appointment all i get is voice mail and i never get a call back.they have told me different thins are causing this issue but 3 of my neighbors that have media com are having issues also. i am in the service industry and i know if i provided and treated my customers this way i would be out of business.

Desired Settlement: fix the issue.refund 1/3 monthly bill for loss of use 780.00 dollars loss of income and or provided expanded service. 1/3 of our business is done from home the most important thin is to fix it ! quit telling me lies, do their job witch i pay for. and make convenient appointment and keep it and do what ever they need to. to resolve this many techs have been verified issue service center was been called and seen issue and has to unlock box or reboot to get it to work. very frustrated *** *****

Business Response: We completed a service call for the customer on 3/5.  I need to know if the customer is still experiencing problems with service and specifically what the issues area.

Business Response: Is there a time this week when we can schedule another service call?

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

*** ***** first free day we have would be after 5:30 pm or Saturday after 3:pm or Sunday  call and make an apt. You have my phone number

3/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 05, 2014 a Mediacom agent, tech#****, came out to my house to replace DVR services with Tivo services. He disconnected the DVR equipment and also connected the Tivo and explained to us how to us this new equipment. He told us that he was to take the old DVR equipment with him and return to the warehouse. We thought this had been done and heard no reports to say otherwise UNTIL we canceled service in Aug 2014. We were then sent a bill for an equipment charge of about $500. I called and was explained that this was for the main DVR box. I explained to the customer service rep and several supervisor over months span that he took the equipment. I was told that they could see where all the other equipment was turned in expect the main box. Then was told I was responsible even though the mediacom tech removed the equip from our house and took it with him. They have advised they they "researched" and I'm still responsible. I don't feel I should be responsible for equipment that was removed from my house by THEIR tech. Obviously this equipment was either misplaced by the tech or the company themselves. Why would I keep the DVR when I was upgrading to Tivo...not only that why was I JUST told about this eqip being missing when it was time for us to cancel our service bc we were moving? I should NOT be held responsible for this equip. I'm on the verge of taking this to a lawyer.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to remove this from the bill as we have always been loyal customers and would not hold any equipment. Had I been the one to misplace the equipment I would be happy to provide reimbursement however this equipment was removed from my house by the tech, #**** therefore it's mediacom's responsibility or the tech himself. I'm being called numerous times daily by a collection agency for equipment I don't have and haven't had since May o5, 2014. Please remove this from my bill.

Business Response: I've requested that this equipment be removed from the customer's account so the customer will not be charged for it.

3/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My account number is **** ***** *******. I have been a Mediacom customer for over thirty years. They have gone through several mergers since that time. My package has been grandfathered in. However, this last billing cycle I received a bill for $235.34 instead of $189.13. I went to the office and the young lady at the desk said that I had been removed from the grandfather list and she did not know the reason. She said that they removed you from the list but she did not know who they are. There was no warning the previous month that my bill was about to increase $46.00. This would have given an opportunity to see if I wanted to keep the service. This is an insult after being a loyal customer for over thirty years. My bill is always paid on time I am never late.

Desired Settlement: Leave my bill the way it is or give a chance to change service without the increase.

Business Response: The customer was in an introductory package for premium services and digital plus and the pricing for those services has now increased.  Pricing for Family Cable and HSD services have not changed. 

2/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mediacom advertises broadband internet with speeds up to 50 megabytes per second (mbps) Download and 5 mbps Upload which was better than my previous Internet Service Provider (ISP). While at a friend's house I always noticed their internet connection and speeds were always better than mine so I asked who was their ISP and they stated Mediacom. I decided to drop my ISP and subscribe to Mediacom. I decided to go with the Internet and phone package. Upon installation I realized my phone did not work and my internet was significantly worse about (3 mbps). I called them immediately to be informed they wouldn't be able to come back out for 3 days. When the technician arrive he swaps the modem for the phone and states "I can't fix the internet I have to do a service call and someone will be out within 24 hours to check signal and connection." 48 hours has passed and I have not received a courtesy call or anything. I call Mediacom only to be told they see a work order but no timeline for repair. After two more phone calls to them I'm told a technician will be out on Tuesday between 1-5 pm. This makes three times I've had to miss work for them to come out two of which were service related issues and I've only been with them a week. Needless to say I am very upset and unsatisfied with the quality of service, customer service I've received from them. I'm very aware that I'm not going to receive 50 MBPS all the time but nothing higher than 7 MBPS is not acceptable. I have four persons needing to use the internet at the same time and it's not possible with such poor connection!

Desired Settlement: Issue resolved in a more expedient manner and my account credited for the inconvenience and time lost at work for an issue that should have been checked prior to initial installer leaving the premises.

Business Response: We've been monitoring the customer's modem and, other than it going off line on February 8th either due to an outage or maintenance, it's been on-line and performing well since that time.  If Mr. ***** is still having speed issues I can get another tech out to do some speed tests but the modem is performing well from what we can see.

2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: cable and internet,phone service many repair calls issue not resolved. they have installed modems.main box,dvr box,cable from pedestal to house.and told me the cable in my 5 year old house was the issue paid contractor 1,500.00 as the tech told me that was the problem. it was not and did not help the issue at all. 4 of subscribers are having the same issue at last service call 2 came to my house when tech. was here asking if he was going to fix their cable also, I have had multiple boxes,modems,dvr boxes and it is a little better but internet speed is as slow as dial up tv picture freezes an blocks up at this time I want my service I pay for to work correctly or refund my expense of all un needed replacement of home cable and loss of service if not refund my money for new cable in whole house or send a repair tech to fix it this has gone on too long also me and my wife use this for work purposes if you can't fix it just tell me and I will switch back to knology.witch I never had these issues with. pnone support wants to keep doing the same thing when I call and it has not improved anything after 30 attempts I want it fixed properly as advertised or give me my money back and I will go back to service that I have never had any of these issues with and refund of payments. and repairs made I had to pay for that were not needed nor did not fix issue thank you *** *****

Desired Settlement: 1,500 dollars for replacement of cable,$800.00 loss of work,$1000.00 loss of use of business or fix it ! and come some kind of agreement of loss of use time off work and loss of use

Business Response: We had a technician out to Mr. *****'s home on Sunday, 1/18/15.  He reported several bad connectors behind wall plates which he replaced.  It's been reported to me that the issues experienced by Mr. ***** have now been resolved.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

*** *****  there has been no  improvement in service tech said  there was a issue with line other than our house and was to put in a order for the  line repair unit there is no change in service and their statement is a lie and service tech can come back and see the same issue is still present i demand repair or a complete refund or a proper repair,there are recordings they can view that clearly prove my response and other witness to prove this fix it or give me a full refund loss of wages due to lost of income and i will get another provider no less will be tolerated thank you *** *****

Business Response: I've left a voice mail for the customer this morning to see if they are still seeing issues.  The modem has been on line for 28 days and looks good. 

2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Today is the second day this month in which I have been without service.No televisionNo InternetI lost count of how many times service was down in 2014.What should be the exception, has become the norm for Mediacom.CS says they don't see any outages, yet here I am, no service.Mediacom markets itself has being customer friendly, tech appointments on your schedule, yet the earliest I can get a tech, tomorrow, NOT today when my service is out.I pay over $150 per month for service, yet I can't make it one month without service being down, and they never compensate me for that time.

Desired Settlement: I'd like them to fix the problem and keep my service up.

Business Response: I do show a service call for Mr. ******* on January 7th.  Just need to know if he is still having issues.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I am still having problems.

Service has been down twice since I reported this problem to the BBB on the 6th.
January 17, 2015, 07:05:31 PM
January 19, 2015, 08:13:55 PM
Note, the second time was last night, during which service was down for over an hour.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:

I just spoke with one of our maintenance techs who has been working in this area.  He has been in touch with the customer and we believe all issues have been resolved at this time.

2/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned my equipment to Mediacom on December 6, 2014 and cancelled my service after being with the company since 1977. When I returned the equipment I was told that I had another modem that had not be returned. I told them that this is all the equipment I had and then proceeded to pay my final bill to terminate my service with them. On or around the 22 of December I recived a bill for $267.88. It ws for service from January 1 to January 31, 2015 and a charge for the missing modem. I then went to Mediacom aroung December 23 or 24th to try to clear this matter up and was told by the CSR at the Macon Road location that the modem that I still had with the numer ************ had not been retured. She told me that I would need proof that it was returned. I supplied her with a receipt from June 19, 2007 with that modem number on it. She made a copy of the receipt and was told that someone would call me. On January 2, 2014 I made another trip to the Macon road office with another receipt stating that it had been returned. This receipt had the order number ******************* and was signed by one of their representatives on 6-19-07. I was told that someone will call me by Tuesday January 6 and still no call yet as of January 8, 2015. I called the company today and was told that they will complete a ticket on it and investigate it. I am not looking for anyone to call me back as that apparently is not their practice. If you want something done about we as customers need to follow up.

Desired Settlement: I would like credit on the return of the modem and refunded the $40 some dollars that the CSR said that I had coming to me. I do not want this to go to collections or on my credit report as I have supplied sufficient documentation to proove that I do not have this equipment.

Business Response: I'm working to get the modem taken off the account.  Once that is done any credit still on the account will be processed for payment to the customer.

Business Response:

I have verified this morning that the modem has been taken off of the account.  There is a $0 balance on the account.  The customer did not pay for the modem and there was no deposit on the equipment, so no money is due the customer.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I was told that I had a $45.00 credit on my account when I acquired about the modem. Where did that go?


Regards,

*** ****

12/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service appointment made to repair falling cable line. Technician came out and did not repair. He left. Customer service representative called to follow up. Informed her of falling line, she states we will have to wait until the line breaks before intervention can be done which would leave use with cable/internet for days.

Desired Settlement: I want a new line ran and apology from customer service representative for her terrible attitude.

Business Response: I had a supervisor drive by yesterday to take a quick look at the cable drop going to the customer's house.  Although there are some vines and small trees growing around the lines, the cable itself appears to be in good shape.  We typically do not trim shrubbery or trees away from cable drops and leave that up to the home owner.  My apologies to the customer if anyone at Mediacom seemed rude.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have NEVER requested for Mediacom to remove the trees/vines. That has already been addressed by the power company. They trimmed them and left them causing the line to sag. My request from Mediacom  was to have the line MOVED AND STABLE! And as far as someone coming to look at the drop I can't see how that was possible as we were home all day. The line is continuously getting worse and we'd like it fixed. I don't understand the issue. Why do we have to accept poor quality of service? 


Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: We're going to go ahead and replace the existing drop.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *****

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I first reported an issue with my internet connection (Mediacom of Columbus, GA) was not working properly on September 25th of 2014. The service a month prior to that was not working as advertised. Our cable modem which provides my home with internet service has not been fully functional since the beginning of September. Since that date, my grandson and I have personally contacted Mediacom on more than a dozen occasions to resolve the issue, only to be told that it would be fixed 5 or so days after the problem began. A technician came out on September 30th and at that time, I was told that we would have to wait another 3 days for a maintenance technician to evaluate the issue. On October 7th a maintenance technician was seen parked next to a power pole checking signals and I was not spoken to regarding the resignation of the issue. The original technician who came out on September 30th told me that he would call me when the signal issue was resolved and when a modem transfer would be needed not. I called the technician 6 times and I have not received a phone call since October 5th regarding the issue and whether or not the it has been solved. On October 9th, I contacted Mediacome once again on October 9th only to be told that we would have to wait until October 13th for another technician to come out and hopefully resolve the problem.

Desired Settlement: It would be satisfactory to receive compensation for the months of September and October and to receive compensation of at least $100 to purchase my own cable modem and router so I do not have to rent one from Mediacom every month.

Business Response: I'm trying to get some additional information on this before I respond.  I show a tech was at the customers home on 10/27 but comments on the job are not clear.  I need to determine if the issue has been resolved.  Can the customer tell us if the problems were resolved on the 27th?

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

A dozen or so techs have come out and the problem with the inconsistent internet speed and connections persists. 

Regards,

******* ******* 

Business Response:

We had a service technician out on 11/12.  I need to know from the cusotmer if the issue is resolved and then I can request some credit.

10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had numerous service issues. After multiple phone calls and many days without services, Mediacom finally fixed a torn fiber cable that runs through my neighborhood. Now it took 2 days to get them on the phone to provision our new modem, which we had to pick up due to them sending us the wrong modem. Today we have found out the fiber line has been cut to our neighborhood leaving us without cable and internet again. This makes 3 days in one week that I have not been able to work. Not being about to work has caused me to be written up at my job and possibly will lose it due to being written up a few months ago for the internet failing. Lastly my bill just increased $60 saying my contract expired, which is untrue I signed a life time guarantee at the rate I had. So now Mediacom has jeopardized my job, decreased my monthly income this month, and increased my bill for no reason. They should have to compensate me for services they have not offered.

Desired Settlement: 2 days without internet just this week and the many times without it (please have mediacom pull their notes on my account, too many times I lost count): Would like $184.00 that will pay me back for not being about to work just this week at least that will help. Would like my bill reduced back to the agreed upon rate and package.

Business Response: We did have a fiber cut today that was beyond our control.  I have requested two weeks of credit for the service issues Mr. ***** has experienced.  I do not have the ability to make any changes to billing or packaging.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Since my internet is failing again today (10/09/2014), which now makes 4 days in 1 week of having problems.  Also if I am correct 2 weeks of credits would only be $56 if what I was told is correct.  Which does not even start to recovery the lost in wages and inconvenience.  I have been written up again and will lose my job if it happens again in the next month. 

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: We cannot provide credit for lost wages.

7/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mediacon is without a doubt the worse cable company I have ever had the displeasure of doing business with. I have had nothing but issues with their customer service and tech support since the first day I contacted them. I have contacted online support multiple times, been to the office, and had 5 different service appointments to fix my whole home dvr and I still have no resolution. When they first installed the cable boxes last year, the service tech and I use the term very loosely, couldnt get the multi home dvr boxes to work. He told me the only fix was to come install a new system and new lines. Turns out it was just a faulty splitter they installed. I replaced the splitter and the whole home dvr started working. All except one of the three boxes that is. We had so many issues with tech support that we decided to just use the two boxes because the bedroom didnt have a tv anyway. We finally got a tv for the bedroom, so we set up an appointment to fix the third box. The service tech came out and looked at the system. He told us that we couldnt just replace the one box, we had to replace the whole system and lose the recording we had saved on the HD. Told us that our local branch was phasing out the system we had and we needed to switch to TIVO. Went online and used the support site, and the tech told us they could swap out only one box and to just go to the local office and pick up a new box. We went to the office as we were told to do, and were told that they didnt carry the boxes and we would need to have a tech come out yet again. We requested not to have the same tech sent this time. A new tech showed up with only one box and seemed to know more about what he was doing. He got the box hooked up and got it to recognize the harddrive, but couldnt get it to recognize the other boxes. He told us they were sending a reprogram signal that would take 30 mins, so he would leave and come back later in the day to make sure it was working. He also told us we really needed to switch to TIVO cause they were phasing out the boxes we had. Shockingly he never showed up. Set up yet another service appointment. Another new tech showed up and brought yet another box. This time he actually got it to sync with the other boxes, and we thought all was well. He yet again told us we really needed to swap to TIVO because the local office was phasing out the boxes and didnt place orders for them anymore. After all the issues we had, we thought everything was finally working. Then, the harddrive for the systems starting having issues. Now it will record the wrong shows, freeze up when watching a show while something is recording, and our personal favorite, it will tell you dvr service is unavailable and stop recognizing all the boxes in the middle of you watching a show on the dvr. Contacted support using the website and told them we were willing to switch to TIVO finally. They told us we were stuck with what we had until September and could not switch over to TIVO no matter what issues we had. They told us the boxes were still supported, and it sounded like a service tech should come out and replace the boxes. Yay, yet another service appointment. Service tech came out and told us corporate was wrong. He said that in Columbus they werent placing orders for the old boxes anymore. They said they had a clause that allowed them to swap over people that were having issues with the old boxes to TIVO free of charge without changing their package, because it was not our fault that they discontinued the system we were using. He called the head sales rep, and told me that a sales rep would call me the next day and get us swapped over to TIVO. He apologized for all the issues we had. Shockingly, nobody called us the next day, or the day after that. Called what was supposed to be the local number but it turns out it really routes to the corporate support number. We explained to him what happened, and what the tech here said. He pretty much told us that we could not switch to TIVO and that is our system wasnt supported our only options were to get standalone boxes, or sign a 2 year agreement to swap to TIVO and that it would cost more and go up each year. Worse company I have ever dealt with, and that is without even mentioning that our wireless speed is half of what our wired speed is. (top notch service tech told us that Mediacom throttled wireless and to pretty much just deal with it)

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to actually do what they said and swap us over to TIVO without altering our account, or better yet give us the new customer deal for our package which includes TIVO and all features we have now for a cheaper price because of ALL the headaches and the run around they have given us. However, I am a realist and realize that customer service is not high on their list, so I would just like to have a working system since I have been paying for crap for almost two years.

Business Response: I've had someone in customer service review Ms. *****'s account and I think we have a good option for her.  A representative left her a voice mail this afternoon to discuss. 

5/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June 2013, I noted a charged on my bill for the cable modem from my cable provider (Mediacom) due to the promotion I had was expired. I called Mediacom to see if I could buy my own modem instead of paying a monthly fee to them because other places I have been stationed allowed this. They said that I could and was told what type of modem I need to use for their system. I had researched the modems and was also wanted to replace my router with both on one piece of equipment. Mediacom informed me that I could buy a modem/router from them for $141.86 which was similar in price to the ones I was considering buying. I figured that the one from Mediacom would be better since it was the same type they use. I received the modem/router and hooked it up and returned their equipment. Now, nine months later, I get a message from Mediacom online informing me that I have a home network and that I have until March 31, 2014 to either sign up for home networking or the signal/line would be terminated. I contacted Mediacom customer service to see what was going on and they informed that due to a recent audit a lot of customers had home networks and was not being charged. I told them that I owned the equipment and should not be charged using the router for my home network. They went on to say that the router on the equipment they sold me come from their signal/line and they charged $3.95 a month for home networking. Explaining to them that I was purchasing a modem to avoid paying that portion of my bill and was never made aware of a fee for the router that came with the purchase of their equipment. To further compound the problem I wasnt made aware of this for nine months. I had been made aware to this on my next bill I would have returned to equipment and purchased a modem/router for a different source or use my router I had already. The customer service reprehensive says my options are to either pay the use fee or get another router to use with the modem/router they sold me. This dont make since that I have to purchase additional equipment to avoid their fee for a home network. It would have been less for me to lease the equipment from rather that paying $142, plus the cost of another router.

Desired Settlement: Since nine moths has passed and I was not made aware of the home network feed being imposed by Mediacom to use the router on the equipment purchased from them. Mediacom should remedy this situation by either waiver the fee or allow me to return the modem/router for a full refund and purchase a modem/router elsewhere.

Business Response: I can request a credit for the $3.95 going back to June of last year but the charge is applicable as the service is a package including Home Network Manager. So I can't take the fee off going forward.  If this is acceptable please let me know and I'll request the credit going back to June 2013.

Business Response: Again, I can request a credit for the $3.95 going back to June of last year but the charge is applicable as the service is a package including Home Network Manager. So I can't take the fee off going forward.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ******


 

 

4/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mediacom's customer service is a complete disaster. From the lack of American technical support agents to a inferior internet product, it's ridiculous to have to pay this company on a monthly basis. My internet service is always going out and instead of helping to resolve the issue, the technical support agents insist on starting an arguement. Mediacom has the absolute WORST customer service!

Desired Settlement: It would sufficent to receive a credit for the this month's internet and TV bill.

Business Response: I've requested one month of credit.

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am having numerous issues with my internet service and no one at Mediacom can resolve those issues. Mediacom has sent out at least 4 different techs over a two month period, but I'm still having the same issues with my internet service.

Desired Settlement: I just wanted Mediacom to send a tech that knows what he's doing.Also give me a call, a few days after to make sure I'm not having anymore issues.

Business Response: We're attempting to schedule an appointment today.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ***********


 

 

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 11th, my cable and internet service went down so then I called mediacom report the outage and they told me that someone would be out on March 13th, to see what the problem and repair the service. I then called back to see if they had found out it there were any outages in our area and the young lady *****a told me that I have been paying for extra channels when i signed up in March 2013, but when I told her I had not signed up for the services she then told me that she would check again and look at my account, she then came back on the line and asked me did I have a box already installed to receive the extra channels and I said no, then she asked me why had I not reported this before now, and I told her I had no idea that i was supposed to be receiving the extra channels (all channels up to 600 etc.) then she tells me that I should be receiving the services and that I have been paying for the services all year long. I then proceeded to ask her since i have paid for the services all year long and never received the services would I be reimbursed, she puts me on hold again and then comes back and states that it was a mistake and i was never to receive the extra channels. I want to either be reimbursed or get the extra channels and the box since I paid and never received the services. That is only fair. I was paying $87.19 all year for internet and cable. Thank you for your time and efforts.Sincerely,**** *****

Desired Settlement: I would like the have the channels for free since I paid and never got the services and if that is not possible then I would like to be reimbursed if it is not possible.

Business Response: This appears to be a misunderstanding.  I had one of our call center supervisors review the customer's account.  Although there was a package error on the account, the billing is correct.  The current monthly service amount is $109.25, which includes Expanded Video Service, High Speed Data service, a cable modem and three DTA's.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *****


 

 

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went into the local office to cancel service and they now say we have a three year contract. We tried to cancel this service last Jan and we were told we had a two year contract that started on Jan. 2012. We requested a copy of the contract at the office that we originally signed up with and she wasn't sure that she could find it.

Desired Settlement: All we went is to cancel this service that keeps going up without any penalties. We started at 89.95 and now it is $147.42 for the same service.

Business Response: I see on Mr. *****'s account where he called and spoke with one of our representatives about lowering his bill.  Mr. ****** should continue to work with our customer service department as they may have the ability to move him into a lower priced package.

3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The first issue has to do with the inconsistent service. My internet goes in and out throughout the week an often times doesnt work all together. The cable service has been blacking out channels consistently over the past few months and the pictures have been skipping and pixilated and tiled. I have called and made appointment after appointment, missed work, wasted time, wasted money, wasted energy. They have never been able to make the cable or internet work consistent, the only consistency is their bill, which I am tired of paying because I am not getting the service I am being charged for and paying. The second issue was a year and several months ago when the big digital switch was being widely advertised by gov that free digital tuners were being offered to the public. I wasnt surprised and was quite impressed when a Mediacom service rep called me and offered me their free digital tuner. I was told by the representative that the digital tuners were from the same program and were free. They failed to even explain what I was getting. Turns out I didnt even need one of the tuners, but they sent me three. So after probably a year and a couple months, they started charging me a rental for them. They had a delayed rental fee snuck into the tuners; my guess to make people forget they have them long enough to have them duped into the rental fee or replacement for lost useless equipment. I asked about the rental charge and they said the only way to have the rental charge taken off was to return them. I thought they were free to begin with and was blown away by the rental fee. So too much to my surprise I could only find one of the useless products I was sent a year and a few months prior. The icing on the cake was my current bill statement I just received. They are requesting $100 for each of the two devises for a total of $200. The bottom-line here is the Mediacom rep failed to mention and most likely intentionally left out the details of the free digital tuner were not free and would be charged a delayed rental fee. The digital tuners were being given out for free by government agencies and at the most are $29.99 at Walmart.

Desired Settlement: I would love to hear a solution to my numerous issues. It would be fair to have the digital tuners off my account and for my signals to be fixed so the problems stop.

Business Response:

We haven't had a service call for Mr. ***** since December and those were cancelled at pre-call.  If Mr. ***** is still having issues he can e-mail me at *********************** and I can scheduled a service call for him. 

As for the digital adapters (DTA's), there were numerous customer communications, including letters, that explained in detail that the DTA's were free for the first year and $.99 per DTA per month thereafter.  This could not have been made more clear.  Mr. ***** should return the DTA's he's not using in order to stop the $.99 monthly charge.   

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

The problems with my service can date back several years. In reference to the service call that was cancelled in December, this was the 4th one in as many weeks. They needed me to be present for the appointment and miss more work, but I couldn't miss any more work, so I had to cancel. 


I received no communication and signed no documents stating I was to start paying or even knew of a rental fee. The 2 replacement charges totaling $200 for the devices need to be taken off my account due to the fact I was not aware at the time there was a return or rental policy. The agent from Mediacom made me believe these were free and part of the governmental service that was being advertised online. This was a standard bait and switch by the Mediacom representative. 

I would prefer to just have my services with Mediacom cancelled completely after all of the problems I have experienced.

Regards,

******* *****


 

 

Business Response: As mentioned previously, I'm unable to remove these charges for missing DTA's for which Mr. ***** is responsible.  Mr. ***** received numerous pieces of correspondence from Mediacom that explained the need for the equipment as well as the pricing.  Mediacom never in any way suggested that this was part of a "governmental service."  Perhaps Mr. ***** can search his home and find the missing DTA's.

1/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am sending this complaint on behalf of a billing issue. I received my January billing with a promotion that had exp. However i called the previous month(Dec) to inq on if there would be a continuation further on the promotion after the exp date & was advise that it would not be one. therefore i wanted that promotion cancelled because it would show up for the Jan bill due to Mediacom bills a month in advance. Well on today 1/5/14 i called Mediacom to discuss my bill because it was reflecting the charge with the promotion exp making my bill going from 87.15 to 114.15. I spoke with the supervisor(****** id # **** )he adv me that the rep that i had spoken with before him adj my bill by taking off the promotion charge which was 6.49 now with this amt removed my bill will now reflect 98.75 which is 18.00 more than my original bill had reflected. My bill showed kid variety 4.99/ Digital star pkge 68.52/broadcast charge 1.28/showtime 6.49(promotion that exp) & tax of 5.87.Therefore if you remove the 6.49 + tax from 87.15 that leaves 80.66 or less.

Desired Settlement: I would like my bill adj accordingly & of fairness PLEASE

Business Response:

I do not have the ability to make changes to a customer's billing.  I would advise Ms. ***** to contact Mediacom Customer Service and if she is not satisfied with the response she receives from the representative she speaks with, she can always ask to speak with a supervisor.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

****** *****


 

I do not understand this response not being able to correct or adj billing issue the individual that i name & gave the id number was a supervisor!

Business Response: I cannot take a customer out of a package or put a customer back into a package nor can I just radomly provide credit.  The customer will have to go through our customer service department to make changes to the service they receive.

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have Mediacom cable,phone and internet service,have had outages and complete failures since installed have about 30 service calls 3 new boxes modems,and dvr boxes new wires to house and still service only works about 50% of the time were home bolth of us are employed have missed a lot of work for service calls and 4 times they did not even show up or call,10 techs have checked the lines for noise and found nothing the last one came out and says every cable (4) in my 3 year old house is bad and they will all have to be replaced at a cost to me of 1,600.00 dollars! never had any issues with previous service provider and don't think that my 3 year old cables are any issue just because their service has issues I should not have to pay. for something that will not correct the issue, it did not start until we switched to Mediacom so there is something wrong with install or service and get a different story from every tech. I will not pay thousands of dollars to have new cables replaced that have nothing wrong with them.i want all my money back,missed wages and can choose another provider, I hate rip offs and will not tolerate it.may others beware of this and do not get caught up in the same trap and contract only to have poor service and get ripped off for services not needed.i have had a contractor to my house and there is no need to re-cable my new house may you all beware!!! Product_Or_Service: 11/03/12 Order_Number: n/a Account_Number: ****************

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund total refund of service paid, lost wages.

Business Response: I spoke with Mr. ***** this evening.  He has agreed to let us schedule another service call to see if we can correct any outstanding issues and then I'll follow up with him.

10/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 16 I ordered an HD box from Mediacom. As of September 3 I have not received one . I have made over 15 phone calls to Mediacom. They sell products they do not have. Mediacom does not mean buisness

Desired Settlement: an HD box and 2 months free cable

Business Response: We did have a shortage of HD boxes for a period of time.  I'm told now that we should have plenty in stock.  I would encourage Mr. ***** to either stop by the office and contact our call center to schedule an install appointment for one.  Our apologies for the inconvenience.

8/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered Mediacom services August 2012 for the home I was staying in Columbus Ga the service address was **** ***** *** ******** ** *****, the phone number I had at the time was ###-###-####. I was not satisfied with the services and I had my services turned off and returned my hardware back to the Macon office and I also spoke to a representative there who told me that I would be issued a refund that was October 19, 2012. According to the contract Mediacom gave me 90 days and if I was not satisfied I could cancel services without being penalized and also get a refund for whatever I paid. Around November, December of 2012 I began getting collection calls; I returned the calls back and spoke to a representative who said that I was fine did not owe anything and that my number was in in the system and had to circulate, I did not understand that but I took the representative's word, I also asked about my refund and was told that a technician had to come out to the house first and turn off services through the telephone lines and after that I would receive my refund another thing that I didn't understand but again I took the rep's word. On May 22, 2013 I obtained my credit report and was shocked to see that Mediacom was on my credit report for 170.00. I contacted the credit agency who Mediacom sold my account too and they told me I had to contact Mediacom. I called Mediacom was on the phone for about an hr where a representative named ******** said that Mediacom has adjusted my account and were now issuing me a refund, I then asked what about the credit report she did not know what to do and said she would escalate my account to someone else. I have yet heard from anyone and I'm highly upset because I feel I was fooled by Mediacom with their "90 day Guarantee". I would like Mediacom to remove me from themselves from my credit report.

Desired Settlement: I want Mediacom and the agency they sold my account to to remove themselves from my credit report. Mediacom sold my account to Credit Protection Association and they told me that Mediacom has to send them a deletion letter.

Business Response:

Ms. *******s account has been removed from collections and this matter should not show on her credit report.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ******


 

 

5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service