BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
East AL, West & Southwest GA

BBB Accredited Business since

Benjamin Franklin Plumbing

Phone: (706) 507-5304 Fax: (706) 494-0940 3155 Williams Rd, Columbus, GA 31909 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers complete plumbing service. remodeling kitchens and bathrooms, drains, sewers etc. reline draining systems.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Benjamin Franklin Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Benjamin Franklin Plumbing include:

  • 15 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Benjamin Franklin Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 15

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 15, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1989 in GA Business started locally: 05/01/2000 Business incorporated: 01/01/1989 in GA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Georgia Secretary of State
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, SE, Suite 315, West Tower, Atlanta GA 30334
http://www.sos.state.ga.us/corporations/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Katrina Stoess, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Katrina Stoess, President
Related Businesses
Benjamin Franklin Plumbing
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Construction & Remodeling Services Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Products & Services

Benjamin Franklin Plumbing offers the following product(s): Construction & remodeling services, Kitchen & bath remodeling, Plumbing, drains, & sewer cleaning

Alternate Business Names
Stoess Plumbing The Plumbing and Rooter Co., LLC
Industry Tips
Home Builders/Home Improvement Contractors Plumbing Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 3155 Williams Rd

    Columbus, GA 31909 (706) 507-5304

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company just replaced my whole main drain system under my house last month on May 5 2014 and my plumbing is doing the exact same thing as before and they want me to pay an additional 135.00 to send someone out on the weekend. I feel like I have paid 3025.00 just last month that they should not charge me a service call for warrantied work. I don't have that kind of money after just spending everything I had on the same issue. This is not an appropriate way to do business. I don't know if they are taking advantage of a single mother or what but I don't feel I should have to pay them to fix the same work twice. I did get angry with the lady on the phone but she would not help me at all. I have no control over the fact that their guaranteed work backed up on the weekend. I do not have small children and she stated that she didn't know what we "put" in there. I know that we didn't put anything in there, and they shouldn't charge me to inspect their own work that is messing up.

Desired Settlement: I don't believe that they should charge me to inspect their own work be it an emergency or not.....

Business Response: $110 was not to inspect our work but to clear the line beyond our work.  The price should have been $825 but since she has spent so much with us we only charged the emergency fee.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Tuesday April 22, 2014 I engaged the services of Benjamin Franklin Plumbing to repipe/repair the gas line into my home after having experienced a gas leak. Two gentlemen worked from Wednesday morning 04/23/14 through Thursday afternoon 04/24/14. They disconnected the sump pumps in my basement resulting in a flooded area, left old pipe with gas residual on the basement floor and incorrectely connected the line to the stove using non-fitting connectors, also stripping one. Gas Co. technician found the problem, I called the company 3 times on that Thursday - the plumber was sent back to the house and he was instructed by the gas co. person as to the error of his ways. Had the gas leak been delayed in making its way to the stove and had I clicked on the TV, etc., I and the house would have been blown to bits. This is not acceptable. I would appreciate a reduction in the bill.

Desired Settlement: Acknowledgement of their mistakes, instruction to the workers to clean as they go, clean the floors and be respectful of the property of others. And at least a reduction of the bill which totaled over $4000.00

Business Response: We have spoken with Mrs. ********** regarding the issues she stated in this complaint.  We have acknowledged the short comings of our technicians, had them fix the problems and apologized for the inconvenience.  We know that our company is the leader in the plumbing industry and we strive to leave that impression on all of our customers.  We are truly sorry that Mrs. ********** had such a terrible experience.  We have also reviewed the invoice and it appears the technician has already given Mrs. ********** a discount of $748.00, but at this time we have only been paid $1100.00.  There is still an unpaid balance of $2900.00.  We do not represent ourselves as the cheapest plumber in town but we do represent ourselves with a service that far exceeds other plumbers.  Mrs. ********** herself stated we were the only one who answered our phone and was capable of handling her problem, another plumber walked out on her.  That is just one example of the service we provide, on time.  We also have clean, presentable, back ground checked, drug tested, licensed technicians who are backed by a company that is licensed, insured and bonded.  I have attached the invoice that was signed by Mrs. ********** excepting the amount and stating she was completely satisfied with the work, it states "I acknowledge satisfactory completion of the above described work and that the premises has been left in satisfactory condition. I understand that if my check does not clear, I am liable for the check and any charges from the bank.  I agree to pay 1.75% per month for past due contracts (minimum charge $35).  In the event that collection efforts are initiated against me, I shall pay for all associated fees at the posted rates as well as collection fees and reasonable attorney fees.  I agree that the amount set forth in the space marked "Total Amount Due" is the total upfront price I have agreed to."

Business Response: We are not sure what the customer is looking for at this point?  There was no threat, as with every gas job there are several safeguards to keep the customers safe.  The city inspects and the gas company inspects, if something was done wrong one of the two would catch it.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** **********


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to request services on the morning of December 30, 2013. The technician was sent quite quickly, same day around noon. I showed him the drain that has been overflowing everytime I perform a laundry wash cycle. He did not inspect the drain whatsoever. Immediately following my description of the problem, he responded with 'it will be $303'. I responded with 'what is the $303 for?'. It seemed absurd that the plumber would know the price, and service without any investigation. He responded that he may have to clear bushes and go on top of the roof. I am an older, full Taiwanese woman, I have had many experiences with various service providers attempting to take advantage of me, but this, by far, has been the most insulting. The drain is in my laundry room which leads directly into my garage. Having lived in the same home for over twenty years, I have had plumbing services for this particular drain before and the plumber has always backed the vehicle into my driveway and went directly into the laundry room. I explained to him I am fully aware there will be no need to go through bushes and go on top of the roof. I then asked if $303 was a base price his company charges, and will the price rise from there following an investigation of my problem. He became agitated, stated 'yeah, that's what we charge'. I stated I wasn't going to pay an amount without given a description of the service he would provide to fix my drain problem. He then stated I owe him $29 for his coning to my home. I paid the $29...for nothing. The only service Benjamin Franklin Plumbing in Columbus, Ga provided me with was the onset of a headache.

Desired Settlement: I would like to think my experience was not of the norm, and I would be open to allowing Benjamin Franklin plumbing to redeem themselves.

Business Response: I'm not sure what the customer is wanting?

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9856753, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I wanted Benjamin Franklin to send a professional member of their staff to my home to actually assess the problem I was having, and give me a price quote that was accompanied by the specific services I was to receive for this amount. I wanted the service I should have received the first time I paid for a member of their staff to come to my home. However, I could not wait for repair any longer, so I contacted ********* Plumbing Services. A plumber came out immediately and informed me the problem was a clogged pipe. He cleared the clog, and $110 later my washing machine is running with no problems. The service provided to me by ********* was a far cry from the over three hundred dollar service, that 'might involve going on the roof and through bushes' that the member of Benjamin Franlkin's plumbing business tried to sell me. I believe I legally deserve the $29 I paid Benjamin Franklin returned to me; morally, I certainly deserve an apology.

Regards,

*** *******

 

 

 

Business Response: We are sorry that our price was not satisfactory to you, we will be refunding the $29.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

*** *******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a service done a week ago and I was told they placed a camera down the kitchen pipe to see I have a busted drain line in the kitchen that's causing the kitchen to fluid. I was also told by the plumber that they were the only service provider that would be able to take cameras down the drain line ( which was a Lie). After getting a second opinion from another plumbing company that also had cameras I was told that it was impossible they could have gotten a camera down the drain pipes in the kitchen because the pipe had some corrosion inside that blocked the cameras from going down under the slab to even see a leaking drain pipe. The plumber never documented the corrosion on the pipes or the fact that the cameras didn't get in the slab under the kitchen area. He gave me a bill for 12,500 worth of work when the leak was actually coming from my master bathroom into the kitchen. I have had two other plumbers come out and they both have given me the same diagnosis of my plumbing issues. I don't think it's fair I was charged 1,053 for a service that was never really provided and a misdiagnosis of an issue. I truly feel I was overcharged and lied to.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a refund for the services that were claimed to have been provided by this company. I was told by the employee they were the only company that provides this service in the area which was not true.

Business Response:

The customer and I are communicating about this and at this time the customer has not paid anything to us for services we have already completed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called Benjamin Franklin to replace a knob on the faucet on the outside front of my home on 08/12/2013. The serviceman came and after he inspected, he said that we needed to have a hose bib with new washers and stem. He performed the service and left. I discovered the leak when I arrived home on Tuesday (08/13)evening from work, the carpet in my bedroom was soaked. I called Ben Franklin and asked that they send someone out. A serviceman showed up and opened up the wall in my bedroom and found that there was a gap between the 2 pieces that were worked on and water was spraying inside the wall and leaking out. He capped the pipe inside which stopped the leak and he told me to get a fan and turn it on to dry the carpet. I spoke with ******** in the office on Wednesday and was told that the leak was not their fault. It was "coincidental" to the work that was done. I disagreed and reminded her that there was no leak prior to their service call. The owner said that the most he would do would be to do a rough patch on the sheet rock and have the carpet cleaned. The carpet cleaner arrived on Thursday prior to the serviceman repairing the faucet/piping. He sprayed mold retardent and left stating that he could not clean the carpet until the service man had finished with the wall. He left and the serviceman repaired the pipe. The sheetrock guy for Ben Franklin replaced the sheetrock and prior to leaving told me I needed to sand it and paint. While this may be satisfactory to them, it is not for me. I was unable to stay in my bedroom for almost a week due to the smell. I am now expected to sand sheetrock and paint at my own expense. The carpet cleaner never returned to clean the carpet. I find that this is unacceptable by anyone's standards.

Desired Settlement: I would like my bedroom wall restored to its pre-service state or at least be reimbursed for the expense that I am going to have to incur due to their mistake and an apology from the owner/manager.

Business Response:

It is the policy of Benjamin Franklin Plumbing to offer several options to our customers when we go out to a plumbing problem.  We offer first to completely replace a fixture and then we also offer just to repair.  Once we have done whichever the customer chooses we will warranty that item only.  In Ms. *****'s case the person present at the home only wanted to repair the hose bib but not replace it.  In order to do so the water had to be turned off to make the repair and then turned back on once the repair was made.   In doing this the pressure of turning the water off and on caused a solder joint to leak, however this solder joint was not something we worked on with the repair.  However this solder joint would have been replaced if we were allowed to install a new hose bib. 

Ms.***** gave us a call after regular business hours to let us know the hose bib was leaking following the technicians departure.  We sent a technician out after hours for free, we replaced the hose bib for free, we repaired the sheetrock wall to a rough finish for free and we sent the carpet cleaners for free.  As I said before none of this was covered under the warranty of the repair because we were not allowed to replace the hose bib in the beginning.  We feel we have gone above and beyond what we were responsible for to make Ms. ***** happy and yet she is still not happy. 

We have advised Ms. ***** that she is welcome to contact her insurance and they in turn will contact our insurance if they believe we are at fault.  We still have the piece of copper to show this was not a solder joint we touched during our repair.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am not a plumber and don't pretend to be.  My expectation was that the work would be performed and I would have a working faucet.  I was not expecting to have a leak in my bedroom wall.  The technician explained that he thought that he would only have to rebuild the hose bib for the faucet to work.   The invoice states that he replaced it with no warranty.  We assumed that the difference in the pricing was the warranty that we did not purchase it.   Ben Franklin did send out a carpet cleaning company.  They did nothing except spray the sheet rock and the carpet and padding with a mold retardant spray and leave stating that there was nothing they could do until the repair had been completed.   They did not return as I was told by the technician and the sheet rock guy.   I don't know what a hose bib is.  We expected the plumber to perform the work and make sure that it was working properly before he left.  Working properly is not the what we were left with.  We were left with a leak that was not there prior to the repair work.  The comments on the invoice state that he replaced the hose bib on the front of the house with no warranty.  I am contacting my home insurer again. 

Regards,

***** *****


 

 

Business Response: The last communication was that the customer was going to contact the insurance, have they done that?

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service