BBB Accredited Business since

Lonnie Smith Service Co., Inc.

Phone: (706) 327-5403 5753 Springhill Ave, Columbus, GA 31909


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers air conditioning and heating sales, service and installation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lonnie Smith Service Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lonnie Smith Service Co., Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Lonnie Smith Service Co., Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1975 Business started: 07/01/1974 in GA Business started locally: 07/01/1974 Business incorporated 11/24/1975 in GA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Georgia Secretary of State
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, SE, Suite 315, West Tower, Atlanta GA 30334
http://www.sos.state.ga.us/corporations/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jo Ann Smith, Secretary/Treasurer Mr. Lonnie E. Smith, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jo Ann Smith, Secretary/Treasurer
Principal: Mr. Lonnie E. Smith, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Products & Services

Lonnie Smith Service Co., Inc. offers the following product(s): Heat & Air Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Smith, Lonnie Service Co., Inc.
Industry Tips
Heating & Air Conditioning Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 5753 Springhill Ave

    Columbus, GA 31909 (706) 327-5403

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company puts cheap filters in my hvac which clogged up the coils and caused my hvac to work harder driving up my electric bill to twice the amount it should be. I asked them not to come back because I hired a different company but apparently lonnie doesn't listen because they keep showing up. The new company I hired said that any legitimate hvac person would know that the coils would get clogged with those cheap filters.I finally had cool air start to flow after I cancelled with Lonnie and then his worker shows up again when I am not there and replaces my nicer filters with their cheap ones. When my hvac person showed up he asked why the cheap filters were on the hvac again and after his full inspection told us the reason why he was getting hot and why the electric bill was so high was because those cheap filters had clogged up the coils really fast because they only filter cat and dog hair.

Desired Settlement: I should not have to pay the service fee that they are trying to put on me because I cancelled with them and they caused my electric bill to skyrocket plus the extra service fees to have the coils cleaned earlier.

Business Response:

Lonnie ***** Service Company

5753 Springhill Ave

Columbus, GA 31909

###-###-####

Better Business Bureau

500 12th St

Columbus, GA  31906

Attn: ********* ****

Dear *********,

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the complaint filed by ******* ******* of Phenix City, Alabama. As a reputable business, in service for over 50 years, we value our reputation and appreciate the opportunity to respond to our ONLY complaint during our tenure with the BBB.

******* ******* contacted our company and requested we provide regular service maintenance to their HVAC units. We agreed to their request and provided their initial service on 6/25/13. We serviced their three HVAC units, noted one of their outside motors was beginning to show wear, and changed all of their filters. ******* ******* promptly paid their invoice and at that time was set up to receive general scheduled maintenance. At no time did ******* ******* contact the office and express any dissatisfaction, nor did they request a cancellation of their request for general maintenance.

On 3/24/14, our company returned to ******* ******* and completed the previously requested maintenance on the equipment. The total bill was $146.00 and was submitted for payment to the business. The invoice went into past due status and the company was contacted regarding payment. A message was left on the voicemail by **** *******. The owner (male) returned the call after Mrs. ******* had left the office and spoke to Mrs. ** *****. He was extremely agitated and rude and demanded that Mrs. ***** provide him with the bank account and routing number of the corporation so he could settle his account. Mrs. ***** responded by telling him we do not conduct business in that manner and to please submit a check through USPS. He began berating Mrs. *****, who is in her seventies, and told her that “You must be from Alabama, because only people from Alabama are too backwards to not accept electronic payments!”  Even after his rudeness, Mrs. ***** continued to try and assist him. He continued his verbal assault and asked her, “Are you high, or something?”

Upon returning to the office the next day, Mrs. ******* returned his call. Once again, she received voice mail and left a message. After she left the office, the owner of the business (female) ********* *******, returned the call and said she was putting a check in the mail that day and was very pleasant. The administrative assistant who took the call, Mrs. **** *******, thanked her and made a notation on the account. Shortly thereafter, Ms. ******* called again and her demeanor had changed quite dramatically to the same tone as the male owner. She then stated she would NOT pay the bill because she had requested we cancel the maintenance contract. Since we had received no contact, verbal or written, from Ms. ******* from the time of the initial service to the time of the second service, this statement was untrue. The next contact we received was the complaint to the BBB.

As previously stated, our company has been in business for over fifty years and we treat every customer just as we would expect to be treated. We conducted each of our business contacts with ******* ******* in a professional manner and only used top of the line products to complete their service. The allegations provided in the complaint are false and it is our contention that ******* ******* filed this complaint to dodge paying a valid invoice for a service they requested and was provided by our company in good faith. We understand the economy is poor but to use the BBB in such a fraudulent manner, to besmirch the name of a reputable company in order to avoid paying a bill, is unconscionable.

Because of the low value of the invoice, we chose to place ******* ******* in the BAD DEBT file and cancel any further business relations with their company. We appreciate the stellar work the BBB provides to the legitimate businesses of Columbus and look forward to many more years of working with your organization. Should you require any further information regarding this claim, please contact **** ******* at ###-###-####.

Regards,

Lonnie ***** Service Company Inc.