BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In East AL, West & Southwest GA

BBB Accredited Business since

Grayhawk Homes, Inc.

Phone: (706) 568-3779 Fax: (706) 568-7565 2301 Airport Thruway Ste E6, Columbus, GA 31904 http://www.grayhawkhomesinc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Grayhawk Homes, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Grayhawk Homes, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 29, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1996 in GA Business started locally: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated: 11/29/2006 in GA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Georgia Secretary of State
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, SE, Suite 315, West Tower, Atlanta GA 30334
http://www.sos.state.ga.us/corporations/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dave B. Erickson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave B. Erickson, President
Business Category

Home Builders

Products & Services

Grayhawk Homes, Inc. offers the following product(s): Home Builders

Industry Tips
Home Builders/Home Improvement Contractors Home Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 2301 Airport Thruway Ste E6

    Columbus, GA 31904

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved into my new home in Aug of 2013. We completed a walk through the week prior and notice the backyard was saturated with water and the home inspector assured myself and my wife that the issue would be fixed. Once they came for the 30 follow-up the issue was addressed again and we where told it would be fixed. We have contacted Gray Hawk homes in Oct 2013 and they have come our serveral times for the standing water issue. The staff initially stated that the issue was identified during the walk through and they would install a drain to fix the problem. We had one additional visit from the staff and was told that we have to pay for a drain and they are not responsible. To this date our entire backyard is not useable do to the standing water and now smells horrible. I feel like the home builders should be responsible for any issues that were address during the inspection. This is a new home and had I knew this issue wouldnt be resolved I would have bought a home elsewhere. Really disappointed with how this is being handled.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Gray Hawk homes to fix my backyard so the standing water can disburse properly. I have a big backyard and have not be able to enjoy the comforts of my new home.

Business Response:

May 8, 2014

Better Business Bureau 500 12th Street

PO box 2587 Columbus, GA 31902

Re: BB Case ********

Dear Ms. *********:

In response to the above referenced case, Grayhavvk Homes has made a good faith effort to resolve this issue with the homeowner. It is our opinion that a spring has developed in the embankment behind the home, probably due to excessive rainfall in recent months. Even though this is a non-warrantabie item, to mitigate the situation, we made an offer to the homeowner to provide builder cost on labor and materials. In addition, we would manage the installation of a French drain to ensure it is installed properly. The homeowner has refused our offer.

We stand by our offer of assistance if the homeowner decides to accept.

Respectfully,


*** *****

Office Manager


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Me and my wife closed on our newly built grayhawk home in july. We were told at the walk through that any problems we had would be fixed upon request, also were told their would be a 30 day inspection which hasnt happened and its almost november. We have multiple problems but we cannot get them fixed by grayhawk they are here every week building new homes but cant come fix mine that is being lived in. We have a garabage disposal that needs removed, a leaking a/c that is rusting a hole in drip pan, cracksin walls and trim that is bowing also a 2all that is caving. Also some kind of electrival line out back 5hat is not properly covered also the garage is coming off wall. Grayhawk has been contacted multiply time by me by phone,email,facebook, and through their website. Their has been two attempts by them to come out but they never called or set up a time so they just showed up and of course noone was home. Customer service is horrible.....

Desired Settlement: We want everything fixed!!!!!!!

Business Response:

This complaint has been resolved with the customer.  All items have been addressed and the Customer signed and acknowledgement.

If you have any questionsor need copies of any paperwork please let me know

 

Thanks

*** *****

Office Manager

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Grayhawk Homes Inc.,I am writing because your contractor staff of Lexington Hills ( what a Joke) ***** does not know how to return a phone call and forgets his promises. 1st he tells me that the paint which is peeling off and rubs off with the touch of water is my problem not Grayhawk even though its a brand new home that I have only lived in 15 days and owned only 36 days. 2nd my late 30 walk through was a joke, all it did was give me buyers remorse. Next, the only thing I saw as positive during that late 30day walk through was ***** agree to fix a lock which due to the cheap keys they give you at closing is broke and may I add that it happen on day 2 of ownership. I tried calling then but no one returned my calls I guess when the check cleared I was no longer important. Finally, that book you claim is made for my home is a joke! I met another Grayhawk home owner in another one of your neighborhoods and his book was identical to my book. I bet at closing they just pull one out of a box of mass produced books and write a lot number on it. Maybe this posting will help someone else from making the same mistake I feel I made. P.S. I forgot about the land erosion which has been a down hill battle for me. Sincerely****** ***** Retired Army ********* ***** **** ******** ** ********* ** ***** ###-###-####

Desired Settlement: I want someone not that sorry contractor ***** to call me and to fix my new home.

Business Response:

This has been resolved...see below email from our office and homeowner.

 

: *** ****** ********************************]
Sent: Thursday, May 30, 2013 2:52 PM
To: 'mm'
Cc: **************************** ****** ****
Subject: RE: **** ******** **

Mr. *****,

I am certainly glad that we were able to resolve all of your warranty concerns today and wish you many years of enjoyment in your new home.

Sincerely,

*** ******

Chief Operating Officer

Grayhawk Homes, Inc.

**** ******* ******** *** *** ********* ** *****

O ###-###-####

F  ###-###-####

************************

From: mm [****************************]
Sent: Thursday, May 30, 2013 2:17 PM
To: ************************
Cc: ***************************
Subject: **** ******** **

Mr ******,

First, thanks for your quick response and for sending out a person who knows the product and has customer service skills. Mr ****** answered all my warranty questions and solved my grievances. In 30mins he managed to  restore my confidence in Grayhawk. Thank you!

Sincerely,
****** *****
Retired Army
**** ******** **
********* ** *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/15/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/6/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1