BBB Accredited Business since

Affordable Home Improvements by JB Lafferty

Phone: (706) 610-6925 Fax: (706) 610-6925 4 Dolphin Ct, Columbus, GA 31904


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Affordable Home Improvements by JB Lafferty meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Affordable Home Improvements by JB Lafferty include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Affordable Home Improvements by JB Lafferty
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 31, 2012 Business started: 08/19/2009 in GA Business started locally: 08/19/2009 Business incorporated 08/19/2009 in GA
Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Bill Lafferty, Gen. Mgr.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Lafferty, Gen. Mgr.
Business Category

Home Improvements Contractor - Insulation Gutters & Downspouts

Products & Services

Affordable Home Improvements by JB Lafferty offers the following product(s): Home Improvements, Gutters, Downspouts, Insulation.

Alternate Business Names
Affordable Home Improvements
Industry Tips
Home Builders/Home Improvement Contractors Home Contractors

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May of 2012 I purchased 4" Gutters from JB Lafferty of Affordable Home Improvement. Last week an entire section of Gutters fell from the house to the ground and took all of the fascia from the home which made the roof open to the elements. The attic insulation began to flow out of the roof due to this. I contacted my home builder and he stated the Gutters were incorrectly installed because he did not place any screws into the roofing studs which would have prevented the gutters from falling and pulling the fascia boards down too. I've tried calling the company but they have not returned my call. My home is less than 2 years old and now the roof line is open to rain, wind, and the elements. The rest of the gutters will most likely do the same which will be alot of money to install the fascia and gutters.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to reinstall all of the gutters and ensure they are attached to roofing studs so this will not happen again. I need them to respond quickly since my roof is open on one side and insulation is being blowed from the house onto the lawn. If they will not replace correctly then I would like to get refunded the entire 3,770.00 and I will contract with a compnay that will install correctly.

Business Response:

I responded to the complaint by mr ****** the day after getting the complaint. We found the builder did not use the correct type of nail to secure the fascia board. This caused the gutter to pull the fascia board off. The customer understands that we had installed the gutters properly. He is pleased that we replaced the gutter knowing it was no fault of ours. The customer has updated this to the BBB as well.
Thank you,
**** ********
 
 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

 

***** ******

 Mr Lafferty promptly resolved my complaint and did install new gutter for my home. He did a good job and would recommend his business to others as one that stands by his business workmanship. 

Thank you,

***** ******