BBB Accredited Business since

Benjamin Franklin Plumbing

Phone: (706) 507-5304 Fax: (706) 494-0940 3155 Williams Rd, Columbus, GA 31909 http://www.benfranklinplumbingsoutheast.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers complete plumbing service, remodeling kitchens and bathrooms, drains, sewers etc. reline draining systems.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Benjamin Franklin Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Benjamin Franklin Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on Benjamin Franklin Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 8
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 15, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1989 in GA Business started locally: 01/01/2008 Business incorporated 01/01/1989 in GA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Georgia Secretary of State
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, SE, Suite 315, West Tower, Atlanta GA 30334
http://www.sos.state.ga.us/corporations/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Katrina Stoess, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Katrina Stoess, President
Related Businesses
Benjamin Franklin Plumbing
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Construction & Remodeling Services Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Products & Services

Benjamin Franklin Plumbing offers the following product(s): Construction & remodeling services, Kitchen & bath remodeling, Plumbing, drains, & sewer cleaning

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Checks, Credit Cards, Debit Cards, and Financing.
Alternate Business Names
Stoess Plumbing The Plumbing and Rooter Co., LLC
Industry Tips
Home Builders/Home Improvement Contractors Plumbing Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 3155 Williams Rd

    Columbus, GA 31909 (706) 507-5304

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted this company to replace a water heater that went bad on a Sat morning.I was quoted 1700.00 w/an additional 500.00 to possibly do an outside vent. Although I felt I was being overcharged,we went with the bid.I was told by ***** at the beginning of the job,he could give me a breakdown of the 2370.00,or even just the water heater so that we could try to get a re-imbursement from our ins.He said sure.***** completed the job on the 2nd day due to the vent pipe,afer speaking w/the owner.***** told me I could call the office on Mon and get the breakdown,so I told him I would pay what I owed on mon,along with the inspection we agreed upon.When I called 1st thing Mon,i spoke with ******* who told me they don't do breakdowns&I needed to pay.She was very rude.When I calmly explained to her that ***** told me I could at least get the cost of the water heater,she rudely told me they could come&get everything out&I can find another plumber.I was so livid,i told them to come get the water heater.When I asked to speak with the owner,******* told me no,the owner doesn't get involved.When I asked for a corporate #,she told me "this is a franchise and we dont answer to corporate,you can look that up online.I hung up.I called back to inq about the vent pipe they took out,the add'l holes he drilled into the wall structure,the hedge he cut up in error,******* said since they are not charging me anything,thats on me,&that all ***** is going to do is remove everything.I hung up.I then spoke w/****** who refused to give me any inf so that I could talk w/the owner or send him a complaint,including *******s title in the office.The customer service in the office is rude,at best.*******&****** were unprofessional&I believe this was an issue that the owner could have resolved easily,with the plumbers being pd in full.I had the job redone for 1200.00 by another reputable plumber. To treat military like this in a military town is disgraceful.DONT DUE BUISNESS WITH THIS COMPANY.

Desired Settlement: I would like the owner to contact me regarding my experience by phn. Even though ******* rudely told me that this is a franchisee who does not answer to corporate,it is still not acceptable,or a license to be unprofessional.I would like to hear it from the owner that he does not get involved in complaints,concerns,or problems that arise&does not have an interest in how customers are treated.Every call to that office was recorded,&I will be happy to play them for him.

Business Response: When we responded to the call for Mrs. ****** on Saturday 12/13/14, we wrote up an estimate with an exact price for work detailing the work to be completed.  Our company always provides up front pricing, down to the penny, for the convenience of our customers to review prior to any work is started.  Mr. ****** agreed to the price and signed off on the proposed work.  We began working and completed work on Sunday, a day when most companies would not be working.  After the installation was completed, Mrs. ****** did not want to pay our technician and stressed dissatisfaction of our services.  Monday, in speaking with Mrs. ****** and sensing her continued dissatisfaction, she stated that she would have preferred to use another plumber.  At that time we offered to come and remove the equipment we installed, at a loss to us and no cost to her so that she can have the opportunity to contact a different plumber to complete the work she needed done.  She agreed that we should remove it and
asked what of the bill.  We advised her that she will owe us nothing and to disregard the bill.
We’ve reviewed the calls between Mrs. ****** and our office.  We know that our company is a leader in the plumbing industry and we strive to leave a positive impression with our customers.  We are truly sorry that Mrs. ****** has had a bad experience.  Because of our 100% satisfaction guarantee, we decided in both parties best interest to cut our loss and remove our equipment.  At this time, although we had several technicians on the job over the course of 2 days over the weekend, Mrs. ****** has not paid any money to us nor do we expect her to.  As with many other businesses, staff is hired to perform certain functions both in the field and in the office and owners trust their employees to perform those functions.  We feel that there is nothing we can do that would satisfy Mrs. ******, and the outcome would be the same regardless of who she was talking to.  Upon removing our equipment and charging no money to Mrs. ******, we had considered this issue settled.

******* ** ******
The Plumbing and Rooter Co. dba Benjamin Franklin Plumbing

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

I don't know why Benjamin Franklin would consider this matter settled, as if they did us a favor by leaving us in a mess. My request was to actually talk with the owner about EVERYTHING that happened. But clearly, that is not happening because the person I complained about, *******, answered the BB Complaint. No accountability: RED FLAG 

***** absolutely did not provide a down to the penny price, and Benjamin Franklin Plumbing refused to.  He merely provided a bid of $1770.00 to replace the water heater, with an additional $500.00 for a vent, for a total of $2370.00.  I never once refused to pay. When ***** insisted that we had to have the vent replaced, he refused to give us an opportunity to get a second opinion on that portion. In fact, he said he would not turn the heater on, and he would charge us for coming back out, as well as the time waiting for the inspector @ $130.00 and hour. I gave in. He came back the next day, and did, what turned out to be, unnecessary work. ******* ****** repeatedly said in a 7 minute 32 second phone call that she is not privy to the conversations between myself and the plumber on every phone call, in which ******* was rude and indifferent. This was a common theme with ******, who also works in the office. Yet she has responded to this complaint as if she was present.

The plumber started this visit by cutting up a 15 year old hedge, insisting our water meter was UNDERNEATH. I should have put him out then. The water meter was in the front yard. ******* is deceitful and untruthful , at best, when she says this office provides a down to the penny estimate and that I didn't want to pay. What ******* is conveniently leaving out is that I didn't hand over $2370.00 on the spot that Sunday night because I wanted to wait for an inspection promised by the plumber the next working day (MONDAY), and I refused to sign a blank contract that said I was fully satisfied. I CALLED the following morning, not even 12 hrs later to discuss the promised invoice and inspection. Yet, in the recorded phone call, she repeatedly says that they DONT break it down to the penny, and that she doesn't know why the plumber ***** would say that. All we merely wanted was an invoice with the water heater price, and time for an inspection. For Benjamin Franklin to not afford us that opportunity certainly made them to appear to be thieves and shady, which turned out to be the case. Certainly NOT a leader in the plumbing industry.

I did have 3 other plumbers come out. EVERY SINGLE ONE said the same exact thing about the work that was done and not necessary, and how I was clearly overcharged.

I chose a reputable plumber, and he come out the same day, who DID in fact have absolutely NO PROBLEM creating an invoice, and the staff was awesome. It felt right, and we were %100 percent satisfied. Most importantly, this company was very empathic.  We discovered that the work that Benjamin Franklin supposedly "took a loss on" was dangerous. They moved our water heater below the water line and into a hole. The vent they installed was in fact the wrong size. We had to have that both error's corrected. Benjamin Franklin Plumbing also took out our vent, and when they so called "returned" the vent, 3/4's of the pipe was missing, and we never saw our original water heater again. They also drilled another hole in the structure of our home that was also not needed, as the water could have been drained from the bottom or the original hole. This was done without our knowledge. Not only did we PAY IN FULL the reputable plumber that CORRECTED what Benjamin Franklin Plumbing screwed up over 2 days, ******* made it crystal clear that the owner of this location does not care how the customer is being treated. It is ******* who in fact said to me, "we can come get everything out and you can find another plumber." When I asked to speak with the owner, that is when she said the owner doesn't get involved.


DO NOT be fooled by this veiled attempt to justify their actions and this diatribe that they actually did us a favor. But REALLY REALLY read between the lines. No reputable company would reply by attempting to throw the homeowner under the bus, but they would simply apologize for the experience and move on if they really thought the matter was solved. It was not until I filed this complaint, did we hear an askew apology. We were absolutely NEVER contacted by the owner, and I think that should speak volumes. To say the owner hires people he “trusts” to act on his behalf, also speaks for itself. As a veteran, we all have someone to answer to. But, to have someone in the office that does not have to answer to anyone but themselves should give anyone reading this an idea of the “unprofessionalism" that ensues because there is no accountability, and their actions are a clear reflection of the owners wishes, per *******s response that she is acting on his behalf. That is a red flag.

Further, let the manner of their response really speak for itself also, and pay attention to the person who wrote it. *******’s condescending, and disconnect from the situation is spot on with the way she talked to me on the phone.

Finally, trust your instincts and your gut feeling. Anytime a tradesman WILL NOT give you an invoice of charges, and skates around inspections: GET OUT!! When a company tells you "we are a franchise and do not answer to corporate. But you can look the number up on the internet", let them come and get their stuff and: CUT TIES!! When you are unsure of a shady contract: DON’T SIGN IT.  When choosing a plumber: DO YOUR RESEARCH!!

We have every single phonecall, as well as camera sound and video that never once shows, or do I say I am refusing to pay. However, these phonecalls and video do in fact tell the truth, and how this company came in to our home to "strongarm" and leave our home in a mess, how the plumber was talking to me, how frustrated I was, how I questioned why I was signing a blank contract, how they added wording in to the spacing of a handwritten estimate to alter it,  how the office staff further mistreated us. It was a shame. You don’t have to take my word for it, just google the reviews for Benjamin Franklin, and see for your self. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY!!!



Regards,

** ******

 

Business Response:

I have personally reviewed all the information on Mrs. *******s complaint. My office kept me informed about the job the every time they were out there, beginning Saturday when our technicians first went out. We apologize that we were not able to make Mrs. ****** happy, especially since our policy is 100% Satisfaction. Because of this policy, we offered take out our water heater, which allowed her to find another plumber, and expected no money in return for any part of the job.

 

******* ******, Owner of Benjamin Franklin Plumbing

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I was aware that the plumber was speaking with the owner a couple of time during his visit, however I was told it was ******** ******. This is the reason why I could not, and still do not understand why *******, nor ****** would not allow, or forward a message to have the owner speak with me. In fact, that is the reason that I wanted to speak with the owner then, and via this complaint as part of the resolution. However, I see that the owners daughter has responded as an agent for the owner, so it is my understanding that she is aware, and approves of the way the office staff escalated this situation, and refused to even give me *******'s title in the office. In fact, it was ****** ********** who told me that I could contact the BBB in one of the recorded phone calls.

I asked that the owner give me a call, as part of the resolution. It appears this is not going to happen.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

** ******

7/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company just replaced my whole main drain system under my house last month on May 5 2014 and my plumbing is doing the exact same thing as before and they want me to pay an additional 135.00 to send someone out on the weekend. I feel like I have paid 3025.00 just last month that they should not charge me a service call for warrantied work. I don't have that kind of money after just spending everything I had on the same issue. This is not an appropriate way to do business. I don't know if they are taking advantage of a single mother or what but I don't feel I should have to pay them to fix the same work twice. I did get angry with the lady on the phone but she would not help me at all. I have no control over the fact that their guaranteed work backed up on the weekend. I do not have small children and she stated that she didn't know what we "put" in there. I know that we didn't put anything in there, and they shouldn't charge me to inspect their own work that is messing up.

Desired Settlement: I don't believe that they should charge me to inspect their own work be it an emergency or not.....

Business Response: $110 was not to inspect our work but to clear the line beyond our work.  The price should have been $825 but since she has spent so much with us we only charged the emergency fee.

5/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Tuesday April 22, 2014 I engaged the services of Benjamin Franklin Plumbing to repipe/repair the gas line into my home after having experienced a gas leak. Two gentlemen worked from Wednesday morning 04/23/14 through Thursday afternoon 04/24/14. They disconnected the sump pumps in my basement resulting in a flooded area, left old pipe with gas residual on the basement floor and incorrectely connected the line to the stove using non-fitting connectors, also stripping one. Gas Co. technician found the problem, I called the company 3 times on that Thursday - the plumber was sent back to the house and he was instructed by the gas co. person as to the error of his ways. Had the gas leak been delayed in making its way to the stove and had I clicked on the TV, etc., I and the house would have been blown to bits. This is not acceptable. I would appreciate a reduction in the bill.

Desired Settlement: Acknowledgement of their mistakes, instruction to the workers to clean as they go, clean the floors and be respectful of the property of others. And at least a reduction of the bill which totaled over $4000.00

Business Response: We have spoken with Mrs. ********** regarding the issues she stated in this complaint.  We have acknowledged the short comings of our technicians, had them fix the problems and apologized for the inconvenience.  We know that our company is the leader in the plumbing industry and we strive to leave that impression on all of our customers.  We are truly sorry that Mrs. ********** had such a terrible experience.  We have also reviewed the invoice and it appears the technician has already given Mrs. ********** a discount of $748.00, but at this time we have only been paid $1100.00.  There is still an unpaid balance of $2900.00.  We do not represent ourselves as the cheapest plumber in town but we do represent ourselves with a service that far exceeds other plumbers.  Mrs. ********** herself stated we were the only one who answered our phone and was capable of handling her problem, another plumber walked out on her.  That is just one example of the service we provide, on time.  We also have clean, presentable, back ground checked, drug tested, licensed technicians who are backed by a company that is licensed, insured and bonded.  I have attached the invoice that was signed by Mrs. ********** excepting the amount and stating she was completely satisfied with the work, it states "I acknowledge satisfactory completion of the above described work and that the premises has been left in satisfactory condition. I understand that if my check does not clear, I am liable for the check and any charges from the bank.  I agree to pay 1.75% per month for past due contracts (minimum charge $35).  In the event that collection efforts are initiated against me, I shall pay for all associated fees at the posted rates as well as collection fees and reasonable attorney fees.  I agree that the amount set forth in the space marked "Total Amount Due" is the total upfront price I have agreed to."

Business Response: We are not sure what the customer is looking for at this point?  There was no threat, as with every gas job there are several safeguards to keep the customers safe.  The city inspects and the gas company inspects, if something was done wrong one of the two would catch it.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** **********


 

 

4/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to request services on the morning of December 30, 2013. The technician was sent quite quickly, same day around noon. I showed him the drain that has been overflowing everytime I perform a laundry wash cycle. He did not inspect the drain whatsoever. Immediately following my description of the problem, he responded with 'it will be $303'. I responded with 'what is the $303 for?'. It seemed absurd that the plumber would know the price, and service without any investigation. He responded that he may have to clear bushes and go on top of the roof. I am an older, full Taiwanese woman, I have had many experiences with various service providers attempting to take advantage of me, but this, by far, has been the most insulting. The drain is in my laundry room which leads directly into my garage. Having lived in the same home for over twenty years, I have had plumbing services for this particular drain before and the plumber has always backed the vehicle into my driveway and went directly into the laundry room. I explained to him I am fully aware there will be no need to go through bushes and go on top of the roof. I then asked if $303 was a base price his company charges, and will the price rise from there following an investigation of my problem. He became agitated, stated 'yeah, that's what we charge'. I stated I wasn't going to pay an amount without given a description of the service he would provide to fix my drain problem. He then stated I owe him $29 for his coning to my home. I paid the $29...for nothing. The only service Benjamin Franklin Plumbing in Columbus, Ga provided me with was the onset of a headache.

Desired Settlement: I would like to think my experience was not of the norm, and I would be open to allowing Benjamin Franklin plumbing to redeem themselves.

Business Response: I'm not sure what the customer is wanting?

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9856753, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I wanted Benjamin Franklin to send a professional member of their staff to my home to actually assess the problem I was having, and give me a price quote that was accompanied by the specific services I was to receive for this amount. I wanted the service I should have received the first time I paid for a member of their staff to come to my home. However, I could not wait for repair any longer, so I contacted ********* Plumbing Services. A plumber came out immediately and informed me the problem was a clogged pipe. He cleared the clog, and $110 later my washing machine is running with no problems. The service provided to me by ********* was a far cry from the over three hundred dollar service, that 'might involve going on the roof and through bushes' that the member of Benjamin Franlkin's plumbing business tried to sell me. I believe I legally deserve the $29 I paid Benjamin Franklin returned to me; morally, I certainly deserve an apology.

Regards,

*** *******

 

 

 

Business Response: We are sorry that our price was not satisfactory to you, we will be refunding the $29.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

*** *******


 

 

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a service done a week ago and I was told they placed a camera down the kitchen pipe to see I have a busted drain line in the kitchen that's causing the kitchen to fluid. I was also told by the plumber that they were the only service provider that would be able to take cameras down the drain line ( which was a Lie). After getting a second opinion from another plumbing company that also had cameras I was told that it was impossible they could have gotten a camera down the drain pipes in the kitchen because the pipe had some corrosion inside that blocked the cameras from going down under the slab to even see a leaking drain pipe. The plumber never documented the corrosion on the pipes or the fact that the cameras didn't get in the slab under the kitchen area. He gave me a bill for 12,500 worth of work when the leak was actually coming from my master bathroom into the kitchen. I have had two other plumbers come out and they both have given me the same diagnosis of my plumbing issues. I don't think it's fair I was charged 1,053 for a service that was never really provided and a misdiagnosis of an issue. I truly feel I was overcharged and lied to.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a refund for the services that were claimed to have been provided by this company. I was told by the employee they were the only company that provides this service in the area which was not true.

Business Response:

The customer and I are communicating about this and at this time the customer has not paid anything to us for services we have already completed.

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called Benjamin Franklin to replace a knob on the faucet on the outside front of my home on 08/12/2013. The serviceman came and after he inspected, he said that we needed to have a hose bib with new washers and stem. He performed the service and left. I discovered the leak when I arrived home on Tuesday (08/13)evening from work, the carpet in my bedroom was soaked. I called Ben Franklin and asked that they send someone out. A serviceman showed up and opened up the wall in my bedroom and found that there was a gap between the 2 pieces that were worked on and water was spraying inside the wall and leaking out. He capped the pipe inside which stopped the leak and he told me to get a fan and turn it on to dry the carpet. I spoke with ******** in the office on Wednesday and was told that the leak was not their fault. It was "coincidental" to the work that was done. I disagreed and reminded her that there was no leak prior to their service call. The owner said that the most he would do would be to do a rough patch on the sheet rock and have the carpet cleaned. The carpet cleaner arrived on Thursday prior to the serviceman repairing the faucet/piping. He sprayed mold retardent and left stating that he could not clean the carpet until the service man had finished with the wall. He left and the serviceman repaired the pipe. The sheetrock guy for Ben Franklin replaced the sheetrock and prior to leaving told me I needed to sand it and paint. While this may be satisfactory to them, it is not for me. I was unable to stay in my bedroom for almost a week due to the smell. I am now expected to sand sheetrock and paint at my own expense. The carpet cleaner never returned to clean the carpet. I find that this is unacceptable by anyone's standards.

Desired Settlement: I would like my bedroom wall restored to its pre-service state or at least be reimbursed for the expense that I am going to have to incur due to their mistake and an apology from the owner/manager.

Business Response:

It is the policy of Benjamin Franklin Plumbing to offer several options to our customers when we go out to a plumbing problem.  We offer first to completely replace a fixture and then we also offer just to repair.  Once we have done whichever the customer chooses we will warranty that item only.  In Ms. *****'s case the person present at the home only wanted to repair the hose bib but not replace it.  In order to do so the water had to be turned off to make the repair and then turned back on once the repair was made.   In doing this the pressure of turning the water off and on caused a solder joint to leak, however this solder joint was not something we worked on with the repair.  However this solder joint would have been replaced if we were allowed to install a new hose bib. 

Ms.***** gave us a call after regular business hours to let us know the hose bib was leaking following the technicians departure.  We sent a technician out after hours for free, we replaced the hose bib for free, we repaired the sheetrock wall to a rough finish for free and we sent the carpet cleaners for free.  As I said before none of this was covered under the warranty of the repair because we were not allowed to replace the hose bib in the beginning.  We feel we have gone above and beyond what we were responsible for to make Ms. ***** happy and yet she is still not happy. 

We have advised Ms. ***** that she is welcome to contact her insurance and they in turn will contact our insurance if they believe we are at fault.  We still have the piece of copper to show this was not a solder joint we touched during our repair.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am not a plumber and don't pretend to be.  My expectation was that the work would be performed and I would have a working faucet.  I was not expecting to have a leak in my bedroom wall.  The technician explained that he thought that he would only have to rebuild the hose bib for the faucet to work.   The invoice states that he replaced it with no warranty.  We assumed that the difference in the pricing was the warranty that we did not purchase it.   Ben Franklin did send out a carpet cleaning company.  They did nothing except spray the sheet rock and the carpet and padding with a mold retardant spray and leave stating that there was nothing they could do until the repair had been completed.   They did not return as I was told by the technician and the sheet rock guy.   I don't know what a hose bib is.  We expected the plumber to perform the work and make sure that it was working properly before he left.  Working properly is not the what we were left with.  We were left with a leak that was not there prior to the repair work.  The comments on the invoice state that he replaced the hose bib on the front of the house with no warranty.  I am contacting my home insurer again. 

Regards,

***** *****


 

 

Business Response: The last communication was that the customer was going to contact the insurance, have they done that?


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

10 Customer Reviews on Benjamin Franklin Plumbing
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart