BBB Accredited Business since

County Line Heating & Air

Phone: (706) 322-5343 Fax: (706) 322-5345 4919 11th Ave, Columbus, GA 31904 http://www.countylinehvac.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that County Line Heating & Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for County Line Heating & Air include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on County Line Heating & Air
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 03, 2010 Business started: 06/15/2006 in GA Business started locally: 06/15/2006 Business incorporated 06/15/2006 in GA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Scott Douthit, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Douthit, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Contractors

Products & Services

County Line Heating & Air offers the following product(s): HVAC

Alternate Business Names
County Line Heating & Air, LLC
Industry Tips
Heating & Air Conditioning Contractors

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August 2009, I purchased a brand new Rheem Heat Pump from County Line Heating and AC. On August 4, 2009, a representative from County Line installed my new Rheem unit at my home. Within six months, I began having problems with the unit. Please note that the unit is still in warranty and all of these issues have cost me hundreds of dollars. Some of the major issues are as follows: In September 2011, County Line replaced the Blower because it stopped working. In June 2013, County Line again replaced the Blower because it stopped working. In May 2014, County Line replaced the Compressor and Expansion Valve. On more than one occasion, I asked County Line to replace my unit because I was having too many problems. I am diagnosed with COPD and require oxygen. Temperature extremes (both hot and cold) cause me respiratory distress so not having a working HVAC unit is a danger to my health. In February 2016, my unit stopped working again. I attempted to contact the representative to come look at my unit and found out that he no longer worked with County Line. In April 2016, my son called County Line and spoke to the manager. The manager informed my son that they were no longer going to service my unit and began cursing at my son. The manager then hung up on my son. My son immediately called Rheem corporate. On May 13, 2016, a Rheem corporate rep and another service technician came to my home to look at my unit. The service technician told me that the unit was in terrible condition due to the installation and sloppy repairs done by the previous County Line representative. They found several issues one of which involved the compressor again which I had replaced less than two years previously and is still in warranty. No repairs were done and I was told that Rheem would make a decision on whether or not to repair the unit. On May 20, 2016, the service technician called my son and informed him that Rheem has elected not to make any further repairs to my unit under warranty and would not replace my unit. The technician told my son that it would cost approximately $1500 to repair my unit and the repairs would not be warranted because of the condition of the unit. The unit I purchased had a 10 year warranty. Since the unit is less than 7 years old, Rheem and County Line Heating and AC should honor the warranty and replace my unit if it is irreparable. If the companies refuse to replace the unit, my next step is to seek remuneration in court to replace my unit.

Desired Settlement: Since the unit I purchased had a 10 year warranty and it is less than 7 years old, Rheem and County Line Heating and AC should honor the warranty. If the unit is irreparable, then Rheem should replace my unit free of charge. If the companies refuse to replace the unit, my next step is to seek remuneration in court to replace my unit.

Business Response:

Mrs* ****** purchased a Rheem Heat Pump in August 2009 from County Line Heating and Air, LLC. The warranty policy for the heat pump was for 10 years, if registered by the customer. If the heat pump is not registered, it then becomes a 5 year warranty with one year labor included. Mrs* ****** did not register her Rheem Heat Pump in the 90 day allotted time period. Therefore, Mrs* ******’s original complaints dating 2011, 2013, and 2014 were indeed covered under said warranty and the concerns were addressed and corrected in a timely, professional manner. The request to replace the unit is a Rheem Manufacturing Corporation decision, and not at the discretion of County Line Heating and Air, LLC as a dealer. By Mrs* ****** contacting Rheem , she was made aware that the unit would not be replaced. The report from “another service technician” was not accurate. The unit was installed according to code and was in working order. The problems encountered after installation are manufacturing issues and not in direct result of the workmanship of County Line Heating and Air, LLC. Courteous, professional service has been given to Mrs* ****** throughout the course of her business and her warranty has been fulfilled. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The unit was installed in August 2009 and I promptly mailed the warranty documents to Rheem.  Rheem has verified that they did receive the warranty information. The 10 year warranty period is in effect.

On numerous occasions my unit was in need of repair, I continually told Mr. *** ****** with County Line that the unit was a lemon and I wanted a new unit because of the continuous problems that I was having.  Mr. ****** continued to repair the unit resulting in hundreds of dollars in repairs.  Only the parts have been covered under warranty and I have continued to pay for labor throughout the process. 

On May 13, 2016, a representative from Rheem and a local distributor by the name of ***** ******** of Anytime Heating and Air in Shiloh, GA came to my home in Woodbury, GA to assess the condition of the unit.  After they both looked over the unit, Mr. ******** told me that there were a number of issues with the unit including the compressor.  Mr. ******** stated that Rheem would let him know in the next few days if they were going to approve the repairs.  They both left without preforming any type of repairs to the unit.

Attached is the list of repairs needed to my unit as provided by Anytime Heating and Air.  As of today, there has been no repairs done and County Line has not attempted to contact me to arrange repair.

I stand with my previous desired resolution that if this unit is irreparable, then the unit should be replaced free of charge. If the companies refuse to replace the unit, my next step is to seek remuneration in court to replace my unit.  



Regards,

****** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on County Line Heating & Air
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)