BBB Accredited Business since

America's Home Place

Phone: (334) 364-0058 Fax: (334) 364-0063 View Additional Phone Numbers 1250 Fox Run Ave, Opelika, AL 36801 http://www.americashomeplace.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business provides custom home building for clients or custom made plans.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that America's Home Place meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for America's Home Place include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on America's Home Place
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 13, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1972 in GA Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated 01/01/1972 in GA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Georgia Secretary of State
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, SE, Suite 315, West Tower, Atlanta GA 30334
http://www.sos.state.ga.us/corporations/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Addison, Gen Mgr-Opelika Mr. Barry Conner, President
Business Category

Home Builders

Products & Services

America's Home Place offers the following product(s): Home Builders

BBB Program Participation

Military Marketplace
This company is a participant in the BBB's "Military Marketplace Code of Ethics" program.  The program is provided by the Bureau as a specific effort to ensure a "Fair and Honest" marketplace for members of the United States Military and their families. 

Industry Tips
Home Builders/Home Improvement Contractors Home Contractors

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 14th, my fiance (***** *******) and myself met with *** ******* at AHP to finalize all the selections and to do the pricing for the house. When we signed the contract we were told that the site prep was an estimated due to needing on site inspection by someone from the company and that this would be done soon. We were told that someone would be calling us the next week. We did not receive a call so I emailed was told that it would be soon. Same reponse the following week. this happened several weeks in a row. In the meantime the finance company stated that they needed a final on the contract to be able to get the loan through underwriting. So I emailed *** ******* and was told that they now needed the survey before a site inspection could be done. In the beginning we told them that we were getting this done but we were not told that a full survey had to be in hand before site inspection could be done. So survey was delivered and still was told one time that they had too many houses in completion right now and that it would be another week. Waited again and then was told that they were short handed and had to catch up from everyone being off on the holidays. In the meantime no site inspection, no final numbers for the house for the finance company so could not close on the loan. Finally in August we were told that someone would come out and they didnt until the second week, after they came we were told that another person would come out the following week to get a better number on the site prep etc. So finally I call to get this number and was told that the house has increased in price and that the site prep has increased by nearly 18,000. With no explanation on why the extreme increase. I told them that we had signed the contract and gave the deposit to lock in on the original price. I was then told by *** ******* that it was only good for 60 days. How could we have closed if for over three months we were put off on site inspection to get these final number and not know what they were and then at the end find out that it has increased by over 23,000.00. I have asked for our deposit back along with our survey that we originally paid for. I was told that the deposit was non refundable. But this was their mistake that this did not close because of them putting everything off continously for over three months. I have emails and text messages to back all of this up. All we want is our deposit back. We are not binding into a contract that has increased that much. Without any breakdown of the site cost or anything just a figure. This is not very professional.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive our deposit back along with our survey plot.

Business Response:

AHP representative has met with the customer to explained all the site improvement allowance items. AHP is waiting to hear back from the customer. AHP is ready to proceed with the contract, if the customer's desires AHP to build a house on this property. 

8/29/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have contacted Americas home place several several several times about upholding our one year earrings. I could write a book about what a crappy company this place is. They are literally pathetic and shouldn't even be in business. We have a water leak and ******* told me for the fourth time the plumber was going to call. He never did. ******* and bill are both terrible and gave lied so many times. I have tried for two months to get them to come fix things they did Terribke while building a house. I have talked to doug which is over the business but he has been no help. If something is not done I will file a lawsuit. You should consider checking into this company so other people won't Be affected.

Desired Settlement: I want everything fixed ASAP or I will file a law suit.

Business Response: AHP has a representative at the house today (Aug. 17, 2016) working on the items requested. All warranty items should be completed by Friday (Aug, 19, 2016).

4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: America's Homeplace promised us "the house of our dreams." It is more like a nightmare! Less than a year from completion, our home's downstairs floors are now (even as I type this) being torn out and replaced, apparently due to moisture in the slab. (My familiy and I are displaced--staying in a motel.) [AHP will pay for the motel stay]. The foundation is cracked. The roofers have been back time and again and their "repairs" literally looked like a 3-year-old climbed onto our roof and put silly putty on the flashing. The shingles have been damaged because they have been up there so often. Gutters were not installed properly. Ceilings have shadowing; and, despite being promised a "fix," there has been none. The tile grout in the upstairs bathrooms is already coming out. The recessed can over the master bath garden tub overheated and would turn off after 10 minutes because insulation was on/around it. (I fixed that myself!) Nail pops are already showing through the Sheetrock. The front door had to be replaced. Paint on the trim work around that door no longer matches, and paint is on the brick. The stress has been enormous. And, unfortunately, I do not have enough space here to list ALL the problems we have encountered with the construction of our home.

Desired Settlement: Filing this Complaint with BBB is the first step to arbitration pursuant to our written contract with AHP.

Business Response: BBB,

we have been very active with this customer to resolve there issues to even this past week replacing the hardwood floors in the main floor of the house. There has been several list of items that we have completed and some of them they want to be reworked to their satisfaction. America's home Place is going out to meet with customer about the truss issue in the garage and intends to get a sign off from the customer on the items that have been completed and address the other issues that they may have left on the list. After i meet with the customer tomorrow i will send you the communication between us.
Thanks 
*** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
AHP did have a company cone and assess the truss issue in the garage.  The problem is not only in the garage but over our entire house.  Yes some of the items on the list have been addressed but maybe only half of the 4 page list.  When repair work is done it is poor.  For example flashing  nailed on top of shingles.  When we brought this up it was suppose to be  fixed.  The repair men simply covered this area with a row of shingles on top of flashing.  These blew off within a weeks time.  Another example was there was air blowing under floor molding in dining room.  The fix for this by repair man was expanding spray foam.  When sprayed in area it came out umderneath molding in garage on the other side of the wall. Problems are in each room of our home.  The step that was just added a couple of weeks ago already has a brick that has come off.  The air blowing under cabinets remains present as well as cold areas on the floors.  There is moisture differences in areas of slab and this is documented.  Nails pops in every room, humps in sheet rock that are very visible,  broken window, gaps in siding next to window, parts of roof are wavy, all ceilings have sagging areas,  there is a huge hump in floor that was noticed AFTER the new floors were laid which is suppose to be fixed "later", cement work in garage that even Mr. ****** said his grandchild could have done it better has not been addressed,  wood door casing that already has water damage that AHP repaired with caulk, and the list goes on and on with issues that are being ignored.  AHP had an inspector come to our home to assess the two large cracks in slab that ran from inside and down side of house.  The inspector stated it was all within guidelines because it was less that 1/8 of an inch.  Our measurements differ dramatically.   Since the start of our home it has been one thing after another constantly.   The list that was referred to in AHP response is a very out dated list.  The only way the complaints can be resolved is for our home to be properly fixed.  AHP continues to place band aids on problems that are extremely concerning to us or either the problems are not address at all for example the ceiling sags or ceiling cracks in two separate rooms.  Attached are images of floor cracks and moisture reading in 2 different areas.  The floor repair man said the black area on floor is from moisture problems.  
Regards,

**** *******

Business Response: BBB

I have communicated with the customer and have scheduled a walk through of the house with the list of items requested for repair and sign off of completion for item completed on the list and to schedule any open items for future completion date. It is my opinion that AHP will finished for items that are agreed upon for repairs by the end of April as long as the customer and AHP agree on items to be covered.
Appointment is scheduled for 4-2-15 9:00am CT
Regards 
*** ******

11/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on America's Home Place
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)